Lombard, IL 
Lombard Commons Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5 (Taken 8/2008)
4 / 295ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Chill course

1    6/28/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 97  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice "after work" course, good for a quick round if you want to avoid traffic on 355 or something. There are some fun holes here, with a decent variety in distance. The park is multipurpose and there are a lot of things to do here if you want to make a day of it. It's also a great place to bring a beginner. The course flows decently, I was able to navigate it without a map my first time there.
Cons: I tend to give courses like this the "benefit of the doubt" and bump their rating up to 2.5, but I just couldn't do it for this one.

*Very open, easy, and un-exciting holes.
*Completely flat terrain
*The course brings paths, baseball fields, soccer fields into play... a round here during even a moderately busy time would be horribly crowded and slow
*Some of the holes were missing their concrete tee-pads, but the teepads that were present were microscopic
Other Thoughts: Madison Meadow is two minutes away from Lombard Commons and is a much better course. The only reasons that I'd choose to go to Lombard Commons over Madison Meadow would be if I wanted to play a faster round or if I was with a beginner.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very mediocre course

1    5/14/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 114  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Here you have the typical 9-hole course (+1 bonus hole) that merits the "reasonable" rating of 2.0.

It's set in a maintained community park, has good signage and logical flow. The baskets are average, as is the layout. In general, I would just say this is a very average course in every meaning of the word.

It was surprisingly crowded the day I went out and played. There were about 15 people playing on 10 baskets, which was nice to see. It definitely has potential to be expanded and improved.

Bathrooms and water fountains are on site directly by the first basket.
Cons: There's nothing here to make this course memorable. There's no real signature hole (outside of maybe #8). This course only warranted one play through in my eyes because it was so plain.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend playing the other course in the area over this one. This course is very easy and is a good course for beginners, but doesn't really offer a challenge for more experienced players.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

another park district course

1    11/26/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 75  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice park
-decent cement pads
-good use of the park(the 10 holes are short but it would be much worse if they tried to cram in 18)
- good place to bring a friend who is new to the game
-good place to work on your mid range game
hole 8 is a lot of fun
-this course uses what few trees there are well
Cons: -most holes are very short hole 2 is the only one over 300 feet
- a lot of easy shots with maybe one or 2 trees on most holes but is still rather plain
-the pads are very short but because of how short the holes are its not THAT big of a deal
-some of the baskets could use a little TLC some of the baskets/ tops of the baskets are lose and made me miss a put or two
- i some paths come close to the baskets in places and i can see other park users being close to harms way
Other Thoughts: -this course is what it is and that is another park district course. they did the best with the land they had but i think that i could come here with just my hornet and shoot under par.
but if you are in the mood to just throw mids for a chance at some aces then this course is worth playing
-the park says it is open till 10pm so might be a good spot for some night golf this time of the year if its not to cold for you

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Uncommonly Common Commons

2-4    10/27/2012   10/29/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Good use of the very little elevation in play (#'s 6, 7, 8 and 10).
- A good beginners course. Mostly open, grassy shots with scattered trees to provide the occasional obstacle.
- Tee signs with distance. Mostly concrete tees with one or two natural tees.
Cons: - Short hole lengths make this a bit repetitive.
- Several open shots adds to the repetition.
- The tees were in pretty bad shape in places. #10 had water filling the (sizeable) rut in front, making it an awkward teeing surface.
- Funky homemade baskets with huge nubs sticking up from the basket. Not much of an issue, but not really ideal, either.
Other Thoughts: - Located in a busy city park, the course manages to stay (mostly) out of the way. I'd avoid this course completely under crowded conditions.
- Not terrible golf by any means, but other than maybe #8, not a whole lot of challenge or thought required. Bring a putter/mid and go to work. The openness of the course makes this a good practice course for those trying to up their game. Also good for casual players/families/strollers.
- I'd hit this everyday for practice/fieldwork if it were in my neighborhood. I'd even go slightly out of my way to play it again in a pinch. But nothing to get excited about.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good for Beginners/Practice

5+    8/31/2012   8/31/2012
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 56  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~ Easy to navigate
~ Plays quickly if you just want a fast round
~ Beginner friendly
~ Generally clean and well kept
Cons: ~ Only one hole over 300'
~ Most holes are pretty wide open
~ Teepads are short, and the ground in front and behind has eroded on many, making many run-ups hazardous
Other Thoughts: I generally play this course for three reasons:
1) I am in a bit of a hurry and don't have time to play 18 at Madison Meadows
2) I have a new disc I want to try out or something I need to work on
3) I am taking someone out to teach them the game

A nice short course, nothing special, but not much to complain about either.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/21/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: BuzzArmStrong
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads (with the exception of hole 5) - baskets are in good shape (though they are not top notch baskets) - Holes 2,7, and 8 are alright - plays extremely quickly if you don't have much time for a round- every single hole can be aced (not quite sure if this is a good thing).
Cons: Other uses for the park can get in the way of a few holes - Most holes are essentially wide open and only require that you avoid one or two trees - Doesn't require that you stay in any sort of fairway, you can throw almost any shot on any hole (I could probably play a round both all backhand and all forehand without running into any real problems) - Nothing unique.
Other Thoughts: It's alright for a quick warm up round or for people just starting to learn, otherwise it is pretty boring.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Cramped course with little challenge

1    7/9/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: krc1130
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Most holes have concrete tees, markers on each hole listing the distance and general direction of the basket (though help isn't needed there). Course starts and ends near the parking lot, which is always convenient. Ample parking so long as other events aren't going on.
Cons: The course itself is very boring. All of the holes are pretty open and short. If there are other events going on, baskets and tees could easily be obstructed by people. The course is very cramped and a lot of the holes and tees are on top of each other. Very few obstacles are on the course unless you count bystanders on the trail or watching a baseball game.
Other Thoughts: I played this course since I was in the area to play at Madison Meadow. Given how close this course is to a very decent 19 hole course, there's really no need to play here other than to mark it off your list. This is a good course for beginners, but it holds little appeal beyond that. It's easy enough to follow and the park is nice, but the course is also way too easy to play.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lombard Short

5+    5/1/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: tjclassic82
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lombard Short is a wide open grass course with baskets that play next to usually one or two trees in wide open areas. You can likely buzz or use a putter for almost every hole. Good course for mid range and buzz or putter driving practice, most holes are aceable if you can throw 300.
Cons: Lot's of walkers right through the middle of the park at times, when it's windy there's not much protection, Hole 2 plays very close to the infield of a baseball field that almost always has 5 yr olds... so try not to kill one! half the course is dirt tees that can get muddy.
Other Thoughts: If there's a lot of rain, the course will be a lake. Give it a couple days.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 An excellent 9-hole course

5+    4/5/2011   4/6/2011
Review By: petsounds85
Played: 39  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Beginners: A fun course to learn on.

Advanced/Pro: A great place to practice or even play a couple rounds. Good mixture of short, long, technical.
Cons: I remember a couple years ago, the park was flooding a lot, the grass was dying and it smelled terrible. Sometimes you get huge groups of kids that will hold up smaller groups but for the most part people will let you play through..
Other Thoughts: I don't see why this place doesn't have a higher rating. It's a great place to play. -Especially since there's not a lot of great 9 hole courses here (that I've played) anyway.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/21/2009   2/21/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Only a few blocks down the street from Madison Meadows, Commons is the little brother of the Lombard pair. While having a few fun holes, Commons is shorter, much easier, and frankly just not nearly as good as the Meadow. That said, the course designers have done a pretty good job of maximizing the available obstacles and gritting their teeth through many forced redesigns over the years. You'll still have to throw a few good shots to get birdie on a few holes but advanced and pro level players aren't going to be challenged in any meaningful way.
Cons: The biggest con at Commons is the progression over the years from a park that was relatively heavily treed for late 90's Chicago area courses to one that now plays through a nearly completely barren field. Although it was perhaps slightly shorter, the 'old' Commons was much more challenging requiring touch, accuracy, and a variety of shots off the tee. The old concrete teepads have become heavily eroded over the years and the dropoffs on the sides are twisted ankles waiting to happen.
Other Thoughts: Sadly, over the years, Commons has lost nearly all of the luster it once had. The crab apple groves and huge willow trees lost to disease have been replaced by tiny saplings or nothing at all - come back in 20 years and course designers might once again have some obstacles to work with! Having grown up in Lombard and played my first disc golf round at Commons (and probably 1000+ rounds thereafter), I have a lot of great memories of the friendly, welcoming crew of folks who call(ed) this place home :)

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.