Parker, FL 
Under the Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #5 (Taken 12/2011)
4 / 407ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Decent 9-hole course

1    6/28/2013   6/29/2013
Review By: aclay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 29.9 Years
Pros: Distances varry from mid 200s to lower 400s, so you have some control shots and some that let you air it out a little bit. There is a beautiful water view on No. 6.The chance of losing a disc is just about nil.
Cons: Signs are minimal. Some paper signs are lying near the tee pads, but some tee pads have just a number handwritten on a post, and some tee pads don't have that much. Some baskets are difficult to find. I threw at the No. 3 basket when I played No. 1, for example. You have to be careful to avoid people on the walking path that winds through the course.
Other Thoughts: Water that could have come into play on No. 6 wasn't brought into play. With some slight adjustments, water could come into play here and provide a signature hole for the course.

Walk On By

1    12/20/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Tee areas - concrete, 5'x10', and signs with photo/distance information. Either the distances are a bit exaggerated, or my Leopard flies ~50' further in Florida! :-)

Water-view from basket-6.
Cons:
About half the holes play near/across a walking path frequented by a seemingly endless supply of retirees out for their morning constitutional.

Flat - even by Florida standards! :-O
Other Thoughts:
Course is set upon a flat, rectangular plot of sandy land, with a few groupings trees, in a small, public park. A map is a necessity for the first-time/infrequent visitor, as the most visible basket from tee-1 is #3, and from tee-7, #4. Course plays in a clockwise manner, except for #3, which double-backs upon fairway #2, and a bit of a double-back from basket-8 to tee-9.

While not wide open, most holes will only have a few trees to miss at the midpoint, and a tree or two near the basket. Throwing straight with a touch of left-fade will suffice on most holes, too, except #7, which is a sharp, mid-fairway lefty. Distance is what varies most between the holes, with four in the 200s, three in the 300s, and two in the 400s.

Worth a play if in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

1    10/20/2012   10/29/2012
Review By: tonyreynol
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee Pads. Decent Baskets.
Cons: Almost NO signage. Hard to see baskets without some type of signage. Walking trail through the course. Poor maintenance.
Other Thoughts: I'm new to this sport and have played a number of courses in different states. This is the most neglected course we've played. Was very disappointed. Clean up the park, provide some nicer permenant signage, and get rid of the walkers, and this course could really be decent.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Too many trees

1    4/4/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: Discalier
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Good baskets. Concrete pads.
Cons: Way too many trees, and no discernible path to throw down.
Other Thoughts: They need to cut away some of the trees to make 'fairways' or at least so you know where you should be throwing. Currently it's a crap shoot.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Under the Oaks Park

5+    3/30/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: eng2joe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a nice course for a quick game. I played it in less than 30 minutes. The view from the 6th basket is great.
Cons: One of the biggest cons for me was having to wait for the the walkers on the path. A couple fo the fairways cross the walking path.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners and for a quick game.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9-Holer I've Come Across

1    11/18/2011   2/28/2012
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Under the Oaks DGC is located in a park that is really close to the ocean. In fact, I think it backs up to part of the coastline. In any case, there is salt-water visible from the course which I think is pretty cool. Even with this location, there are concrete tee pads which seem to be in decent condition. Baskets are also in good condition.

For a 9-hole course, this is a tough place to play. There are some birdie opportunities available, but there are also some definite bogey holes. Though I would classify the course as open, there are a significant number of mature trees to provide obstacles. The shade is amazing given the location. I have yet to find another place, just off the coast that provides the canopy found at this course. I understand that this park could only contain a 9-hole course, but I wish there were 18.

Open courses typically allow the player to have options off the tee, which I like. However, I also like it when each player is almost forced into executing a similar shot every now and then. Under the Oaks does a great job of providing this aspect. Most holes give you the option of finding your own line, while others clearly indicate the designed line.
Cons: My only con is that the course is only 9-holes. I want more. Since I travel and play a lot, I design my ratings based on whether or not someone should go out of their way for a course. It is so hard to recommend that someone go out of their way for 9-hole course…no matter how good it is.
Other Thoughts: The design here is really, really good…especially for most 9-hole courses that you come across. As a general rule of thumb, I begin the rating for a 9-hole course at half of the standard scale. The reason is that I generally believe that most 9-hole courses are a waste of time. They typically fall into 2 categories: courses to introduce new players to the game, or old courses that were never popular enough to be expanded to 18 holes. Neither type is typically attractive to me. Under the Oaks breaks the mold in that it is 9 holes because of geographic limitations.

If this were an 18-hole course with similar design on the back, I would give it a 4.0. I think it is that good. As is, it is currently the best 9-hole course I have ever played, which is not too shabby. If you are vacationing in PCB, then definitely give this course a shot. It is a little bit of a drive from the tourist beaches, but worth the trip from there. As I stated earlier, I simply have a difficult time encouraging other users of this great site to go out of their way for a 9-hole course. But if you want to give it a shot, then great. It is a nice little spot for a course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Small Park 9-Holer

1    12/24/2011   1/5/2012
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Nice concrete tees of sufficient size allow players to throw to new DGA Mach-5 baskets. For a small park 9-hole course most of the holes are surprisingly challenging, though not necessarily in the best way. There's a course overview map at the start and individual hole maps at each hole. All the teeboxes are visible from the basket (although #9 requires a bit of backtracking) so navigation isn't a problem even for first timers. Great view of the bay out the back of the park when you get to hole #7. Nice to see the Panama City area pick up a second course.
Cons:
The walking/jogging path is in direct conflict with many of the holes and may require waiting on pedestrians before throwing. The individual hole maps are a direct cutout from the overview map and thus not always in the appropriate perspective when you're standing on the box, it'd be better if some of them were rotated. Above, I mentioned the challenge of the holes... quite a few of them don't seem to have an intended fairway: there's just a bunch of random trees between the tee and the basket. A couple of the holes (#2 & #9) where there are very early trees off the teebox that make the view of the basket look cool, but don't really add anything to the hole. Posted distances are somewhat off of the laser measurements.
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice family park with a large playground for kids, picnic areas, and restroom facilities. Parking might get a bit tight on busy days. There are small plastic posts all over the park to identify plant types, I suspect many of these posts will fall victim to unintentional disc damage. I liked the course when we played, but we only had to contend with two pedestrians; I can see that being a big problem on nice/busy days. You can tell the course was installed by someone with some knowledge of course design, but moving a few tees or baskets could have made this course really good.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/4/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: flyingdisc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good shade throughout the course.
Nice area to go and bring the family while you play.
New concrete pads and baskets.
There are signs at each hole now with info on length to basket, par, and direction of basket.
Cons: Certain baskets are hard to spot right away.
A few holes cross over walking paths so be aware if people are on the track.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the course right away and was happy to finally have one in this area. As I mentioned I think it is a good place to bring the family while you play as there is a playground area, picnic tables, rest rooms, and on the back of the park is the bay. The course itself is actually on the left side of the park as you enter and is seperated by a chain link fence, but does have a walking track around the course. Holes seem to be a good length. Look for hole 9 after you throw your disc on hole 8. Hole 9 is parallel to hole 8 and you will need to look for the concrete pad for hole 9 on your left as you walk back towards the beginning of hole 8. Went during sunset when it wasn't so hot, but there is plenty of shade on just about every hole, and there really were not many people in the park.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/15/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: Roderick
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice range in distances and difficulty.
Cons: Hole one runs parralell to highway 98 with the closest point being the goal. Only a four foot fence is there to prevent disk road kill. The fairway on hole eight runs directly through a raised concrete picnic area. There is currently no signage, just sharpie in the corner of the pads to indicate distance and direction of the goal.
Other Thoughts: Excellent BBQ across the street!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Brand new course.

1    6/10/2011   6/10/2011
Review By: TheRoc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of long holes, but very challenging because of the trees. Brand new tee-pads (concrete). Challenging at any level. Hole 7 gets an interesting breeze off the bay, which makes even putting a challenge.
Cons: No signage (yet). Only 9 holes, but they used the space well.
Other Thoughts: We are on vacation and hit the other Panama City Course (Joe Moody Harris Park) right before this course. Made for an interesting 18 holes.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.