Disc Golf Store
Lombard, IL 
Lombard Commons Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9 (Taken 8/2008)
4 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Chill course

1    6/28/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 101  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice "after work" course, good for a quick round if you want to avoid traffic on 355 or something. There are some fun holes here, with a decent variety in distance. The park is multipurpose and there are a lot of things to do here if you want to make a day of it. It's also a great place to bring a beginner. The course flows decently, I was able to navigate it without a map my first time there.
Cons: I tend to give courses like this the "benefit of the doubt" and bump their rating up to 2.5, but I just couldn't do it for this one.

*Very open, easy, and un-exciting holes.
*Completely flat terrain
*The course brings paths, baseball fields, soccer fields into play... a round here during even a moderately busy time would be horribly crowded and slow
*Some of the holes were missing their concrete tee-pads, but the teepads that were present were microscopic
Other Thoughts: Madison Meadow is two minutes away from Lombard Commons and is a much better course. The only reasons that I'd choose to go to Lombard Commons over Madison Meadow would be if I wanted to play a faster round or if I was with a beginner.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very mediocre course

1    5/14/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 116  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Here you have the typical 9-hole course (+1 bonus hole) that merits the "reasonable" rating of 2.0.

It's set in a maintained community park, has good signage and logical flow. The baskets are average, as is the layout. In general, I would just say this is a very average course in every meaning of the word.

It was surprisingly crowded the day I went out and played. There were about 15 people playing on 10 baskets, which was nice to see. It definitely has potential to be expanded and improved.

Bathrooms and water fountains are on site directly by the first basket.
Cons: There's nothing here to make this course memorable. There's no real signature hole (outside of maybe #8). This course only warranted one play through in my eyes because it was so plain.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend playing the other course in the area over this one. This course is very easy and is a good course for beginners, but doesn't really offer a challenge for more experienced players.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 another park district course

1    11/26/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 78  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice park
-decent cement pads
-good use of the park(the 10 holes are short but it would be much worse if they tried to cram in 18)
- good place to bring a friend who is new to the game
-good place to work on your mid range game
hole 8 is a lot of fun
-this course uses what few trees there are well
Cons: -most holes are very short hole 2 is the only one over 300 feet
- a lot of easy shots with maybe one or 2 trees on most holes but is still rather plain
-the pads are very short but because of how short the holes are its not THAT big of a deal
-some of the baskets could use a little TLC some of the baskets/ tops of the baskets are lose and made me miss a put or two
- i some paths come close to the baskets in places and i can see other park users being close to harms way
Other Thoughts: -this course is what it is and that is another park district course. they did the best with the land they had but i think that i could come here with just my hornet and shoot under par.
but if you are in the mood to just throw mids for a chance at some aces then this course is worth playing
-the park says it is open till 10pm so might be a good spot for some night golf this time of the year if its not to cold for you

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Uncommonly Common Commons

2-4    10/27/2012   10/29/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 194  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Good use of the very little elevation in play (#'s 6, 7, 8 and 10).
- A good beginners course. Mostly open, grassy shots with scattered trees to provide the occasional obstacle.
- Tee signs with distance. Mostly concrete tees with one or two natural tees.
Cons: - Short hole lengths make this a bit repetitive.
- Several open shots adds to the repetition.
- The tees were in pretty bad shape in places. #10 had water filling the (sizeable) rut in front, making it an awkward teeing surface.
- Funky homemade baskets with huge nubs sticking up from the basket. Not much of an issue, but not really ideal, either.
Other Thoughts: - Located in a busy city park, the course manages to stay (mostly) out of the way. I'd avoid this course completely under crowded conditions.
- Not terrible golf by any means, but other than maybe #8, not a whole lot of challenge or thought required. Bring a putter/mid and go to work. The openness of the course makes this a good practice course for those trying to up their game. Also good for casual players/families/strollers.
- I'd hit this everyday for practice/fieldwork if it were in my neighborhood. I'd even go slightly out of my way to play it again in a pinch. But nothing to get excited about.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good for Beginners/Practice

5+    8/31/2012   8/31/2012
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 63  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~ Easy to navigate
~ Plays quickly if you just want a fast round
~ Beginner friendly
~ Generally clean and well kept
Cons: ~ Only one hole over 300'
~ Most holes are pretty wide open
~ Teepads are short, and the ground in front and behind has eroded on many, making many run-ups hazardous
Other Thoughts: I generally play this course for three reasons:
1) I am in a bit of a hurry and don't have time to play 18 at Madison Meadows
2) I have a new disc I want to try out or something I need to work on
3) I am taking someone out to teach them the game

A nice short course, nothing special, but not much to complain about either.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Basic and Straightforward

5+    10/2/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: ChiBlender36
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete tees on all holes but # 5
- Baskets get the job done (old homemade I believe)
- A nice quick 10 holes
- Trees that are there usually come into play guarding baskets
- A few (2 - 3) diff types of shots required on tees
- Easily navigable
Cons: - Very short (short holes are all 200 - 220 it seems)
-"Long" holes are around 300
- Can get crowded
- No creativity really
Other Thoughts: Better than some of the other 9 holers in the area. Near Madison Meadows which makes Commons a good warm-up round. Located in a nice park with lots of other things going on usually. Almost every hole is an ace opportunity which makes for some fun.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Common Park

5+    4/5/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - All tees are cement with clearly marked signes with accurate distances.

- A good mix of open shots with enough trees to add flavor.

- This is the perfect place to introduce a friend to the game, before you wear out their arm at Madison Meadow.

- The park is kept clean and the grass never gets out of hand
Cons: - Short and open, it's not much of a challenge for experienced players. Basically a deuce or die course.

- Sometimes dog walkers or other pedestrians will come into play, but it's not that big of a safety risk.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice neighborhood course to get in a quick round, it doesn't really stand out good or bad. Personally when I'm in the area I play this course as a warm up before Madison Meadow and I still find it enjoyable.

Does any one else find it ironic that it's called Lombard COMMON Park? For an average 9 holer it serves its purpose well.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

My new home course

5+    5/7/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 125  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2014
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A decent 10 hole course in a neighborhood park that also features baseball diamonds, a pool, tennis courts and space for other activities.
-Beginner friendly
-A quick round.
-10 holes (kind of like an amp going up to eleven, bonus!)
-Good flow, it is always obvious where to go next.
-Signs show hole # and distance.
-Good distance variety (for 9 holers in the area).
-I really like hole 7, it has the most restricted flight path on the course, but features two routes and some elevation drop.
-Bathrooms and a vending machine in the bulding to the left of hole 1's fairway.
Cons: -Course is mostly open, with only a few holes requiring you to shape lines.
-Short, narrow tees
-Baskets are beat-up and showing their age.
-Often busy with both golfers/chuckers and dog walkers.
-Course can hold a lot of water, especially on 4 and 9 where a pond sometimes forms.
-Walking path can come into play for the inaccurate on a couple holes.
-The second hole is called hole A, after that it goes on to hole 2-9. This can be confusing your first time playing.
-Hole 9 (the final hole) finishes up near 1's basket. It flows better to walk to the second hole (hole A) after finishing your round if you want to do another loop.
Other Thoughts: Apparently this course was more interesting/challenging before a big storm took out a lot of trees and necesitated the current, open layout.
This course is just south of St. Charles Rd. East of the course on St. Charles are Mickey's hot dog stand and Lunar Brewing. Mickey's is good and reasonably priced, Lunar brews a lot of interesting styles and not too many of the common ones.

Edit: Dropped rating to a 2 due to a realignment of my reviews.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Totally average course

2-4    6/29/2008   8/25/2008
Review By: m1ke
Played: 44  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2014
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good place to take beginners.
A few interesting holes (and yes, there is some elevation).
Good park facilities.
Cons: Not that many interesting holes; definitely a low-challenge course lacking enough obstacles on many holes.
Kinda crowded on a summer weekend (which surprised me, given general local opinion on this course).
Other Thoughts: If this course wasn't so close to Madison Meadow, I bet people would be more interested in it. It's still a moderately fun little course, it's just unfortunately close to a clearly better alternative.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.