Marietta, GA 
Oregon Park Share
Uploaded By: AtlDuke Hole #14 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 344ft.   3 / 255ft.   3 / 418ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Silver Approach



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Challenging, yet Confusing

5+    4/21/2012   4/21/2012
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 92  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course combines the things I liked about the original Oregon Park course and the second course that was in place on the old Bullard Stockton Property. So, good mix of open and wooded holes.

-Great Signs! Each hole had a nice wooden sign with a map of the hole which had both teepads and baskets labeled along with relevant landmarks.

-Nice variety in Lefty vs. Right Holes.

-Multiple layouts offer a variety of hole shapes and challenges.

-"Gold" Baskets are excellent.
Cons: -Navigation is a big issue. I know that there are several "Next tee" signs in place, but it's just not enough. I have played the old courses extensively, yet had a difficult time on some transitions (Hole 2 to Hole 3 is a bad one). More signage is necessary for better course flow.

-I like some of the newer holes, but find myself nostalgic for some of the original holes that are not a part of the new design.

-There are a lot of natural teepads on this course with roots and divots that can make a run up treacherous. This can easily be corrected with concrete or rubber teepads.

-Some fairways overlap or baskets play close to Tees.

-There are no places for drinking water on this course. A fountain at the "swing time" building would be awesome.

-A lot of the "Silver" baskets are in need of repair or, in some cases, need to be replaced.

-A lot of "One Discers" come out to this course on a regular basis. This is great for the growth of the sport, but makes things slow down a bit.
Other Thoughts: I understand the frustration from DGers who regularly play this course and had high expectations for the redesign, but overall I felt that the land was well utilized and was happy with the new course. Once you get navigation down and figure out which Teepads/Baskets correspond to which holes, this is a fun and challenging course for any level disc golfer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 FOOOOOOOOOOORE!

5+    12/29/2011   12/30/2011
Review By: atl scott
Played: 156  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice new baskets - The new innova discatcher pro baskets for the gold layout are great.

The re-design incorporates more land and tougher holes.

The tee signs are nice and are very clearly marked with distances to each pin, etc.

The few concrete pads that are installed are a little slick (no texturing) but are nice and large and level.

Lots of parking right at hole 1
Cons: Dangerous - I felt like I was possibly in danger of being hit by another shot on at least half of my shots.

Confusing - The lack of proper signage makes finding your way around this course a challenge at times. The different layouts only add to this.

Thorny - There are more thorns on this course than on all of Charlotte's courses combined (including in the direct vicinity of tees and baskets, as well as on fairways and walkways).

Mud pads - These are slick of course and mostly not leveled. There are tripper stumps on some of the pads.

Strange transitions - Some holes you only have to walk less than 50 feet to the next pad (conspicuously close to the previous basket/fairway) and some it seems like you walk a quarter mile. Sometimes you walk over/past/through more than one other hole/teepad/basket to get to the next tee. The lack of signage between holes 2-3, 5-6, and 17-18 are the most egregious. The course does not flow well overall and several hole locations seem forced.

Usually quite busy - This doesn't have to be a con for a course but it is here. There are often lots of new players and large groups, many of which do not know (or possibly care about) rules and etiquette. The multi-pad/pin layout makes it especially tough to manage your way around the course and all the other players.

Old baskets - The old baskets on the silver layout are in beat condition. It's great to have the option to play them and they seem to catch well enough but honestly they are just rough.
Other Thoughts: OP was my "home course" for most of my disc golf career until I recently moved away. It has always been a park with its own special set of issues but has always been a fun place to play.

I have played all the different layouts besides gold tee to silver basket more than once now and my first impression still sticks with me (although not as strongly as at first), that I miss the old course.

Silver to Silver layout seems fun and easy and I took my young cousins to play there over the holidays and had fun. Overall it is too short for me to play on a regular basis but several holes such as 4 and 7 stood out as holes I really enjoyed.

Silver to Gold layout is probably the layout with the most properly distanced hole designs. There are many holes in the 270-370' range which allow for decent scoring separation. There are still a few weird holes that seem like afterthoughts (with silver to silver and gold to gold taking preference to good design on silver to gold). Holes 6 and 7 come to mind as some of the best holes on this layout.

Gold to Gold has a lot of holes that are just unreachable in 1 but don't leave tough upshots so that a 3 is practically guaranteed and a 2 and a 4 seem like they would be rarities. It is fun to unleash some drives, but not so fun to par out over and over. Probably not much scoring separation here. Some of the most challenging and fun holes are 1, 3, and 8.

One of the things that most concerns me with the layout is the likelihood of people being hit by discs. Hole 2 is way too close to hole 1 (includes a hill so it's blind which only makes it worse). Hole 6's gold teepad is dangerously close to hole 5's fairway and is in a blind area from 5's gold pad. Hole 8's teepads are way too close to hole 7's baskets. Hole 13's gold tee is ridiculously close to hole 12's basket (it's a relatively short downhill hole and the tee is just past the basket - BRILLIANT!). Hole 17's gold layout is another short downhill hole and if you go 20 feet past the basket you are in the direct flight path of another tee that is 70 feet away.

In the 3 rounds I played this week at this park a disc from someone else's group landed or came within 30' of us at least 5 times and twice someone played through the hole we were playing on (on a different layout) without asking, one of which almost hit my 13 year old cousin and yelled FORE about 1 second before the disc hit a tree right above his head.

I'm glad the park got its chance at a re-design and hopefully things will continue to progress. It seems however that the work to install the course was done and not much (at least not enough) has been done since.

All things considered the fun factor on this course is low which is what garners the low rating. Improved pads, signage, and thorn removal would make this at least a 3-star course, and a redesign that incorporated the safety issues would increase it to a 3.5.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Waste of Resourse

1    12/10/2011   12/14/2011
Review By: New2Disc
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Didn't really see any !!!
Cons: I'm a born again DG player, just restarted after a 30 years layoff !!! Being excited to play all the coarses in my area. I had been told about Oregan Park, by a friend. This has to be the biggest waste of perfect property in the game of DG !!! Now I must admit, I don't know what the designers had as far as rules to go by. But right off the bat, they use the old golf tee area, as a practice area, and use the old golf practice area as the first fairway. Which in turn made the first tee pad, right off the parking lot, ( I mean "right" off the parking lot ) when right behind the building is a perfectly beautiful tee area ??? Now I never saw the old 9 hole coarse, much less the old 18 hole coarse. But this design has no flow what's so ever !!! And really how hard is it to put up signs, or cover incorrect numbers on baskets, especially if you design it so it doesn't make a bit of sense ??? I never did find 18, and left without playing it, and a little aggravated to boot, which as we all know, is not the motive for playing in the first place.
Other Thoughts: If I were to be put in charge of redoing this coarse. I would pull most of the baskets, bust the concrete off of them, and start over !!! Use the entire property, and have 9 end up back at the building, and also, have 18 end up back on top of the tee area behind the building. And use the golf practice area along the road as a practice area !!! Oh, and put up signs !!!

7 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 36 Baskets, 4 courses

5+    9/16/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: sasscers7
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Now that the new layout has settled down a bit, it provides a great set of courses for any level of player. I have played every combination of Ts and baskets several times and they all have their unique challenges that require a variety of shots and combination of distance and accuracy.

There are enough trees to be challenging and scenic, but rarely does anyone loss a disc on this course.
Cons: Will be an even better course when the Tboxes get concreted in and the signage becomes more permanent.

I miss the four holes that used to be along the creek.
Other Thoughts: This is my "home" course. I travel regularly and have played many courses all over the US. OP is still my favorite. The only course that might be better is the one in Lawrenceville, GA.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great re-design

2-4    9/6/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.6 Years
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Oregon, one of ATL's oldest and most played courses, was completely re-designed in 2011 into a dual teepad, dual basket 18-hole configuration. The new setup offers great variety of distances with silver-silver designed for beginner level players and gold-gold designed for gold level players. I played the gold-gold layout and enjoyed ALL of the holes -- every single hole has an interesting and valid flight path and the distances were well suited to the intended player level. Excellent variety of shots with ample risk/reward. This is a very fun, challenging track set in a very nice, safe park.
Cons: The construction from the redesign is ongoing, so signage isn't complete and the course flow is confusing in spots. Most of the holes have teesigns but several are missing. Dirt pads as money is still being raised to fund the concrete and the design is still being fine tuned. It's a pitch and putt style with only a couple of par 4's -- that said, its a difficult pitch and putt (at least from the gold-gold) and you will work for your pars.
Other Thoughts: I played the gold-gold layout, which is the longest, twice this weekend. If there were a 4.25 rating I'd give it that now and it goes to 4.5 with improved signage, teepads and fine tuning.

Disregard the reviews that slam the re-design, keep in mind that people don't like change. These harsh reviews are probably from the same people that have defaced the tee signs in sharpie with the same comments.

This should be a must play if you're on this side of town -- I'd visit here over most any other area course. Only big negative (for me) is lack of multi-shot holes, but there simply isn't more land available.

Tons of people playing here so its easy to hook up with locals. The Thursday doubles action gets 30+ people weekly.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    8/27/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: terryduthu
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 9/17/2011
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very close to my folks, so easy to play when im in town for holidays.
Cons: Wish the new layout integrated more with the open space in the empty Golf Ball driving range. Very cluttered. Bad Signage. Confusing.
Other Thoughts: Fun course, but White Oak is just right around the corner, and is more fun.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good course and and still improving

5+    8/18/2011   8/24/2011
Review By: Lewis
Played: 16  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2011
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A common "pro" for many courses is "diversity" of shots and terrain, but Oregon Park stands out from the crowd in this feature. Not only is the course fair to lefties, but there are literally several ways you can play each of the 18 holes. This is because every hole features two separate, permanent baskets, which can both be played from either of two tee pads. This creates four distinct "looks" at each hole on the course that are more than just a matter of length. On most of the holes, the baskets are 100' or more apart, and the tee pads are similarly spaced. This creates an almost limitless variety of different ways to play the course if you want to mix and match the pads and baskets as you move through the course. The length of the course can vary from around 4000' to over 6000', depending on how you play it. Besides all that, Oregon Park has interesting terrain and a desirable mix of wooded and open fairways.

The course is fairly free of litter and it is situated in a safe residential neighborhood. You may see people walking their dogs around the disc golf course, but they're courteous and are usually on their way to or from the back side of the park, which is an undeveloped forest, so they will not be a nuisance. The disc golf course is generally only occupied by disc golfers, so you're not going to have to worry about picnickers or joggers or birthday parties slowing down your round.

There is ample signage around the course, and although it has been done rather inexpensively, the local club is working to install better wooden directional arrows to guide you from hole to hole. Every tee pad has a wooden tee sign with printed information on laminated sheets. The distances on these signs are accurate and true, and the colorful pictures give you a clear indication of the lay of the fairways down-range.

Another noteworthy feature of the course is that there are a bunch of baskets near the starting area that you can use to warm up on, as well as a large, open field, formerly a ball golf driving range, where you can air your arm out before rounds. These are great features for tournaments.

Parking is ample, and there is a climate-controlled bathroom next to the baseball fields not far from hole #11 if you need to take a break. There are also garbage cans and benches spread around the course, so you need not pack all your trash out, or feel like you have to stand the whole round. Relatively aged players will also appreciate that almost all of the tee pads are shaded.
Cons: The flow of the course can be a bit confusing to people playing here for the first time. The key is keeping in mind that each hole has two baskets to choose from, an Innova Discatcher in the "gold" position and a DGA Mach series or similar basket in the "silver" position. Signage is accurate at each hole and is improving, but the flow of this course will require some attention to the signage during your first time or two around it.

Also beware that the numbers you see on the baskets themselves (where there are numbers on the baskets) are generally inaccurate. This is a problem that needs to be resolved, but it hasn't yet. Again, the key is to read the tee signs, but you shouldn't have to ignore what is or isn't printed on the baskets themselves.

Several of the "silver" baskets need to be repaired or replaced, and several of the mostly "natural" tee pads are unlevel, with roots or other hazards that will make you watch your step when driving. The concrete pads are in good shape, but there aren't enough of them.

There is a lot of poison ivy in this park, and since much of the disc golf course is newly cut into the park as of the Summer of 2011, the vegetation is still a bit rough and wild. I have also been stung by hornets twice this summer while playing a round of disc golf, though one of these times it was my dog's fault.
Other Thoughts: 8 of the original 9 basket positions that have been on the property for more than a decade have been incorporated into the new layout, and the one exception, the pin position for old #3, was very near to where the gold basket is on #15. With this in mind, old timers will have no trouble playing a "safari" round of the original 9 if they like.

If you have trouble getting around the course, just ask a local where the next hole or holes are. If the tee signage has been vandalized by a stupid idle teenager and you can't find the next hole, there is bound to be someone on a nearby hole (this course stays busy year round) who can help you find your way around.

And if you find yourself behind a slower group, don't hesitate to ask to play through. I've never had any problems when I ask.

Something worth noting vis-a-vis the earlier reviews is that the numbering of the holes has changed since the course was first installed. Hole #18 now finishes right up near the starting area for hole #1. There are several other changes that I don't want to take up space defining, but when you read reviews that were written before mid-August be aware that the holes they refer to by number may not have the same number now.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Oregon Park

5+    8/7/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: craigd
Played: 95  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a newly designed, very diverse layout stretching through the old Oregon Park course and the newly acquired Swing Time/Bullard Stockton property. It offers some fresh design ideas and incorporates a good mix of holes in terms of length and variety. Keeping some semblance of the classic Oregon Park holes while bringing in some current design trends is a difficult task but overall I think the designer did a pretty good job.

The first things you'll notice are the multiple tee pads per hole, silver and gold. The silver pads are the shorter of the two while the gold pads are the longer, more difficult choice. Strategically placed, they offer two different "looks" at the basket and typically play like two different holes. You'll also notice multiple baskets per hole. The yellow banded Innova Discatchers are in the longer and in most cases more difficult position. The older "silver" baskets are in the shorter position. Like the tee pads, there's a difference in length to these baskets and in most cases a totally different shot type is needed. All things considered, there are virtually four courses in one, short to short, short to long, long to short, and long to long. I find all four choices to be very distinctive with silver to silver being very easy and good for a relaxing round. It's also very beginner friendly. On the other hand, gold to gold is considerably more difficult and challenges even the more advanced players. With the other two combinations in mind, you're sure to find a layout to enjoy.

The course itself has a lot to offer too. Varied shot types using available elevation and natural features define the course. Lots of sweeping holes require a good mix of hyzer/anhyzer shots as well. Playing the longer layout even brings four par 4's into play. Most notably is the combining of old hole five and old hole six into one big monster hole (to the gold basket). A creek comes into play on a few holes although only one, "The Rock Shot", will have people getting wet often. The rock ring around hole one's silver basket is unique too. Played from the silver tee, it acts as an island forcing you to be within the 60' circle. If you miss, you're O.B and have to take you next shot from the drop zone, with a penalty stroke of course . To the gold basket, the circle is played as a pond and landing in it means you're O.B, play it where it went out and again, take a penalty stroke. It's a great way to add challenge to an otherwise basic hole.
Cons: As I mentioned above, I do like the layout but designing the new holes while trying to preserve some of the old Oregon Park feel didn't come without penalty. A couple of almost overlapping holes and fairway crossings at the intersections of holes 3, 14, 17 and the walk to 18 at times lends itself to a confusing layout. At times you get what feels like a thrown together design. I don't pretend to be a course designer but I think the property had potential to host a much better course, even with the duel tee/basket idea.

The newly cut holes are still a little rough and there's a lot of poison ivy around. The tee pads are still being broken in and the pads from the old course are still in rough shape (except the cement tees). The county keeps the old part of the course mowed but the grass in the new area is a little overgrown.

The one thing that didn't change and is probably the biggest con of all is the abundant disrespectful and inconsiderate players. Besides littering, writing on benches and baskets, and general vandalism (including pulling down/breaking random trees they feel like were in their way, I presume), they are lacking in common etiquette.
Other Thoughts: There is a very active club (Cobb Disc Golf Club) so finding organized "action" is easy including Tuesday and Thursday night doubles along with monthly weekend mini's.

Remember the course is still under construction. Although the holes are finished and quite playable, constant improvements are steadily being made. Everything from tweaking the layout/numbering, fine tuning tee pads and fairways, adding signs, etc are happening. Once complete, this will be a very solid course and should be a pleasure for anyone who plays it. Enjoy.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Love the New Design! - Great Progress!

5+    7/24/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: ROCsuperstar
Played: 63  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have also been playing Oregon Park for a long time now (going on 13 years), and I love the recent changed to the course. I'm not concerned that the course isn't a 36-hole layout -- I would much rather have 18 really nice holes with different pin positions and tee pads. The designers took this concept a step farther with the installation of 2 permanent pins. I am interested to see if that becomes a problem over time.
I think that the designers did a great job of keeping some of the original holes that were well liked, and weaving the rest of the 18 holes around those. It's a good mix of shots that is very challenging and does not favor any particular golf style.
#7 blue to gold pin is a fantastic hole
#3 blue to gold is a great look down the fairway
#8 is a great shot to the silver pin with the elevated basket
#15 and #16 and even #17 were really nice holes from the 'old' design and I'm glad they remained for the new layout.
Cons: I understand that the designers are still tweaking a few things, so I will write my cons with that information in mind. . .
Some of the pin positions do encroach slightly on nearby fairways (#6 to silver pin throws right over #5's gold basket)
Path from #6 pin to #7 tee pad walks right through a blind drive from #3 Blue.
A little confusing going from #9 gold basket to #10 tee pad, but I understand why. Just need signage for directions.
#12's tee pads are awfully close to the fairway for #11. Furthermore, you can't see the golfers on #12's tee pad when you're driving on #11 (this is probably my biggest concern)
Other Thoughts: I think that this course is going in the right direction and we are lucky to have a group of guys driving the force behind its progress. I hope that any negative comments are not taken as discouragement and this course continues to evolve in to a world class golf course that would be worthy of hosting large tournaments and attracting golfers from all over.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good new layout

1    7/18/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: Dsplayname
Played: 51  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.6 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First off, I have been playing Oregon park since it was a 9 hole course. I thought the transition to 18 holes was awesome, and was super excited when it was looking like another course was going in. While it's not really 36 holes, I think the new layout is pretty good, and that it gets a bad rap from the other reviews here.
It has multiple tees for each hole. Each set of tees has a nice, detailed(if not entirely accurate) sign.
Multiple baskets, not pin positions, so there's no playing "where's the basket"
Parking is at the old Swingtime, which they could do something with.
They left all of my favorite holes as parts of the course.
Some of the new holes are pretty interesting.
Nice mix of shots required through a good blend of open and wooded holes.
Varied distances on holes and between short and longs make it balanced for everyone.

Cons: It's a new layout of 18, not a second course.
Course needs some routine maintenance, mow grass, burn some of the rough, clar out some of the paths between holes.
A few holes(not many) can be tricky to find from the last one. I had to ask a guy where 10 was after nine. There are no "next tee" indicators.
they took out a couple of holes that I loved.
There hasn't been a thing done with the old swingtime building yet. Put in some bathrooms, water fountains, etc.
No bathrooms near the course.
My GF stepped in dog poop while wearing her fivefingers. new layout is not douchebag-proof.
Other Thoughts: I think it is a nice refesher for Oregon. I wish there was just another 18 put in, like I thought was the plan, but I'm happy with the new layout. It's not bad, most peoples' complaints just them being too picky. I play a lot of courses in metro-ATL, and this is one of the better ones. Have an open mind about it, and play it as a brand new course instead of a remake, and you'll be happy with it. The back nine can be a lot more difficult than the front, so save some " A game" until the second half.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.