Wichita, KS 
Oak Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #3 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 303ft.   3 / 369ft.   3 / 303ft.   3 / 369ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Short Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

5+    6/10/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: Shipley
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two sets of cement tees, red and blue, with excellent variety between them.
Practice basket.
Message board at hole 1.
Pro shop just a few blocks away, and another one across town.
Well manicured course, in a scenic park.
Plenty of long holes to air out your discs.

Oak park is a large park located near downtown Wichita. The Arkansas river comes into play on several holes, running along the left fairway of these holes. Lots of mature trees but not dense by any measure. A few holes have baskets placed just inside the woods, and a few holes have tee pads located just inside the woods.

The course plays long, regardless of which set of tees you use.

This course has a great signature hole on 18, shooting over a pond. I would say hole 6 long tee (not sure what color), is pretty cool, too. You throw over a (smaller) pond from a slightly elevated tee pad.

No real elevation here. A few tee shots have minor elevation, but the course is mostly flat.

Hole 1 has the only trash can on the course.
Hole 6 has a large tree trunk laying on the ground for seating. The rest of the course had no seating.
No water on the course, although convenience stores / fast food restaurants are nearby.
Cons: This course gets very crowded, since there are only two 18 hole courses within city limits. There are other great courses nearby, but this course sees the most traffic.

I found this weird, but hole 8 seems to be the only hole with two pin placements.
Other Thoughts: Risk / Reward - The risk here is going big to reach the pin, and risking OB in the river or street, or losing control of your drive and hitting a tree.

Fun Factor - This is a challenging and fun course. Although it's a fairly open park course, just shooting par is a real challenge, due to the wind and length of the course. My best was 5+.

Some L to R holes, and some R to L holes, but most holes are straight ahead with length being the real obstacle.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    4/15/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: BCpreheim
Played: 23  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course has a great mix of tight and open shots. The layout flows relatively well. Multiple pad locations are a great addition.
Cons: Water can claim discs if one is not careful. Geese were everywhere when I played.
Other Thoughts: A great, challenging course that is certainly the cream of the crop in Wichita

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/7/2012   12/8/2012
Review By: DiscPirate
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice well maintained course. I love it. Great use of woods and water. 2 sets of launch pads (Red & Blue) so the course doesn't get boring. Easy to follow, everything is marked well.
Cons: Certain times of the year you need to watch out for geese chit everywhere.
Other Thoughts: Maybe a sign for beginners on 18. "You might want to throw from the top of the hill or you WILL get wet.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Course

1    9/29/2012   9/29/2012
Review By: nat16dick
Played: 38  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course includes a mix of wooded and open holes. A mix of trees near the tee and near the baskets make each hole a unique challenge. Both forehand and backhand players will find holes which cater to their strengths and pronounce their weaknesses. A number of water shots also challenge your ability to make accurate, long range throws.
Cons: The first few holes' fairways seem to run together, and I would imagine that the course could get dangerous as it becomes crowded. As a first-time player on the course, I had to find people to follow to learn my way around. This could be easily remedied, however, with improved signage, or your bringing along a course map. There are several holes in the middle of the round that become very easy to get into the river for a RHBH thrower. A challenge, but a seemingly unnecessary stretch of holes that feel the same.
Other Thoughts: A fantastic course to play. Definitely a must if you are in the area. The multitude of tees presents a challenge for all skill levels, and the stunning visuals around the course provide a very enjoyable round of golf.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/24/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: scoot2979
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: great course some very nice drives and very nice technical shots and the course has holes that you shoot in to the woods and out of the woods on alot of the blue pads the last eight holes are along the little arkansas river
Cons: I lost a disc on 18 in a large slimey pond

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

2-4    2/26/2012   2/27/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 108  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dual TeePads allow for competitive golfers and beginners. The water holes are great (6,11,12,13,16,17,18). Hole 18 Blue pad awesome hole. The course is surrounded by Little arkansas river lots of birds. The wooded area is state bird reserve, so lots of birds. Course map is very helpful with navigation.
Cons: Tee signs would help but if you cant have them you cant have them. Hole 6 to 7 just follow the road.
Other Thoughts: Lots of local players good for the sport. Some say 8-10,14 are repitive but you still have to find a line and hold to it and short will have to be spot on.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

1    7/25/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 58  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course had several amazing water holes (6, 11 and 18) with others playing very close to water. 18 is one of the coolest holes ive ever played. The disc golf section of the park was very secluded from excess park traffic. The local club seems active in the course and there were plenty of maps and scorecards available at the kiosk. The course traffic was minimal considering how beautiful the location is as well as its respectable DGCR rating.

The course had two concrete tee pads for each hole which is really nice when playing with players of varying skill and could almost be considered two courses.
Cons: The only bad thing is that with the exception of these water shots, the rest of the course seemed repetitive. almost every hole was in an open field with 3-5 trees in or around the fairway.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Winner in Wichita

1    1/19/2011   2/1/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) There is a nice mix of open and wooded on this course. There is a decent amount of tree density variation to really provide an interesting feel to this course. There are a few holes that are mostly open, there are some holes with spotty mature trees, and then there are some holes with dense woods surrounding either the tee or the green area. The only thing it is missing is a hole that is entirely in the woods but the variation is good and all in all this is a balanced course.

2) Water comes into play on a handful of holes here. There are a couple holes where you throw along the water, a few where you throw over water of some sort, and then there is #18 . . . which is by far one of the coolest finishing holes I have ever seen. It is landscaping like this that you just don't see on disc golf courses. While I am sure this was landscaped before the disc golf came along, it still is a thing of beauty to play this hole to finish your round.

3) Dual concrete tees are appreciated with the tee color painted in the front left corner of each tee-pad. I only figured it out after I played a few holes that the color coded tees allow for two setups, but you can also play all forward or all back tees allowing for a total of 4 course setups. I wish I would have understood this and I would have played all long tees instead of sticking to the blue tee setup because it would have made for a more consistent round.

4) Kiosk is at the first tee which allows for a place to post announcements and other information.

5) Mach baskets with # plate on this courses. I always appreciate it when the # plate faces the tee. Basket rungs are painted with red and blue to indicate where the next tee is.

6) Practice basket is available for use near the parking area.

7) This course is obviously a championship level course. There is length, water, trees, some challenging basket area. Some holes have multiple layers of challenge incorporated together.

8) Any course with a hole names "Devil's Hallway" is a hit in my book and it throws that at you on the second hole.

9) 18 is clearly the best finishing hole I have ever seen. It isn't the longest, it isn't the hardest but it isn't often that you will find a hole like this with the landscaping like this on a disc golf course. This hole leaves you with the impression you just played one of the best courses in the world.
Cons: 1) This course does not present itself as beginner friendly. There are forced water carries, lots of length, and some tough wooded holes and also some tricky basket locations. This is not a bad course because of this it just doesn't present itself as beginner friendly.

2) Turf seems to be worn out in spots around a lot of tees and some basket areas.

3) Posts would be really helpful in navigation and to help new players find the red or the blue tees. Of course this is even more helpful in winter when I played. They had just gotten some ice and snow the night before making finding those flat concrete tees very difficult due to some drifting.

4) Signs would be helpful on this course because often times baskets are tough to find.

5) This may be nitpicky but I sure would have liked to see an antire hole or two play through the woods. That would have made this course as balanced as I would have found.

6) There is a long confusing walk going from hole #6 to #7. There are paths going in and out of the woods which you might confuse you.
Other Thoughts: This course was obviously designed with the avid tourney players in mind. It is setup very well for tournament play and will challenge all levels of play. The balance is tremendous both in the obstacles presented and the challenges they throw at you. It also is well balanced in shot selection. There are a lot of throws needed on this course and you need to be a little inventive in spots. All in all I wish I didn't have my only round on this course the day after freezing rain and snow. This is so much better course than I got to see because I was worried about my footing while teeing off and even on fairway shots. I would have given this course a 3.5, but I know had I gotten to play it under ideal conditions I would be rating this course higher, so I am going to just up my rating based on the overall feeling I got from the course. I am giving it a 4 which may even be a little soft. It is possible that this course could be somewhere between 4.25 and 4.5. There simply are not many week spots on the course. Sure the middle of the course gets a little boring by being mostly open, but there is a good variety of shots on these holes so I can't really call it a weak spot. All in all i was impressed with this Wichita Kansas course. It certainly was better than I expected to find here.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Oak park Wichita

2-4    6/3/2010   1/28/2011
Review By: DTB501
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
This review was updated on 7/5/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging, many wooded areas. The variation of terrain was also pretty decent. Large and spread out, very fun course to play on. There is also a second tee pad for every regular tee, so if you don't like were the tee pad is you can choose the alternate tee pad that is generally closer to the basket, making it easier for beginners.
Cons: Many trees and a higher risk of the disc getting stuck in the trees. When I was there playing on the course, it really rained in Wichita a few days before and being near a river some of the course was flooded. One of the holes was pretty much in ankle deep water. Also the course is near a side street and a trail, so you need to be careful of walkers, bikers, and approaching traffic. Two of the holes have a pond you have to clear to get to the basket. I know they are on hole 18 and the other one I can't remember right off hand I think it's hole 5 or 6. On the first water hazard I was able to clear it and it was my first time playing. I didn't try on hole 18 because of the size of the pond. In case you don't want to try the water I believe the alternate tee pads are out of the direction of the water hazards. If you lose your disc in the water they are retrievable, but it isn't easy. One of the water hazards looked fairly deep and the one on hole 18 was filled with algae so unless you don't mind getting dirty and smelling bad I would recommend clearing the pond or going on the alternate tee pad.
Other Thoughts: Great course, first course I played disc golf on. The way the course was set played a part of me getting into disc golf. This is a course I would definitely recommend playing on.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Good

5+    11/26/2009   12/9/2009
Review By: Austin4224
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful park by the river. Two different tee pads on every hole. A few 500 ft holes which are good to air them out. Fun course with many diff shot selections .Taken care of well.
ater comes into play on many holes.
Cons: Hard to navigate if your first time due to lack of signs. Grab a map if available you will need it. CROWDED on a nice day. So be prepared to weight.

Other Thoughts: One of my favorite hometown courses if your in town give this and Herman Hill a try. Best courses in the area.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.