Carmichael, CA 
Carmichael Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: sumo21 Hole #5 (Taken 8/2015)
3 / 362ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Perfect for a quick 9 or field work

5+    1/14/2015   2/8/2015
Review By: sumo21
Played: 30  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Good distance for non cannon arms like myself, 209-360 feet
2) Trees provide enough of a challenge for any skill golfer
3) Bathroom on site
4) Great layout of multiple routes to the basket on holes
5) Public transportation puts you close to the course
Cons: 1) Teepads too small
2) Depending on the season, course is closed on Sundays for the Farmer's Market (not sure if it's for the whole day)
3) Holes 8,9 are seperated from the first 7 holes by the dog park
4) Little League season can slow you down on holes 8 and 9, since they're near the baseball diamonds
5) After a good rain, drainage is not the greatest so bring galoshes, :-D
Other Thoughts: The only MANDOS that I know are on holes 1 (to the left of the tennis court fencing) and 2 (to the left of the ball wall next to the tennis courts). Holes 2 and 3 are guarded by trees. Holes 5 and 7 are seperated by a roadway, which is considered OB and can be pretty gnarly on your discs. 5 is the longest (360) so I lay up, because I don't have the cannon. 7 is 250 but there is a tree about 60-80 feet to the right. Don't be fooled by hole 9. Too much hyzer and your disc is gonna get gnarled up by parking lot, OB.

Check the tennis court fence by hole 1 for upcoming events in the park. You can find a map of the course around there as well, if available.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Gave me the DG itch back

2-4    4/25/2012   4/27/2012
Review By: Crum
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course Close to me.. Nice Park with lots of grass and nice big trees.. Great Baskets and well marked tee box..Good people..Nice placement of pins and usage of the space the course is in.
Cons: Couple holes are ontop on each other making a wait time sometimes. 8 and 9 are away from the first 7 holes and far away from hole 1.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Charming Carmichael

1    9/23/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Even though I had a tough time locating the 1st teebox, I found that the course layout is very intuitive and quite optimized for the given space. Nice variety and options with teeshots. The trees are mature, and are very well positioned whether they are fairway obstacles, surrounding a pole, or framing a teebox. I really like how the designers went with a minimalist approach to the course, with poles instead of baskets, and cement strips instead of traditional slabs. It seems they did too good a job, which explains why there is so much "Disc Golf warning" signage all over the place.
Cons: The #9 pole isn't very close to the #1 teebox; no matter where you park, you'll have a walk a little. Can get HOT in the summertime.
Other Thoughts: This course plays a lot better than it looks driving in. No signage, but I think that was by design. This course compares to Fern Park in Woodland.
=================
Uniqueness: B+ (nice wooden pole targets; optimal layout; minimal but decent teepads)
Difficulty: B (flat; not long; great usage of trees)
Fun Factor: A- (9 unique holes; never boring)
Aesthetics: B+ (clean; very discreet course)
---------------------
Overall: B+

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.