Parker, FL 
Under the Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ   (Taken 12/2011)
Disc golf course is located in the new park addition area



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
needs a lot of work

1    7/10/2016   7/10/2016
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 29  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: teepads
variety of possible throws to get to baskets
seven by the ocean
family park
Cons: terrible signs including the billboard
could not find hole one
very confusing which holes to throw to
park seemed rundown
Other Thoughts: Needs lots of work to make it a course I would play again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/1/2016   3/1/2016
Review By: Bandit 01
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The only good thing i can say about UNDER THE OAKS DISC GOLF PARK is that the tee pads are in good condition.
5
Cons: WHERE TO START?
1.) 5 OF THE 9 HOLES ARE INTERFERED WITH BY TH WALKING PATH.
2.) THE BASKETS ARE SO HARD TO SEE THAT YOU HAVE TROUBLE FINDING THEM..
3.) THE BASKETS THEMSELVES NEED TO BE MARKED BETTER AND MADE OF BETTER QUALITY.
4.) THEY SEEM TO BE MADE OF POOR QUALITY. THE REASON I SAY THAT IS BECOUSE NO MATTER WHAT DISTANCEI THROW FROM OR HOW HARD I THROW THE DISC THE CHAINS DO NOT SECURE THE DISC.. I AM SAYING 94%-98% OF THE TIMW THW BASKETS SPIT THE DISCS OUT AND USUALLY THEY FO TOWARD MY PARTNER.
5.) THE HOLE SIGNS MUST BE REPLACED WITH BETER FRESTOM.

Other Thoughts: 6.) UPDATE SIGNA AND DIRRER TONIGB6LNIGHT/

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun 9 holes

5+    1/10/2016   1/17/2016
Review By: G8rman78
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is plenty of variety of shots and varying distances. Beautiful oaks and old pine trees provide shade in hit summer days. Hole 6 had a beautiful view, saw dolphins swimming there the other day. Take a moment to enjoy the view. It's challenging enough for advanced players to enjoy, but not too difficult for newer players. This course is just right for everyone, especially when it's freshly mowed. On the other side of the park there is a playground with a big castle area for kids to play on
Cons: The signs could be better and if you haven't played there before finding a couple of the pads could be challenging. The biggest problem is the walking path that good through most holes. We spend quite some time waiting to be able to make a safe throw when it's busy. Bugs can be rough in the summer, but this is Florida and a part of life. It's only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: I consider this my home course and love it. Some people I play with came up with some good alternate pads to make a back 9. This layout had some challenging lines and a couple places to throw bombs. I highly suggest this:
Par 3 unless otherwise noted
10. Right side of concrete to basket 1 par 4
11. Pad 4 basket 2
12. Pad 5 basket 3
13. Pad 2 basket 4
14. Pad 9 basket 5 par 4
15. Pad 6 basket 7 par 4
16. Concrete area near 8 pads to basket 6. The wood fence near losing lot is mando
17. Pad 7 basket 8
18. Concrete area between pad 8 & basket 8 to basket 9.

Have fun trying these!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    1/10/2015   1/10/2015
Review By: soft focus
Played: 75  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great lengths. Best 9 hole rice played.... Easy to follow...great scenery... Not a dinker course like others in the area...technical shots...lots of fun
Cons: Flat...walking trails....only 9 holes
Other Thoughts: For a 9 holder, we had fun....great park if you have young kids, as there is a big play area with an awesome wooden castle type play area...definitely worth the stop. Don't let the 9 holes fool you.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Excellent 9-Hole Course!

1    12/28/2014   12/29/2014
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 137  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/31/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The holes here vary in length, but really work well together. There is a sense of balance here with the 3 par 4's in the 400s really pushing this course above your usual pitch-n-putt 9 hole course.
-A map is definitely needed here, but pretty easy to follow with map.
-The course is definitely well-designed despite the small space. The lines and gaps are challenging, but not excessively so.
-Palm, Oaks, Pines, and sand. Just a pleasant disc golfing experience.
Cons: -This course is a little cramped with the walking path crossing through almost every hole and the small piece of property designated for disc golf. I really wish this course could have been expanded to include the wooded area surrounding the playground (without bringing the playground into play).
-Seriously, those walkers come out of nowhere. You end up having to do a lot of watching and waiting between throws.
-The bathroom located near the parking area is not the worst bathroom I have seen on a disc golf course, but it is far from the best.
Other Thoughts: Under the Oaks is lightly to moderately wooded and flat and is not your typical 9-hole course in a public park. The hole design really is fantastic. I wanted to rate it higher, but it really needs to be expanded to 18 holes and bring the water into play. It is sorely disappointing to have a course right on the water and not really taking advantage of it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent 9-hole course

1    6/28/2013   6/29/2013
Review By: aclay
Played: 114  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 31.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Distances varry from mid 200s to lower 400s, so you have some control shots and some that let you air it out a little bit. There is a beautiful water view on No. 6.The chance of losing a disc is just about nil.
Cons: Signs are minimal. Some paper signs are lying near the tee pads, but some tee pads have just a number handwritten on a post, and some tee pads don't have that much. Some baskets are difficult to find. I threw at the No. 3 basket when I played No. 1, for example. You have to be careful to avoid people on the walking path that winds through the course.
Other Thoughts: Water that could have come into play on No. 6 wasn't brought into play. With some slight adjustments, water could come into play here and provide a signature hole for the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Walk On By

1    12/20/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 437  Reviewed: 358  Exp: 8.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Tee areas - concrete, 5'x10', and signs with photo/distance information. Either the distances are a bit exaggerated, or my Leopard flies ~50' further in Florida! :-)

Water-view from basket-6.
Cons:
About half the holes play near/across a walking path frequented by a seemingly endless supply of retirees out for their morning constitutional.

Flat - even by Florida standards! :-O
Other Thoughts:
Course is set upon a flat, rectangular plot of sandy land, with a few groupings trees, in a small, public park. A map is a necessity for the first-time/infrequent visitor, as the most visible basket from tee-1 is #3, and from tee-7, #4. Course plays in a clockwise manner, except for #3, which double-backs upon fairway #2, and a bit of a double-back from basket-8 to tee-9.

While not wide open, most holes will only have a few trees to miss at the midpoint, and a tree or two near the basket. Throwing straight with a touch of left-fade will suffice on most holes, too, except #7, which is a sharp, mid-fairway lefty. Distance is what varies most between the holes, with four in the 200s, three in the 300s, and two in the 400s.

Worth a play if in the area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointed

1    10/20/2012   10/29/2012
Review By: tonyreynol
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee Pads. Decent Baskets.
Cons: Almost NO signage. Hard to see baskets without some type of signage. Walking trail through the course. Poor maintenance.
Other Thoughts: I'm new to this sport and have played a number of courses in different states. This is the most neglected course we've played. Was very disappointed. Clean up the park, provide some nicer permenant signage, and get rid of the walkers, and this course could really be decent.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Too many trees

1    4/4/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: Discalier
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Good baskets. Concrete pads.
Cons: Way too many trees, and no discernible path to throw down.
Other Thoughts: They need to cut away some of the trees to make 'fairways' or at least so you know where you should be throwing. Currently it's a crap shoot.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Under the Oaks Park

5+    3/30/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: eng2joe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a nice course for a quick game. I played it in less than 30 minutes. The view from the 6th basket is great.
Cons: One of the biggest cons for me was having to wait for the the walkers on the path. A couple fo the fairways cross the walking path.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners and for a quick game.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.