Charlotte, NC
Robert L. Smith Park Share
Uploaded By: skinnylimbs Hole #12 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 177ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Area



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Yet another good one in Charlotte

1    6/29/2012   6/30/2012
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A lot of hard work and creativity went into this course. It is a course that will require accuracy, yet is more forgiving in its length than some of the newer courses in the area. They have tamed much of the elements that a newer course has (rough, trails, etc.). But it still has many challenges - narrow fairways, a creek that comes into play on several holes, elevation, and tricky pin placements.

The designers have made a nice mix of holes that are very different from each other. The only type missing was a flat, straight hole where you could see the pin from the tee!

The signage, tee pads and baskets were great, and I did not need a map to find my way easily around.

Cons: Very minor details here: this is more of a question, than a con. The maps show a red line along the creek edges, and there are red stakes marking these same creek beds. Is everything over the line O.B? I assumed it was, but it would be nice to know if you must take relief when landing over these lines. It certainly would add to the difficulty (and some frustration) to the course. I don't mind having actual water as O.B, but going over a line that is not protecting people or cars would be considered a negative in my book. It's too much of a PDGA pro tournament thing (like ropes they put at Winthrop).

Minor nitpick- the only thing needed would be some steps going up to the pin on hole #7. AND - if they can shore up the earth to create a flatter green to reward accurate upshots (unlike the current green that is likely to punish a good upshot with a rollaway!)
Other Thoughts: Compliments to the designers on the great pin placements on many holes - several are on treacherously sloped ground and a couple are elevated on rock outcroppings that add to the scenic flair of the course.

As others have said, bring bug repellant and good shoes, as it is one heckuva hike.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Difficult Test

1    6/16/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: Buschbacher
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course with lots of elevation that could pose a test for any player's skill.

Playing the course is like taking a nice hike through the woods and you definitely get a workout climbing some extremely steep hills.

No issues finding the next tee as they are all clearly marked and you can tell that they are currently working on making some great improvements (adding benches, cleaning up fairways, etc.) for Worlds next month.
Cons: They could add some additional trashcans as there are lazy players who sadly can't keep trash in their pocket for a hole or two before tossing it to the ground.

I am sure this if coming before Worlds, but they need to update/replace the hole signs. Some are extremely damaged and illegible.

...and concrete is still needed on hole 12.
Other Thoughts: I would by no means recommend this course for a family outing, but it is a great place to find out where your game can improve.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

One of the best

2-4    7/15/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: dandaman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets (new)

Teepads (new)

Teesigns (new)

Benches on most of the holes

Practice basket

Great bridges and the most scenic teepad that I have ever seen on hole 12.

A nice design...thanks Chris and Whit (working hard on the course when I was there)! Challanging greens, challanging fairways. Diverse. These guys know what they are doing and thier efforts are awesome. This course is one of the toughest (but fairest) that I have played.

Scenic: This course has a great creek that comes in play and has some rewarding views near greens and fairways. There are also some nice rock outcroppings that were taken advantage of on hole #9 and #12.

The course is far removed from other park activities. No ball fields, no walking paths, and no roads. When you play this course it is all about the golf.

Great next tee signs make it easy to navigate...once you know where hole #1 is (behind the kiosk...thanks for the kiosk Jerry!)

Elevation.
Cons: There are some areas of the creek if your disc lands in it is possible that it will be lost.

If the course is wet the walk up the hills (and down them) could be quite difficult and slippery.
Other Thoughts: The course was looking great when I was there for the World's. The amount of work and attention to detail really sets this course apart from others that I have played. While it is a difficult course it is still a fun course.

I appreciate that currently it is only one tee and one basket per hole. In the future I would say that if you want to attarct the more casual golfer or newbie: shorter tees would need to be placed.

There appears to be more land available if the course were ever to be expanded. I might recommend however that if it was to be expanded, have a loop that plays it's way back somewhere close to the fields...or alternatively have a seperate 18 hole course. That way you have a chance to restock on water and other goodies.




7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Difficult but fun

1    5/6/2012   5/6/2012
Review By: younglookinn
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun hilly course that requires a variety of shots to play well.

Good chances for an Ace.

Best direction signs i've seen on any course in the area.
Cons: Lack of steps on steep holes.

Path crosses creek a few times, which could be a problem if there's ever a lot of rain.

Very dense undergrowth in some areas, including poison ivy.

Signage is a little incomplete. A route to one of the holes, i think it's 13 but not sure, has been opened up but not displayed on the map yet.

No concrete tee on number 12 yet.
Other Thoughts: Not a beginners course, but still fun.

I ran into a couple of guys who are volunteering to clean up the course for the World Ams in late July. I'm sure the course will be in tip top shape by then.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Most extreme elevation in the woods I have ever played.

1    2/15/2012   3/3/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice grippy concrete tees were greatly appreciated on this newer course in the woods. This is the only tee that would work on this course. (Not all of them were in but I appreciated the tees that were there) and the rest will be done shortly I am sure.

2) Incredibly good variety in distance out here. There are all sorts of discs and shots needed out here because the distances change a lot. Some are true placement shots and some have the risk/reward of trying to risk a driver up the gut or around the bend, but the punishment might be extreme so pick your shots selectively.

3) Brand new #'d yellow banded discatchers. These baskets are perfect for this course because they are easy to see.

4) Extreme elevation on multiple holes on this course. This course has some of the funnest throws I have ever thrown and the elevation change certainly adds to the fun factor of these throws.

5) The creek is used on 5 or 6 holes and it is absolutely a key feature to this course. It is not only challenging but it is very picturesque.

6) Hole #9 is a very unique hole. It is a 90 degree dogleg with a rock formation forming the green. I threw my drive short and left a little bit but rather than throw out to the bend in the fairway I just went up and over the trees. It was a risky shot but I was rewarded with a 50' chance to make a 3. It is considered a par 4 on DGCR but is a "tweener" if you ask me, but it is a real risk/reward and a unique design.

7) Good directionals around this course to help guide you through the new layout. I certainly appreciated them and any first timer will feel the same way.

8) It seems the thing to do in Charlotte is to create challenging green areas. This new course is no different. There are baskets within a few feet of the creek, on top of some rock formations, on elevated little perches, etc etc etc. This is definitely a positive design feature in my mind because so many courses just have flat open baskets. I think this might be the best design feature to be used to move this sport forward because challenging greens means less land is needed to create championship courses (higher pars). Who says that putting at some of our courses shouldn't feel like you are putting on an undulating golf green with a 12 stimpmeter reading (IF YOU WOULD LIKE A BETTER EXPLANATION PLEASE ASK I WILL BE HAPPY TO EXPLAIN WHAT THIS MEANS TO YOU NON GOLFERS)? Let's make 3 putting a possibility but do so in a fair way. I say give players the option of a "lag putt" where they can lay their putt for a guaranteed drop in, but if they choose to run after it, they risk a rollaway or an awkward stance.

9) Storm sewer easement . .. which runs right along the creek that you play along for many holes. This is like the 5th or 6th time I have mentioned this feature from just this road-trip. Apparently, the land that these easements run through is an accessible land for disc golf properties. I am going to start looking for properties with this feature soon . . . because I want to own my own property where I can house my landscape company and also put up a fun disc golf course.
Cons: 1) The walk to #1 is a long walk and there is nothing directing you to the tee. I had to look for signs of baskets or poles and all I could see in the distance were some garbage cans across the open field and a small little sign past the playground . . . I chose the small sign . . . and I was correct, but I could have easily walked around the entire track/path area before realizing where the course began. The good news is you would see baskets if you crossed the field also, but you would have to work yourself backwards.

2) This course is currently a really tough walk. The hills are manageable but couple that with inferior stairs or nothing especially when wet and it is tough to safely get around this course. It was worth every slip I encountered because the course is worth it, but as of right now these things need to be worked on. It didn't help that it rained the whole time I was here, but I was determined to finish all of the Worlds courses before leaving town and this was the only way I could finish them all. Even if it was raining, this would still be a tough walk with all sorts of ups and down and inferior footing.

3) The sewer pipe that sticks up about 12-15' in the middle of the fairway was a little annoying. I didn't hit it or anything but I just think it takes a little bit away from the visual feeling of this course. I imagine a lot of discs will hit this pole and some will even end up in the river because of that pole. It seems just a little hokey, but I am sure there was no way to avoid the pole unless they moved the entire hole.

4) Tee-signs, benches, garbage cans are still not here, but I know they will be.
Other Thoughts: I am giving this course a 4 even though it truly only deserves a 3.5 in its current state. It will be a 4 when the teepads and signs go in, and if/when the rest of the improvement work is finished it will become a 4.5. I hope to come back to certify this rating, but I promise that this course will be one of the most popular in the area probably just behind Renny and Hornet's Nest. It is a true test of all skills, it is scenic and beautiful, it is challenging but fair, and it is just plain fun to play. Sure it might take you longer to play here than most courses, but I promise you will enjoy it. Get out here as soon as you can!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great New Course

1    10/8/2011   10/8/2011
Review By: terptwerp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation and natural elements such as rocks and creek beds. Good variety of shots (lefts, rights, straight, uphill & downhill). Beautiful wooded setting. A number of interesting holes.
Cons: Needs work including tee pads, steps and bridges. As mentioned on prior reviews, the sewer smell can be nasty on a couple hole. Some long transitions between a few of the holes.
Other Thoughts: This couse has the best use of elevation in the area (exept maybe Stumpy Creek). Being new it still needs to be broken in, but could become one of the top 3-4 courses in the area.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Stinking Charlotte!!

1    8/27/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another new 18 hole course in Charlotte. Like those lucky SOBs needed another course!! Separated from the playground and soccer fields. Course plays through a nice wooded area with everything you need for a great course.

Designed about as well as I could imagine. This course uses every available landscape feature given to it, and uses it well. No need for gimmicks here. There are uphill shots, downhill shots, creeks and boulders all used throughout the course. It's great looking and fun to play.
Cons: It's new. Tee pads are natural and pretty rough.

Speaking of rough, the course could use some foot traffic to beat down the growth. There are some areas where discs could hide right now.

Course needs some more bridges and stairs.

I assume most of these cons will get worked out as time goes on. Knowing the quality of courses and people in the Charlotte area, I am confident this course will get the treatment it deserves.
Other Thoughts: Course starts out with a nice little 340' downhill shot just to get you warmed up. Small slope behind the basket keep any putts or approaches interesting. #2 plays uphill with the basket perched on the slope. #3 is back down with multiple lines to the metal. #4 is 406' to a basket that is surrounded by a creek bed on 3 sides. Right now the water is low or non-existent, but in the Winter and Spring things will be interesting. Many of the holes could be a little tougher when the water starts running down the creeks.

Speaking of variety, there is a 519' hole all along a creek bed, and a 151' uphill ace run. There are lefts and rights. There are some tight straight shots. And there are big downhill shots. This course has it all. And throughout the designers used every rock, creek and hill they could in the design of the holes. It won't be the hardest course in Charlotte, but it has a chance to be one the most fun courses you'll ever play.



If this course was in Raleigh it would easily be the best course in town. For Charlotte it's just another great course. Once it is finished it will probably be one of the more popular courses in Charlotte. When you get the chance, you've got to play this course.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 ELEVATION STATION

5+    7/20/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: albert8fish
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation with interesting shots that are uncommon to the area make this a fun one indeed.
If elevation is your thing, and it should be considering your love for aerodynamics (cheers), this is a great park to get you feeling the ace runs, and looking for errant throws if you get off track. With that being said, it is a 5004 ft. course that is a newby so far. But, it ranks high on the fun meter because of the pin positions being mixed (elevated and way lower than your tee pad), and good use of nature (rocks and creeks). Some fairways are getting widened and will soon be forehand and backhand routes to the pins, nice touch shots abound. Signature holes are actually hard to pinpoint, because there are a few gems that make the course notable. As far as difficulty, it is advanced, but having a lot of ace potential for decent arms. Big field gets crowded with walkers some nights, but is an amazing driving range when it is empty, best I have seen in town by a long shot, three tiers and huge.Yes.
Cons: It is new and the rough is crazy at times, lost disc potential is very elevated. One of many things that will be manageable with time, no big issue for a new course, just be warned and keep your disc in bounds or pay the piper, as usual here in Charlotte.
Other Thoughts: I like the hike in this place personally, it feels very far away from town, and it is not. That by its self merits everyone to play this course out on Little Rock Rd. that is local and needs a break from the norm. Bring lots of water and snacks even though it is a short course by measurement, it is a hilly hike in this blazing heat wave as of late. As always take your time and let others play through to really enjoy what it is all about, see you on the tee.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 natural beauty

5+    7/3/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 93  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 5.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this brand new addition to the charlotte area is a real beauty.lots of elevation, has a mountain course feel to it. the creek that comes into play on several holes is used to create more challenging landing zones. there are a couple of bridges that were added recently to help navigate your way through the course.easy to follow and new tee signs have been installed. they are temporary, but still very helpful.
Cons: the first 4 holes... i like the shots, but having to throw down a hill back up then back down then walk back up to throw agian. is tiresome right out of the gate. once you get into the woods it flows nicely
Other Thoughts: this course still needs some work, foot traffic and some weedeating are needed on the first 4 holes. this course will keep getting better over time. my rating will improve when concrete gets poured. the course is kind of a mix between renny and reedy.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Hikin' in the Citaaaay!

1    6/25/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.1 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We wanted it and we got it. A course in Charlotte with tons of elevation. Robert L. Smith Park DGC boasts uniquely technical ups and downs, lefts and rights. Still rough around the edges as this is still a newer course, and this review will be updated accordingly.

RLS is equipped with yellow DISCathers, double layered chains and deep baskets. Tee pads are currently natural with average footing. Current tee signs appear to be temporary at each tee featuring hole, length, par and map. Map of holes aren't exactly accurate or to scale, but will steer you in the right direction. Tee signs are white and tee box marked by flags, all of which is easily seen. Garbage cans spread out over the course, recently put into place by the Charlotte Disc Golf Club.

Course is secluded to its own portion of the park, maybe a trail walker or two, but otherwise the course is in a disc golf only area.

Navigation isn't a huge issue here, but can get a little confusing around 3 and 4. "Next tee" signs and orange tape mark hole transitions and pathways are beating in. To get to hole 1 from the parking lot, follow the fence past the bathrooms and playground, tee pad on right.

Although shorter in length, it makes up for it in technicallity. There's something humbling about playing a hole that seems well within your driving distance but because of well used elevation and some twists and turns, alot of them aren't easily reached from the tee. In other words, your 2nd shot will be the deciding factor on most holes. The elevation along the course creates some very unique lines and picturesque sights. There is nothing repititious about the course either. Some OB with a creek in play on a few holes.

Very clean bathrooms, pavilion, playground and soccor fields.
Cons: These cons are likely to exist throughout the life of the course;
A few of the holes run along a sewer right-of-way. Raised manholes take away from the beauty of the course, along with the smell of sewage bellowing from the vent pipes. Not bad unless the breeze is blowing directly to you from the vents.

As the airport is nearby, the sound of planes overhead is a constant. Both the sewer and air traffic take away from the woodsy, natural feel.

Most of these cons will disappear or get better over time.

-No concrete tee pads
-Extremely dense woods/rough
-Long transitions between holes
-Difficult to find the course if you don't know where you're looking
-Losing a disc is a possibility, especially when playing alone
-No benches yet, not asking for every hole or anything, but a few sit down breaks are necessary, especially since most of the transitions have you walking uphill
Other Thoughts: RL Smith is a hike. Wear appropriate footwear. Alot of steep elevation will take alot out of you, but is worth the uphill and especially the downhill shots.

The fun factor at RL Smith is medium to high. Bring every shot you can hold in your bag, if you don't use them off the tee you will certainly use them for a creative upshot or need them for outs from the thick rough.

In relation to other local courses, RL Smith feels like a very short Renny as far as basket placement, use of elevation and layout. A hole or two resemble The Scrapyard and Reedy Creek. Difficulty will be just a hair tougher than Reedy once broken in.

I imagine there will be a few long tee pads added to the layout. I believe there are currently two long tees, and plenty of space to add more.

If you haven't checked it out already, its definately worth the trip. This is a great course to play in the same day as Renny or the Nest, <15 minutes to either from Smith. Or just play a couple rounds here.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.