Silverdale, WA 
Bud Pell @ Ross Farm Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #11 (Taken 12/2013)
3 / 162ft.   4 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Respect the course

1    4/20/2014   4/23/2014
Review By: nathani
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: HUGE variation which includes nearly every type of hole, and I can't stress this one enough. The Blue tees are excellent with benches and trash cans. Good signage directing play.
Quality targets.
Cons: Red tees are often dirt and/or uneven, much lower quality than the blues. With the current layout there is quite a bit of unnecessary walking when playing the reds. Some fairways cross or are close together.
Other Thoughts: As some have mentioned the course seems to be having trouble with people abusing the course. Use the trash receptacles! If you can't find a litter bin, pack it out. This is a free sport, so respect the grounds you're playing on, or you'll lose them.

Personally I liked the tight techy layout of the nearby fairgrounds more, but I've rated this one higher because Bud Pell has something for everyone including a monster long hole for people who love long open drives.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Super fun

1    8/2/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: powerplantthom
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Just a super fun course. Lots of variety. I like a simple review that says yes play here or stay away. Im not a technical player and just enjoy the sport. I say you should play this course if you have the chance
Cons: None really
Other Thoughts: I have played a few hundred courses around the world in the past 15 years and this is on my top 20! List for fun

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 What a difference a month makes!

2-4    6/16/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: Calyub
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very challenging! There is something really cool about playing holes that are par 5, over 1000 feet long and span 3 full fields.
- Good course variation. You will shoot over swamps, around paint ball players, near electric fences, adjacent to ponds. You won't shoot two holes in a row that feel the same.
- Very well marked! A month ago, this would have been a con as the signs were horrible. The course admins have done a fantastic job of fixing what was once a glaring issue. Each hole is now marked with little arrows to blue and red tees.
- Vegetation is a lot better! It looks like a lot of work has been made to give the course a cleaner look, that include clearing out some nettles, errant logs, wire fences, stumps and other obstacles.
Cons: - Red approaches need a lot of work! Blue tees are flat and maintained. The red tees seem more like an after-thought and several are little more than a dirt patch with a small log to mark their forward boundary.
- The lay-out of the course lends itself to groups shooting over one another and walking through each other's line of play. This is mainly an issue around hole 6, 12, 13, etc.
- Beware the paint-ballers! You may share time with the paint ball players who occupy the adjacent plot of land.
- Parking area is a tad small.
- Tall grass and swampy in early areas. I would suggest water proof boots and long pants for this course.
- No disk return box near the bulletin board.
Other Thoughts: The first time I went to BP I thought the course was absolutely horrible. The signs were almost non-existent and everything was grossly over-grown. Recent improvements have changed my view greatly! The first time (our group of 3) played here, it took us 3 1/2 hours to get through. We left angry, confused and mentally tired (exactly opposite of what I usually feel while playing disk golf). After going back with a different group of 3, with the marked fields and cleaner appearance, it took us just over 90 minutes to play the round. I would now feel comfortable recommending this course to everyone, especially to those who welcome a challenge and a good test of your skill.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Bud Pell at Ross Farm

5+    3/2/2012   3/3/2012
Review By: jedimasterbryan
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/19/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A nice little course guidelines board at the beginning of the course. UPDATE: A new bulletin board has been added complete with full size course map.
-Good signage throughout course, specifically i really liked that they have different color stakes placed to give you a rough idea of distance remaining to pin
-Great tees, they're all either concrete or gravel with support bars. First time i've seen this type of gravel tee and i really liked it.
-Wide variety of holes, you've got your typical pacific NW wooded holes and also some wide open holes where you can really rip it.
-Benches at each tee are nice for taking quick break or setting disc bags on.
-Some great pin placement. There's an elevated pin, a pin staked into a grouping of rocks etc.
Cons: -Parking lot is a tad small, i could see this being an issue in the busier spring/summer months
-Although the signage is good, the layout could confuse a first timer. Bring a tour guide of you can.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. I was a little apprehensive to try it since i was warned of the difficulty level, although it plays harder than a course like NAD its a great place to come once you've gotten down your basic game to work on your skills. I loved the wide open holes where i could really let it rip and work on my power. It also gives a great opportunity to throw a bunch of extra discs and get a feel for whats in your bag. There are some super memorable holes on the course too, from #3's 1000ft trek to my personal favorite #18, which seems straight forward but allows you to take a multitude of approaches to. I think this may have surpassed Dalaiwood as my favorite course in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bring everything you've got

2-4    12/26/2011   12/27/2011
Review By: b-mart
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will challenge any level of player. You have to use every shot and disc in your bag at some point, and will probably even have to try something you've never tried before at least once. There is no safe hole on this course. Even the shorter holes have something to throw you off, whether it's low ceilings, tight windows, or trees and bushes. Hole 2 is an experience in itself that I recommend to every disc golfer, no matter how long they've been playing. It might drive you to sell your discs and pursue a career as a professional putt putt golfer, but it's still an experience that everyone should have at least once in their life. Personally I wish I lived closer, because the few times I've played it just haven't been enough. The first time I was here we finished our round and then played 2 repeatedly (at least 4 times) until it was too dark to see.

The variation in holes is perfect on this course. There are the holes like 1, 2, 12, and 13 that really let you air it out. Then there are heavily wooded holes like 14, gigantic S-curves like 10 and 16, and plenty of elevation change.

The risk on this course is through the roof, but so is the reward. Being a player who approaches the game with a "why not try the hard way?" attitude, I love playing courses like this. You get so many opportunities to try that crazy shot through a window that's too small for any sane person to try. Granted, that attitude plus this course equals a brutal score only surpassed by SeaTac and occasionally Terrace Creek , but I'm just having too much fun to care.
Cons: I guess the tee pads can be called a con. I don't mind gravel really, but it can definitely hurt your run up if it's too worn in. Luckily they added concrete tiles to the pad for 2 for a more solid base.

Some of these holes just don't make sense to you the first time through. Hole 5 is a prime example:

A decent drive sets you up for a blind shot down a narrow alley with OB/electric fence/paintball on the right and a random collection of trees on the left. Two shots later, after you've been shocked and pelted with paint, you're back in the trees on the left and taking one of those crazy trick shots that probably won't work (but sometimes does) to set up for a difficult putt for bogey. I can speak from experience on the latter, but I've been lucky enough to avoid the former scenario. I just described a very challenging hole, but you'll see what I mean if you go actually look at the hole. As has been stated before on this site, it kind of feels like two holes spliced together, and not very gracefully. Holes 1, 13, and 16 don't make a lot of sense the first time either. I can't call them cons because they're some of my favorite holes on the course, but if you haven't played a monstrous course like this before you won't expect them to be quite so… Mean.

The flow in the middle of the course is a bit confusing. They did a great job of using every inch and slope of the meadow for 11, 12, and 13 without them encroaching on each other's fairways, but it still throws you off after you finish 10.

It has to be said even though I've played the course in both fall and winter and haven't had any issues with it myself: The marshy area for holes 1 and 2 can provide a serious damper (no pun intended) to the beginning of your round. Wear Gore Tex. You're playing in the Northwest. You should be wearing it anyway.
Other Thoughts: This course doesn't like you. It just doesn't. It's paid the trees to play solid zone defense and the wind to mug your drives. Luckily for you the wind and trees have minds of their own and sometimes give the course the finger and help you out instead. But of course Bud Pell is a bully and will still try to find a way to hurt you. It's like a puppy with an attitude problem though. It might ruin your day by eating your shoes, but it's impossible to stay mad at and keeps you coming back for more.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Strange name - good course

1    6/23/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Bud Pell course has some interesting design and a couple of really fun holes. I really like how the par four holes were broken up with some shorter holes in between them with the exception of the first three holes, kind of a brutal way to start a course. The combination of open/long wooded/long wooded/short works really well in this golfers mind and were put to excellent use. I feel like the designer(s) did an amazing job using the wonderful piece of property here and did not waste any of it. This place has a couple of different looks to it and many times I was reminded of courses like Shelton Springs, Horning's Hideout (there were even peacocks!) and a couple of courses on the East Coast that I have played.

I thought hole two was very thought out, I was a bit skeptical as so few par fives in disc golf are ever super good, IMO. This hole is open for the drive but you have to pick a good landing zone on the top of the hill to be able to have a good position on the next shot. The next throw is going through some thick trees on a tight line back into the open field to your third shot (if you're lucky) which will be about a 200 foot wide open approach. It would be nice if this third approach had some sort of obstacle or out of bounds or something challenging your third shot. This is an excellent par five for mortals but my belief is that it will be a tweener for elite professional players.
Cons: One of my biggest issues for this course is that fairways are not defined enough. You're not sure where to throw to and sometimes you can land in the middle of stinging nettles and be in the fairway. Obviously this course is new but some brush clearing on the ground would go a long ways to help shape the fairways and aid in navigation as well. Speaking of navigation...

The Chainstar baskets are great baskets but they need to have number plates because you're not sure which is the right basket even with the printed map just having the numbers on the baskets would make it so much easier, I suppose this is where DISCatchers have an advantage. The tee signs help greatly and so does the map but there are still some very confusing sections here and a couple of strange walkouts, going to hole 14 rings a bell.

The grass in the field is mowed slightly in places I'm guessing to try and show the fairway but it is not enough at all. Still there is a ton of looking for discs in this grass and you are throwing in an open field. Also a couple of limbs here and there to clear out somewhat of a ceiling like on hole 18 where there is a very narrow route but they you need the disc to go to the left with a very low ceiling. I would have to play this hole a couple more times but as of now I can't see getting to this hole in one throw unless you are lucky cutting through some branches and bushes. A couple of limbs here and there on this hole and a couple others would go along way.

Teepads!!! This course needs tee pads more than any other course I have ever seen. How am I supposed to throw a 1000 foot hole with a 3 foot long tee pad made out of slippery dirt/mud? If not concrete or fly pads then carpet would work very well. I've seen carpet work in plenty of places and I have no complaints about it.
Other Thoughts: I feel bad about this review because I feel the potential is there. There are some spectacular holes here already that I feel rivals some of the best courses I have seen but there are enough cons right now and more specifically fun eating cons that I can't rate it any higher now. In the future when I come back and play it in the months and years to come I can only see raising my rating for this course.

This is an interesting place that even has a Golf driving range, Mini Golf, and Paintball to go along with the Disc Golf.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.