Pontiac, IL 
Riverview DGC Share
Uploaded By: klittle08 Hole #9 (Taken 8/2011)
-- / --   3 / 234ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not bad

1    5/10/2014   8/28/2014
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.4 Years
Pros: The park was extremely well-kept. Grass was mowed and no litter in sight. Due to the number of trees, leaves may cover the ground during some months, but in May everything was beautiful.

Baskets and pads were in excellent condition. Mandos were clearly marked. Fairways were obvious. Very little guess-work from the tee. Basket was almost always in view from the tee.

I thought the course was challenging enough for an intermediate player. There were definitely opportunities to get birdies. There were plenty of OB to make the course as difficult as possible for this setting.

While many hate this style of course, I'm a sucker for a good little park-style course. the odds of losing a disc are virtually nil, and the round is relaxing.

The layout was pretty cool with the closing few holes being across the river. (swinging bridge) There was definitely some level of change between the two sections of the course.
Cons: There is no elevation, except for some subtle changes on the hole before the swinging bridge and one hole on the front. For the most part, the course is very flat.

The course does get repetitive after a while if you play that way. I played the course during a tourney, so I was throwing hyzers 95% of the time from the tee. Only a few holes had mandos to prevent this. If I was playing casually, I might try to experiment with different lines for fun. However, in the tourney setting, you go with what works.

The two Par 4s across the river were long, simply for the sake of being long. To me that's pretty boring, but some people really seem to like that.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a fun little course. There aren't many courses within 25 miles so it definitely has the potential to introduce a lot of new folks to the game. This is a great course for that target as it is pretty easy, while still requiring some level of skill if mandos and OB are played properly.

For the most part, the course is fairly shaded. There are some holes across the river that in the open, but I'll bet this is a comfortable place to play, even in the summer.

One of he strengths of the course in my opinion was pin-placement. I'm not sure if there are multiples on any holes, but for the tourney, the pin-placements were very good. On flat courses, you have to add challenge with trees that protect the pin and such. This was done very well.

I went OB in the first round on a hole that has a fence down the length of the right side. Very tough hole for a righty. Disc just didn't come back enough. Those 2 strokes cost me, but it was still a great time. The players in this area were very friendly and welcoming to a Southern guy like me. Dana ran a smooth tourney and it was a great experience. I'd recommend next year's tourney to anyone in the area looking to play in a cool, well-organized tourney.

Riverview is a pretty nice little course. If you're in Chicago, I wouldn't drive all the way out just to play it, but if you're on the way to Chicago or simply passing through Pontiac, it's well worth the stop. Not too far off the interstate. Definitely a good place for a quick, relaxing round...without having to worry about losing a disc.

 Noob Review

1    4/18/2012   4/19/2012
Review By: Redleg
Played: 38  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has all new Innova baskets, nice concrete tee pads, and looks like relatively new signs on each hole. It plays through a lot of old stand trees and the park seems well maintained. Very scenic park, that has a river running through or around most of it but the water only really comes into play on a few holes (12, 17, & 18). You have to cross the river to get to hole 13-17 on a foot bridge. They used what they had very well. 18 is the most challenging hole, but only from the pro tee with around a 200ft shot accross the river on a dog leg right hole.
Cons: The course is mostly flat and doens't have a lot of challenging lines (not their fault they did great with what they had). They do have some Mando routes that help some. This is a picnic park also and hole 16 plays through a ball diamond (doesn't look like it is used regularly) so it could cause some issues with use. Tee sighs have par and distance but no photo/drawing of the hole. They are on the score cards make sure you grab one!
Other Thoughts: This is good course! If they had more to work with it would be a great course! Well worth the stop if you are in the area. Most fun hole is 18, you have to go from the Tee shooting accross the water! The Course is Fun enough that if I am close and have time I will go back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Chautauqua

1    7/18/2011   9/27/2011
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 114  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Another new park in central Illinois! Awesome!

This is the stereotypical public park course. The park is very clean and taken care of and is a very good fit for disc golf. The designer of the course did a very good job of maximizing the land usage, and I have to give him kudos for that.

There are multiple lines for most holes and each hole is slightly different from the rest. Also, concrete tees are always a plus!
Cons: The only hole that really stands out as being an above average hole is hole #18, where you have the option of throwing over the river. I didn't risk it because it's a terrifying throw, but the adrenaline rush as we were contemplating it was there.

Because it is a public park and not solely for disc golfers, be aware of other park goers.
Other Thoughts: This course to me doesn't stand out as being incredibly memorable, by any means. But it is a good course that's directly on I-55, which means it could be a great break for someone on a road trip.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A little repetitive

1    9/11/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 753  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a flat grassy park with scattered mature trees. There is a variety of hole lengths, with most falling between 200 and 300' though a couple have a little more length to open up on. Most of the holes offer multiple lines, though several have defined lines with a mix of left and right turning shots and several straight ones.

The tees are concrete, with enough room and some texture. The flow of the course is easy to follow for the most part. The baskets are brand new and in great shape. The park is beautifully maintained with nice views of the river. The last hole offers a fun shot across the river along a cool swinging bridge.
Cons: The park doesn't offer a ton of opportunities for creative design. The course makes the best of the trees, but it does get pretty repetitive with most of the holes offering similar shots with no elevation. There are no tee signs, so you have to guess at distances, and a couple holes are difficult to see from the tee. The spots where you need to cross the bridge could use some signs. The last hole is a disappointing use of the fun water crossing, a shot that allowed you to bite off a little more distance with some more risk would be a more interesting hole.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice easy course with no rough and little punishment for errant shots. Beginners can have a good time here, the lengths are pretty reasonable, and it's an easy walk. More experienced players won't find many different challenges to keep things interesting.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Finishing 7

1    9/10/2011   9/10/2011
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 139  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 14.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The last seven holes of this course were absolutely phenomenal. Great usage of the land and the course really become awesome with these holes. Hole 18 was a neat finishing hole over the water with a 90 degree turn to the right. Hole 12 was a unique hole with a brick structure and a huge rock coming into play with the river long and left. Hole 14 was an awesome bombers hole that really allowed you to get the disc out there. The hole still had a nicely protected green with out of bounds to the right. Hole 15 had a neat green, while hole 16 was one of the more unique holes I have ever played as the green was protected by an old baseball diamond fence. The course had a nice flow and had AWESOME concrete pads.
Cons: The first 11 holes - the course was very distinctive between the first 11 holes and the last 7 holes. The designer probably did the best with what he had on the first 11 holes, but not a lot stood out with these holes. Hole 3 was probably the only interesting hole amongst the first 11. Hole 10 was pretty unsafe being so close to the fence/road. This hole would be an easy fix if the tee were simply moved about 50 feet to the left. If I hadn't been playing with someone else I would have never found hole 12's tee as that is located on the actual path near the old swimming pool. In addition, because of the newness of this course it does not currently have course signs and I'd consider this a con.
Other Thoughts: All in all this was a fairly enjoyable course with a great finish. I always prefer courses with a great finish - I'd honestly probably rate this course lower if the holes had been reversed because I really feel that courses should have a strong finish. Keep in mind that a "3" is considered a good rating. I would change my rating on this course to a 3.5 if two things happened: course signs were installed (which would alleviate the concerns about 12's tee location) and the tee on hole 10 was moved to the left. The designer did a good job with the land available but making those two changes would change my rating of the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.