Onalaska, WI 
Rowe Park Share
Uploaded By: jlollis16 Hole #1
3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Down With OPD!

1    9/22/2012   11/5/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 215  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Onalaska, Wisconsin's Rowe Park packs a DGC, tennis courts, playgrounds, etc. all into a small grassy expanse dotted with a mixture of trees both small and large. A fair amount of up and down occurs on site, leading to a pleasant balance between the mild elevation changes and the trees. While the course attempts to skirt the other park activities, it can't help but overlap in several areas.
- Elevation. Nothing dramatic, but enough to spice things up. #5 throws down into a small depression with houses to the right and the closest the course comes to woods behind the basket. #2's an uphill shot between trees with OB park road behind the basket. #8 plays nicely across a small "valley" with several mature trees forcing players to pick from a multitude of possible lines.
- Trees. The quantity and quality of trees (not to mention the elevation) make this course a fun little play for those in the area. #9's solid mix of trees makes the finishing hole one of the more challenging, especially considering its relative length (it's the longest at 270').
- Hot Onalaska Park Department signage aesthetically enhances the round while providing handy facts regarding the hole at hand and its length, whether certain roads or sidewalks are OB, and accurately depicting the relative location of various trees to the baskets and tee areas.
Cons: - The tees are a wee sandy. As in, say, TOTALLY sandy. Imagine a wet lollipop in the Sahara during a sandstorm. Wooden 4 x4 fronts and sides upon which to stub your toes. The worst tees I've witnessed.
- Repetitious, distance-wise: most of the holes are of similar lengths.
- The course plays awfully close to many other park activities, sidewalks, and roads.
Other Thoughts: - I mentioned the sand, right?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent park 9

1    9/22/2012   10/15/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nicely kept city park with rolling hills and scattered mature trees. Elevation comes into play on a handful of the holes, adding a little more interest and variety. A few shots have low ceilings to deal with, adding a little more challenge and an incentive to try some rollers on the nicely mowed turf. There are enough trees that you'll have to shape some different shots to get your birdies here. The signage is fine for following the course and knowing where to throw.
Cons: The tees are really awful, far worse than doing nothing at all and leaving them natural. They're deep pits of loose sand, so there's no footing and every person that uses them leaves deep footprints and ruts for the next thrower to avoid. The areas around many of the tees are wearing down from people throwing from next to the sand pits, that will only get worse over time.

The layout uses the park fairly well, but it's still a fairly short 9 hole park course. There isn't any punishment for missing your line, it's easy to save a par from just about anywhere on this course. There isn't a whole lot of challenge here, you just don't need all that many different skills to be successful. A couple transitions between holes are a little longer and not very well marked, it can take a little extra time to find your way the first time through.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will enjoy the elevation and mature trees, there are some challenges for newer players without anything frustrating. More experienced throwers won't find a lot to keep them coming back, it's a quick play in a nice park if you have a few minutes but don't go out of your way.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Short & Fun

2-4    10/8/2012   10/11/2012
Review By: chrz
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great, short park course. The elevation changes are well utilized and add something to almost half the holes. The course is very accessible and there is ample parking on the street near the tee on #1. The course and hole signs are some of the best I've seen and the baskets are in great shape. The trees are numerous, but not overly annoying. Three of the tee pads have been replaced with very nice flared concrete pads. You can quickly burn through this course and hop on it again if you feel compelled to try and pick up the few shots you left on the course the first time.
Cons: By far the biggest knock on this course are the old, "gravel" tee pads. They are currently more like sand and nearly impossible to throw from. The area has been rather dry recently, but these guys would need a good soaking on a regular basis to keep the limestone firm. Even then, they would still rut out quickly. I threw from outside the tee box on all of the non-concrete tees during my last round.

I will also echo another reviewer and say that #4 and #9 require a bit of luck to park a tee shot. It's not impossible and when their tee pads are replaced some of that needed luck may disappear.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a very fun course for beginners and intermediate players. Assuming all of the tee pads get replaced with concrete, I can definitely see the rating of this course improving.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hills and Trees

1    8/10/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 364  Reviewed: 357  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of trees for obstacles.
-Elevation was used well. 2 was right uphill, 3 was right downhill, 8 was a sweet valley shot and all holes had at least a little elevation change in them. Some of the holes had some fast greens which added some fun and risk/reward to this course.
-Nice baskets.
-Good signage with easy to follow layout.
-Some may complain about the tees because they aren't cement but I feel like the crushed gravel serves this shorter course just fine. They are framed in by wood and they seem to have held up over time.
-Plenty of ace and birdie opportunities.
-Good for a quick round. 20-30 minutes.
-The park has plenty of other things to do without being too crowded.
Cons: -Some of the holes were short. Hole 1 especially.
-Some holes (4 and 9) seemed to me to have too high of a luck factor. 9 was especially bad. I happened to execute both holes but the lines were just awkward and I don't think that I would be able to do it every time.
-While this course does have a high fun factor for me, it simply wasn't that hard.
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun here. The elevation changes kept you on your toes and made it interesting. I would be happy if this were my home course. I hear that Pettibone park on the island in LaX is pretty cool too. I would recommend a stop here. It is a fun little round and it is just a mile off of I-90. This course is definitely aimed at the beginner to intermediate level but will be fun for most people.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Trees vs. Rowe

1    8/23/2011   3/29/2012
Review By: barg0071
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - A very fun short course testing your technical skills.
- The baskets are in great condition.
- The trees really challenge your accuracy.
- Some elevation changes
Cons: - Dirt tee pads.
- The trees, they will most likely make you mad at some point.
Other Thoughts: - The trees are not excessive by any means- at no point do you go through wooded areas. There are just a good amount of small-medium sized trees spread throughout the fairway. The challenge is that on each hole there are 1-3 clear routes to the basket.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/11/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: DerekTonn
Played: 894  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 39.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Fun course to play, with a great use of trees to make a short course more challenging.
- Nice DGA baskets!
- Very good signage.
- Good course/hole flow, from 1 to 9 (back to 1).
Cons: - Tee areas are very worn/uneven...bordering on a potential injury hazard.
- Very short hole distances.
Other Thoughts: This would be a course I would play quite a lot of quick recreational rounds on if I happened to live in the area. It's got a lot of fun shots and deuce runs, and plays fast enough where you could piece together 3-4 quick 9-hole rounds without any difficulty. The just need to do something about those tee areas, as they were pretty bad/rough.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rowe Rowe Rowe your boat

1    6/21/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 928  Reviewed: 479  Exp: 7.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice tee signs with par, hole #, distance and a diagram of the hole layout. They are in a good spot to help with na/igation as well as pro/iding the information needed.

2) Lots of trees of all sorts of sizes and shapes and ages. There ha/e been a number of young trees planted too which hopefully will not just get destroyed by punks or errant shots.

3) DGA Mach baskets are in great shape and are installed correctly to make the number plates /isible fromt he tees. This helps na/igation tremendously!

4) All sorts of different shots are needed. You can throw hyzers, annys, straight shots, spikes, rollers, o/erhand shots, etc etc etc. Bring it all, the trees force you to throw a lot of shots.

5) One basket is tucked into the woods and the area has been mowed around it. It would be nice to see more of the perimeter woods used, but there wasn't a whole lot of space to alter the layout any.

6) Great use of ele/ation changes on this course. It is mostly subtle, but there is ele/ation on e/ery hole either up down, or across.

7) For the most part this course is well isolated from other acti/ities. There are a couple other areas where you might need to make yourself /isible to other park users especially as this is a newer course and the game is new to the area.

8) Plenty of grills and other park amenities like horseshoes, playgrounds, picnic areas, a lrge bazebo, bathrooms, tennis, a skatepark . . .
Cons: 1) The basket for #2 was supposed to be installed in the grill about 5' to its right. They apparently decided not to put it in there which is not only bad because it misses the uniqueness, but also because there is a grill that will block a 5-10' putt.

2) Gra/el tees ha/e already washed out in spots and are une/en. Gra/el is better than wore out grass/dirt but maintenance is needed to keep them smooth and le/el or better drainage around the teepads is needed.

4) All holes are around 200-250'. I like this distance hole, but I also like more /ariety. A short one around 150' or so would be cool to ha/e along with a longer 350'+ hole would make a more di/erse course. This is usually a bigger deal to me, but because the trees create the challenge, you will be using a lot of different discs and throws on each hole, so the distance differential is not as big of a deal but still worth mentioning.
Other Thoughts: This could /ery well be one of the better 9 hole courses in the state. It has so much /ariety, pretty good amenities (other than the teepads).

It requires a lot of shot shaping, a lot of different discs to be used, low ceilings etc. It forces you to di]/ersify your shots and I lo/e that about this course.

I look forward to swinging back through the area to play this again after some time elapses. I can only hope the trees can remain healthy, but I fear for a lot of the trees in the middle of the fairways.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short but Challenging!

2-4    6/7/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: barg0076
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Short and beginner friendly
-No places to lose discs
-Requires precise drives and good recovery shots
-A variety of hills and trees that make you pick your shots carefully
-Good Parking
-Nice course signs
-Lots of challenging low ceiling shots
-Brand new baskets
Cons: -Course is on the shorter side
-Only 9 holes
-The trees can get frustrating
-Dirt tees
Other Thoughts: This course is deceptively tough. The lengths and pictures make it look easily, but it takes precise shots to maintain par! It is a fun course, and I'll definitely be back!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.