Marietta, GA
Oregon Park Share
Uploaded By: AtlDuke Hole #3 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 314ft.   3 / 324ft.   4 / 594ft.   4 / 605ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Gold Approach



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Going, Going, Oregon

1    1/1/2014   1/12/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 193  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 10.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Oregon Park is a nice course that will give you 18 holes with multiple looks on each. It has two tees and two baskets on every hole, and I liked the ratio of scattered trees to open space, as well as the subtle elevation changes. In terms of difficulty the course is average. Not too long, and not much water. Fun, but still beginner friendly. I thought the holes were well placed, so far as getting the most out of the land that is there to use. Good balance of left/right. The park is kept nicely, and there are plenty of benches and trash cans. I think I saw a vending machine and a port-o-potty near the parking lot. The local players are active on a regular basis, and really helped me negotiate my way around the confusing layout in places.
Cons: The park is nice, and the course is very functional, but the layout is a little crazy. More guidance between holes would be nice for visitors. It crosses over itself after holes 2 and 17. There are multiple tees, but the secondary set is not usually concrete. There are also two sets of baskets, and the secondary set have some pretty shoddy chains. All of this extra apparatus is cool for variety, but can be crowded close together in places. Be on the lookout for others throughout.

This was the first new course of the year for me, and I happened to arrive during a New Years Day bag tag event. The course was packed! I would have realized this right away if I parked in the right place. If you are visiting the first time, drive past the first park entrance and park near the building. Hole 1 is right there. Pace was very slow, but the locals did help by leading me to the next tee when I lost the way.
Other Thoughts: Oregon Park was fully complete, and well kept, but still missing any big time wows. All holes had several options, but none blew me away. I'm basing the 3.5 rating more on the solid 18 holes with lots of options. There is not a big fun factor and some layout flaws that cost points. I wish I had better timing for this visit. With a group on almost every hole, you really see where the fairways come near other holes tees or baskets. The amount of people on the course slowed my progress, but probably reduced the amount of time I would have spent looking for tees. I like the course, and would recommend it to others. Layout is not totally intuitive, so arrange for a guide, or at least print a map. Not the best in the area, but still quite good.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Will Play Again

2-4    3/9/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 38  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course flows in and out of wooded, hilly and open areas. A great mix of terrain in one course.

Two sets of tees (concrete for gold/long, mostly dirt some concrete for silver/short) and 2 sets of backers per hole ensures that everyone can enjoy this course. Course navigation is quite easy, if you look at the map first. 18's pin puts you within sight of 1's tee pad. Gold pins (long) are newer Innova Discatchers and Silver (shorts) are Chainstars that are in decent shape but show their age from when the old course was redesigned into this new course.

Concrete tees are average size, and are in good repair. Many of the holes have a nice wooden bench that are in good shape as well. Trash cans were also abundant and well used.

Holes are well laid out to keep cross traffic and interference with others in the park to a minimum and include straight, left and right shots. I would say that a lefty has the same advantage as a righty does on this course. Brush was cleared back when I was there, grass mowed short and it was very clean. A few blind holes were exciting (3,5,13 & 15). A few elevated tee pads were nice and started off on hole 1.
Cons: Signs were laminated pieces or paper stapled to posts at each hole. I'm sure the course is saving money to get new ones though. Not a big deal but worth mentioning.

A few holes I felt were unfair, namely 15 gold-gold. Had to throw through a cluster of trees, up a hill towards a blind basket. It could use one more tree cleaned out.

Note that neither of these issues will deter me from coming back. I throughly enjoyed myself.
Other Thoughts: Signature hole: It's tough to chose a signature hole none of them really stand out and make you go, "I want to unload my bag". I suppose 14 would be a good candidate. Throw downhill, from the woods, into a clearing, into the woods to find a nice nestled basket 400'+ from the tee.

When moving from hole 2 to 3 get to the top of the ridge by 2's basket and look towards the other basket at the top of the ridge. That is 18's basket. Walk towards that and past is into the woods. When you are on the other side of the woods, look left for #3. Most likely you will end up near #14, just keep going.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Solid Course

2-4    3/15/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: Discjunkie89
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gold to Gold is a lot of fun for doubles. Also the course is a great mixture of open and trees. I drove 2 hours to play it and can't wait to go back for 3 more rounds! You can play silver to silver, silver to gold, gold to silver, or gold to gold.
Cons: The silver baskets are really old and spit out discs quite a bit. They are the old discraft baskets and some of them don't have the inner chains. Also some have the innova bottom baskets on them (I saw one I can remember) and the a few of the others are pretty beat up. Also the silver pads are dirt pads most of the time.
Other Thoughts: It was a lot of fun but like a said a few baskets can be a pain with the spit outs on shots that hit dead center of chains because the baskets are so old.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Challenging, yet Confusing

5+    4/21/2012   4/21/2012
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 72  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course combines the things I liked about the original Oregon Park course and the second course that was in place on the old Bullard Stockton Property. So, good mix of open and wooded holes.

-Great Signs! Each hole had a nice wooden sign with a map of the hole which had both teepads and baskets labeled along with relevant landmarks.

-Nice variety in Lefty vs. Right Holes.

-Multiple layouts offer a variety of hole shapes and challenges.

-"Gold" Baskets are excellent.
Cons: -Navigation is a big issue. I know that there are several "Next tee" signs in place, but it's just not enough. I have played the old courses extensively, yet had a difficult time on some transitions (Hole 2 to Hole 3 is a bad one). More signage is necessary for better course flow.

-I like some of the newer holes, but find myself nostalgic for some of the original holes that are not a part of the new design.

-There are a lot of natural teepads on this course with roots and divots that can make a run up treacherous. This can easily be corrected with concrete or rubber teepads.

-Some fairways overlap or baskets play close to Tees.

-There are no places for drinking water on this course. A fountain at the "swing time" building would be awesome.

-A lot of the "Silver" baskets are in need of repair or, in some cases, need to be replaced.

-A lot of "One Discers" come out to this course on a regular basis. This is great for the growth of the sport, but makes things slow down a bit.
Other Thoughts: I understand the frustration from DGers who regularly play this course and had high expectations for the redesign, but overall I felt that the land was well utilized and was happy with the new course. Once you get navigation down and figure out which Teepads/Baskets correspond to which holes, this is a fun and challenging course for any level disc golfer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good course and and still improving

5+    8/18/2011   8/24/2011
Review By: Lewis
Played: 16  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2011
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A common "pro" for many courses is "diversity" of shots and terrain, but Oregon Park stands out from the crowd in this feature. Not only is the course fair to lefties, but there are literally several ways you can play each of the 18 holes. This is because every hole features two separate, permanent baskets, which can both be played from either of two tee pads. This creates four distinct "looks" at each hole on the course that are more than just a matter of length. On most of the holes, the baskets are 100' or more apart, and the tee pads are similarly spaced. This creates an almost limitless variety of different ways to play the course if you want to mix and match the pads and baskets as you move through the course. The length of the course can vary from around 4000' to over 6000', depending on how you play it. Besides all that, Oregon Park has interesting terrain and a desirable mix of wooded and open fairways.

The course is fairly free of litter and it is situated in a safe residential neighborhood. You may see people walking their dogs around the disc golf course, but they're courteous and are usually on their way to or from the back side of the park, which is an undeveloped forest, so they will not be a nuisance. The disc golf course is generally only occupied by disc golfers, so you're not going to have to worry about picnickers or joggers or birthday parties slowing down your round.

There is ample signage around the course, and although it has been done rather inexpensively, the local club is working to install better wooden directional arrows to guide you from hole to hole. Every tee pad has a wooden tee sign with printed information on laminated sheets. The distances on these signs are accurate and true, and the colorful pictures give you a clear indication of the lay of the fairways down-range.

Another noteworthy feature of the course is that there are a bunch of baskets near the starting area that you can use to warm up on, as well as a large, open field, formerly a ball golf driving range, where you can air your arm out before rounds. These are great features for tournaments.

Parking is ample, and there is a climate-controlled bathroom next to the baseball fields not far from hole #11 if you need to take a break. There are also garbage cans and benches spread around the course, so you need not pack all your trash out, or feel like you have to stand the whole round. Relatively aged players will also appreciate that almost all of the tee pads are shaded.
Cons: The flow of the course can be a bit confusing to people playing here for the first time. The key is keeping in mind that each hole has two baskets to choose from, an Innova Discatcher in the "gold" position and a DGA Mach series or similar basket in the "silver" position. Signage is accurate at each hole and is improving, but the flow of this course will require some attention to the signage during your first time or two around it.

Also beware that the numbers you see on the baskets themselves (where there are numbers on the baskets) are generally inaccurate. This is a problem that needs to be resolved, but it hasn't yet. Again, the key is to read the tee signs, but you shouldn't have to ignore what is or isn't printed on the baskets themselves.

Several of the "silver" baskets need to be repaired or replaced, and several of the mostly "natural" tee pads are unlevel, with roots or other hazards that will make you watch your step when driving. The concrete pads are in good shape, but there aren't enough of them.

There is a lot of poison ivy in this park, and since much of the disc golf course is newly cut into the park as of the Summer of 2011, the vegetation is still a bit rough and wild. I have also been stung by hornets twice this summer while playing a round of disc golf, though one of these times it was my dog's fault.
Other Thoughts: 8 of the original 9 basket positions that have been on the property for more than a decade have been incorporated into the new layout, and the one exception, the pin position for old #3, was very near to where the gold basket is on #15. With this in mind, old timers will have no trouble playing a "safari" round of the original 9 if they like.

If you have trouble getting around the course, just ask a local where the next hole or holes are. If the tee signage has been vandalized by a stupid idle teenager and you can't find the next hole, there is bound to be someone on a nearby hole (this course stays busy year round) who can help you find your way around.

And if you find yourself behind a slower group, don't hesitate to ask to play through. I've never had any problems when I ask.

Something worth noting vis-a-vis the earlier reviews is that the numbering of the holes has changed since the course was first installed. Hole #18 now finishes right up near the starting area for hole #1. There are several other changes that I don't want to take up space defining, but when you read reviews that were written before mid-August be aware that the holes they refer to by number may not have the same number now.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Oregon Park

5+    8/7/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: craigd
Played: 90  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a newly designed, very diverse layout stretching through the old Oregon Park course and the newly acquired Swing Time/Bullard Stockton property. It offers some fresh design ideas and incorporates a good mix of holes in terms of length and variety. Keeping some semblance of the classic Oregon Park holes while bringing in some current design trends is a difficult task but overall I think the designer did a pretty good job.

The first things you'll notice are the multiple tee pads per hole, silver and gold. The silver pads are the shorter of the two while the gold pads are the longer, more difficult choice. Strategically placed, they offer two different "looks" at the basket and typically play like two different holes. You'll also notice multiple baskets per hole. The yellow banded Innova Discatchers are in the longer and in most cases more difficult position. The older "silver" baskets are in the shorter position. Like the tee pads, there's a difference in length to these baskets and in most cases a totally different shot type is needed. All things considered, there are virtually four courses in one, short to short, short to long, long to short, and long to long. I find all four choices to be very distinctive with silver to silver being very easy and good for a relaxing round. It's also very beginner friendly. On the other hand, gold to gold is considerably more difficult and challenges even the more advanced players. With the other two combinations in mind, you're sure to find a layout to enjoy.

The course itself has a lot to offer too. Varied shot types using available elevation and natural features define the course. Lots of sweeping holes require a good mix of hyzer/anhyzer shots as well. Playing the longer layout even brings four par 4's into play. Most notably is the combining of old hole five and old hole six into one big monster hole (to the gold basket). A creek comes into play on a few holes although only one, "The Rock Shot", will have people getting wet often. The rock ring around hole one's silver basket is unique too. Played from the silver tee, it acts as an island forcing you to be within the 60' circle. If you miss, you're O.B and have to take you next shot from the drop zone, with a penalty stroke of course . To the gold basket, the circle is played as a pond and landing in it means you're O.B, play it where it went out and again, take a penalty stroke. It's a great way to add challenge to an otherwise basic hole.
Cons: As I mentioned above, I do like the layout but designing the new holes while trying to preserve some of the old Oregon Park feel didn't come without penalty. A couple of almost overlapping holes and fairway crossings at the intersections of holes 3, 14, 17 and the walk to 18 at times lends itself to a confusing layout. At times you get what feels like a thrown together design. I don't pretend to be a course designer but I think the property had potential to host a much better course, even with the duel tee/basket idea.

The newly cut holes are still a little rough and there's a lot of poison ivy around. The tee pads are still being broken in and the pads from the old course are still in rough shape (except the cement tees). The county keeps the old part of the course mowed but the grass in the new area is a little overgrown.

The one thing that didn't change and is probably the biggest con of all is the abundant disrespectful and inconsiderate players. Besides littering, writing on benches and baskets, and general vandalism (including pulling down/breaking random trees they feel like were in their way, I presume), they are lacking in common etiquette.
Other Thoughts: There is a very active club (Cobb Disc Golf Club) so finding organized "action" is easy including Tuesday and Thursday night doubles along with monthly weekend mini's.

Remember the course is still under construction. Although the holes are finished and quite playable, constant improvements are steadily being made. Everything from tweaking the layout/numbering, fine tuning tee pads and fairways, adding signs, etc are happening. Once complete, this will be a very solid course and should be a pleasure for anyone who plays it. Enjoy.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Good new layout

1    7/18/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: Dsplayname
Played: 51  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.9 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First off, I have been playing Oregon park since it was a 9 hole course. I thought the transition to 18 holes was awesome, and was super excited when it was looking like another course was going in. While it's not really 36 holes, I think the new layout is pretty good, and that it gets a bad rap from the other reviews here.
It has multiple tees for each hole. Each set of tees has a nice, detailed(if not entirely accurate) sign.
Multiple baskets, not pin positions, so there's no playing "where's the basket"
Parking is at the old Swingtime, which they could do something with.
They left all of my favorite holes as parts of the course.
Some of the new holes are pretty interesting.
Nice mix of shots required through a good blend of open and wooded holes.
Varied distances on holes and between short and longs make it balanced for everyone.

Cons: It's a new layout of 18, not a second course.
Course needs some routine maintenance, mow grass, burn some of the rough, clar out some of the paths between holes.
A few holes(not many) can be tricky to find from the last one. I had to ask a guy where 10 was after nine. There are no "next tee" indicators.
they took out a couple of holes that I loved.
There hasn't been a thing done with the old swingtime building yet. Put in some bathrooms, water fountains, etc.
No bathrooms near the course.
My GF stepped in dog poop while wearing her fivefingers. new layout is not douchebag-proof.
Other Thoughts: I think it is a nice refesher for Oregon. I wish there was just another 18 put in, like I thought was the plan, but I'm happy with the new layout. It's not bad, most peoples' complaints just them being too picky. I play a lot of courses in metro-ATL, and this is one of the better ones. Have an open mind about it, and play it as a brand new course instead of a remake, and you'll be happy with it. The back nine can be a lot more difficult than the front, so save some " A game" until the second half.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Updated Review

5+    9/4/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: Disc_Coastie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2011
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The "new" course is challenging. There are some new holes that make sense and will challenge your game. The "Silver" course will be good for beginners. Good parking and a beautiful property. The "new" design has a lot of challenge and plays well.
Cons: Signage (directing people from the old start..???) and direction still an issue...as well as lack of mowing, lack of trash cans.... some earlier CONS have been addressed somewhat...there is still a collision (maybe unavoidable??) at Gold 14 and 3 Silver and Gold as well as foot traffic going to 18...The kiosk at the old start (with the TOTALLY useless disc return slot!!!) needs to be moved or destroyed as well as ALL legacy signage and "basket stumps" ...several of which are MAJOR DANGEROUS hazards...Does the county know about the hazards???? FIX IT!!!
Other Thoughts: My previous review was made with a great deal of emotion because I really loved the old 9 (where I learned to play..) and came to love the old 18... I am learning to like this new iteration of OP... but I still hold onto the thought that so much more could have been achieved with the available property...

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Plenty O' Potential

1    6/11/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: RAM38105
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Finally! After years of patience (and impatience on many parts) there is a design in the ground that takes MOST of the disc golfers that play here into consideration AND leaves room for those who want to add challenge to their play.

Having two tee pads and baskets per hole is a HUGE plus to add variety to play every time.

Not putting a bunch of baskets out the middle of the fields just b/c people want to rip big, ugly drives all day, but requiring accuracy on hard and easy shots makes the game fun.

Getting to see the whole park without really interfering with any other park activities is great.

I enjoyed figuring out the lines that are there and looking forward to the lines that may be there in different seasons.
Cons: Tee pads are a bit rough in places- but I know it is a work in progress.

Some of the baskets are still not exactly as the design had laid out, but I know that some of this was neccesary and some if it will be fixed in the near future.

Still some brush from clearing on the work day in the way of play, but that should be cleared out soon.
Other Thoughts: Great Job with the course design, and the work put into making it a reality. It was a joy to play and I cannot wait to get back out there and try the different tee pad / basket combos!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 This is Going to be NICE

1    6/6/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: Chrisgeoguy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple Ways to Play - With the two baskets and two tee pads at each hole there is 4 possible ways to play each hole. (Only have played Silver to Gold) This course is now longer, which and makes use of area for DG at the park. Holes 9 through 15 are great. Some really good lines, and will only get better as the course get's "Beat Down."

Hole 9 - Great shots from the woods to the elevated baskets.
Hole 10 - Elevated shot to the basket, with a guarded Gold Pin.
Hole 11 - Easy Anny and Long Anny with nice pin placement along the woods.
Hole 12 - Out of the woods, into fairway, and also an elevated tee box framed by trees to create a more challenging shot.
Hole 13 - Shorter hole of these, but baskets are guarded in the trees and makes this hole more challenging.
Hole 14 - Not much change, but nice fairway to hole with vegetation on both sides to keep you honest.
Hole 15 - This had to be one of my favorite holes from the Silver to Gold. Tight line with trees, great hole for shaping a drive.
Also kept old hole from original course which is now hole 17.
Cons: Holes 1-7 are underwhelming for the rest of the course. The walk from 3 to 4 is long, and walking back towards the tee. (Unless I missed a cut through?)
4-8 are holes from the old course with the new second Tee and Basket. They a little tight considering the rest of the holes mentioned above. The biggest issue with this course is the 18th basket. You finish in the middle of the course, and have to walk the fairway of hole 4 back to SwingTime.

People are going to have to figure out the new layout...lots of folks wandering around.
Other Thoughts: Overall these issues aren't big...the old holes with new Tees and Baskets do provide new lines and challenges that weren't there before. One downside about one of the positives in adding the multiple layouts at his course might slow things up. This was already a crowded course and with people trying to figure out the layout might confuse things.

This should make a great Tourney Course with the multiple layouts. Looking forward to this course getting broken in and seeing how things shape up over the summer! MUST PLAY IN ATLANTA AREA NOW!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.