Carmichael, CA 
Carmichael Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: woodstock Hole #7 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Good, Short, Simple, and Fun

1    11/23/2011   11/24/2011
Review By: SweetZombieJesus
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has a simple but fun layout with most holes having numerous flight paths for you to take.
Cons: Third hole could get you into trouble with traffic.
Other Thoughts: Good place to practice and bring newcomers for a quick and easy round.
I actually like tossing at the wooden "baskets". I feel like it will improve my putting accuracy.
I think this course should be a model for new/under budget courses trying to take off. The designers did very well with what they had to work with.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Charming Carmichael

1    9/23/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Even though I had a tough time locating the 1st teebox, I found that the course layout is very intuitive and quite optimized for the given space. Nice variety and options with teeshots. The trees are mature, and are very well positioned whether they are fairway obstacles, surrounding a pole, or framing a teebox. I really like how the designers went with a minimalist approach to the course, with poles instead of baskets, and cement strips instead of traditional slabs. It seems they did too good a job, which explains why there is so much "Disc Golf warning" signage all over the place.
Cons: The #9 pole isn't very close to the #1 teebox; no matter where you park, you'll have a walk a little. Can get HOT in the summertime.
Other Thoughts: This course plays a lot better than it looks driving in. No signage, but I think that was by design. This course compares to Fern Park in Woodland.
=================
Uniqueness: B+ (nice wooden pole targets; optimal layout; minimal but decent teepads)
Difficulty: B (flat; not long; great usage of trees)
Fun Factor: A- (9 unique holes; never boring)
Aesthetics: B+ (clean; very discreet course)
---------------------
Overall: B+

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Different, but fun :-)

1    8/21/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: tgashby
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Obstacles abound
Varying shots, many with hard turns
Nothing too long if you are a short thrower
Didn't see any other disc golfers
Cons: Very busy
Lots of people walking through the course
Some of the obstacles are buildings and cars, which can be damaged
Tee type is... different
Near impossible to find the tees without a map
Other Thoughts: Thought it was a very fun course, though had to play it safe because I went at a very busy time. I really liked the holes, though the "baskets" took a while to get used to.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Its no Schweitzer, But...

5+    6/22/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: woodstock
Played: 56  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well the Mutha Putters lost there beloved Albert Schweitzer but fought back and set up a pretty good 9 holes, Still fighting for the other nine.

The layout is very good considering the obstacles they had to work with.
On most holes you have a choice of lines towards the target.
Groups of mature trees are used to guard most targets.
Off some tees there are some tricky mandos that make it interesting.
Plenty of parking and is located in a very nice park with all the amenities.
Cons: Most people are not aware the course is there so you get the occasional park user sitting in a fairway.
Maybe not a con, But it is all grass and totally flat.
Tone poles, But I think the way Mike Guerrero is handling things we should have baskets in the not to distant future.
Navigating this course might be a little tricky your first time around but there's a good map in the links.
Other Thoughts: There are doubles on Wednesday at 6:00 pm. Get out there and play, They could use the support. Mike and the Mutha Putters are a dedicated group of people who fought to keep Schweitzer open and fought to install this one. Go out to this course and show your support because they did a great job.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center