Carmichael, CA
Carmichael Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: woodstock Hole #2 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Target



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Solid Tune Up Course

5+    4/15/2014   4/15/2014
Review By: IsThisThingOn
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good use of terrain
-Moderately varied shot selection
-Great map at 1st tee (also take away maps)
-Well maintained by the city
Cons: -Holes 8+9 are frequently surrounded by sketchy crew.
-Holes 8+9 are also a trek from 1-7 (between this and the weirdos I usually skip these).
-Tee pads can be slippery
-holes 4-7 fold back on themselves, can be annoying during even medium traffic times.
Other Thoughts: Great place to tune up some shots. LOTS of ace runs. Not worth a long drive, but great if you're in the area and want to get in a few rounds.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/11/2011   11/19/2013
Review By: loki the trickster
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: grass that is watered and mowed often. not a lot of other golfers on the course so you can play quickly. excellent starter and family course. has both tee pads and baskets.
Cons: it is 9 holes. 8 and 9 are on the other side of the dog park and hard to find. not to challenging with either of the length or obstacles. this is both a pro and con but the course has sprinklers so if you golf early you will want or need a towel.
Other Thoughts: carmichael is a good place to get back in to the game or keep you game up to date!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

sweet

5+    4/8/2013   4/21/2013
Review By: Don DiscHulk
Played: 137  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 24.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great intermediate park. 9 holes, with plenty of parking and access. Now has Baskets. Great place for learning to drive with putters and midranges.
Cons: sundays during the farmers market, holes 6 & 7 are not allowed to be played while market is there. Till about 1 or 2 pm i think. dogpark splits the first 7 holes from the last 2
Other Thoughts: in the process of getting t-pads installed. was supposed to be last week, now on hold as of 4/21/2013

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Short 9 in Carmichael

5+    12/5/2012   12/7/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some decent distance shots. No real short gimme holes, but most are potential birdies for experienced disc golfers. Tennis courts are in play on 3 holes and are out-of-bounds. Hole 1 is where they are most in play as the fairway wraps around a corner of the courts. Some baskets are very nicely placed within groups of large trees. There is one sign with the course layout on it posted on the corner of the tennis courts by the first tee which is near Grand Ave. and the northwest corner of the tennis courts. Well maintained grass throughout course. Newer course with not a lot of people playing usually so creating alternate layouts or playing the course backwards is often a possibility, as well as making it a good course for beginners or throwing multiple discs.
Cons: Natural tees, no signs, and a lot of wide open shots. Only one tee and pin location on every hole. There is a walk from the hole 7 pin to holes 8 & 9 around the dog park. Hole 9 ends a little ways away from hole 1 so there is a little walk to get back to your car or play another round (not bad at all though; maybe 250-300 yards). Completely flat and sometimes subject to flooding and muddy areas.
Other Thoughts: The sign at hole one with the course layout on it shows where holes 8 & 9 are located, but it isn't completely obvious where to go after finishing hole 7. Follow the road straight past the dog park and the 8th tee will be on the left once you get around the dog park in the corner of the grass. Shoot for the furthest basket (not the one 80 ft. away, that's hole 9's basket). There is a weekly random doubles league on Monday's at 3PM. The tees get muddy after rains so it can be necessary to throw from behind or on the side of them.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Long Walkout To Reach #'s 8 & 9 !

1    8/24/2012   10/6/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Carmichael Park is a pretty, green multi-use park with tennis courts, ballfields, a dog park and a playground. I started with # 1 playing over the tennis courts and finishing with the long walk to #'s 8 and 9. The course information sheet called those holes over there 1 and 2 so I'm a little confused already.
The course has dirt pads, the baskets are okay and there are no tee signs. When I reached # 5, I had no idea where that basket had snuck off to.
There's about a 1/3 mile walk past the dog park to the last (first?) two baskets. This area has a park sign designating this area as "Disc Golf Only". These two holes are fairly basic in nature without much in the way of obstacles.
Cons: The first hole I played is a problem waiting to happen. Having players of all abilities throwing over the tennis courts is just asking for trouble.

The dirt teepads are not great. The lack of signage is a problem. I don't know where # 5 basket was?

And there was the long walk out to 8 and 9 and then you have to walk all the back to where you parked. All in all, not a smooth natural flow.
Other Thoughts: Carmichael Park is a typical little city park but the disc golf course suffers from a poor design.

Another thing is suffers from is a clearcut case of HBB (Home Boy Bias) in it's inflated rating of almost 3.0.
How does a flat 9 hole rec course with dirt pads, no signs, terrible design flaws, long walkout to 8 and 9, mundane holes with little or no obstacles, a missing basket, long walk back to parking and a major safety flaw on # 1 merit a rating of a 3? Sorry homies, this course is way overrated!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Easy 9

1    4/25/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: humchris85
Played: 109  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 8.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well manicured park
- Easy to find
- Hole 1 has a left to right turn
- Baskets are in good shape
- Crowds seemed much smaller than the other Sacramento area courses I've played
- Maps available at the first tee
- More friendly locals than I have encountered in other areas of Sac
- Playground in the park, though not close enough that there would be any risk of discs hitting kids
- A few baskets have interesting placements
Cons: - Tee's are dirt marked with a concrete block with the hole # on it
- Long walk from hole 7 to holes 8 and 9, with a long walk back to your car after hole 9
- Most holes are straight ahead without any real obsticles
- Homeless people hanging around some areas of the course
- Holes have good distance for am's and kids, but players with more experiance will end up prety bored
- Right next to a major road, so road noise is inevitable
- No tee signs
- A little difficult to navigate at times, even with a map
- No elevation change
- Other park users walking through the course at times
Other Thoughts: The map that is in the links section is outdated. Hole 1 now starts where they had hole 3 listed. To find holes 8 and 9 you have a long walk, past hole 7's basket and past the dog park.

Over all this course is an ok little city park course, well mannicured and making good use of the trees that are there. It's fun for locals wanting to avoid the crowds that are usualy at Shady Oaks or Roseville (though they are both beter courses), or to show their girlfriend or kid how to play disc golf in a less intimidating place. It's also good for someone wanting a quick round on thier lunch break if they work in the area. For players wanting more challange I would recomend waiding through the crowds at Shady Oaks or Rocklin, or taking a drive up to Tahoe and playing some hardcore courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Lunch Time practice!

1    7/3/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: Wings like Eagles
Played: 60  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For those that live around Shady Oaks in Orangevale, this is a decent place to hit close by if the Oaks are impacted (as often is the case.)
Cons: Long walk between 7 and 8 is odd. If the second nine is added and this is revised to be part of a second nine, the nice walk between front and back could be nice.
Other Thoughts: I would slot this course between Elk Grove and Marconi. Again, for those Orangevale folks, it is a closer drive than Marconi and a much better area. It is wayyyyy closer than Elk Grove and a more challenging/better layout. It is what it is, a quick practice round during a lunch break!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

needs tee signs

2-4    6/17/2012   6/23/2012
Review By: swampdisk
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -shady
-nice baskets
.......thats about it
Cons: -dirt tee pads
-hard to navigate
-hole 8-9 couldn't find the first time
Other Thoughts: ehhhhhh play it to mark it off the list but other than that i wouldn't recommend it..

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Gave me the DG itch back

2-4    4/25/2012   4/27/2012
Review By: Crum
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course Close to me.. Nice Park with lots of grass and nice big trees.. Great Baskets and well marked tee box..Good people..Nice placement of pins and usage of the space the course is in.
Cons: Couple holes are ontop on each other making a wait time sometimes. 8 and 9 are away from the first 7 holes and far away from hole 1.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice effort.

1    2/21/2012   2/21/2012
Review By: Speedly
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Park is in pretty good condition.
- Designers did a lot with a small amount of space.
- All the holes are driveable with good form and/or power.
- I'm told it makes a nice night golf course, although I didn't do it myself.
- Not entirely flat and open, it takes some skill to get around the course efficiently.
- New baskets have been placed to replace the old poles.
Cons: - I feel like the course was wedged into the park.
- A few holes bring outside dangers of damage into play. The road on to the left on 3 and the house/side road almost directly in play on 7 come to mind.
- The distance between holes 8 and 9, and the rest of the course, kinda sucks.
Other Thoughts: I'm not a huge fan of courses with dirt teepads, especially ones that call for full-power shots sometimes.

Please note that I understand that they had to do well with what room and budget they had, and I did not factor that into the number score I assigned this place.

Hole 1 feels gimmicky to me, and presents the danger of either throwing into the road if you make a poor shot, or shooting into the tennis courts where you could strike an unsuspecting player.

It was a decent experience, and if I lived close, I would definitely play there again. I wish Schweitzer was still around so I could experience it, but alas, those times are behind us.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.