Hollins (Roanoke), VA 
Walrond Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #3 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 185ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    11/28/2011   9/14/2012
Review By: der Turkey Vulture
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The updates in 2011 that lengthened the course made it more scenic, rather than just back and forth. The additional hazards ('marsh-like') make for a more fun game.

Overall, a rolling, open course. I'd think of this as a beginner-friendly place to play.
Cons: No ID posts makes for a bit of guess at times if not outright frustrating. Really, signage would go a long way here.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great for beginners

5+    7/6/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 38  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an amazing course for beginners. There are a few places to lose some discs(pond, marsh, woods), but overall its a great starting course. I am down to a -1 best and average 2 on this course. Mostly an open course, if you like woods or difficult obstacles this is not the course for you. Holes are a decent distance away, not too far and also has a couple nice short holes. There is also a playground for the kids while you play.
Cons: There is one water hazard. If you hit it you're disc is gone forever. However it wouldn't be easy to do, its more of a mental thing. When I play now I hardly notice it's there. Walking path can be annoying but typically there aren't people on it.
Other Thoughts: There is a map to play this course as an 18 hole course in the links/files. If you play this course a lot it is a great refresher. It includes most of the original holes just with a further tee and a twist of all the holes for the other 9.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  All Par 3's?

5+    4/17/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: senorbajo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Has anyone established what "par" is for the holes on this course? It appears in the round results that everyone is considering each hole a "3". That works fine for most of the holes, but in my mind there's no way #9 is a par 3.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Soapbox Derby Junior

1    4/8/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The map is really good - make sure you have a copy of it, because the tees may be hard to find, and you can use the map to estimate the tee locations.
Cons:
Plays a bit close to some private properties and public waking path. Some hole/baskets/fairways jammed together. Awkward flow from basket-8 to tee-9 - essentially, you walk fairway-4/past tee-5.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays down, up, and within the sloping open space of a multi-purpose park. Elevation changes pose the primary difficulty on about half the holes, which are practically wide open, and a small amount of trees/bushes, usually near the basket, provide the challenges on the open holes. With three holes under 200', and all but two holes under 300', intermediate+ players should have some birdy, and possibly ace, opportunities.

Navigation: The day I played, tees 1, 5-8 had a small pole at the natural tee location. I found worn dirt spots where tees 2&9 seemed to make sense, and I had to estimate the tee spot for 3&4. The most obvious basket from tee-6 is basket-8 - basket-6 is not visible, farther and left of basket-8, behind the trees/bushes. Basket-7 is behind the bushes which are behind tee-8.

The original course was longer, offered two tee locations per hole, but had even less obstacles. Convenient to I81, so possibly worth a visit if you happen to be passing by.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable

1    2/1/2012   2/3/2012
Review By: wvu1867
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy access off I-81 (within a mile)
Nice area.
Cons: Poorly marked at moment.
Other Thoughts: Just a fun course to play.If you are an experienced player it may not be a great challange to play ,yet location and access make it worth playing.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Open and hard to follow

1    7/17/2011   12/14/2011
Review By: discgolfpioneer
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 37.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Discatcher baskets are fine, but DGA Mach III's would be better. Easy to throw due to the lack of trees and obstacles. Good amount of parking. If you have a good roller shot in your arsenal, it will come in handy on this course.
Cons: Wide open, no obstacles to speak of. Very little shade. Relatively boring layout. Does not require a large shot selection.
Other Thoughts: I flat out could not find Hole #1. I saw some other players and I joined their group. I probably would have not been able to follow the layout of the course otherwise. This course could use some trees. Do not play in any decent amount of heat. There is not much area to retreat from the sun. But, at least it is a disc golf course that I can play for free.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Walrond

1    11/22/2011   11/24/2011
Review By: germs
Played: 66  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The only pro I can think of is that there are Discatcher baskets. It could be decent if you're willing to play an odyssey round. Beginners just learning how to throw would enjoy this course.
Cons: Although there is a small map of where the holes are supposed to be near hole #1, it isn't all that accurate. This course seems nearly abandoned, so there isn't any wear in the grass to show you where the tee-pads should be. Some of them are marked with PVC poles in the ground, but at least 3 of them are missing. I couldn't locate #9 basket at all, even with a picture of the map. The park is constructing new walking paths, and a few holes play directly over the paths. I had to wait for people to walk by on numerous occasions. Almost every hole is short, and completely wide open with no obstacles.
Other Thoughts: This course could be a lot more fun, with something to mark the tee-pads. A lot more area could be utilized, especially with only 9 holes. Maybe throw in a water hazard and some trees or other obstacles. With the new walking paths being installed, it would be nice to avoid them as much as possible.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Practice Course at Best

5+    10/5/2011   10/13/2011
Review By: vtarchiek
Played: 48  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Holes 6-9 make good use of the trees & vegetation
- Scenic, well-maintained park
- Can be played in about 30 minutes
Cons: - Most of the tee markers (white PVC poles) are gone. Unless you memorize the map near the parking lot or have played several times it's impossible to follow the course layout.
- No tee pads, other than a couple of bare dirt spots left over from the old layout. Since the redesign in summer 2011 it seems like the whole course seems unfinished.
- Several holes (1-5) are very short and unimaginative, can easily be played with a putter
- New course layout feels cramped & doesn't use space available
- Drainage issues around several holes, can get swampy after rain
- Flow from holes 8 to 9 makes no sense, you essentially have to backtrack across the park to get to the hole 9 tee pad
Other Thoughts: I feel that Roanoke County could do so much better with this course. There is a ton of area at this park that is not being utilized & would create some great holes. It seems like portions of the reworked course were crammed together without any real thought. At least the old layout tested your driving ability on a few of the holes.

I definitely think there is potential here, this would be a great location for an 18-hole course, or even a better designed 9-hole course. However, as it stands now Walrond is little more than a practice/putter course.

In case anyone's interested, I've uploaded an alternate 18-hole layout in the links section. Still not great but adds a lot of distance & allows for different types of shots. Feel free to message me with any comments/suggestions.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course! Wish it was 18 Holes!

1    7/1/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: BrewCrewJake
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2011
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great hole layout! Really fun course with open area and trees. This course has a good change in elevation and was well trimmed. The disc catchers were is great condition! Also BOB type stroller friendly!
Cons: Since the course is being redesigned the hole ID posts haven't been installed yet. Once these are installed it will help negate any confusion.
Other Thoughts: This course is really nice! I am surprised that no one had uploaded photos or reviews prior to my trip today. Overall this is an awesome course! Can't wait to play again and wish there were 18 holes!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.