Disc Golf Store
Cleburne, TX 
Amigo Park Share
Uploaded By: mordenkaiden Hole #7 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 218ft.   3 / 264ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Approach



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Can be a lot of fun - especially when groomed

5+    7/15/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: Withinoz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short and long tees.
Elevation and trees add difficulty, where there wouldn't be much if any.
A pretty good flow from start to finish.
Was installed by students down to the creation of the baskets.
Cons: It is not very well groomed. I always wear jeans when I go to play this course because you have a very high chance that from Hole 4 to 17 you will be walking in tall weeds, cactus, beggars lice, etc.
When it is freshly mowed, it's a lot more fun.
The tee boxes are not made for any kind of an approach.
2 or 3 of the signs are missing.
Some of the baskets no longer have the number on them.
The first time playing this course without a local will probably result in you hating it.
Other Thoughts: I hated the course the first time I played it. Then I decided to give it another chance since it is 5 miles from my house. On second play, I had a lot more fun. Since then, I have grown to enjoy playing it, unfortunately, I don't really have any friends that play it, so I usually go it alone.

This is a good course to play with a friend, at least the first couple times because on 80% of the holes you are throwing blind over/into cedars and you could end up looking for a disc a lot longer than you want to if you don't have a spotter.

If you are coming to this area and want to play it through with a local, hit me up - I play DG every day, and will probably be down to come out and show you the ropes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good for Cleburne

5+    4/20/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 49  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2014
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is the first course I ever reviewed. Now that I've played more, I've updated my review.

The course has a very good flow. It has a good variety of shots, not favoring fh or bh. It is always well maintained. Due to the type of trees on the property, it really changes very little from summer to winter.
Cons: The course has a lot of blind shots around cedar trees. You will, at some point in your round, find yourself throwing from underneath a cedar tree. It's not really pleasant under those, and they tend to make your throws bad. The out of bounds lines are always mowed well, but are in need of some adjustment. Due to the trees all being short, it's very easy to drive with a tomahawk on most of the holes.
Other Thoughts: I think it is a good course for what the land gave us. There isn't a lot that can be done with relatively flat land covered simply in cedar trees.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 short and fun

1    5/11/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: texhop58
Played: 50  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Good use of land for small course
*very well maintained-Fairway is mowed down well, out of all courses ive been to, i think this one had the best fairways
*Majority of holes were easy to locate tee box, because the mow lines will take you there (17 is the hardest and i will explain in "other thoughts)
*signage was very helpful (0nly 18 was missing)
*some trees had flag markers to guide you
*very clean course and not alot of people
*scenic walk
Cons: *Repetive, not alot of terrain change, just big trees in the middle of fairway
*homemade baskets-(but in all fairness are some ofthe better homemade baskets ive seen)
*Alot of blind shots, Guessing at which tree you think the sign means.
*on Hill College grounds, so im curious to see if it can get busy
Other Thoughts: hole 17, it does play over the water for long tees, after finishing 16, walk around the lake. The long Tee plays all the way across the lake. To get to the short tee, continue to walk around the lake and you will come to like an alley looking area that will take you back to hole 1, 17 short is marked by two small pink flags and stone. you will walk through 1"s tee box to get to 17 basket area. from 17 Turn around and cross the dirt road, where most people park. 18 plays all the way up to the school, its not the practice basket behind the hill.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  This course is my Amigo

2-4    1/22/2012   1/22/2012
Review By: UFO51
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Solitude and scenery
Clean
Cons: Repitition
Lots of blind holes, alot more fun the second time through
Homeade baskets that lets puts slip through
No tee pads
Kinda hard to find the next hole
Other Thoughts: I like it because its off the beaten path and a relaxing walk through a clean, wooded area. If you have played it a few times you definitely have the advantage over any new folks playing it due to all the blind holes. I think any actual course cons are balanced out by the solitude and lake in the background - overall a good experience I recommend. Better baskets and more variety would help the ratings of this course but more traffic might take away from the best parts of making the trek to Amigo.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 God effort for a Community College

2-4    7/9/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: daveseeley
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For central Texas, this course is nicely landscaped. Lots of cedar trees, a pond, a little "woods" on 16-17. Good variety of shots from open field to completely hidden. Nicely mowed fairways and greens, also mowed trails leading you from basket to next tee
Cons: Too many switchbacks. Many holes make a very tight extended "Z" thru the cedars. Short walks between tees but little diversity in this stretch. I think the trees could have been thinned a little more.
Other Thoughts: The course was a college project as I understand. Well done. Ace's are hard to prove as the home-made goals can allow the disc to slip right out.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Use of Land

5+    5/25/2011   6/22/2011
Review By: gek76
Played: 38  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 11.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was pleasantly surprised at how the holes have been laid out. They didn't just put some baskets in a field. Course uses trees and slight elevation changes to make each hole challenging and fun.
Love that it is close enough for me to get in about 9 hole during my lunch hour, when the weather is nice. Very nice signs at each tee. They not only show where the basket is and distance to it but where out of bounds are. Regular and Pro tees.
Cons: A sign or two telling you where to park and some info about the course would be nice. Some of the holes regular tees are a bit short. I find myself over throwing from the regular tee and I never have had that problem on other course. Though it is teaching me to have a more controlled drive. Tees are just a line of bricks in the ground. Signs feel a bit close to this line. Like I am going to whack my hand on the sign when I tee off.
Other Thoughts: This has become my home course. I love it. It is a perfect home course. I can get out and play as many holes as I have time for and then be on my way. The college keeps the fairways cut and groomed which is a big plus. Baskets are made by the welding dept and are pretty nice. If they are selling any please let me know, I could use a practice basket at home. This course is just getting going and I know it will improve as more people play on it and have the time and money to update it. Would love to know if there are any weekly tournaments going on here yet. Let me know if I can help make this an even better course then it already is.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.