Disc Golf Store
Lancaster, NY 
Como Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 250ft.   3 / 350ft.   3 / 450ft.   3 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Pro Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Be Prepared....

2-4    4/20/2008   7/20/2009
Review By: RocCityDiscer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.3 Years
Pros: Nice park setting with some cool views. Good signs to help you navigate. Course has never been overly crowded when I played there. Practice basket near parking lot. Multiple tees for every skill level at every hole.
Cons: Lots of water. Deep drainage ditches as well as a huge pond will swallow your disc on an errant shot and come into play on a bunch of holes. Too deep to get back with out going swimming.
Other Thoughts: A challenging course for sure, with lots of fun shots, and plenty of places you have to be able to throw far, but can be a bit discouraging if you keep finding the water. I have lost one each round here.

  The Lighthouse

2-4    5/31/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: cmheim
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: The course is set up through nice scenery. There are some nice par 4 to make up some ground.
Cons: This park has alot of very difficult water shots. I have seen several discs lost in each of the water holes. Some of the par 3s shold be 4s and there are some 4s that could stand to be 3s.
Other Thoughts: This is a course to def have a disc that will float for better retrieval as the water spots are all very deep and too murky to see the resting spot on the bottom.

 A nice change of pace

1    4/15/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: Pyro419
Played: 17  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice variety of holes, distances, mandos and hazards. No repetitive felling like some area courses. I really like the water obstacles they really throw in some diversity. Great signage and course design. really nice park.
Cons: I didnt like the walk from 7-8 it was very long and your walking up the hole1 fairway toward the tee off! watch your dome! Alot of non disc golf traffic, but hey its a park.
Other Thoughts: Before I played here all I heard was how terrible the water "hazards" were, theyre not so bad. the 3 throws that you must cross water only require smart play. Move up the fairway with 1st shot and cross the water with 2nd. except 8 which is a straight tee off over the creek. I ran into a woman who lives by the creek when i was there, she told me that after the thaw she found 60-70 discs in her yard and plans on calling all the ones with #s on them to return them. So if you lost some w/ your # you just may see them again!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Como

5+    10/24/2008   10/24/2008
Review By: chuckgalbo
Played: 40  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2008
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very tough course. Makes you really use all three assets of your game. Lots of birdies out there but you have to work for them. Beautiful park with lots of bathrooms.
Cons: Hole 14 has had a lot of discs thrown in it in the year or so the course has been in. People are always walking there dogs in the park and they will walk right in front of you. SO BE CAREFUL
Other Thoughts: Hole 10 is one of the hardest holes that i have ever played.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Como Lake Park Lake

5+    8/24/2008   8/25/2008
Review By: TheRicker
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New, well cared for course with lots of risk-reward opportunities. Pretty open course, but don't throw too far off line because the brush can eat discs. 3 holes play over the creeks separating the islands adding to the excitement of this course. After the first 7 holes you will pass by your car in case you forgot something or want to grab a cold one. This course has a bit of variety, not too much woods but there are some obstacles which force accurate throws. This course is very well designed and should be considered for a visit any time passing through the Buffalo area.
Cons: Some holes are not very beginner friendly, but most holes are, just skip the water if you are unsure of your ability. The park can be a little crowded on a nice summer weekend so if you can play on a weekday you will be rewarded with smaller crowds.
Other Thoughts: You might want to avoid throwing your favorite disks across the creeks until you get the layout down. You might not be able to retrieve disks from the water. ?Where is the campground nearby?

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Change of Mind

5+    5/28/2009   8/25/2008
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2009
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some of you might remember this post from before and i would like to rebuttle my own words so here it goes this cousre is difficult for beginers with the amont of water so my sugestion is to invest in some floating discs before you go or be very sure of your drives. That being said the lay out for this cousre is extreemly well do you get to shoot into nice almost new chain star baskets which they are only listed as discraft on this sight they are acutualy chain stars. the signs on the cousre are very well marked you only have to walk back on two holes 8 and i think 18. This course has a grown on me since my skills have grown into being able to give this cousre a run for its money the pars are not set to high that if you shoot from the mens tees that if your above a beginer that you can make par for the course.

*Original Pros*This course is very beautiful filled with some difficult holes and some tricky skillful shots
Cons: The new set of cons are still going to be there is a lot of water on this course but if you have the confidence to make thery are makeable shots. On 16 my sugestion when your trying to shoot over the mouth of the creek is to eaither star from or shoot to the womens tees that part is a much more achiveable shot and it is a little less intimidating
*orginal Cons* They recently changed one of the holes so now you have to shoot over the river that runs through it one too many time this made this course way too hard for beginers and mnost intermediates i could suggest if you are not confident shooting over water to get yourself a floating disk before you play this course!!! Or too just pass this one by.
Other Thoughts: My orginal score for this course was a 1.5 passable on aug 20th 2008 to which i lost a disc in the river i think that this review speeks much more for this course happy playing

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites now that i'm better

5+    6/7/2009   8/1/2008
Review By: ScottMunFrigginro
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 6/19/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: "Very well kept course with an interesting layout. Course requires many different shots. Great sign's and mando's well labeled." 8/08

I stand by my views of very well kept and interestingly layed out. Par's are very doable if you keep your shots in the fairway. Most fairways are quite wide, so if you lose a disc in vegetation you probably deserve it. :-P
Cons: "I'm new to the sport, and i feel that a number of the over water shots unfairly punish a bad shot. I've lost 4 disc's there so far out of the 4 times i've been there (only once did i make it out even) I will go there to play the front nine when i make the trip to go out to chestnut ridge, but it's no longer fun after you've lost one (maybe 2) disc's."

well this course is very rough on non-consistent players, so BEGINNERS BEWARE! I've played this course at least 3 times this year, and so far (knock on wood) i have yet to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: Probably my favorite. This course is a great course to hit on a bright sunny day. This course isn't near as punishing as i remember it being last year, but i've had some REAAAALLLLY close calls. I even managed to par this course from the blue tee's this year! Which may not seem much, but it was quite an accomplishment for me.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tough Course!

4/27/2008   4/27/2008
Review By: cdeane
Played: 50  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely done and very informative sign posts with all three tees clearly marked and any mandatory obstacle paths. Course is in great shape and requires a variety of throws.
Cons: Hard to find first tee without directions (forgot them).
Pro pars are tough - even throwing from the white tees I had only one birdie chance if I went by the pro pars (I don't - not even close)
Other Thoughts: Park was very active, dog walkers and people fishing for the most part. At one point I had to wait for kids using a basket as a jungle gym to get clear.
Hole 14 is downright scary...................

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Caution: May need hip waders!

5+    10/26/2007   11/5/2007
Review By: bfaslewis
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fairly technical course. The mando's really make some holes a challenge. The isn't much of a grade difference in the terrain, but it makes up for it with numerous annie's and hyzer's.

I really like this course. There is a definite difference between the white and blue tee's here. The blue tee's are set up in a way, not only with extra distance, but the difficulty due due obstacles, makes it a whole different experience when playing.
Cons: The distance on hole number's 8,10, and especially 14; be prepared to get wet. Of the three holes that go across water, they get progressively harder to be able to retrieve your disc. I play #14 at the ladies tee's (red tee's) and call it a par 3 not 4.
Other Thoughts: I'm sure that if you ask anyone that's played the course they'd say #14 is the signature hole. You tee off on one side of the lake and a bad drive is a lost disc. The pin is nestled in between two trees that are only far enough apart to fit a disc golf basket.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging & Variety

5+    10/23/2007   10/24/2007
Review By: ssejhill
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quiet and close to just about anywhere in Buffalo, NY. Nice layout and some very challenging holes (especially the back 9). Nice degree of variety to the holes and layouts.
Cons: Maybe a bit too challenging on the back 9. Lots of water hazards on the back 9. Look out on Holes 8, 10, 14 & 15. Floaters are a must, since sinkers will be lost in the murky water. Course definitely gives an advantage to LHBH and RHFH throwers.
Other Thoughts: Has anyone been successful shooting from the blue tee directly over the water on Hole 14? We wimped out and played parallel to the shore until we got to a point where the throw over the water was considerably closer. All in all, I loved the course. This may be my new current favorite!

A lot of comments mention the water hazards and downplay the trees. If you play like I do you'll hit several of them as well. The course isn't like Chestnut Ridge Park but I still managed to hit about 5 trees along the 18 holes.

This is the premium course in the Buffalo area (at least until I get a chance to try Emery). This course is far better than Chestnut Ridge which has really fallen into disrepair in recent years.

[edit 6/22/10 - I just noticed that the Par (3) and Pro Par (4) are reversed for Hole #8. No wonder I've never gotten close to par on that hole.]

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.