Bandon, OR 
Bandon City Park Share
Uploaded By: dscglf4 Hole #2 (Taken 6/2011)
-- / 570ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 fairway



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Decent/Typical Sums Up This Course Pretty Well!

1    5/25/2014   5/31/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 654  Reviewed: 598  Exp: 36.1 Years
Pros: The Bandon City Park DGC plays around the perimeter of the park. The park has three baseball fields, a dog park, basketball courts, playground and a mobile home where the park hosts resides for the summer, I believe. You can get a map from her, nice lady.

The course has cinder block tee pads, basic fiberglass signs and decent baskets.

There are some challenging holes holes featuring length (# 2 at 570') and super technical (# 7 at 246' and # 9 at about 260' estimated). I was fortunate to be guided by local player, Dimitri. I think navigation by myself, would have been a little tricky.
Cons: I can't think of any Cons for Bandon City Park just as I can't come up with any major highlights or signature holes.
It's flat with no elevation. The design is fine. Everything is okay. Bandon just didn't seem to excite me in any particular fashion.
Other Thoughts: Solid course with no major flaws. It's recreational difficult with some adequate length and a couple of technical holes. So it'll challenge us rec players. I don't see it as being really great for beginners or kids. Just a nice little course in a nice little city park. In a nice little town! By a nice big ocean. Nice!

Fun for the family

2-4    5/11/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: rcbclbcdb
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Open spaces.
Challenging holes in the woods.
Long drive holes.
Free to play
Good for any age, my 3 year old had a blast.
Cons: Long walk between some holes.
When park is hopping, hard to play a couple of holes.
Impossible to find hole 9's tee box?
Other Thoughts: The map on hole 1 is nice.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Potential Greatness

2-4    9/13/2012   9/14/2012
Review By: BrickE
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course that has potential. There is a great variety of shots with dog legs to both the left and the right. There are some nice long holes that offer the chance to really open up with your drive which is a nice change on the Southern Oregon Coast specifically #2, #5, and #6. Bandon offers a nice setting where you can send the wife to shop and hit the course running.
Cons: 1. The course is not finished, the gorse and underbrush makes this course unforgivable in many places, the trees still need to be thinned to create real fairways on holes #6, #7, and #8, and the ground brush needs to be cleared back from the baskets (missed the hole on #9 by 10ft and spent 15 min looking for my disc).
2. Hole #2 needs better clearing or a little tweaking to keep discs out of peoples yards
3. #3, through the picnic area, really?
Other Thoughts: I had fun playing the course, but it has a long way to go if it is ever going to be one of my regular stops.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The gorse course

2-4    9/3/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: gzusrlz85
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes 1-6 are pretty good holes. I like the variety of left and right dog legs, and straight shots through trees. This house has a ton of potential. New gravel tee pads on a few holes. I like the course map at hole 1 and the signs at each hole too.
Cons: My biggest complaint is that there is no tee pad or sign for hole 9. Also, holes 8 and 9 need a lot of work. There are trees on hole 8 that are marked for removal. 6 and 7 need a little bit of clearing out as well. The major downfall is definitely the last two holes. Lastly, the gorse there is pretty crazy too.
Other Thoughts: I think this course has a lot of potential. If there were tee pads on every hole and some tree removal, then I would play this course more often. There is a tournament this coming Saturday at this course, I hope they do some work on hole 9 before then.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/26/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: dscglf4
Played: 61  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: a course is a course of course ,even if its another 9 hole course on the beautiful southern oregon coast...
its great that Bandon has added disc golf to its city park that already had baseball diamond,BB court,skate ramps etc...
plays around parimeter of the park mostly except #3,we had to wait a few minutes cuz of people passing back and forth through fairway.
-good variety of throws not just another P&A course.most shots are 225-300' range,with a few longer throws,hole #2 is 570, #5 378,#6 324'
-good Tee signs , with "next Tee" direction, and good pin locations
-good balance of left/right/ straight shots,few really good dog-legs
Cons: the walk from pin #2 to Tee 3 is kinda long, hole 3 itself is nice but on a nice day will have alot of families hanging out enjoying a picnic.
a few of the Tee signs point in the wrong direction but its ez enuff to figure out...except #4's sign, with the maintenance shed in the way? lol
thats all i can really say,because its still getting cleaned up.alot of clearing has been done to hole's #7,8,9...you can tell it was a nightmare to do so, so thanks to all those who've spilt their blood.
Other Thoughts: i live in Coos Bay/North Bend and play mingus and winsor almost daily, and since Bandon is only a 30 minute drive, i will be playing this course at least once a week.


2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One more S. Oregon course!

2-4    6/5/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: wildrivers
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bandon needed a disc golf course and thanks to the locals for getting one in. It is a fun 9 hole course which circles the small park. There is lots of work to be done yet but the course is playable. Like hole 5 with its kind/challenging head wind. Can have dogs on leash. It sits away from the main highway. It will highlight disc golf in a town that was missing this great game. Huge Pro is the city really wants to have the course in their town and is putting together $ for concrete tees and future work.
Cons: Tee signs do not point in direction of baskets. This will change soon as per city. Get a map or a guide or walk around looking goofy, smile. The baskets are not in the ground as solidly as they should be and some are crooked. This is due to bored kids vandilizing the course. There are a couple trees which could come down, hole 6 and 8. No concrete tees yet. Hole 3 is over picnic tables and buildings. The city states this may change soon. Hole 2 at 570, par 3??
Other Thoughts: My hope is they will change hole 3 so as not to fly disc over peoples heads. It would be a shame to lose a course because the public gets hit by a disc. Its a short course and a fun stop when visiting Bandon. It also sits alittle more out of the wind then the beach if its too windy for a beach day. Thanks Bandon!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.