Wichita, KS 
Oak Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #3 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 336ft.   3 / 424ft.   3 / 336ft.   3 / 424ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Short Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Winner in Wichita

1    1/19/2011   2/1/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 858  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) There is a nice mix of open and wooded on this course. There is a decent amount of tree density variation to really provide an interesting feel to this course. There are a few holes that are mostly open, there are some holes with spotty mature trees, and then there are some holes with dense woods surrounding either the tee or the green area. The only thing it is missing is a hole that is entirely in the woods but the variation is good and all in all this is a balanced course.

2) Water comes into play on a handful of holes here. There are a couple holes where you throw along the water, a few where you throw over water of some sort, and then there is #18 . . . which is by far one of the coolest finishing holes I have ever seen. It is landscaping like this that you just don't see on disc golf courses. While I am sure this was landscaped before the disc golf came along, it still is a thing of beauty to play this hole to finish your round.

3) Dual concrete tees are appreciated with the tee color painted in the front left corner of each tee-pad. I only figured it out after I played a few holes that the color coded tees allow for two setups, but you can also play all forward or all back tees allowing for a total of 4 course setups. I wish I would have understood this and I would have played all long tees instead of sticking to the blue tee setup because it would have made for a more consistent round.

4) Kiosk is at the first tee which allows for a place to post announcements and other information.

5) Mach baskets with # plate on this courses. I always appreciate it when the # plate faces the tee. Basket rungs are painted with red and blue to indicate where the next tee is.

6) Practice basket is available for use near the parking area.

7) This course is obviously a championship level course. There is length, water, trees, some challenging basket area. Some holes have multiple layers of challenge incorporated together.

8) Any course with a hole names "Devil's Hallway" is a hit in my book and it throws that at you on the second hole.

9) 18 is clearly the best finishing hole I have ever seen. It isn't the longest, it isn't the hardest but it isn't often that you will find a hole like this with the landscaping like this on a disc golf course. This hole leaves you with the impression you just played one of the best courses in the world.
Cons: 1) This course does not present itself as beginner friendly. There are forced water carries, lots of length, and some tough wooded holes and also some tricky basket locations. This is not a bad course because of this it just doesn't present itself as beginner friendly.

2) Turf seems to be worn out in spots around a lot of tees and some basket areas.

3) Posts would be really helpful in navigation and to help new players find the red or the blue tees. Of course this is even more helpful in winter when I played. They had just gotten some ice and snow the night before making finding those flat concrete tees very difficult due to some drifting.

4) Signs would be helpful on this course because often times baskets are tough to find.

5) This may be nitpicky but I sure would have liked to see an antire hole or two play through the woods. That would have made this course as balanced as I would have found.

6) There is a long confusing walk going from hole #6 to #7. There are paths going in and out of the woods which you might confuse you.
Other Thoughts: This course was obviously designed with the avid tourney players in mind. It is setup very well for tournament play and will challenge all levels of play. The balance is tremendous both in the obstacles presented and the challenges they throw at you. It also is well balanced in shot selection. There are a lot of throws needed on this course and you need to be a little inventive in spots. All in all I wish I didn't have my only round on this course the day after freezing rain and snow. This is so much better course than I got to see because I was worried about my footing while teeing off and even on fairway shots. I would have given this course a 3.5, but I know had I gotten to play it under ideal conditions I would be rating this course higher, so I am going to just up my rating based on the overall feeling I got from the course. I am giving it a 4 which may even be a little soft. It is possible that this course could be somewhere between 4.25 and 4.5. There simply are not many week spots on the course. Sure the middle of the course gets a little boring by being mostly open, but there is a good variety of shots on these holes so I can't really call it a weak spot. All in all i was impressed with this Wichita Kansas course. It certainly was better than I expected to find here.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Oak park Wichita

2-4    6/3/2010   1/28/2011
Review By: DTB501
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
This review was updated on 7/5/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging, many wooded areas. The variation of terrain was also pretty decent. Large and spread out, very fun course to play on. There is also a second tee pad for every regular tee, so if you don't like were the tee pad is you can choose the alternate tee pad that is generally closer to the basket, making it easier for beginners.
Cons: Many trees and a higher risk of the disc getting stuck in the trees. When I was there playing on the course, it really rained in Wichita a few days before and being near a river some of the course was flooded. One of the holes was pretty much in ankle deep water. Also the course is near a side street and a trail, so you need to be careful of walkers, bikers, and approaching traffic. Two of the holes have a pond you have to clear to get to the basket. I know they are on hole 18 and the other one I can't remember right off hand I think it's hole 5 or 6. On the first water hazard I was able to clear it and it was my first time playing. I didn't try on hole 18 because of the size of the pond. In case you don't want to try the water I believe the alternate tee pads are out of the direction of the water hazards. If you lose your disc in the water they are retrievable, but it isn't easy. One of the water hazards looked fairly deep and the one on hole 18 was filled with algae so unless you don't mind getting dirty and smelling bad I would recommend clearing the pond or going on the alternate tee pad.
Other Thoughts: Great course, first course I played disc golf on. The way the course was set played a part of me getting into disc golf. This is a course I would definitely recommend playing on.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Good

5+    11/26/2009   12/9/2009
Review By: Austin4224
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful park by the river. Two different tee pads on every hole. A few 500 ft holes which are good to air them out. Fun course with many diff shot selections .Taken care of well.
ater comes into play on many holes.
Cons: Hard to navigate if your first time due to lack of signs. Grab a map if available you will need it. CROWDED on a nice day. So be prepared to weight.

Other Thoughts: One of my favorite hometown courses if your in town give this and Herman Hill a try. Best courses in the area.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic, challenging and popular

5+    6/6/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 326  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 12.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful well taken care of park with views of the Little Arkansas River and several old growth trees. Some tunnel holes (mostly from the long tees) and some teeboxes with trouble right off the pad which require precise accuracy to stay out of jail or OB. Cool over water shots on Holes 6 and 18. Challenging, yet not so extreme that it overwhelms you. Flows relatively easily although there are some trouble spots. Next hole indicator on the baskets rims (red and blue paint spots) showing the direction of the next tee box. Shady in many places, allowing DG'ers to get a little break from the heat. Hitting your lines can be key here and the jail situation inside the woods can vary considerably. Has alternating color tee pads, so you technically have four different layouts (short, red, blue, & long).
Cons: Unlike its sister course Herman Hill across town, the pins are fixed so the only way to get variety is play different tees. No tee signs as the neighborhood park group won't allow them to be installed for fear that they'll detract from the beauty of the park. Layouts are shown with paint right on the teepads, but the elements are causing these to fade. Often crowded in the afternoon hours. 18's long pad and the retaining wall along side it (over the water hole) constricts your shot selection particularly if you don't have much arm. Parking area is small and there are no bathrooms (other than the woods).
Other Thoughts: Originally a nine hole single tee course, Oak Park was expanded to 18 holes and given dual tee pads in 2005. Holes 8-14 are actually in neighboring North Riverside Park. The course is very popular with rec players and this can get burdensome on a busy afternoon. Best hit before noon if you can. There is also a busy sidewalk (on or over is OB) along the North Riverside holes so you need to watch for pedestrians.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Oak Hill Dubs

1    7/11/2008   2/20/2009
Review By: CaptainAnhyzer
Played: 82  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 30.3 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great use of the water and woods. You'll really REALLY like #18, or really, REALLY hate it.
Cons: Some long walks between holes but neccessary. Low areas could be a problem after a heavy rain.
Other Thoughts: Wish i'd remembered my camera....... i played on a beautiful day and the course has many photo friendly holes.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/12/2008   8/13/2008
Review By: Basilikos
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Trees provide a great challenge
+ River and ponds provide challenging but manageable water hazards
+ Varying distances calls for a strong game to do well
+ Usually well kept, never too bad to play
+ The forest creates natural dog-legs and tunnel-shots
+ Concrete tees with hole maps spray-painted on
+ Multiple tees
+ Maps made available
Cons: - Tough to get the hang of at first
- The 18th hole is brutal on many newcomers
- A few holes on the back 9 can get flooded after a heavy rain
Other Thoughts: This course is very fun to play. It has a bit of everything, and it keeps things interesting. There are two tees which provide varying challenges. The course is built into a forest for the main part of the front 9 which provides unique challenges. Dog-legs and tunnel-shots are very common requiring good precision and accuracy. The course runs along the river, which has its ups and downs.

There are only two major water hazards, but the last one (Hole 18) is a very difficult shot for the inexperienced. The back 9 is far less complicated than the front 9 and becomes a distance contest, though a few of the holes provide unique challenges that test accuracy as well as power. The only terrain Oak is lacking in is hills. No uphill or downhill shots provide for a flat experience.

Overall Oak is a very well put together course that is very unique in its hole setups. You'll see a bit of everything except hills.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

7/3/2008   7/3/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 17.3 Years
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Long, pretty and semi-challenging. Often have to contend with low ceilings or unconventional long power drives. A river comes into play, as well as a few ponds with a signature pond shot and rock cliff on the last hole (see picture). Well maintained, plays easy and clean. Locals have put work into marking it to make it easy to follow.
Cons: Needs tee signs, or re-painted tee pads showing lengths. The river will swallow your disc, and you if you try to go get it. Semi long walks between some holes, and since it's long it is tiring.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.