Bandon, OR 
Bandon City Park Share
Uploaded By: dscglf4 Hole #1 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 282ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Try to Come on a (rare) Non-Windy Day

1    8/16/2016   8/31/2016
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 32  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 3.4 Years
Pros: -Bandon City Park is a rather large city park in the heart of the seafront town of Bandon, Oregon. The park is located less than a quarter of a mile from the ocean.

-There are 9 holes. A few play through a dense woods, some through a lighter woods, and a couple more that play through open fields. My favorite hole is number 9, a gentle S-shot through a light woods.

-There are a good variation of hole lengths, ranging from 250 to 550 feet. But the wind makes a huge difference. Some holes play very short, others play long, depending on the wind.

-The teepads are fine, and the baskets are decent DGA models.

-I would expect it would drain well in winter since soil near the ocean tends to be sandy.
Cons: -The biggest issue here is the wind. The course is very close to the ocean, and even though there are a fair amount of trees, expect heavy winds.

-There are some nasty gorse bushes on holes 2 and 8. Gorse is an absolute disc eater. It is super thorny and even thicker than blackberry bushes. They are pretty far off the fairway but the heavy winds can carry your disc in unimaginable directions.

-Holes 4, 5, 6, and 7 were stupid. The trees are so close together it would be difficult even without the wind. The wind just makes it ridiculous. Throw and hope somehow you make it.

-Holes 4-6 play through a dense woods with downed logs, and small shrubs. Watch your footing.
Other Thoughts: -Bandon doesn't seem to have a vibrant disc golf scene. This is the only course in town and when I played in the afternoon my group was the only one. So, a quick round can easily be played, providing your disc doesn't get stuck somewhere.

-Previous reviewers have mentioned it's a good idea to get a course map from the park host. I found a map on the Bandon City parks website and posted it here. Please print it out. You're going to have a hard time finding your way without one.

-It appears a few redesigns have taken place. The photos on file aren't correct but the map is.

-I got a disc stuck in the large pine tree on hole 8. It looked as if I weren't the first one to do so. Someone had left a long 2x4 as well as a large rock next to the tree.

-Hole 6 did not have a concrete teepad but instead a rectangular dirt area marked by tree branches. I don't know what happened here.

-It's a cool little course but nothing worth going out of your way for. Bandon is much more a golf destination than a disc golf one.

And the Band[Played]On

1    10/22/2015   3/24/2016
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 247  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 37.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It appears that another redesigning has occurred since the Kid's review. Hole #s 3-6 are distinctly different from the photos, with 5-6 in a forest of thin, leaning coastal pine trunks underslung with ferns and salal covering rotting, downed trees and knotted, complex root systems.
Normally you'd expect a course in a well-established, multi-use park to be a beginner's love affair with open throws over manicured grass, with a few trees here and there to validate its parkness.Well, that's what it looks like--but get out there and you'll find length, complexity and challenging vegetation more suited to a bagger's daydream.
It is open enough to have novices play and not lose discs, though you could throw over the fence on #2 and the low shrubbery on #s 5-6 might hide your disc until you're up close. The proximity of ballfields and parking lots may affect some drives for the directionally-challenged.
Pads are good and signage is tolerable; the lack of benches was unnoticeable with the pace of play.
Almost no elevation change, and most of the course is visible from surrounding houses.
Cons: If the host isn't around, you'll really miss not having a map.
The parking lot near the ball diamond was recently expanded, which may explain my inability to find tee #6.
Busy holidays/summer sunny days may mean that most of the "open" holes can't be played due to visitor density.
Other Thoughts: Its one turn and one minute off Hwy 101, with plenty of stores/eateries a mile in either direction.
Recent clearing SE of #6 indicates the possibility of a few more holes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent/Typical Sums Up This Course Pretty Well!

1    5/25/2014   5/31/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Bandon City Park DGC plays around the perimeter of the park. The park has three baseball fields, a dog park, basketball courts, playground and a mobile home where the park hosts resides for the summer, I believe. You can get a map from her, nice lady.

The course has cinder block tee pads, basic fiberglass signs and decent baskets.

There are some challenging holes holes featuring length (# 2 at 570') and super technical (# 7 at 246' and # 9 at about 260' estimated). I was fortunate to be guided by local player, Dimitri. I think navigation by myself, would have been a little tricky.
Cons: I can't think of any Cons for Bandon City Park just as I can't come up with any major highlights or signature holes.
It's flat with no elevation. The design is fine. Everything is okay. Bandon just didn't seem to excite me in any particular fashion.
Other Thoughts: Solid course with no major flaws. It's recreational difficult with some adequate length and a couple of technical holes. So it'll challenge us rec players. I don't see it as being really great for beginners or kids. Just a nice little course in a nice little city park. In a nice little town! By a nice big ocean. Nice!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for the family

2-4    5/11/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: rcbclbcdb
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open spaces.
Challenging holes in the woods.
Long drive holes.
Free to play
Good for any age, my 3 year old had a blast.
Cons: Long walk between some holes.
When park is hopping, hard to play a couple of holes.
Impossible to find hole 9's tee box?
Other Thoughts: The map on hole 1 is nice.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Potential Greatness

2-4    9/13/2012   9/14/2012
Review By: BrickE
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fun course that has potential. There is a great variety of shots with dog legs to both the left and the right. There are some nice long holes that offer the chance to really open up with your drive which is a nice change on the Southern Oregon Coast specifically #2, #5, and #6. Bandon offers a nice setting where you can send the wife to shop and hit the course running.
Cons: 1. The course is not finished, the gorse and underbrush makes this course unforgivable in many places, the trees still need to be thinned to create real fairways on holes #6, #7, and #8, and the ground brush needs to be cleared back from the baskets (missed the hole on #9 by 10ft and spent 15 min looking for my disc).
2. Hole #2 needs better clearing or a little tweaking to keep discs out of peoples yards
3. #3, through the picnic area, really?
Other Thoughts: I had fun playing the course, but it has a long way to go if it is ever going to be one of my regular stops.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The gorse course

2-4    9/3/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: gzusrlz85
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes 1-6 are pretty good holes. I like the variety of left and right dog legs, and straight shots through trees. This house has a ton of potential. New gravel tee pads on a few holes. I like the course map at hole 1 and the signs at each hole too.
Cons: My biggest complaint is that there is no tee pad or sign for hole 9. Also, holes 8 and 9 need a lot of work. There are trees on hole 8 that are marked for removal. 6 and 7 need a little bit of clearing out as well. The major downfall is definitely the last two holes. Lastly, the gorse there is pretty crazy too.
Other Thoughts: I think this course has a lot of potential. If there were tee pads on every hole and some tree removal, then I would play this course more often. There is a tournament this coming Saturday at this course, I hope they do some work on hole 9 before then.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    6/26/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: dscglf4
Played: 61  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: a course is a course of course ,even if its another 9 hole course on the beautiful southern oregon coast...
its great that Bandon has added disc golf to its city park that already had baseball diamond,BB court,skate ramps etc...
plays around parimeter of the park mostly except #3,we had to wait a few minutes cuz of people passing back and forth through fairway.
-good variety of throws not just another P&A course.most shots are 225-300' range,with a few longer throws,hole #2 is 570, #5 378,#6 324'
-good Tee signs , with "next Tee" direction, and good pin locations
-good balance of left/right/ straight shots,few really good dog-legs
Cons: the walk from pin #2 to Tee 3 is kinda long, hole 3 itself is nice but on a nice day will have alot of families hanging out enjoying a picnic.
a few of the Tee signs point in the wrong direction but its ez enuff to figure out...except #4's sign, with the maintenance shed in the way? lol
thats all i can really say,because its still getting cleaned up.alot of clearing has been done to hole's #7,8, can tell it was a nightmare to do so, so thanks to all those who've spilt their blood.
Other Thoughts: i live in Coos Bay/North Bend and play mingus and winsor almost daily, and since Bandon is only a 30 minute drive, i will be playing this course at least once a week.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One more S. Oregon course!

2-4    6/5/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: wildrivers
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bandon needed a disc golf course and thanks to the locals for getting one in. It is a fun 9 hole course which circles the small park. There is lots of work to be done yet but the course is playable. Like hole 5 with its kind/challenging head wind. Can have dogs on leash. It sits away from the main highway. It will highlight disc golf in a town that was missing this great game. Huge Pro is the city really wants to have the course in their town and is putting together $ for concrete tees and future work.
Cons: Tee signs do not point in direction of baskets. This will change soon as per city. Get a map or a guide or walk around looking goofy, smile. The baskets are not in the ground as solidly as they should be and some are crooked. This is due to bored kids vandilizing the course. There are a couple trees which could come down, hole 6 and 8. No concrete tees yet. Hole 3 is over picnic tables and buildings. The city states this may change soon. Hole 2 at 570, par 3??
Other Thoughts: My hope is they will change hole 3 so as not to fly disc over peoples heads. It would be a shame to lose a course because the public gets hit by a disc. Its a short course and a fun stop when visiting Bandon. It also sits alittle more out of the wind then the beach if its too windy for a beach day. Thanks Bandon!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.