Cleburne, TX
Amigo Park Share
Uploaded By: mordenkaiden Hole #14 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 269ft.   3 / 304ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    3/14/2014   3/14/2014
Review By: McChains
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Fun little course. Changes in elevation. Some blind shots which gives it a degree of difficulty. Plenty of ace runs.
Cons: Baskets are terrible. Natural tee pads could be leveled out. Signs are too close at front of the box

Cedar Cedar Everywhere...

5+    1/22/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: jrrttmrgn
Played: 65  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amigo is a course installed and maintained by Hill College. The student association headed up installation and the maintenance dept. mows and trims the trees and baskets were created by the welding dept. Amigo is situated on the side of a hill covered with Cedar trees and little else. The designer did a good job with the two things he had to work with in laying out the course; cedar trees and elevation. The course forces players to exercise control of midranges and putters with additional challenge added by careful mowing that distinguishes the OB's from the fairway.
Cons: The cons of the course tend to shape opinions of visitors more than the pros do. The natural teepads are filled with jutting rocks and badly needed packed and level. The tee signs are too close to the tees and pose real issues for RHBH followthroughs. The baskets though functional have little to no sweet spot and are prone to spit outs. And the cedar trees....
Other Thoughts: The course can be accessed by driving through the primary entrance to Hill College - Cleburne on 67 Business / Henderson and driving past the campus until the road turns to gravel. Parking is up against the tree line at the end of the road. On your left will be the tee for hole 1 (by the pond) and on your right will be the tee for hole 18.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

fun and unique

2-4    7/28/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 84  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 13.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: unique and interesting design. uses terrain and elevation well.
Cons: home made baskets don't catch as well as normal ones. No concrete tees and worn in places, some uneven footing. Some missing signs. Tough to navigate the 1st time. no restroom that I could see. There is a building there at the college that could be open at times.
Other Thoughts: I love this course! It mostly plays through a bunch of cedar trees/ bushes. The 1st 3 and then the last hole are more open. The cedars produce a number of blind shots and force you to use every shot in the bag. I threw over the top, rollers, right turn, left turn etc.This course forces you to use your imagination and at times position your disc for the next shot. The holes are mostly short but extremely tight at times. There are many birdie opportunities but you can quickly make bogie also. Lots of risk/ reward. If some of the issues were fixed this would be a phenomenal course. If you like open courses where you can just let it rip you might not like it but if you like a technical course that forces you to think and manufacture shots then you might just love it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

a walk in the cedars

1    12/26/2012   2/18/2013
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 179  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -homemade baskets were surprisingly decent
-marked tee areas, signs on the front holes
-some fun holes and uses a bit of the elevation
-plenty of parking
Cons: -difficult to find the first hole
-at least half the signs missing
-lots of blind holes in a mess of cedars
-most of the middle of the course feels repetitive
-many lame fairways that are too dense for anything but an overhand shot
Other Thoughts: This course must be convenient for local golfers that don't have time to travel to a better course but it leaves a lot to be desired. The better part of the course works its way through an area dense with cedars resulting in mostly blind shots on holes with not much of a fairway.

The course is tough on visitors since the signs are mostly missing making navigation very tricky. You can't see ahead in the cedars so you have to go explore to find the basket or next tee. I also had a hard time finding the first tee so I started on hole 2.

Hopefully there is a group of dedicated golfers nearby that can make the adjustments that this course really needs to make a more enjoyable round. Cutting down some of the trees, clearing out some of the lower branches around the baskets, next tee signs, and the like would go a really long way here. Course baggers and locals only for now.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Could use some work

1    2/3/2013   2/3/2013
Review By: Tiny
Played: 34  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use for the land that they had available. Cedar trees are dreadful in many ways for disc golf, and there are atleast 4+ per hole after 3.
Custom built baskets were better than anticipated. Weird shape but could still drain putts if they hit in the middle or near the middle. If you hit on the side with a hyzer, it's most likely coming out.
Couple of the holes, 4, 10, 14, and 17, were awesome. The rest were the definition of mediocre or bad on some.
Well groomed where it needs to be groomed.
Cons: Very mediocre, short and tons of cedar trees.

Mediocre would be the long walks in between holes, the lack of concrete or quality teepads. Most of the dirt teepads were loose dirt or uneven in extreme degrees. Given you don't need much grip cause it can be played from a stand still, but it could pose an risk for injury if you try something with a runup.
Missing/stolen/broken teesigns, given there were 9 in the front half and they were accurate, but the back did not have any making it difficult to figure out where to throw. I spent more time walking up and back to see where to throw. The cedar trees pose a big issue this way. Thick, and not fun to land near. It could easily be made into a fun playable course. And needs more indication on where to park at this course. We ended up parking by hole 18's basket in the far parking lot just so we know we will end up near our car.
Other Thoughts: It could be made into a fun playable course, I would suggest replacing teesigns since it's very needed here. Trimming the cedar trees around the baskets, Just trimming don't cut those down. Maybe adding some teepads, or atleast evening out the dirt and packing it down. The biggest help to this course would be removing some of the unnecessary trees. A lot of blind holes with no real line for shots other than overhead. Maybe cut 1-2 trees a hole leaving the trees in between the holes. I liked the hiking aspect of this course, but I did not like playing disc golf here. I would return if I had to, but not in the near future. Maybe if I needed to break in some putters.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Blind Cedar Holes Amigo

1    9/15/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: giles
Played: 139  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 17.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: A good design for what land was available. The design starts off promising then goes down-hill after the first set of holes. I don't think cedar trees are great for disc golf and that is about all this land offers. It would be a huge improvement if the cedars 'inside the circle' had the bottom 2' of branches cut off to make getting a legal stance less of a hassle. The easiest way to score well at this course would be to throw spike and overhand shots on most of the holes and I think that is boring golf and a design should try to minimize this, though it would be difficult if not impossible with the land used. The distances felt short and repetitive on the majority of holes. The tee signs were good and informative with next tee markings that help on a few of the switchback areas or where two tees are close to one basket. However the placement of the tee sign in relation to the 'regular' tee box was poorly thought out and a careless RHBH follow-through would smack into the signage. The tee markers of landscaping retaining wall stone were good enough, but the natural tee area will need work to stay playable. Home-made baskets were not bad but have a much smaller sweet spot than quality production models. If the home-made baskets on the blind holes had super tall poles that were visible from the tee, it would go a long way to improving the playability of the course as many of the holes were blind. The course was cart/stroller friendly but the rough had burrs and wasn't a good course for a small child to walk.
Though it will 'scratch the itch' for local players, the nature of this course would lead to frustration for the traveling golfer who will spend too much time scouting ahead to find baskets and searching around the cedar trees for their disc to make it worth the effort.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

very enjoyable

2-4    8/22/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: Salcidomd
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: a very diverse couse open holes (1-3) and as you go on it gets harder and harder in the trees then on 18 a very long up hill shot
Cons: 17 needs marked and the distance from 16 basket to 17 tee is very long and 17 was difficult to find and from 17 to 18 was also long and well maybe the tee should cross the no.1 idk
Other Thoughts: was a good course i really enjoyed playing

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Amigo Park

1    6/18/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: There was a few good holes but not too many. At least they have a course in the area for the students to be introduced to.
Cons: the baskets were homemade and really crappy.
most of the holes were complete blindshots. i like blind shots but not on 70% of the holes
the teepads are dirt and bumpy which was horrible footing
Other Thoughts: This course was not very fun at all and i couldnt even find holes 17 and 18. Not really worth the drive unless you are trying to play everything in the DFW area.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good for Cleburne

5+    4/20/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 38  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2014
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is the first course I ever reviewed. Now that I've played more, I've updated my review.

The course has a very good flow. It has a good variety of shots, not favoring fh or bh. It is always well maintained. Due to the type of trees on the property, it really changes very little from summer to winter.
Cons: The course has a lot of blind shots around cedar trees. You will, at some point in your round, find yourself throwing from underneath a cedar tree. It's not really pleasant under those, and they tend to make your throws bad. The out of bounds lines are always mowed well, but are in need of some adjustment. Due to the trees all being short, it's very easy to drive with a tomahawk on most of the holes.
Other Thoughts: I think it is a good course for what the land gave us. There isn't a lot that can be done with relatively flat land covered simply in cedar trees.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

short and fun

1    5/11/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: texhop58
Played: 44  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Good use of land for small course
*very well maintained-Fairway is mowed down well, out of all courses ive been to, i think this one had the best fairways
*Majority of holes were easy to locate tee box, because the mow lines will take you there (17 is the hardest and i will explain in "other thoughts)
*signage was very helpful (0nly 18 was missing)
*some trees had flag markers to guide you
*very clean course and not alot of people
*scenic walk
Cons: *Repetive, not alot of terrain change, just big trees in the middle of fairway
*homemade baskets-(but in all fairness are some ofthe better homemade baskets ive seen)
*Alot of blind shots, Guessing at which tree you think the sign means.
*on Hill College grounds, so im curious to see if it can get busy
Other Thoughts: hole 17, it does play over the water for long tees, after finishing 16, walk around the lake. The long Tee plays all the way across the lake. To get to the short tee, continue to walk around the lake and you will come to like an alley looking area that will take you back to hole 1, 17 short is marked by two small pink flags and stone. you will walk through 1"s tee box to get to 17 basket area. from 17 Turn around and cross the dirt road, where most people park. 18 plays all the way up to the school, its not the practice basket behind the hill.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.