Pontiac, IL 
Riverview DGC Share
Uploaded By: klittle08 Hole #18 (Taken 8/2011)
-- / --   3 / 275ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Pro Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Noob Review

1    4/18/2012   4/19/2012
Review By: Redleg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has all new Innova baskets, nice concrete tee pads, and looks like relatively new signs on each hole. It plays through a lot of old stand trees and the park seems well maintained. Very scenic park, that has a river running through or around most of it but the water only really comes into play on a few holes (12, 17, & 18). You have to cross the river to get to hole 13-17 on a foot bridge. They used what they had very well. 18 is the most challenging hole, but only from the pro tee with around a 200ft shot accross the river on a dog leg right hole.
Cons: The course is mostly flat and doens't have a lot of challenging lines (not their fault they did great with what they had). They do have some Mando routes that help some. This is a picnic park also and hole 16 plays through a ball diamond (doesn't look like it is used regularly) so it could cause some issues with use. Tee sighs have par and distance but no photo/drawing of the hole. They are on the score cards make sure you grab one!
Other Thoughts: This is good course! If they had more to work with it would be a great course! Well worth the stop if you are in the area. Most fun hole is 18, you have to go from the Tee shooting accross the water! The Course is Fun enough that if I am close and have time I will go back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Chautauqua

1    7/18/2011   9/27/2011
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 114  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Another new park in central Illinois! Awesome!

This is the stereotypical public park course. The park is very clean and taken care of and is a very good fit for disc golf. The designer of the course did a very good job of maximizing the land usage, and I have to give him kudos for that.

There are multiple lines for most holes and each hole is slightly different from the rest. Also, concrete tees are always a plus!
Cons: The only hole that really stands out as being an above average hole is hole #18, where you have the option of throwing over the river. I didn't risk it because it's a terrifying throw, but the adrenaline rush as we were contemplating it was there.

Because it is a public park and not solely for disc golfers, be aware of other park goers.
Other Thoughts: This course to me doesn't stand out as being incredibly memorable, by any means. But it is a good course that's directly on I-55, which means it could be a great break for someone on a road trip.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A little repetitive

1    9/11/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a flat grassy park with scattered mature trees. There is a variety of hole lengths, with most falling between 200 and 300' though a couple have a little more length to open up on. Most of the holes offer multiple lines, though several have defined lines with a mix of left and right turning shots and several straight ones.

The tees are concrete, with enough room and some texture. The flow of the course is easy to follow for the most part. The baskets are brand new and in great shape. The park is beautifully maintained with nice views of the river. The last hole offers a fun shot across the river along a cool swinging bridge.
Cons: The park doesn't offer a ton of opportunities for creative design. The course makes the best of the trees, but it does get pretty repetitive with most of the holes offering similar shots with no elevation. There are no tee signs, so you have to guess at distances, and a couple holes are difficult to see from the tee. The spots where you need to cross the bridge could use some signs. The last hole is a disappointing use of the fun water crossing, a shot that allowed you to bite off a little more distance with some more risk would be a more interesting hole.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice easy course with no rough and little punishment for errant shots. Beginners can have a good time here, the lengths are pretty reasonable, and it's an easy walk. More experienced players won't find many different challenges to keep things interesting.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Finishing 7

1    9/10/2011   9/10/2011
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 135  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 14.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The last seven holes of this course were absolutely phenomenal. Great usage of the land and the course really become awesome with these holes. Hole 18 was a neat finishing hole over the water with a 90 degree turn to the right. Hole 12 was a unique hole with a brick structure and a huge rock coming into play with the river long and left. Hole 14 was an awesome bombers hole that really allowed you to get the disc out there. The hole still had a nicely protected green with out of bounds to the right. Hole 15 had a neat green, while hole 16 was one of the more unique holes I have ever played as the green was protected by an old baseball diamond fence. The course had a nice flow and had AWESOME concrete pads.
Cons: The first 11 holes - the course was very distinctive between the first 11 holes and the last 7 holes. The designer probably did the best with what he had on the first 11 holes, but not a lot stood out with these holes. Hole 3 was probably the only interesting hole amongst the first 11. Hole 10 was pretty unsafe being so close to the fence/road. This hole would be an easy fix if the tee were simply moved about 50 feet to the left. If I hadn't been playing with someone else I would have never found hole 12's tee as that is located on the actual path near the old swimming pool. In addition, because of the newness of this course it does not currently have course signs and I'd consider this a con.
Other Thoughts: All in all this was a fairly enjoyable course with a great finish. I always prefer courses with a great finish - I'd honestly probably rate this course lower if the holes had been reversed because I really feel that courses should have a strong finish. Keep in mind that a "3" is considered a good rating. I would change my rating on this course to a 3.5 if two things happened: course signs were installed (which would alleviate the concerns about 12's tee location) and the tee on hole 10 was moved to the left. The designer did a good job with the land available but making those two changes would change my rating of the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.