Charlotte, NC 
Robert L. Smith Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6 (Taken 1/2015)
3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 The great hills

5+    11/11/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 65  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2013
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Robert L Smith is a terrific disc golf course on Little rock road. It's wooded and challenging and great for any players.
-The elevation here at Robert L Smith is really intense. This could possibly be the hilliest course you ever played. It starts off on a hole with a downhill teeshot into the mouth of the woods. Then #2 is immensely uphill then #3 is straight downhill. I am not going to go on because it's very exciting to see the elevation here.
-Teesigns are installed from what I saw and they are very cool. They were needed since it can be hard to find the basket on the hole you're playing.
-Nice teepads are installed and they allow nice and long run ups. #12 now has one along with a bench. You might get tired after going up and down are those hills so you might want to sit for a moment.
-#16 and #17 are great ace runs! The water is in play right on #16 so that tells you it's not a sidearm hole like #17. On #17, you need an anhyzer or flick because water is a bit right and the basket is a little more to the right. A birdie on either is a good one!
-From what I heard from dandaman, there is now a practice basket. It might just be the #19th hole's basket since #19 is across the field. I may be wrong though, the course has gotten changed quite a bit since I played here.
-A couple of the holes are in the field. #2 and #3. #2 is hard because it's crazily uphill. #3 is longer but straight downhill so it's a high birdie opprotunity if you go straight. Drivers turn too much on #3. A midrange can get you close.
-#11 and #13 have two routes. The shorter ones are harder to get to. #11's shorter route straight ahead goes to the right so it's a slight dogleg right. #13's shorter route's fairway is not wide. Similar to #11 long at Eager Beaver. Take the longer ones since they are easier birdies.
-#5 is one of my favorite par 4's in North Carolina! It's narrow and along the creek bed where the green is. #3 is also another sweet tee shot. In the pic on the media, It doesn't look downhill but believe me, it is and hyzering over the thick trees close to the large green makes this one of the best holes in charlotte. Definitely my favorite on the course.
-Next tee signs for the holes that can be confusing to find. Keep an eye out for them, especially on the walk to #13 because it's a long walk. They are very helpful.
-Great finishing hole. #18 is definitely a fun hole that has a super fun teeshot. Just going past the creek is good enough so you are not in OB.
-Bathrooms are next to the parking lot and they are nice and clean.
-Bridges are installed and benches and trashcans on every hole.
Cons: -If you play in the summer, there is wildlife in the woods. Beside #1, I saw bear poop. Snakes might also occur in the woods during summer. If you throw a disc in the woods, I wouldn't search for it too long. Use a disc you are willing to lose. Snakes can be around here.
-#14 needs to be cleared a bit to the left but it's nothing major.
Other Thoughts: I love this course, the design is perfect and I am glad grass got cut here on the course. This is possibly my favorite and if you live in Gastonia like me, this is the closest course in charlotte. It's super hilly and definitely one of the best in Charlotte. On the hole by hole review, I am not going to say what you need to do on every hole because on hole info, I put hole tips on every hole.
-This is the best course in Charlotte that I have played. Once I play Nevin, I might find that as the best because I have seen it on YouTube but this course is definitely worth the play no matter how faraway you live from it. The scenery is great, the fairways have no debris and mainly, it's the hilliest in Charlotte. This is a must play in Charlotte and since the original course at Renaissance is gone, this WILL be the best in Charlotte. Don't skip it.
Signature holes, hmm, I'd say #5 because it's a cool, narrow par 4 along the creek bed. #12, Steep uphill ace run on an elevation green on rocks and #18, truly great finishing hole. Have fun.

I deleted the hole by hole review. That gave way too much away. This is my favorite course in Charlotte and my favorite course overall. Eight holes on this course have elevation changes of over 20 feet. Water is in play on seven holes too and also has some great pin placements, like on #9 and #12.
-My favorite hole is #3. It's an easy, really straight down 265' footer that plays much shorter. #13 is also a fun hole with two routes and the double tee is pretty awesome. Really, I like every hole on the course.
-I gave this course a 4.5 because it's maintained well, it's very hilly, it's has an amazing layout. Just needs to be cleared on #3 because the tall grass isn't somewhere to look for discs, if ya lose it, ya lose it. Keep an eye out for snakes and bring hiking shoes.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/2/2012   8/2/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 323  Reviewed: 171  Exp: 14.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a mostly wooded course with great elevation changes. Out of bounds both water and artifically marked is all over the place. If you play all the marked out of bounds this course goes from hard to very difficult. There are huge boulders and rocks all over. Check out the pictures. Your nerves will be tested in the putting game. Bad putts will often result in fly bys or roll aways.

The benches they installed are fantastic!

Tee pads were concrete and great.

Signage and navigation was pretty easy.

Brand new Innova Discatchers.

Hole #2 is a monster uphill shot then you get to throw right back down the hill on #3. If I counted correctly there are 6 really fun downhill shots.

Hole #5 is a great par 4. It takes 2 great shots to get a birdie 3 especially with out of bounds lining the fairways and protecting the green.

Hole #12 has a great deck lining and extending the run up for this cool looking par 3 hole.

The double route and double tee on #13 is sweet!

I love the variety on this course. No 2 holes are alike and it will test every shot you have.

Hole #18 is an awesome finish to the course. Super fun downhill shot.

There is rough in some spots but we did not have that hard of a time locating discs.
Cons: The only thing missing from this course is a few chances to unleash some open drives.

Other Thoughts: Bring some hiking shoes. This is a hike through the woods. Try to avoid playing after rain.

There are no stopping points back by the parking lot. Bring everything you need with you.

Check maps and find out where the water is. I played this course on Friday and the creek was pretty much empty. It rained over night and it was pretty full on Saturday.

Do not judge this course by the current pictures. I'm amazed at how the course looks now compared to when those pictures were taken last summer. It's night and day.

I played 15 courses in Charlotte over a 10 day period. Make a trip. They have some awesome disc golf!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 No Two Holes The Same

5+    7/28/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: cchambers
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2012
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - Like the title says... no two holes are the same. If you are weak in your game at all, this course will show you.
- Awesome extras make you feel like you're playing a private course...
- Plenty of ace-able holes; two really nice par fours.
- Great park/course map.
- Unique tees and multiple options on a few holes.
- Clear rough around the edge of the fairways. It seems as if the clearing was done right, as the drag piles are at least 60 feet from the fairways.
- Generally clean.
- Wildlife! Deer, rabbits, and red-tailed hawk that hangs out above #1's basket.
Cons: - Insects can be bad sometimes. Bring bug spray.
- The halfway point is at the back of the park, so bring plenty of water. There's a water fountain near the restrooms!
Other Thoughts: This has quickly become my new favorite course in Charlotte. It's only been in the ground a year. The designers did a wonderful job mixing the elevation and natural beauty the land provides with a variety of holes that is unmatched.

Be prepared for a hike...

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course feels incomplete.

5+    7/28/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 304  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 4.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Use of elevation is what makes this course. I cannot think of a hole where it does not come into play.

Crazy Fast and rocky greens make going for it a risky choice in many cases and laying up is the right choice.

It feels like there is a good balance of left, right, straight on the course.

Hole 12 while short is definatly a signature hole with a cool tee and cool green. And hole 3 is one of my favorite shots in charlotte.

It finishes strong with a good hole 18.

Newly instaled goat trails and bridges are welcome additions on several holes
Cons: Several holes go through a sewer right away which means there are metal poles sticking up in the center of several fairways which is an eyesore in my opinion and doesnt make for a pleasant smell some days.

Some of the OB seems punative in my opinion and takes away from the fun of the course.

There are several drag piles near fairways or baskets(the one close to the basket on 13 sticks out in my mind.)

Not all of the benches have been installed on every hole.

Some of the transitions are still very rough and need stairs or better ways to get up and down the hills.

There are trees leaning low into the airways on several holes

No way to replenish water as you get back into the course because it is a long hike.

The one major issue that could face this course in the future is erosion control. Several holes will have problems in the future if this is not dealt with(which I know it will be)
Other Thoughts: R.L. Smith is a great course and I want to give it a 4 based on what I know it will be. Several of the projects which I thought really took away from the course have been taken care of and I know that the others will be eventually but right now I still feel that the issues keep me from rating this one higher. It is definatly worth a stop if you are in charlotte cause it is probably one of the most unique courses as far as terrain goes in the area.

I will likely rate it higher once many of the negatives are fixed (specifiacally saftey issues).

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Did That Just Happen?

1    7/13/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 110  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 7.2 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Sits in a nice park that also has a big playground and nice big soccer fields. There has been a lot of work put into this course to make sure the hills are not too difficult to navigate. The course makes great use of the terrain making you throw up and down hill a lot. There are plenty of tight gaps to hit and lots of OB to make things challenging. There are a lot of challenging baskets as well that will make you work for every stroke. There is a good mix of long and short as well as up and down hill. Lots of nice benches and new bridges to get over the stream. Nice new baskets and consistent tee pads are great. Nice new tee signs are very helpful. Be sure to look for arrows to show you where to go next.
Cons: This is not a course that will be fun for newer players. There are a couple of places where you could get crossed up on where you are supposed to go. There is a long walk back to the parking lot from hole 18's basket. Excessively marked OB makes this course less fun. I really did not like the tee pad on hole 12, no matter how cool it looks when you walk up to it. These are really all small things but cause the rating to go down, especially when you think about all the other great courses in the area.
Other Thoughts: A good round can go very bad here on one hole with the way a disc could just start rolling down hills from some of the baskets. While the baskets all look really cool sitting up on their hills and rock and what not, it can get very frustrating when you easy layup decides to roll away as if you ran at it. This only happened to me once during my tune up round for Worlds 2012 here, but it made me think twice about going for a lot of putts. This is just not my favorite of the courses that I will be playing, even though it does feel the most like the mountain courses back home that I am used to. This is a great course, but without the history of some of the other courses in the area I would put this in a close second group of courses to play in the Charlotte area.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Little Stumpy Creek

5+    6/25/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: 1978
Played: 230  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love RL Smith Park. The memorial is for a hero and more amenities (Disc Golf) that draw people to it to honor Robert L. Smith the better. Charlotte is a city of wooded courses. This is no different, however it is "the" elevation course in Charlotte. You will huff and puff and RL will blow you down! Hole one is a great opening hole. Throwing from the open into the mouth of the woods you get a glimpse of what is to come. Fairways are "fair" but can be tight in some areas, they are mostly clear of brush and new growth. Benches are amazing and a number of really good bridges are being built. Teepads are plenty long and built to the hole, there is a trapazoid and a "shorts shaped" pad for a couple of the courses multiple fairway holes.
There are a number of unique "to Charlotte" and cool holes. 2, uphill drive to a very precarious green, 3 is a straight drop down into a basin. 7 has an awesome green as do 9 and 12 (nestled in rock formations). Even short 200' holes are deadly like hole 16. Hole 18 is one of the signature holes. It throws from the top of a cliff down to a basket with OB right behind it. Fast greens (like 9+ of them) and fairway turns offer a great opportunity for smart golf.
Greens are nicely cut to 30' at least for most of them.

GREAT looking and feeling deck behind #12 and 3 new bridges.
Cons: A number of these Cons can and will be attended to some wont. My major concern is the overuse of OB; the OB can be oppressive and unfair. It lines the underside of hilly greens on 5, 16, 17, 18 It outlines some of the creeks and tributaries however if those are flowing and are so high that OBs are needed, you are dealing with a lost disc anyway or thr course will be unplayable. Simply surrounded by water is good enough for these holes. Some of the OB is just too close to baskets or fairways because maybe the baskets are too close to the creeks. Hole 16's OB is silly in my opinion. OB is high so the stakes don't wash away... if water is that high, there will be no tournament that day. The course difficulty speaks for itself. To get through RL underpar is a challenge. The OB just adds gimmick and luck and drives my score down .5 discs. With no OB on 5, 16,17 I would rate the course a 5.
Trashcans arent numerous and it doesnt appear the park department can get back to empty them anyway. So many greens are "fast" greens it adds more than the average amount of luck to score good or bad here. A great round can be overshadowed by a number of slides or rolls OB that resulted from great shots. Its part of the game, but I can see how it will frustrate some. EDIT<NOW there is a GREAT area behind 12 to stand, the deck is amazing) Trees have begun to arc into the fairways to get light and are covering up the airways. I noticed this on 6,7 specifically. A few retaining walls and a number of stairs (EDIT - Great new goat trail on 18 and 3 new bridges are now installed) are needed on some of the fast greens/steep transitions.
Many of the baskets are not visible from the tee... they might be aceble but you don't get the satisfaction of seeing it.
Other Thoughts: Do not read my cons and not come. Great course, one of my favorites in Charlotte! Bring water, you do not go by facilities until the end...and even then you are across a number of soccer fields away. You might be able to run up hole 5 and get to the bathroom but after that, you are deep in it. A lot of people unload their bag on 18 then again across the soccer fields back to their cars. If you are craving that big open might not be on the course, but you can sure do it on your way home. Maybe try to make a "GOAL!!!" in one of the soccer goals.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Yet another good one in Charlotte

1    6/29/2012   6/30/2012
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 191  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 23.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A lot of hard work and creativity went into this course. It is a course that will require accuracy, yet is more forgiving in its length than some of the newer courses in the area. They have tamed much of the elements that a newer course has (rough, trails, etc.). But it still has many challenges - narrow fairways, a creek that comes into play on several holes, elevation, and tricky pin placements.

The designers have made a nice mix of holes that are very different from each other. The only type missing was a flat, straight hole where you could see the pin from the tee!

The signage, tee pads and baskets were great, and I did not need a map to find my way easily around.

Cons: Very minor details here: this is more of a question, than a con. The maps show a red line along the creek edges, and there are red stakes marking these same creek beds. Is everything over the line O.B? I assumed it was, but it would be nice to know if you must take relief when landing over these lines. It certainly would add to the difficulty (and some frustration) to the course. I don't mind having actual water as O.B, but going over a line that is not protecting people or cars would be considered a negative in my book. It's too much of a PDGA pro tournament thing (like ropes they put at Winthrop).

Minor nitpick- the only thing needed would be some steps going up to the pin on hole #7. AND - if they can shore up the earth to create a flatter green to reward accurate upshots (unlike the current green that is likely to punish a good upshot with a rollaway!)
Other Thoughts: Compliments to the designers on the great pin placements on many holes - several are on treacherously sloped ground and a couple are elevated on rock outcroppings that add to the scenic flair of the course.

As others have said, bring bug repellant and good shoes, as it is one heckuva hike.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult Test

1    6/16/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: Buschbacher
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course with lots of elevation that could pose a test for any player's skill.

Playing the course is like taking a nice hike through the woods and you definitely get a workout climbing some extremely steep hills.

No issues finding the next tee as they are all clearly marked and you can tell that they are currently working on making some great improvements (adding benches, cleaning up fairways, etc.) for Worlds next month.
Cons: They could add some additional trashcans as there are lazy players who sadly can't keep trash in their pocket for a hole or two before tossing it to the ground.

I am sure this if coming before Worlds, but they need to update/replace the hole signs. Some are extremely damaged and illegible.

...and concrete is still needed on hole 12.
Other Thoughts: I would by no means recommend this course for a family outing, but it is a great place to find out where your game can improve.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best

2-4    7/15/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: dandaman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 20.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets (new)

Teepads (new)

Teesigns (new)

Benches on most of the holes

Practice basket

Great bridges and the most scenic teepad that I have ever seen on hole 12.

A nice design...thanks Chris and Whit (working hard on the course when I was there)! Challanging greens, challanging fairways. Diverse. These guys know what they are doing and thier efforts are awesome. This course is one of the toughest (but fairest) that I have played.

Scenic: This course has a great creek that comes in play and has some rewarding views near greens and fairways. There are also some nice rock outcroppings that were taken advantage of on hole #9 and #12.

The course is far removed from other park activities. No ball fields, no walking paths, and no roads. When you play this course it is all about the golf.

Great next tee signs make it easy to navigate...once you know where hole #1 is (behind the kiosk...thanks for the kiosk Jerry!)

Cons: There are some areas of the creek if your disc lands in it is possible that it will be lost.

If the course is wet the walk up the hills (and down them) could be quite difficult and slippery.
Other Thoughts: The course was looking great when I was there for the World's. The amount of work and attention to detail really sets this course apart from others that I have played. While it is a difficult course it is still a fun course.

I appreciate that currently it is only one tee and one basket per hole. In the future I would say that if you want to attarct the more casual golfer or newbie: shorter tees would need to be placed.

There appears to be more land available if the course were ever to be expanded. I might recommend however that if it was to be expanded, have a loop that plays it's way back somewhere close to the fields...or alternatively have a seperate 18 hole course. That way you have a chance to restock on water and other goodies.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult but fun

1    5/6/2012   5/6/2012
Review By: younglookinn
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun hilly course that requires a variety of shots to play well.

Good chances for an Ace.

Best direction signs i've seen on any course in the area.
Cons: Lack of steps on steep holes.

Path crosses creek a few times, which could be a problem if there's ever a lot of rain.

Very dense undergrowth in some areas, including poison ivy.

Signage is a little incomplete. A route to one of the holes, i think it's 13 but not sure, has been opened up but not displayed on the map yet.

No concrete tee on number 12 yet.
Other Thoughts: Not a beginners course, but still fun.

I ran into a couple of guys who are volunteering to clean up the course for the World Ams in late July. I'm sure the course will be in tip top shape by then.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.