Charlotte, NC 
Robert L. Smith Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8 (Taken 1/2015)
3 / 247ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign

Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Intimidating but fun

1    7/4/2015   7/5/2015
Review By: ajbova
Played: 92  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 9.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging championship level course that would aimed for intermediate to pro level players.

Baskets - 18 Innova Discatchers that were in perfect shape. No issues at all. A practice basket on site with markers to get warmed up.

Tees - One large concrete tee per hole. Very grippy and easy to find.

Signs - Signs were great. Billboard at the start with info. Signs at each hole had a map, distance, par, etc. Arrows throughout the course pointing you to where you need to go. Some were painted on trees. Really helped with navigation.

Variety - Right from the get go, this course is intimidating. Course is extremely wooded and extremely hilly. Many tight gaps that will make or break your day. Elevation on every hole expect for 4. Several uphill and downhill wooded shots as well as some longer holes through the woods requiring accuracy. A few chances for aces on the back 9. Multiple holes had a shallow creek running through or along them. Multiple blind shots due to elevation, woods, rocks, or all of the above. Course requires extreme accuracy as well as the ability to launch one. The rough is rough so if you get off the path, you will spend plenty of time locating it.

Elevation - Elevation is a major factor at this course. Not only do you need to be able to place your throw through the woods, but you need to be able to throw it up and down moderate to extreme changes in elevation.

Course gets easier after hole 3. Survive those and you are in the clear.

The paths in between the holes added to this beauty of this course. Even if you just walked the course without throwing, you would enjoy it.

Restrooms and water fountain on site. Also a playground for kids if they join in.

Large rocks on 9 and 12 with the basket on top of them. Very cool and unique feature.

Benches and trash bags at every hole. Helps to keep it clean.
Cons: Course is not beginner or intermediate friendly. An added set of amateur concrete tees on every hole (especially on 1 and 3) would take this course from a 4.5 to a 5.

Some of the holes need to be cleared a little more. Starting to grow in more than it appears it was intended to be. Can spend a lot of time looking for discs.

Trash along holes 2-4.

Poison ivy.

Long walk from hole 18 to parking lot. Room to expand and add a few holes to make more of a complete loop.
Other Thoughts: I absolutely loved this course. My second favorite in Charlotte behind Nevin. It was easy to navigate, it was very scenic and peaceful, it was challenging, and it was very enjoyable even though it was intimidating. What more can you ask for in a course?

I would recommend this course to any intermediate or pro level player in the area or traveling through. It was tough but it was worth it. The only way not to like it is if you find yourself off of the fairway.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun, tough, unique, scenic

5+    3/15/2015   3/22/2015
Review By: Notverygood
Played: 22  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The biggest Pro for me is some of the unique holes found here. I think it's hole #2 that is a steep uphill shot with the basket on the side of a slope. A hard to explain hole, but I haven't played anything else like it.

The course uses the river/creek/stream running through the park for OB, which makes for some scenic fairways, and risky greens around the baskets. A drive gone wrong, or missed put can result in a swim and some serious OB penalty strokes

The park/course is beautiful. The course takes you on a very nice hike through the woods, and it seems like you're covering a lot of area. The surroundings of a course can really add or take away, and for me the park's scenery really adds to the experience of playing this course.

The layout of the course, and adequate signage (not perfect) makes it easy to follow. One basket generally leads easily to the next tee box. It would be hard to get lost!

Cons: The OB on some holes can be a bit much. Overall for the course it's not un-fair, but it can be a bit daunting/frustrating. For some, maybe not a con, and it didn't hinder my rating much, but I had to find some cons didn't I?

There aren't many holes outside of the woods if any. It makes for a pretty walk, but there's little opportunity to really open up and let one rip! You could I suppose, but it may not end well. This can be a good exercise in patience and disc control however.

The course, being a beautiful and long walk through the woods can take a while to play. Again, hardly a con, but this course wouldn't be great for a "quick" 18 holes. Be prepared to spend a few hours to take your time and really enjoy the park.
Other Thoughts: This course is probably one of my favorites (so far) in the Charlotte area. The unique holes and basket placement really adds to the fun factor. There's plenty of challenging OB, tight fairways, and lots of trees to keep you on your toes!
Strap on your comfortable shoes, bring your dog and enjoy a great hike through the woods....maybe throw a disc or two along the way if that's your thing

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Beginners Prospective

1    8/23/2014   8/24/2014
Review By: lexxerd
Played: 30  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2014
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Robert L. Smith Park is one of the more difficult courses I've been to in Charlotte. The course has an excellent layout with many left and right shot holes. After the first 3 holes you'll primarily be in the shaded woods which is great for escaping that Charlotte heat! The terrain is a hike, Be prepared. There are several up hill and down hill shots with some very unique basket placements up on rocks, on the edge of a creek, etc. There are some water hazards throughout the course. The water hazard is a relatively large creek but really adds to the great scenery of the course. There are several blind holes and and a few mandos. Hole 3 is alot of fun but is extremely overgrown and if you are not careful you could lose a disc into the brier patches below. Dont forget to bring some bug spray and watch out for spider webs in the woods.

Concrete tees with benches and trash cans at most of the holes. The course is very clean, and free of debris on the greens. Tee signs at every hole with accurate distances and basket placement which is great for first timers on the blind holes. There are some next tee signs but some seem to be missing or non existent. Plenty of parky, with bathrooms and water fountains available. Hole 1 starts to right of the practice tee next to a information kiosk.

Cons: After the first few holes there is no signage to point you in the direction to the next hole. Typically you can just follow the path but a few times I ended up at the wrong tee because of all the alternate paths that people have made to skip holes.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a challenge Robert L. Smith should be a good challenge and a lot of fun for you.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

2-4    7/23/2014   7/23/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 152  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 15.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: RL Smith is a true gem in the Charlotte disc golf scene. Here are my pros:

1) This park is absolutely gorgeous! Even taking out the awesome course this park has a lot going for it and is visually pleasing.

2) This course, save for a few holes, is just an awesome design. Playing this course tournament style offers a great challenge because of the out of bounds found on the course. Hole 5 is an awesome par 4 that really makes you think about the shots you have to throw to make a good score.

3) The course has some of the most interesting greens you will find. Hole 2 is on such a huge slope and really can offer some 70 foot rollaways with a bad putt. 7 has a neat elevated basket that is right on a hill as well. The greens for holes 9 and 12 feature some awesome rock formations that add a lot of character. Interesting greens make for an interesting course!

4) The course actually has some nice elevation for a wooded course, which really adds some nice value. Hole 2 plays WAY uphill while hole 3 plays back downhill. Hole 18 is an awesome downhill finishing hole while 16 is a tricky little downhill shot. The designers did a great job of incorporating the elevation into this course and in my opinion this made a 3.5 star course into an Excellent 4.0 course.

5) Typically when you have a wooded course you are going to have holes that seem "pokey" and have unfair routes. After playing this course a few times that is not the case here. The course is challenging but every hole has a fair line to hit. The luck factor is low here which is a huge plus for me.

6) The creek comes into play on a few holes and I love water hazards. Hole 4 was an awesome hole with the creek guarding the right side of the fairway and the pin tucked right up next to the creek.

7) Navigation was SIMPLE. I was never lost and finding the next hole was never a problem. This is a huge plus for someone who travels a lot to play courses.

8) The "deck" tee on hole 12 was quite a treat. It really reminded me of Maple Hill number 9. That took a lot of effort and you can tell the course really has great caretakers.

Cons: Honestly I didn't have a lot of cons here. I am rating this course "Excellent" but there were a few things that bothered me:

1) I am not a huge fan of what I would call artificial par 4's. Hole 9 is a 394 foot hole with a mando. Its a dogleg left hole that has an awesome green. However, I don't like courses that force the issue on par 4's. To me this course was a very challenging par 3 course with one par 4. It seems the issue was forced to try to create a second par 4 and anytime you have to use OB or mando's to do it the hole just feels out of place for me. It wasn't a bad hole but just didn't feel right. I am not just a huge fan of a hole that comes backward at the end (horseshoe shaped) but that's just my preference. This was not a huge deal for me as it was just one hole.

2) The rough is VERY rough. I know its probably because it's that time of the year and I didn't knock the course because of it but just be prepared for some thick rough.

3) This is essentially par 3 golf with one long hole thrown in there. Only two holes are over 400 feet so there are no opportunities to air out a drive. This course wasn't intended to be open or a bomber course, obviously, but its important to point out that this is a wooded course with little opportunity for long drives.

Don't take my cons the wrong way - this is one of the best courses in Charlotte!

Other Thoughts: Quite simply this is one of my favorite courses in Charlotte. I actually preferred this course to Hornet's Nest. While it may not be as well known as some of the more famous Charlotte courses it should be! This is a highly recommended course!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great Wooded Course

1    7/20/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 94  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 17.4 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging, thoughtful, valid FAIRways. It's always refreshing to see a wooded course with sufficiently wide fairway lines and no luck trees in the fairway. This is an interesting mix of up, down, left, right, etc. Secluded setting in scenic, hilly terrain. Very good benches, woodworking and stairs throughout. The course is only 1 mile off I-85, making it a great road trip stop.
Cons: The biggest con was definitely a factor of when I played it (mid-July). The first few holes are overgrown to the point of making a lost disc a strong possibility, especially #3 where an errant drive will land you in 4' high weeds. If I played it regularly I would spend a lot of time looking for discs on #3 in its current condition. I'm not giving this much weight in my rating since it's a temporary curable thing. Once you get in the woods, the fairways were generally very clear.

Other thoughts: the teepads are too small and I thought the course felt unbalanced with the back 9 playing much shorter/easier than the front and without any par 4 holes. As a final con, it seemed like there were a ton of blind holes, especially on the front 9, and many for no apparent reason.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while on a road trip to the beach and would definitely play here again. It's very close to I-85, seemed like a safe place to park, and has a playground for kids to play on. I really enjoyed this course and went back and forth between rating it a 4 and 4.5. It gets the big things right -- great mix of holes, valid fairways, good signage and very good stairs/trails/benches. Better maintenance - especially more cutting on the first few holes to reduce lost discs - gets this to 4.5 for me.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not Great for a Beginner

1    5/13/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: thedogatesoup
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.8 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: It's a beautiful place to play. There are a lot of cool holes around the creek and it's a really challenging course if you're wanting to really test your skill.
Cons: There are lots of places to lose discs if you're not an extremely accurate thrower. I lost my favorite disc on the second hole. The first 4 holes have some big areas that are really overgrown, so be super careful. The course does open up some after that though. Then your game becomes more about not putting your disc in the creek.
Other Thoughts: If you're not a beginner, this course might be cool. I loved walking around the course. Lots of cool stuff all around and this is a great place to challenge yourself if you think you're good enough.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

RoLL-a-way Smith

1    4/19/2014   4/25/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 134  Reviewed: 123  Exp: 9.2 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 concrete tees with tee signs and Discatcher baskets over scenic rolling elevation, rock formations, mostly playing par 3 golf through the woods with two creeks coming into play on many holes. Navigation is pretty simple and is basically one loop around to the parking. Nice bridges to cross the creek and other would be dangerous areas. Great variety of hole shaping through the woods and unique and interesting holes and rock greens, playing uphill, downhill, across slopes, over the creek, next to the creek, and down to the creek, straight shots and some hard turning shots. Bathrooms by parking lot.
Cons: The ever present roll-a-way greens and high disc loss potential in the creeks(at least when I played it was also raining). Some fairways were under inches standing water, and especially near the tees.
Other Thoughts: RL Smith is a great course in it's own right, it's got some of the best elevation in Charlotte and a fantastic layout overall. It's not a long course like some of the more notorious courses in the area, but it's got some of it's own teeth to gnash with the creek and tricky greens around the baskets, and of course some heavy Carolina woods. I wasn't thrilled about losing two discs in the creek early in the round, and made me think twice often during the rest of the round. It's not a gold level course, but it is a very solid and enjoyable intermediate to advanced course that I would recommend to anyone.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Over the river and through the woods...

1    12/17/2013   12/19/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 146  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 7.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set entirely in the woods. Fairways are pretty fair, and several times I was tempted to pull out my driver but knew the rough would make me pay (and it did).

Elevation comes into play on nearly every hole, particularly in the beginning and end. Hole #2 is a fun, short shot up a steep grassy hill (the kind you'd probably sled down if it had snow), and I can only imagine the groans when someone parks their drive and watches their shot roll back down.

There is a creek alongside several of the holes. It is only an issue on one hole (#7), when it becomes a 25-foot wide body with murky water. I lost my River there, appropriately enough, but fortunately someone found it later.

Many of the holes are short and possible ace runs, but there is adequate punishment for missing your line. Several holes have multiple lines, and one even has a V-shaped tee pad to accommodate either line. I've never seen that before.

Hole 18 was a satisfying finish with a straight valley shot, another hole that feels like an potential ace run but that isn't an easy shot.

Navigation was pretty easy, and I didn't really use the map. "Next tee" signs are on most holes, and I don't remember any long walks between holes.
Cons: The tee signs are just okay. Many of them show what looks like a fairly straight fairway with the basket slightly offset, when the true line to the basket is a definite dogleg.

I have mixed feelings about horseshoe-shaped holes, and I didn't think (#9) had a big enough landing area or path to the basket once on the green.

Rough was pretty rough, lots of tangly stuff.
Other Thoughts: Travel tip: if you love wooded courses with big elevation changes like this, check out Pyramids and Devens in Massachusetts, Hummel in Omaha, and Conifer in Colorado, to name a few. Same idea but with even bigger elevation changes.

RL Smith is pretty close to the airport so it was the first I hit when I landed. The elevation changes are among the bigger in Charlotte. This is definitely a great option for combining a good challenge, some thrilling shots, and still being friendly for rec and intermediate players. It's these kind of courses that get new players addicted and keep seasoned players interested.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Up and Down

1    11/8/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 52  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Another Beautiful Course in Charlotte

Good Concrete Tees
Great Baskets
Adequate signage (Teesigns and "next tee")
Benches at several tees
Bathrooms/water fountains at the parking lot
Plenty of parking
Navigation is easy

Very fun course
Great Risk/Reward
Use of elevation changes is Top-notch
Fairways are well trimmed and wide enough to make the intended shot
Variety is great.
Good use of what water is there to make some holes challenging
Loved the use of Mandos to force certain lines
Also liked having several lines/options on most holes
The Deck on 12 added to the experience
Great place to work on shot-shaping
Some really good holes to work on Mids/Fairways
A few places to stretch out your drivers (you better be accurate)
Good for Rec to Pro players (something for everyone)
Empty your bag on 18 (fun)

Well kept and clean
Several trashcans
Trimmed not just butchered
Playground for the Family/kids to wait for your round to finish
Well planned and flows well
Not crowded
Good workout, up and down hills

Favorite Hole(s): 5,12, 18
Cons: Not very many cons

A few more trashcans would be better (not really a problem, if you can lug it in full, surely you can make it all the way to the next trashcan empty)
A few good walks between holes (with friends this can be a plus)
A couple of holes feel repetetive
18 ends a little ways from the parking

Not really a con, but, if you're here in the Fall, bring your brightly colored discs and save you and your friends a good bit of time kicking around in the leaves looking for your discs.

Least Favorite Hole(s): 3, 11
Other Thoughts: This course is a great, fun, and challenging course that will really get your blood moving. Not too challenging, just enough to make it fun for everyone. I will definitely play it again if I'm ever in the area. This course is on the lower end of a 4.5 but I think better than a 4.

All in all, RL Smith is a must play if you're ever in the Charlotte area. If your passing through or traveling to Charlotte for DG, add this course to your plans and you won't regret it.

My disc rating is based heavily on "Fun Factor" which this course has lots of. I then bump it up or down based on amenities. This course has plenty of both.

PM me and let me know how I can be "more helpful" with my reviews.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Start the car

2-4    11/3/2013   11/8/2013
Review By: Miami Scoops
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 7/3/2015
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: 1-18 are all amazing! Some of these reviews are right on target and some make me laugh. It is certainly not a beginners course, so know your limitations. 3 & 4 have some heavy rough in spots, but advanced players can easliy land on the green in one. 4 can be tricky getting down the hill, after that no worries unless you have trouble staying in the fairways.
Cons: None, feel fortunate that you are in a dg heaven and just play it already. Nobody likes complainers and people who nit pick courses to death.
Other Thoughts: Have fun, wear shoes with good traction.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.