Charlotte, NC 
Robert L. Smith Park Share
Uploaded By: skinnylimbs Hole #14 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Approach



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Not Great for a Beginner

1    5/13/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: thedogatesoup
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: It's a beautiful place to play. There are a lot of cool holes around the creek and it's a really challenging course if you're wanting to really test your skill.
Cons: There are lots of places to lose discs if you're not an extremely accurate thrower. I lost my favorite disc on the second hole. The first 4 holes have some big areas that are really overgrown, so be super careful. The course does open up some after that though. Then your game becomes more about not putting your disc in the creek.
Other Thoughts: If you're not a beginner, this course might be cool. I loved walking around the course. Lots of cool stuff all around and this is a great place to challenge yourself if you think you're good enough.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

RoLL-a-way Smith

1    4/19/2014   4/25/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 concrete tees with tee signs and Discatcher baskets over scenic rolling elevation, rock formations, mostly playing par 3 golf through the woods with two creeks coming into play on many holes. Navigation is pretty simple and is basically one loop around to the parking. Nice bridges to cross the creek and other would be dangerous areas. Great variety of hole shaping through the woods and unique and interesting holes and rock greens, playing uphill, downhill, across slopes, over the creek, next to the creek, and down to the creek, straight shots and some hard turning shots. Bathrooms by parking lot.
Cons: The ever present roll-a-way greens and high disc loss potential in the creeks(at least when I played it was also raining). Some fairways were under inches standing water, and especially near the tees.
Other Thoughts: RL Smith is a great course in it's own right, it's got some of the best elevation in Charlotte and a fantastic layout overall. It's not a long course like some of the more notorious courses in the area, but it's got some of it's own teeth to gnash with the creek and tricky greens around the baskets, and of course some heavy Carolina woods. I wasn't thrilled about losing two discs in the creek early in the round, and made me think twice often during the rest of the round. It's not a gold level course, but it is a very solid and enjoyable intermediate to advanced course that I would recommend to anyone.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful & Fun!!

5+    4/9/2014   2/9/2014
Review By: St. Benedisc
Played: 27  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2014
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Absolutely, hands down, the most scenic course in the Charlotte area. If you enjoy hearing the water flow over the rocks as you contemplate how to avoid the creek or it's tributaries, if you relish going for baskets perched on rock formations, if you delight in the opportunity to attack holes with big elevation changes; then, this course is for you!
Cons: A few of the concrete pads lack a foot or so of ground beyond the end of the pad that is level with pad itself.
Other Thoughts: This course should be on everyone's Must Play List for the Charlotte area!

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Over the river and through the woods...

1    12/17/2013   12/19/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set entirely in the woods. Fairways are pretty fair, and several times I was tempted to pull out my driver but knew the rough would make me pay (and it did).

Elevation comes into play on nearly every hole, particularly in the beginning and end. Hole #2 is a fun, short shot up a steep grassy hill (the kind you'd probably sled down if it had snow), and I can only imagine the groans when someone parks their drive and watches their shot roll back down.

There is a creek alongside several of the holes. It is only an issue on one hole (#7), when it becomes a 25-foot wide body with murky water. I lost my River there, appropriately enough, but fortunately someone found it later.

Many of the holes are short and possible ace runs, but there is adequate punishment for missing your line. Several holes have multiple lines, and one even has a V-shaped tee pad to accommodate either line. I've never seen that before.

Hole 18 was a satisfying finish with a straight valley shot, another hole that feels like an potential ace run but that isn't an easy shot.

Navigation was pretty easy, and I didn't really use the map. "Next tee" signs are on most holes, and I don't remember any long walks between holes.
Cons: The tee signs are just okay. Many of them show what looks like a fairly straight fairway with the basket slightly offset, when the true line to the basket is a definite dogleg.

I have mixed feelings about horseshoe-shaped holes, and I didn't think (#9) had a big enough landing area or path to the basket once on the green.

Rough was pretty rough, lots of tangly stuff.
Other Thoughts: Travel tip: if you love wooded courses with big elevation changes like this, check out Pyramids and Devens in Massachusetts, Hummel in Omaha, and Conifer in Colorado, to name a few. Same idea but with even bigger elevation changes.

RL Smith is pretty close to the airport so it was the first I hit when I landed. The elevation changes are among the bigger in Charlotte. This is definitely a great option for combining a good challenge, some thrilling shots, and still being friendly for rec and intermediate players. It's these kind of courses that get new players addicted and keep seasoned players interested.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Up and Down

1    11/8/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.8 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Another Beautiful Course in Charlotte

Good Concrete Tees
Great Baskets
Adequate signage (Teesigns and "next tee")
Benches at several tees
Bathrooms/water fountains at the parking lot
Plenty of parking
Navigation is easy

Very fun course
Great Risk/Reward
Use of elevation changes is Top-notch
Fairways are well trimmed and wide enough to make the intended shot
Variety is great.
-Up/Down/Flat
-Right/Straight/Left
-Water/Rough/Terrain
-Long/Short/mid
Good use of what water is there to make some holes challenging
Loved the use of Mandos to force certain lines
Also liked having several lines/options on most holes
The Deck on 12 added to the experience
Great place to work on shot-shaping
Some really good holes to work on Mids/Fairways
A few places to stretch out your drivers (you better be accurate)
Good for Rec to Pro players (something for everyone)
Empty your bag on 18 (fun)

Well kept and clean
Several trashcans
Trimmed not just butchered
Playground for the Family/kids to wait for your round to finish
Well planned and flows well
Not crowded
Good workout, up and down hills

Favorite Hole(s): 5,12, 18
Cons: Not very many cons

A few more trashcans would be better (not really a problem, if you can lug it in full, surely you can make it all the way to the next trashcan empty)
A few good walks between holes (with friends this can be a plus)
A couple of holes feel repetetive
18 ends a little ways from the parking

Not really a con, but, if you're here in the Fall, bring your brightly colored discs and save you and your friends a good bit of time kicking around in the leaves looking for your discs.

Least Favorite Hole(s): 3, 11
Other Thoughts: This course is a great, fun, and challenging course that will really get your blood moving. Not too challenging, just enough to make it fun for everyone. I will definitely play it again if I'm ever in the area. This course is on the lower end of a 4.5 but I think better than a 4.

All in all, RL Smith is a must play if you're ever in the Charlotte area. If your passing through or traveling to Charlotte for DG, add this course to your plans and you won't regret it.

My disc rating is based heavily on "Fun Factor" which this course has lots of. I then bump it up or down based on amenities. This course has plenty of both.

PM me and let me know how I can be "more helpful" with my reviews.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Love it!!

2-4    11/3/2013   11/8/2013
Review By: Miami Scoops
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Very well laid out course, awesome pin placements. Good signage. Recommend using blue discs in the late afternoon to help find ones that slip into the woods in Fall. Red, yellow, orange& brown leaves everywhere.
Cons: None!
Other Thoughts: as a flat lander from Miami I make a point of stopping here every Fall on my way North to hunt whitetails. The colors are of course seasonal, but amazing! The up and down terrain is a great walk. This course is totally secluded from the rest of the park goers. NO joggers, bikers,strollers to deal with. Water in play along some fairways in the form of small creeks. Elevated baskets are a bonus, unless you miss and it rolls all the way down and possibly into the creek on a few holes.Love it love it love it

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Solid Routing and Variety

5+    9/30/2013   10/1/2013
Review By: curmudgeonDwindle
Played: 18  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 34.9 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Other Thoughts: The course is in a district level park of about 150 acres and conforms to the prevailing park design ethos for this municipality. As is typical for area courses, RL Smith is sited in slightly sub-climax canopy on rolling piedmont landform. Course also features play around the shallow-wide Paw creek, water catchment areas and sewer/water right of way cutouts. The park features more than enough area for additional expansions and improvements to the course in future.

Course is situated on the park's north side and is almost completely sequestered from other park activities, circling in a roughly counter clockwise fashion. It does not feature returning 9's, however, equipment, signage and amenities are all above average, especially the benches, which are more extensive and ornate than typically observed. Mandos are well marked and 'next tee' signs are plentiful. Way finding is not an issue and is quite unobtrusive, although there are a few longish transitions on the backside. Some might have minor complaints, for example, 'there's no trashcan on EVERY hole' or 'the tee-pads aren't all uniformly wide/long enough', but these complaints may safely be ignored as 'nit-picking'. For the most part, the canopy blunts play-affecting winds. This park also features two excellent fields; one is quite large enough for all but the biggest of arms to air out any conceivable shot, and is thus very suitable for field events use and practice.

Average hole length for the 18 is slightly less than 300', but 9 holes range between 225' and 275', which means that scoring well here will depend on something other than pure power AND that scoring chances are abundant for most levels. There are substantial elevation changes and/or slopes on nearly every hole and green, at times approaching a 15% grade (#2's green being a standout example). Course also features heavy penal rough in most areas; scrambling and recovery chances can be limited for even mildly errant shots. Ob areas feature prominently (with a capital 'P') here, mainly around the 9 Paw creek holes. It should also be noted that more than half of the holes are either blind or semi-blind. All of this indicates that RL Smith may be characterized as a 'locals' course, where intimate knowledge of this track will yield an advantage of at least a few strokes during a round. It should also be noted that the average hole length on the front exceeds that on the back by nearly 100', which means that as the round goes on, the 'need' to score becomes more pressing.

Stable counter spin shot shapes enjoy a significant advantage at RL Smith, especially when approaching the greens, as only 3 of the 18 show a DECIDED receptivity to clock spin approaches. This advantage is sometimes compounded overall by fairway shapes, which on paper appear fairly balanced overall. For example, both dual fairway holes are eminently drivable, have similar width/geometry fairways but both feature greens more receptive to stable counter-spin approaches. Another example is #7, a tough 'straight' driving hole, whose landing zone sets up perfectly for a counter spin fade shape and then a run for the birdie or an 'easy' three to its sharply elevated green. To drive #7 green with a clock spin shot, either a frozen rope or a controlled flex shot must be employed, both of which should be more difficult to execute than a simple stable fade. This counter-spin advantage is only moderately mitigated by o.b. areas which punish poor fade control of same, as there are plenty of areas where poor clock fade control is punished just as harshly, perhaps even more so. That being said, I feel both spins are needed to score well here, not just for scrambling, but also to deal with many of the tee shot's tight geometries.

RL Smith DGC gets very high marks for variety, dexterous use of elevations and the ambition/dedication required to tackle such a hilly problematic site, but is flawed regarding balance and fairness. Some players may also feel the course too short, but I would advise patience for these players. Also of note is the variability of fairway width over the course as a whole, which gives a more naturalized and mature feel to the course despite it's relative youth; this is the result of prudent observation and land use by the course designers.

Of particular interest are three holes:

#2 is a virtual carbon copy of #16 long at Stumpy Creek (with the addition of the mando). It's interesting for the tough geometry of the tee shot (a high uphill stable counter spin fade), combined with a slope that receives the fading opposite spin best. Hole is also noteworthy as the geometry and elevation on this hole are primarily the result of grading for other park activities, since grading practices are fairly universal, this type of hole may in future become as iconic as the 'tube shot' or 'split fairway' types. Despite its length (230') it's a tough pin for either spin, especially with the frequent prevailing headwinds.

#9 is a right-to-left fairway with a decreasing radius (or so-called 'fish hook') with a mandatory to protect cutting the corner. It finishes with (what might be evolving into a ubiquitous trope) an elevated rock outcropping green. Already a rare hole design in a disc golf hole, this 'fish hook' is really quite well done and is probably one of the course's toughest.

#17 is a near perfect translation of the Redan hole concept from ball golf (albeit without the extensive obs) into disc golf, and thus deserves special mention for drawing on historical precendent.

Rhythmically speaking, the course is somewhat staccato and abrupt, but in its favor is each hole's decidedly different look, which leaves little room for monotony. Despite a letdown of intensity on the back 9, RL Smith's routing is superb, with a front 9 as good as any in this length range and considerably better than most. RL Smith is a uniquely tough driving course, considering its length, especially on the back 9 where minor errors and 'rub of the green' macs may be heavily penalized. On every hole, all 3 aspects of your drive (angle, speed and direction) need to be 'on' for a close putt, and even then the heavily sloped greens may deny your reward. This cannot be said of many tracks, even ones as tightly wooded as this one. As far as a design school, RL Smith would fall mostly into the strategic one with an extra helping of the penal, which fits nicely with the prevailing local design ethos. You'll have to decide for yourself if it's fun or not.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

A must play if in Charlotte!!

2-4    7/20/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: Mortis Canyon
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is fairly easy to navigate.

Tee pads and signs at every hole. Benches and trash cans at most holes.

This course unlike some others in the Charlotte area is not as crowded.

Course is secluded from the rest of the park.

Course provides a variety of holes (open, wooded, uphill, downhill, water, etc.). Variety of shots needed to score well.

Some holes will allow you to take various lines to get to the basket and the tee pads even accommodate for that.
Cons: Once you start your round, there are no exits if you are short on time and only planned to play 9 holes or so. Course design kind of forces you to play the whole round.

No chances to bomb a drive in an open field.

A couple of the early holes (#1, #3, and #4) have horrible underbrush.

Hole #9's mando is strange IMO.

Probability of losing discs is high due to water and high brush in some places. (I've found 4 out there this year alone.)

This will probably work itself out over time but there are some areas on the course where steps or a bridge here and there would be helpful.

Have seen several snakes out there so watch out!
Other Thoughts: Be sure to carry bug spray.

My opinion the signature holes for this course are #13 and #18.

This course is quite a hike and can be tiresome due to the constant elevation changes; however the back 9 is much shorter than the front.

If in Charlotte, along with Renny, Hornets' Nest, and many others….this one is a must play. You won't regret it.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Deep in the Woods

1    7/20/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 176  Reviewed: 175  Exp: 3 Years
6 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: There are some solid holes here. In particular some of the holes that utilize elevation changes like the steeply uphill 2. Or the holes that parallel creeks like 5. There's a ton of variation. Most of the hole give different looks and require different shots.

There's also a lot of challenge, like the gap you have to hit off the tee on 8. And there are some memorable holes, like 12, where the tee backs up to an edge, and the pin is located in a rock garden.
Cons: Buuut, there's a lot here that isn't great, and in in an area like Charlotte, there are several courses that are much better than this one.

First, some of the holes feature some of the worst underbrush I've ever seen. I'm all for risk/reward, but on holes like 1, the risk is way too high for a minimal reward. In several locations, the deep woods is just unnecessarily deep.

Perhaps there are seasons where it is not as bad, but RL Smith is home to the worst bugs I have ever experienced on a course. I don't care how good the design is, I'm simply not enjoying it if mosquitoes are constantly flying directly into my eyeballs. (because everywhere else is coated with bugspray.) There is definitely a point where the amount of spider webs and skeeters on the fairways has to weigh in.

Some of these factors could be made up for if the holes were on the caliber of Nevin, Hornets Nest or Renny. But they just aren't. There's good holes and decent holes, but no signature holes.
Other Thoughts: If I was a Charlotte native, I'd give it another shot. But as a visitor. there are just too many other options, to try this one again.

6 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/3/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: loganduncan
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.1 Years
2 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: great course that starts out at the top of the soccer fields and quickly moves into the heavily wooded forest by the end of hole 4. Lots of water in play here, but the nice clear fairways give plenty of room to avoid water as well as trees. The course ends with an awesome #18 tee box sitting on top of a large hill with the basket sitting straight ahead across a gully on another large hill.
Cons: There is not much bad to be said about this course. Just watch out for some tight OB restrictions and play the mandos.
Other Thoughts: RL smith is heavily wooded with a lot of water surrounding, making it a desired place for snakes to be lurking. Within the past four days alone, we have spotting three snakes. I also had a close run in with a copperhead on hole 5 last summer when i picked up my disc to find it coiled up beneath it. So be careful.

2 of 14 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.