Lombard, IL 
Lombard Commons Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5 (Taken 8/2008)
4 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    5/21/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: BuzzArmStrong
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads (with the exception of hole 5) - baskets are in good shape (though they are not top notch baskets) - Holes 2,7, and 8 are alright - plays extremely quickly if you don't have much time for a round- every single hole can be aced (not quite sure if this is a good thing).
Cons: Other uses for the park can get in the way of a few holes - Most holes are essentially wide open and only require that you avoid one or two trees - Doesn't require that you stay in any sort of fairway, you can throw almost any shot on any hole (I could probably play a round both all backhand and all forehand without running into any real problems) - Nothing unique.
Other Thoughts: It's alright for a quick warm up round or for people just starting to learn, otherwise it is pretty boring.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Cramped course with little challenge

1    7/9/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: krc1130
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Most holes have concrete tees, markers on each hole listing the distance and general direction of the basket (though help isn't needed there). Course starts and ends near the parking lot, which is always convenient. Ample parking so long as other events aren't going on.
Cons: The course itself is very boring. All of the holes are pretty open and short. If there are other events going on, baskets and tees could easily be obstructed by people. The course is very cramped and a lot of the holes and tees are on top of each other. Very few obstacles are on the course unless you count bystanders on the trail or watching a baseball game.
Other Thoughts: I played this course since I was in the area to play at Madison Meadow. Given how close this course is to a very decent 19 hole course, there's really no need to play here other than to mark it off your list. This is a good course for beginners, but it holds little appeal beyond that. It's easy enough to follow and the park is nice, but the course is also way too easy to play.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner

2-4    6/20/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good mix of holes, in mostly open land with a good number of mature trees. Most of the holes involve avoiding large trees, so there is some thought needed when teeing off. Not extremely challenging, but not wide open either.
- A little elevation change here and there also help to add some difficulty, and enjoyment, to the holes. Nothing too extreme, more of sloping fairways as opposed to drastic dropoffs.
- Tees, signs and baskets are in good shape.
Cons: - The holes are pretty short overall, so there is not much challenge for a more experienced player.
- Layout is kind of cramped at times; I can definitely see people getting in each other's way or being bothered by wayward discs.
- A lot of other things going on at this park. I went on a weekend afternoon/evening, and it was full of non-DGer's. Only affected one fairway, but it could have been much worse.
Other Thoughts: - I had played this course nearly 6 years ago, and I didn't recognize it. It is much more of a "real" course that it was before the 2008 renovation. I would consider this a good complement to the nearby Madison Meadows park, for a warm up or cool down.
- This is an excellent beginners course. The sloping fairways, mature trees, and short hole lengths are great for a new player. More seasoned golfers can probably skip it.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Short n easy

1    7/24/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small park with some small hills and scattered trees of various types. There is a nice mix of open holes and holes that play through stands of trees. Most holes either have trees near the pin, or trees that provide obstacles down the fairway, adding a little bit of challenge.

There are concrete tees on most holes, and nicely leveled and mulched tee areas on the others. There are wooden posts at each tee with the hole number, distance, and general direction of the pin. All holes are visible from the tee, so the signage is completely adequate. The course is easy to navigate, with each tee visible from the previous basket.
Cons: The course is very short, and nearly every hole is an ace run. The space was used well, but there just wasn't a lot to work with in this park. There is a ton of open space on the course, so every hole is reachable with an easy hyzer for LH or RH players.

There are supposedly long tees, but they are not at all obvious, and seem to be a locals only kind of thing. It would be nice to have some kind of marking for first time players on the course who would like a little more challenge.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great place for first time players, with pretty easy holes with a few trees, and no chance to lose a disc. More experienced players won't need more than a putter and possibly a mid, and it's still not going to provide a whole lot of challenge.

The course is an ok warm-up for nearby Madison Meadows, so if you're in the area you might as well play both. This course definitely isn't worth going out of your way to play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 C = As average as the come for 9 holers

2-4    4/19/2008   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/8/2010
5 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
(Other than one hole, you will not find any obstacles that will punish you with a bogey for an errant throw. I understand that the original design was really good, but lots of trees were removed due to a storm (If I remember right).)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == C
(Only half the holes fall into that category. But it is a fun course to see if you can get dialed in and get to 7 or so down.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C-
(2-3 holes force a specific shape shot to get to the pin, but the remainder are pretty open.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C-
(Typical city park. Overall clean and well maintained. Not secluded at all.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well this course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. See my profile for specifics on my rating philosophy.

I fancy myself as a connoisseur of good course design and I am a competitive Blue level (950-ish rated) with mid-level power (accurate to 300' with max D of 360'). Since I have played a decent number of courses (150+ 18-hole, 90+ 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me…..and that's the fun of things here.

5 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Not for Me.

1    8/9/2008   8/13/2008
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 34  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2012
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Baskets were there.

Good course to practice approach game and putting if you are playing Meadows after.
Cons: Holes offered little challenge with most being in the open.

Many other park users were there when I played, some almost getting in the way on some holes.

Layout was confusing and made this course not that fun to play for me.

Course is quite short and flat which doesn't help the rating for me.

Tee pads were not the best.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course if you need to warm up for a round or two at Madison Meadows down the street. I would not come to play here again.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Go to Madison Meadows instead

7/1/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: Noah Karnes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a little 9 hole course that doesn't really provide much of a challenge. Most holes are in the 200-300' range and are pretty wide open. The tee signs consist of wooden poles with just the hole number and distance. It has nice concrete teepads and good baskets though.
Cons: Way too easy for seasoned players.
Other Thoughts: With Madison Meadows just a few blocks away, the only reason to play here is when they take down the baskets at Madison Meadows for "The Taste of Lombard."

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.