Disc Golf Store
Lancaster, NY 
Como Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
4 / 454ft.   4 / 558ft.   4 / 634ft.   5 / 634ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Pro Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Bring extra discs!

2-4    9/29/2007   9/30/2007
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2008
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun course, you may get to laugh at your friends when they jump into the cold water for a disc.
Generous Par, but still a challenging course.
Cons: LOTS OF WATER, we had to play hole 8 from the white because it was too risky to throw over the large drop off. Hole 14 eats discs too.
Other Thoughts: on hole 14 people had success throwing parellel with the water and crossing at a narrower location.
I found 6 discs while swimming after my floater.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Risk vs. Reward

8/26/2007   8/26/2007
Review By: timg
Played: 243  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Memorable "make or break" shots over water. Each hole was enjoyable in it's own way and there weren't any that I felt were too short or too long.
Cons: Some long walks between some holes. Also, a good amount of non-disc golf foot traffic that you need to be wary of. Due to the water hazards, this course may not be too beginner friendly.
Other Thoughts: I decided to take a trip out to play Lancaster today and I'm glad I did. The front 9, while enjoyable, weren't particularly challenging. Most played on the short side and outside of a few errant putts, I made par on each hole without much effort.

The back 9 is where this course really shines. Almost each hole has a water hazard in play which will definitely keep even the most experienced players on their toes. A lot of risk vs. reward scenarios such as #14 which has you throwing a good 200ft right over a large pond. I watched 3 out of 4 guys sink their drives in the water and a local mentioned that her friend found "$70 worth of discs" when he waded in for his disc. Most holes don't have such a direct water hazard but if you find yourself going too far left or too far right on the back 9, expect to get wet.

Como is a great addition to the Buffalo course line-up and the abundance of water hazards really make it stand out from the other area courses.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Water, water, everywhere...

8/10/2007   8/19/2007
Review By: MattK
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful new course, has several bona-fide par-4s amongst the 18 holes. The placement of the holes amongst the scattered trees, grass mounds and lake shore give each green a unique feel. The signs are nicely designed and descriptive.
Cons: Two major issues: 1. the traffic pattern, caused by the size and shape of the islands. There are several very long walks between holes, fairways that overlap, and constant miscellaneous foot traffic across the bridges to deal with.
2. The water hazards make this course very beginner unfriendly, and potentially frustrating for others as well. The lake is in play for half of the holes, and for a couple of them there is simply no safe option.
Also in the springtime a bizarre amount of casual water can build up around the 9th fairway - literally deep enough to swim in.
Other Thoughts: Two suggestions for players: 1. invest in some floating discs and 100' of rope to fish them out with, and 2. plan on spending twice as much time on a round as usual due to the extra walking, waiting for fairways to clear, and possible disc fishing.
Some minor changes have been made since the course first went in. The tees for #14 were moved slightly closer, in keeping with PDGA guidelines for over the water throws. Detailed signs were added at each tee and par was set, though unfortunately with regard to par the PDGA guidelines were ignored. Also the islands brush has been cleaned up a bit around the edges, making it easier for discs to roll into the lake. The course is more beautiful than ever, and more perilous.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 water hazards

8/14/2007   8/17/2007
Review By: gang1027
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very challenging if you are willing to take the risks
Cons: if u screw up theres a good chance youll lose a few discs
Other Thoughts: u may be wise to take a penalty stroke and play up from an easier spot I lost 2 discs my first time through other wise a very fun course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice spot

8/12/2007   8/12/2007
Review By: Dribble
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice place. Good place to spend a bit of the day tossing a disc. Not heavy wood but with trees.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center