Provo, UT 
Bicentennial Park Share
Uploaded By: troyskeen   (Taken 8/2009)
North side of the course.



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    4/23/2015   4/24/2015
Review By: outlaw7
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: played here for the first time yesterday.
There is boardwalk around the marsh there.
Pretty spot by the mountain.
good practice spot if you live very close.
Cons: Where are the baskets?
I think they have taken out most of the baskets so there are really only 5 baskets now I think.
Not really worth driving there to play as it is kind of out of the way.
Other Thoughts: Go somewhere else there are enough courses in the area.
Is there a reason why we took out most of the baskets there?

Fun 9 Hole Course

1    3/3/2014   3/3/2014
Review By: FAM1LY GUY
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: Played this course for the first time yesterday. Overall it's a nice course. It plays through a nice park with all holes playing through the grass. Many mature trees and some nice elevation changes. All in all though, this was a fun course to play and definitely one worth checking out.
Cons: The only things I wasn't particularly fond of was how many people were in the park and giving no sense of care for the people playing disc golf there. Some people just blatantly walking out in front of you, others just laying out in the middle of fairways. With this park having been established for disc golf for some time, you would think others would have a better awareness but they don't. It could have something to do with the high number of apartment complexes in the area.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is a short RHBH hyzer spike shot around two pine trees.

Hole 2 is a nice uphill throw that also requires you to throw out to the right around some trees.

Hole 3 leaves you open for a big arm shot. If the basket is not on the hill straight ahead, you'll find it to the left up in the trees as they will move it up there during winter months as kids love using this kill for sledding.

Hole 4 is a fun downhill shot that finishes left of a large pine tree. Basket is not view-able from the tee pad.

Hole 5 plays a little longer and keeps you tight to the tree line on your left.

Hole 6 also offers you an opportunity to open up with a big arm throw as you head back to the same basket you finished at for Hole 4. Tee off from the boardwalk.

Hole 7 is a nice straight shot across the field as you head back to the trees on the opposite side.

Hole 8 is an optional hole where you play from the Tee pad for Hole 1 to the basket for Hole 2.

Hole 9 is also optional where you play from the Tee Pad for Hole 3 and finish at the basket for Hole 7.

I would recommend playing both of the optional holes as they were both really fun. Just be mindful of other players.

 Easy short little course

5+    10/14/2012   10/21/2012
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 70  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun little course in a well-maintained park. The course is easy to follow even without markers.

It is now 9 holes with 8 baskets. Most of the tee pads are cement with the exception of the one on the far south side where you use the beginning of a flat bridge.

For 9 holes you throw from the tee on hole 3 to one of two baskets, one located on the hill and the other up the hill from it in the woods, then use the old pad (facing the wrong direction but still works) next to what is typically hole 4's pad and throw back across the park to the cage by hole 3's pad, then throw off hole 3's pad again to whatever basket you didn't throw to the first time.

This gives you three really long bombing holes in a row and adds a lot of difficulty (particularly when throwing to the one up in the woods).
Cons: You have to reuse one basket and one tee pad.

It's crowded with people and their dogs. People seem to forget that there is a disk golf course and set up blankets in the line of fire, so that could be seen as good or bad depending on if you take a throw off for beaning stupid people.

Hardly any variation on the cage location.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course dozens of times and have yet to par the course. A couple holes give you a challenge, but overall it's simple, short and fun.

It's not likely that you'll lose any disks here unless you throw one in the nasty pond. I'm pretty sure you will grow a third eyeball or develop super powers if you go swimming after your disk.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Easy, Fun Little Course

5+    7/22/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: Jefflogix
Played: 29  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.7 Years
Pros: Beautiful location played mostly over well-maintained green grass on a rolling hillside beneath the Wasatch Mountains. Cement tee boxes. I really enjoy this little course, even though it is very short and fairly easy. Not many places you will lose a disc. Fun elevation changes. Only a few trees to content with.
Cons: All the holes are short. Hard to navigate 9 holes without the course map on this site. You have to reuse a couple of baskets, which makes it awkward when there are many others on the course.
Other Thoughts: I played this course when it had 18 holes, and in my opinion, they kept the best part of the course. True it is not very challenging, but it is a great place to spend an hour. I try to hit this course whenever I visit my brother who lives in Utah Valley. The biggest problem with this course for me is just that it is short with just a few baskets. But I still enjoy playing it.

 Very Beginner Friendly

5+    2/10/2012   2/13/2012
Review By: Hole In Four
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very beginner friendly
Not very wooded
Entire course is played on grass
Cons: Only 7 holes (with only 5 baskets)
No variation of shots (all shots were made to play with a strong fade)
Boring
Other Thoughts: Recent construction of homes has taken away 12 holes from this course, and it's no longer fun or challenging. If you're teaching someone to play disc golf or if you're learning yourself, it can be a fun course. Otherwise there's not much to offer

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short Course with nice Elevations

5+    9/17/2011   9/20/2011
Review By: FHL88
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is fairly easy to follow, nice tee pads.

I particularly like the changes in elevation that let you soar a couple of really long shots.

Fairly close to another course down in Springville, if this one is not enough or too crowded.
Cons: Too short! (and I like short courses) Pity they lost the other holes.
Other Thoughts: The pavilions always seem to be occupied but haven't had trouble with pedestrians in the fairways.

This used to be the only course I knew about in Utah County. Glad a few more have sprung up. =)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Construction woes

2-4    10/16/2010   12/4/2010
Review By: Wappy410
Played: 79  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fairly easy course, great place to bring beginners. Most of the course is in the lower part of the park, which is grassy, making for a nice stroll. For someone with limited playing experience, I was able to make par on most of the holes, though putting difficulties often was an obstacle ;)
Cons: As other reviews have mentioned, the park can be quite busy during warmer months, and park-visitors can impede sometimes. See below for comments on the current status of the course:
Other Thoughts: The course is divided into several areas with baskets: The lower, grassy area has 6 baskets (1-3 and 7-9). Another 3 baskets (4-6) are in an upper area that has more of a grassland feel, i.e. tall grasses and weeds. They have begun some sort of development in the upper area (I believe that it is for sports fields related to the park), that entailed them removing all of the concrete tee-pads and the baskets from that area. They have also removed the basket for hole 3 and the basket for hole 7, which leaves only 4 playable holes in the park, as of this review.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My first DGC

1    9/29/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: AltitudeDiscGlf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners. Back in the day there was signage but it has since deteriorated and gone away. Pads are concrete, terrain is parklike surrounded by condos (used to be wilderness 7 years ago). Tees are relatively short. Even hole 4 at 500 ft is shorter than you think because it is a down hill shot. It is a great feeling though when you park it next to the pin on that one.
Cons: The problem with this course is that there are too many non disc golfers in the park that dont understand what the sport is or the dangers of getting nailed in the head with a driver. They will camp out in fairways or whatever. Weekends are the worst for this. To compensate, the course was redesigned a few years ago taking out some of the more technical shots (over a pond with a large ominous disc eating tree), and pushing the holes to the back of the course into what is left of the wilderness area (this is where the brush gets thick). The course lost its luster when they did these changes, but it is still playable.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners to teach them to play the sport, Pros will probably lose the feeling of challenge after a couple of times playing.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Cool course

1    1/11/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: ryan ranes
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: hole 4 for a big arm thrower some of the hole are some tricky mandorties and tight fairways and a fun course if u leave near it and with diffrent locations spots
Cons: it is an okay course the first 2 holes i look at and thought they were way cool then there are dumb mandos which make they hole relly stupid some of the hole are wide open and no challenge whatesover
Other Thoughts: i would say to play this one rock canyon and uvu all in oner day they are all very close

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Watch that one...

2-4    6/26/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 18 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete pads
-Both manicured, grassy fairways and rustic, natural terrain
-Elevation. This course uses what is has to the fullest extent. Hole 2 is a fun one with a touch of elevation loss across a large grassy bowl. Some radically uphill (and often blind) drives and one or two in which the elevation loss makes the thrower toy with the idea of discing down.
-Risk. A few holes play along a creekbed that is THICK with stinging nettle and other nasty plants and disc golfer-eating flies. Lots of places to lose plastic, even with a good drive.
-Plenty of parking
-Restrooms right by tee 1
-Friendly locals
Cons: -Lack of signage. I couldn't imagine navigating this course without a guide. A few blind baskets compound the issue.
-Weedy fairways. In the name of all things holy, get the local club together and a few weed-wackers and take care of that waist-high underbrush.
-18 holes playing to 16 baskets.
Other Thoughts: Neat layout requiring lots of three-dimensional planning. Friendly locals. Overall a fun course, but the constant searching for drives got old quick. I played with guides and I suggest you do the same as hole and course maps are hard to find (as are discs. Use spotters;)).

I found Bicentennial to be a great Provo option. It requires a lot of thought and has space to open up and rip it.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.