Lombard, IL 
Lombard Commons Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5 (Taken 8/2008)
4 / 295ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Basic and Straightforward

5+    10/2/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: ChiBlender36
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete tees on all holes but # 5
- Baskets get the job done (old homemade I believe)
- A nice quick 10 holes
- Trees that are there usually come into play guarding baskets
- A few (2 - 3) diff types of shots required on tees
- Easily navigable
Cons: - Very short (short holes are all 200 - 220 it seems)
-"Long" holes are around 300
- Can get crowded
- No creativity really
Other Thoughts: Better than some of the other 9 holers in the area. Near Madison Meadows which makes Commons a good warm-up round. Located in a nice park with lots of other things going on usually. Almost every hole is an ace opportunity which makes for some fun.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Common Park

5+    4/5/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - All tees are cement with clearly marked signes with accurate distances.

- A good mix of open shots with enough trees to add flavor.

- This is the perfect place to introduce a friend to the game, before you wear out their arm at Madison Meadow.

- The park is kept clean and the grass never gets out of hand
Cons: - Short and open, it's not much of a challenge for experienced players. Basically a deuce or die course.

- Sometimes dog walkers or other pedestrians will come into play, but it's not that big of a safety risk.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice neighborhood course to get in a quick round, it doesn't really stand out good or bad. Personally when I'm in the area I play this course as a warm up before Madison Meadow and I still find it enjoyable.

Does any one else find it ironic that it's called Lombard COMMON Park? For an average 9 holer it serves its purpose well.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner

2-4    6/20/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good mix of holes, in mostly open land with a good number of mature trees. Most of the holes involve avoiding large trees, so there is some thought needed when teeing off. Not extremely challenging, but not wide open either.
- A little elevation change here and there also help to add some difficulty, and enjoyment, to the holes. Nothing too extreme, more of sloping fairways as opposed to drastic dropoffs.
- Tees, signs and baskets are in good shape.
Cons: - The holes are pretty short overall, so there is not much challenge for a more experienced player.
- Layout is kind of cramped at times; I can definitely see people getting in each other's way or being bothered by wayward discs.
- A lot of other things going on at this park. I went on a weekend afternoon/evening, and it was full of non-DGer's. Only affected one fairway, but it could have been much worse.
Other Thoughts: - I had played this course nearly 6 years ago, and I didn't recognize it. It is much more of a "real" course that it was before the 2008 renovation. I would consider this a good complement to the nearby Madison Meadows park, for a warm up or cool down.
- This is an excellent beginners course. The sloping fairways, mature trees, and short hole lengths are great for a new player. More seasoned golfers can probably skip it.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

My new home course

5+    5/7/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 119  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2014
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A decent 10 hole course in a neighborhood park that also features baseball diamonds, a pool, tennis courts and space for other activities.
-Beginner friendly
-A quick round.
-10 holes (kind of like an amp going up to eleven, bonus!)
-Good flow, it is always obvious where to go next.
-Signs show hole # and distance.
-Good distance variety (for 9 holers in the area).
-I really like hole 7, it has the most restricted flight path on the course, but features two routes and some elevation drop.
-Bathrooms and a vending machine in the bulding to the left of hole 1's fairway.
Cons: -Course is mostly open, with only a few holes requiring you to shape lines.
-Short, narrow tees
-Baskets are beat-up and showing their age.
-Often busy with both golfers/chuckers and dog walkers.
-Course can hold a lot of water, especially on 4 and 9 where a pond sometimes forms.
-Walking path can come into play for the inaccurate on a couple holes.
-The second hole is called hole A, after that it goes on to hole 2-9. This can be confusing your first time playing.
-Hole 9 (the final hole) finishes up near 1's basket. It flows better to walk to the second hole (hole A) after finishing your round if you want to do another loop.
Other Thoughts: Apparently this course was more interesting/challenging before a big storm took out a lot of trees and necesitated the current, open layout.
This course is just south of St. Charles Rd. East of the course on St. Charles are Mickey's hot dog stand and Lunar Brewing. Mickey's is good and reasonably priced, Lunar brews a lot of interesting styles and not too many of the common ones.

Edit: Dropped rating to a 2 due to a realignment of my reviews.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/4/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a smaller park, the course offers a quick/easy round, or a place for new players to learn the game. The layout is super easy to follow, and the signs, baskets, and tees were all in great shape when I played. Along with Madison Meadow, there is plenty of discing to do in this area of Lombard.

A little bit of elevation and some scattered trees provide a little line shaping on some holes, and offer a nice little challenge for newer players.
Cons: Overall, this is one of the weaker suburban Chicago courses I've played. For most players this course is just ace run after ace run over wide open fairways. The trees add the slightest bit of challenge, but don't really force you to change up your shot that much.

I was also surprised at how crowded this course was. I played on a weekday afternoon and got caught in between a couple large groups, so despite being just down the street from the much larger (and far superior) Madison Meadow I still had to spend time waiting to shoot.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely recommend skipping this one. There's nothing here you can't find just down the street. For newer or younger players this course may offer a chance to learn how to play, but for anyone with experience this one is a dud.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short n easy

1    7/24/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small park with some small hills and scattered trees of various types. There is a nice mix of open holes and holes that play through stands of trees. Most holes either have trees near the pin, or trees that provide obstacles down the fairway, adding a little bit of challenge.

There are concrete tees on most holes, and nicely leveled and mulched tee areas on the others. There are wooden posts at each tee with the hole number, distance, and general direction of the pin. All holes are visible from the tee, so the signage is completely adequate. The course is easy to navigate, with each tee visible from the previous basket.
Cons: The course is very short, and nearly every hole is an ace run. The space was used well, but there just wasn't a lot to work with in this park. There is a ton of open space on the course, so every hole is reachable with an easy hyzer for LH or RH players.

There are supposedly long tees, but they are not at all obvious, and seem to be a locals only kind of thing. It would be nice to have some kind of marking for first time players on the course who would like a little more challenge.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great place for first time players, with pretty easy holes with a few trees, and no chance to lose a disc. More experienced players won't need more than a putter and possibly a mid, and it's still not going to provide a whole lot of challenge.

The course is an ok warm-up for nearby Madison Meadows, so if you're in the area you might as well play both. This course definitely isn't worth going out of your way to play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good compliment to Madison Meadows

2-4    5/3/2009   5/6/2009
Review By: beardown4life
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: A good warm up or cool down course after playing 18 holes nearby. Short and good for a relaxing round not too much challenge.
Cons: Tends to have a lot of people around the park. Short holes make it easier than most courses.
Other Thoughts: This course is just a few blocks away from larger and more stretched out Madison Meadows.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 C = As average as the come for 9 holers

2-4    4/19/2008   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/8/2010
5 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
(Other than one hole, you will not find any obstacles that will punish you with a bogey for an errant throw. I understand that the original design was really good, but lots of trees were removed due to a storm (If I remember right).)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == C
(Only half the holes fall into that category. But it is a fun course to see if you can get dialed in and get to 7 or so down.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C-
(2-3 holes force a specific shape shot to get to the pin, but the remainder are pretty open.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C-
(Typical city park. Overall clean and well maintained. Not secluded at all.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well this course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. See my profile for specifics on my rating philosophy.

I fancy myself as a connoisseur of good course design and I am a competitive Blue level (950-ish rated) with mid-level power (accurate to 300' with max D of 360'). Since I have played a decent number of courses (150+ 18-hole, 90+ 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me…..and that's the fun of things here.

5 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty good Disc Golf course.

5+    8/26/2008   8/27/2008
Review By: Disc Golf Greg
Played: 21  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/16/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -There are always parking spots
-Concrete tee pads,
-Wooden sign posts that are in nice condition and not vandalized
-Pretty nice baskets not as many chains but still alright
-Some elevation actually
-Pro tee pads
-Bathrooms by Hole #1
-Beginner friendly and open if you like that. -Benches placed between holes to rest. -Garbage cans placed on holes #1, and #8. -The Park is well maintained and clean.
-Good place for Night Disc Golf and is the only course I Night Disc at
-Good amount of Ace runs
-Hole #7 and #8 are favorites of mine and add flavor to the otherwise open bleak layout.
-Mulch underneath the Baskets
Cons: -A little to wide open, even for beginners.
-Pro tee's are hard to find, and people new to the course will have to ask locals to find them as there marked by certain trees.
-The park is insanely crowded on Weekday/Weekend afternoons and evenings, but not too crowded.
-A Playground comes into play on hole #3 somewhat (right side of fairway.)
-It seems like every year they take out a good few mature trees and this course just becomes even more open and bleak.
-Course floods pretty easily
-Sometimes there are big family parties or events going on and it makes the course hard to play
Other Thoughts: This course is pretty nice for what it is and well maintained. If you visited this course several years ago (2001-2002) it has changed and is now more open as one reviewer said.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Totally average course

1    6/29/2008   8/25/2008
Review By: m1ke
Played: 41  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good place to take beginners.
A few interesting holes (and yes, there is some elevation).
Good park facilities.
Cons: Not that many interesting holes; definitely a low-challenge course lacking enough obstacles on many holes.
Kinda crowded on a summer weekend (which surprised me, given general local opinion on this course).
Other Thoughts: If this course wasn't so close to Madison Meadow, I bet people would be more interested in it. It's still a moderately fun little course, it's just unfortunately close to a clearly better alternative.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.