Columbia, SC 
Seven Oaks DGC Share
Uploaded By: Atrain Hole #5
5 / 275ft.   3 / 359ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Perfect for Practice

2-4    11/15/2015   11/15/2015
Review By: JBryant
Played: 93  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was a lot of fun. I really enjoyed the short holes.

Baskets were awesome.

The grounds of the park were clean.

This is an excellent course for those looking to teach new players, especially kids.

I was there with an adult friend who has just started. It was great to be able to give him some pointers without the fear of a hard hole on the horizon.

Concrete tees were great.
Cons: I see so much potential in this course. Dual tees would add some length and technicality here. I know this is not necessarily what the course was designed for, but there is plenty of angles and length to make this a real gem.
Other Thoughts: Alan Kane is a super great ambassador to this sport. Columbia is fortunate to have him.

I saw some great second tee looks here. Especially hole 8 potentially over the creek and hole 9 back over the creek. With minimal clearing here and just some angle adjustments on other holes, 18 tees could be a real possibility.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginner course and for practice for experienced players

1    4/13/2012   4/13/2012
Review By: filobedo
Played: 210  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 10.4 Years
Pros: Concrete pads on each hole and great layout for beginner to learn and for experienced players to practice as well as a beautiful setting. Perfect place to learn and practice upshots and the tees and pads are not on top of each other like I have seen at other beginner courses. Signage is very nice as well. By far the best beginner course I have ever played!
Cons: Nothing major other than the 275' hole is a little long for beginners.
Other Thoughts: Alan Kane is becoming one of my favorite designers after playing this and Carolina Adventure! I look forward to his next course!

  Very family friendly

2-4    8/20/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: Keith Burns
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very family friendly and if you have a small child still in a stroller, then this is one for you. Very nice practice for upshots for more experienced players. some baskets are very well guarded and it is a great place to learn the game!!! Brand new with brand new baskets!
Cons: Very Short, no long drives at all. 275' was the longest. No concrete tess yet but I heard they are coming.
Other Thoughts: Start a kids league here!!!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Decent neighborhood 9-holer

1    7/11/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 209  Reviewed: 203  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2015
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Seven Oaks is the essence of a beginner friendly course. Plenty of chances for birdies and aces.
- Nice variety between long and short tees. Long tees present some tight layouts (#7 - 9), longer holes (#5) and different looks from the shorts. At least you'll have to somewhat work to get your birdies from the longer layout.
- Easy course to play in short amount of time. Could easily play short layout in 15 minutes with one or two discs. It'd be even quicker if tees were better marked - see comment in cons.
- Great overall park - large rec center, great ball fields, walking path, playground. You can easily distract the rest of the family long enough to squeeze in 9 or 18 holes.
- Nice, detailed map. Without the map, it'd be a struggling find some tees.
Cons: Course offers very little challenge. Too many holes are too straight, too short or offer little to no obstacle. Eight on the 9 short holes are under 200 feet. Whereas one may see a great beginner course, others will see a course that's not going to be fun/challenging for advanced players.
- Many holes/layouts play over walking paths. The only real risk is playing from #8 long, where you're throwing a partially blind tee shot.
- Too many holes are poorly marked. I couldn't find a tee area for #1 on shorts - other short holes are marked by a temporary tee sign. Long tees are marked by spray painted markers. I could only find 6 of the 9 long layouts (couldn't find #1, 2 & 5), and even of those, I wasn't sure if 3 of those were actually the tee (#2, 8 &9). Some markers/tees could be better marked than just being spray painted dirt/grass, which (obviously) quickly fades away.
- Holes are very close together. If this course gets crowded, it could present real issues.
Other Thoughts: Seven Oaks is clearly aimed at beginners. Whereas that's a good thing for beginners, a good, high-rated course it does not make.
- The biggest thing going against Seven Oaks is its absolute lack of space. They should be given credit for somehow squeezing 9 holes (with dual layouts nonetheless) into this small piece of land.
- There were two fun hole layouts - #8 & 9 in the longs. That's assuming the spray paint I saw was indeed the tees, and not something else. On #8, you have to shoot through a gap in the trees, over the small creek to the basket. If you throw straight, it's not a difficult hole. #9 tees off in the woods, right behind the same creek. Once you get out of the woods, the fairway is wide open. Part of the challenge was just getting to the tee.
- Needless to say, this course is nowhere near the ratings others have given it. Courses need to be rated against each other, not in a vacuum. And my ranking reflects that.
- I'm giving this course a 1.5, based on the long layout. The short/beginner-friendly layout would get a lower mark, but I'm not going to include that in the overall rating.
- Unless, you're a local, this course probably isn't worth the time. Sadly, with a lack of space, I don't know how much better this course could get.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Kids Course

2-4    6/19/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 66  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The biggest Kudo for this course - it's for the kids! 8 out 9 holes are short enough that most kids should be able to get a 3 on it, with a few birdies on really well thrown shots. Hole 5 is long that had me dropping my putter (that's all adults need) and grabbing a well-worn Roc.

And more Kudo's to guys who came up with the course (and you know who you are!). I thought the basket placement was superb - some tricky enough to make you think about your shot, but not so hard to discourage the kids.
Cons: This is very nit-picky since this is a brand spanking new course, but the paint for the tee-boxes as gone, and the tee signs (temporary as they are) were missing on some holes. When these are addressed I will find no 'cons' when reviewed as a kids course.
Other Thoughts: Kids, and novice players of all types will LOVE to play this course as they learn this ADDICTIVE game!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great Beginner Course!!!

1    6/11/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: jacklewisfan
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My wife and I went there today, and this is an excellent course for kids to beginner level disc golfers. Several of the holes encourage new players to try different routes to encourage different shots. Hole 5, the "bomber hole" on the course, is well placed to allow a longer hyzer shot or a gentle turnover anhyzer shot for a RHBH player. My wife, who is new to disc golf, really like the course. The course is currently marked with spray paint, but the designer told me that concrete tee pads have already been donated. He also said that he intends to place a second set of concrete post marked pads for a second set of nine holes on the original layout to create 18 holes. The course is tucked away behind the ball fields, and it is almost completely shaded, while still allowing a gentle breeze because there is so little "trash foliage" like vines and bushes. Each basket is visible from the proposed tee box. We especially like hole 8, which is across the bridge, because of the elevation change and the rough being so near the back edge of the basket to make drive placement a little more challenging.
Cons: These cons are only present because the course is still a work in progress as mentioned above:
-the tee pads are only marked via spray paint
-there is no directional signage as of yet, but I'm sure it's coming too

Other Thoughts: The course is on the short side (holes max out at about 230 ft), but this is NOT a con because the course does an excellent job of being what the designer planned it to be--a beginner friendly course to help new players learn to throw different shots accurately. I think experienced players might also enjoy taking just a putter out and trying to go nine down, which might be more difficult than you'd think. Either way, the course made excellent use of a moderately used portion of the park. If you played quick golf, you could play 9 holes in about 20 minutes. And who knows, maybe we see a Cola native break the number of holes played in a 24 hour period!?!?

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.