Onalaska, WI 
Rowe Park Share
Uploaded By: JeremyAD Hole #2 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Good Beginner/Intermediate Course

5+    4/30/2014   4/30/2014
Review By: M_Bortz
Played: 50  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fast play. Takes about 20 minutes or so if playing alone.

Really good signage. There's a tee marker on every hole. Seriously no way anyone could get lost here.

Good use of park space. Plays throughout Rowe Park.

Uses a lot of the elevation. There's only 2 holes (1 & 9) that are pretty flat.
Cons: TREES! I'm not the biggest fan of trees so some people might not feel this is a "con". In the summer when there's a lot of leafage, it can get annoying really quick.

Tee pads. There's only a third of the holes here with a concrete tee.
Other Thoughts: All this park really needs is the rest of the concrete tees to be put into place and this will shape up to be one of the finest courses here in the La Crosse Area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Short, but Sweet

5+    10/25/2013   10/25/2013
Review By: JeremyAD
Played: 72  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/17/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Elevation is the best and most well used obstacle on this course
+ Great DGA baskets in excellent condition
+ Every hole possesses several trees that mandate decent shot-shaping
+ Great beginner/family course
+ Several ace opportunities
+ Park is well maintained
+ Great for a quick round before/after work/class, or heck, even during a break! Can be completed in about 25 minutes
+ Sits adjacent to Onalaska high school, lending it to be an introductory course for many to the sport

Cons: - THE TEE PADS!!! Although 3 of the tees (at this moment) are nice concrete pads, most of the tees are simply glorified sandboxes that are incredibly uneven with ruts and can be dangerous. Often times I will throw from the side of or behind the tee box.
- Several holes are very short, essentially deuce or bust...
- The park is multifunction and may have other (non-disc-golf related) impediments
- Is a true "park course" that lacks the challenge for intermediate or advanced players
Other Thoughts: Since this course is literally 4 blocks from my residence it has, by default, become my "home course". Although the course is fun and unique, it lacks the complexity and challenge of a dedicated (sole purpose) disc golf course.

My opinion is the park has enough opportunity to add another 9 holes, which would greatly increase it's value and playability. I suppose, however, it would be of great value to first address the sand/tee box situation on the first 9.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice little course

1    8/11/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: Freebird
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.3 Years
Pros: This is a nice little course. It's short, but the trees and elevation changes make it interesting and keep it from being a slam dunk for a long toss.
Cons: As has been mentioned, there is a LOT of stuff crammed into this little park, you have to play around a lot of other people who aren't disc'ers. The course is short, big arms won't need a driver at all, the rest of us will use driver/putter or midrange/putter. The few cement tee boxes are nice, but at least one of them was oriented not toward the basket, and the rest of the tee boxes are truly awful, it's a good thing you don't have to throw hard here.
Other Thoughts: There is a nice course map, and good signs at the tee boxes, both are a little inaccurate but better than you get at a lot of courses.


5+    4/7/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: ridestreet84
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: good mix of hole lengths, very easy to get to. very nice alternate teepads by locals. quick but challenging play
Cons: can be very windy, close to a high school so can be very busy, can be very crowded, gravel tees can be difficult when rainy season or when snow melts
Other Thoughts: nice little course that i enjoy playing when i am in town and will continue to play when i am there

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

In town so a little compact.

1    5/12/2012   3/23/2013
Review By: Jmpviper
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice holes. A couple possible hole in one shots. Convenience stores aren't too far away so easy access to refreshments.
Cons: A lot of people. The course has roads going through it and tennis courts. So not only do you have other disc golfers on the course but also others that aren't even playing.
Other Thoughts: A nice small course that is enjoyable to play. Well worth the free admission.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beginner

1    9/23/2012   2/28/2013
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a smaller city park, which is full of the usual activities like tennis courts and general pedestrian activity. Nothing to cause major interference, hopefully.
- Various amounts of trees here and there force line shaping, like a low ceiling hyzer between trees on #1, or some more open RHBH anhyzers on #2 and #6. Basically, there are many different routes to take on every hole, but some are more open than others.
- A few noticeable elevation changes to be found here; #2 and #7 are slightly uphill, #3 and #5 are slightly downhill, and #6 and #8 are valleys. Nothing too crazy, but it helps to add character to the course.
- Good signs and baskets; the teepads are pretty much sandtraps though. If taken care of, not so bad, if they aren't, it's like running on the beach.
Cons: - Hole lengths are definitely on the short side, with an average hole length of 238', and the longest at 270', slightly downhill no less.
- Road is pretty close to #3's basket, which is never fun when enjoying a nice round.
Other Thoughts: - Pretty typical city park course, with shorter hole lengths and a wide offering of shots depending on the player. The elevation changes are the saving grace here; they aren't extreme by any means, but it adds a lot of fun and/or challenge. Definitely best suited for beginners.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Down With OPD!

1    9/22/2012   11/5/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 192  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Onalaska, Wisconsin's Rowe Park packs a DGC, tennis courts, playgrounds, etc. all into a small grassy expanse dotted with a mixture of trees both small and large. A fair amount of up and down occurs on site, leading to a pleasant balance between the mild elevation changes and the trees. While the course attempts to skirt the other park activities, it can't help but overlap in several areas.
- Elevation. Nothing dramatic, but enough to spice things up. #5 throws down into a small depression with houses to the right and the closest the course comes to woods behind the basket. #2's an uphill shot between trees with OB park road behind the basket. #8 plays nicely across a small "valley" with several mature trees forcing players to pick from a multitude of possible lines.
- Trees. The quantity and quality of trees (not to mention the elevation) make this course a fun little play for those in the area. #9's solid mix of trees makes the finishing hole one of the more challenging, especially considering its relative length (it's the longest at 270').
- Hot Onalaska Park Department signage aesthetically enhances the round while providing handy facts regarding the hole at hand and its length, whether certain roads or sidewalks are OB, and accurately depicting the relative location of various trees to the baskets and tee areas.
Cons: - The tees are a wee sandy. As in, say, TOTALLY sandy. Imagine a wet lollipop in the Sahara during a sandstorm. Wooden 4 x4 fronts and sides upon which to stub your toes. The worst tees I've witnessed.
- Repetitious, distance-wise: most of the holes are of similar lengths.
- The course plays awfully close to many other park activities, sidewalks, and roads.
Other Thoughts: - I mentioned the sand, right?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Decent park 9

1    9/22/2012   10/15/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nicely kept city park with rolling hills and scattered mature trees. Elevation comes into play on a handful of the holes, adding a little more interest and variety. A few shots have low ceilings to deal with, adding a little more challenge and an incentive to try some rollers on the nicely mowed turf. There are enough trees that you'll have to shape some different shots to get your birdies here. The signage is fine for following the course and knowing where to throw.
Cons: The tees are really awful, far worse than doing nothing at all and leaving them natural. They're deep pits of loose sand, so there's no footing and every person that uses them leaves deep footprints and ruts for the next thrower to avoid. The areas around many of the tees are wearing down from people throwing from next to the sand pits, that will only get worse over time.

The layout uses the park fairly well, but it's still a fairly short 9 hole park course. There isn't any punishment for missing your line, it's easy to save a par from just about anywhere on this course. There isn't a whole lot of challenge here, you just don't need all that many different skills to be successful. A couple transitions between holes are a little longer and not very well marked, it can take a little extra time to find your way the first time through.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will enjoy the elevation and mature trees, there are some challenges for newer players without anything frustrating. More experienced throwers won't find a lot to keep them coming back, it's a quick play in a nice park if you have a few minutes but don't go out of your way.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short & Fun

2-4    10/8/2012   10/11/2012
Review By: chrz
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great, short park course. The elevation changes are well utilized and add something to almost half the holes. The course is very accessible and there is ample parking on the street near the tee on #1. The course and hole signs are some of the best I've seen and the baskets are in great shape. The trees are numerous, but not overly annoying. Three of the tee pads have been replaced with very nice flared concrete pads. You can quickly burn through this course and hop on it again if you feel compelled to try and pick up the few shots you left on the course the first time.
Cons: By far the biggest knock on this course are the old, "gravel" tee pads. They are currently more like sand and nearly impossible to throw from. The area has been rather dry recently, but these guys would need a good soaking on a regular basis to keep the limestone firm. Even then, they would still rut out quickly. I threw from outside the tee box on all of the non-concrete tees during my last round.

I will also echo another reviewer and say that #4 and #9 require a bit of luck to park a tee shot. It's not impossible and when their tee pads are replaced some of that needed luck may disappear.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a very fun course for beginners and intermediate players. Assuming all of the tee pads get replaced with concrete, I can definitely see the rating of this course improving.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hills and Trees

1    8/10/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 345  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of trees for obstacles.
-Elevation was used well. 2 was right uphill, 3 was right downhill, 8 was a sweet valley shot and all holes had at least a little elevation change in them. Some of the holes had some fast greens which added some fun and risk/reward to this course.
-Nice baskets.
-Good signage with easy to follow layout.
-Some may complain about the tees because they aren't cement but I feel like the crushed gravel serves this shorter course just fine. They are framed in by wood and they seem to have held up over time.
-Plenty of ace and birdie opportunities.
-Good for a quick round. 20-30 minutes.
-The park has plenty of other things to do without being too crowded.
Cons: -Some of the holes were short. Hole 1 especially.
-Some holes (4 and 9) seemed to me to have too high of a luck factor. 9 was especially bad. I happened to execute both holes but the lines were just awkward and I don't think that I would be able to do it every time.
-While this course does have a high fun factor for me, it simply wasn't that hard.
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun here. The elevation changes kept you on your toes and made it interesting. I would be happy if this were my home course. I hear that Pettibone park on the island in LaX is pretty cool too. I would recommend a stop here. It is a fun little round and it is just a mile off of I-90. This course is definitely aimed at the beginner to intermediate level but will be fun for most people.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center