Ypsilanti, MI
Rolling Hills County Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
4 / 367ft.   4 / 367ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
This place is a freakin' blast!!

1    3/31/2014   3/31/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 195  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- course plays through a portion of a large "metro-type" park. Many other amenities dot the landscape. a bike riding/access trail winds through the course so be on the look out. you do not throw over the trail (IIRC) but it's close to in play.

Teepads-- Excellent. large, level and in phenomenal repair. As has been said in other review, there are huge drop offs after the teepad that could really ruin your follow through.

Routing/nav-- super easy. we never ever felt like we could possibly get lost. plenty of next tee signs made it super easy.

Baskets-- Discraft in excellent repair with orange reflective tape on the necks.

Multiple teepads-- huge plus here. there are so many unique looks here that the multiple teepads help to accentuate.

elevation!!!!-- huge use of elevation here. huge plus in every single manner. It is rediculously refreshing to have this much elevation change on a course in this area.

Course amenities-- plenty of places to sit and rest between holes. it's a bit funny, you can tell which tee people throw from as they are the ones with the seats near them :)
Cons:
Teesigns-- accurate length description and an arrow pointing you where the fairway is but a map of the hole would be most excellent. a lot of scouting is needed on this course to find the pins.

Variety/Challenge-- it seems that a lot of the SE Michigan courses are left hand/forehand friendly with right fades... this is no exception. the holes (even the longs) are not that challenging. I think I ended +1 on my first round through.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course was a blast. Very refreshing. I totally should have played this course by now.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Challenging But Fun

1    7/20/2012   1/20/2014
Review By: EricAvery
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of up and downs so amazing variety. Some blind throws which drives me crazy and I love it. I have never played a course like this before it was tough!
Cons: Found it tough to navigate. Not from this area so I got lost.
Other Thoughts: Glad of all the courses I had to choose from that you folks have in east Michigan that I chose Rolling Hills. Ha only a short time available to play and I chose this one based on the rating it received and the positive comments. Did not disappoint. I did not mind the gate fee - it was worth it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course

5+    7/12/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: Redmones12
Played: 67  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Just great course lots of work put in here just awesome the work they did to make this course top notch, great elevations great all around honestly one of my favorites around
Cons: Pricey park entrance fee $9 to get in outside of that favors side arm a bit

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wooded course, but not too tight

1    9/8/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: elrumpo
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - nice concrete tee pads
- well maintained park grounds
- very little trash, lots of cans to put it in
- brooms by the tee pads
- a lot of fun technical holes up and down hills, over rises, around slight bends
- Good mix of short and long wooded holes, but fairways are open enough to "miss" most of the trees
- bathrooms near the start of the course, also picnic grounds
- excellent signs leading the way through the course, there's no possibility of getting lost
- virtually no chance of losing a disc
Cons: - COST - $9 per day per car for a non resident. UGH
- lack of wide open holes (one or two open/long holes would really mix it up, and the sledding hill area provides that space!)
- need more dirt in front of tee pads...there is a good foot drop off a few of them, making for a risky run up
Other Thoughts: This course almost favors the forehand divers I think...a lot of slight turns made easy with a good forehand. I hit a lot of trees...but still got a good score (-10 on 18 my first time there). I think they kind of built in some "tree strokes" for you. :-)

All in all this is a nice park, an excellent course and well worth the visit. Because there are so many good courses nearby, it would be worth taking a weekend trip to the Ann Arbor/Dexter/Brighton area and playing several courses.

There is a waterpark here, lots of picnic areas, good bathrooms and a nice bike trail. I highly recommend this course, one of my personal favorites.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course!

1    7/29/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: MikelNovack
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Brooms at nearly every tee pad
Posts marked with distance to basket at each tee pad
Pro and Amateur tees
Good baskets
Great elevation changes
Easy to navigate (posts pointing out the way)
Cons: Kind of expensive for non resident compared to other parks.

First tee pad was kind of hard to find. Only found it due to a practice basket sitting out in the open.

No signs in the park directing you to the proper parking lot after the first main sign.
Other Thoughts: Loved the course, reminded me slightly of Hudson Mills Original course just slightly smaller. It's closer to my house than Hudson so that's a + for me.

Couple this course with Lakeshore and it makes a great Sunday afternoon.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

they aren't kidding

1    7/5/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: OpposableThumbs
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **The course design uses the natural elevation perfectly. For SE MI, the grades can be pretty 'extreme'.. it may be a bit strenuous for those who have some difficulty getting around in the woods, but to me it was a pleasure to walk and even more so to throw. I believe it was either holes #11-12 or #12-13 where you play up a roughly 50' hill on the first, then right back down the hill on the next hole, very satisfying.

**Upon walking up, a good number of the holes treat the player to that "wow" moment, which is not very common in even the best courses around here.

**Incredibly clean course. Lidded trash cans (most likely to keep animals/rain out) on what seemed like 99% of holes on both tees, Brooms on most tee pads are a nice touch.

**Good mix of distance/precision. Not many tunnel shots, but densely wooded enough to get you thinking one shot ahead of yourself and picking the best lines possible.

**Tall signage indicating next hole location, really hard to stray off track here.

Cons: **For non-county residents, the $9 park admission is too much. I would like to think they set the price so high because Rolling Hills Waterpark is what really brings the non-county folk in, but would prefer to see that cost reflected in the (completely separate from park admission) Waterpark admission fee. They counter the cost of admission by making DG free to play, but unless you have a couple buddies with you, you pay a dollar / 2 holes.

**Course map on the scorecard was initially a bit difficult to navigate, but became virtually unnecessary once on the course, just know that the lonely practice basket on the right side of the parking lot is basically the gateway to Hole #1.

**The only thing missing design wise is a real bomber of a hole, there are opportunities to air it out from the tee pads here and there, but nothing where you have to launch two stupid long drives to make par, could be a personal taste thing, but a con to me nonetheless.



Other Thoughts: **Only 18 holes. I know, I know, ONLY?? 18 holes is plenty, a full course indeed, especially with two tee pads on most holes.. I just feel like with the space available on the park grounds, and the fact that the course has been open for like 26 years, they might have thought about expansion at some point. Not a big deal, but I would like to see 24 holes out here at some point :D

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very nice

1    6/20/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: PerfectPair
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained,Very clean very little trash found tossed about..Good signs pointing in direction of baskets and next tees. Unique use of elevation at many tees. Very beautiful park. Easy to make a day full of activities here with the water park, geocaches, letter boxes, trails, playgrounds, etc :)
Cons: Cost of admission for non-washtenaw county residents can be pricey regardless of if you are getting a daily or an annual. Though I think $9 is kinda steep if you go a couple of times, the $45 annual pass seems waaay too high. (just my opinion). some of the steeper elevations can be a bit tricky to manuver especially if there has been recent rain
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice course for both beginners and old pros. Be cautious on some o f the slopes especially if its damp or muddy. Bring mosquito spray because those little buggers are blood thirsty! ;)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/29/2012   4/8/2012
Review By: otherguy14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: well maintained
pro and am tee's
brooms at most tee's
signs to next hole
Cons: pay course
bike trail through a few of the back 9 holes
Other Thoughts: hard to find the first time
may over shoot some holes as fairways can be confusing

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well Maintained

2-4    11/7/2011   11/7/2011
Review By: hooked312
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - The park staff keeps this course in pristine condition. The grass is cut nicely and the paths are taken care of.
- Great use of the elevation and woods. Some very unique holes both up and down some steep hills.
- Nice tee pads. And some holes have both pro and am tees.
- For the most part good signage at each tee.
- Benches at almost every tee pad and also brooms at every tee pad to clean off any debris.
Cons: - While sometimes funny, there is too much graffiti on tee signs and benches.
- Most of the time there are signs pointing you in the right direction, but on a few holes they are missing.

***Cost of admission, but luckily this time of year no one was manning the gate!
Other Thoughts: This course is a beautiful disc course over a nicely maintained park with lots of elevation and fun holes. It also is nicely flowing, so you can usually get a round in about an hour without too much traffic.
If you are in the Ypsilanti/Ann Arbor area this is a must stop on the tour!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rolling Hills 18 hole disc golf course.

5+    6/28/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: esdubya
Played: 93  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 18.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Well maintained, this course is easy on the eyes, especially the first 6 holes
-Never too crowded, gate fee keeps casuals away
-Challenging and diverse course design
-18 holes with long and short pads on most holes, The long tees are much more difficult
-Running water and flush toilets
-Friendly and knowledgeable locals
Cons:
-Teepads can get sandy
-A few pads had a big drop off the front, ie. washed out
-Not many drives where you can air it out
-Expensive for non-residents
Other Thoughts: I would consider Rolling Hills my home course. I really like it and I think it offers everything you would need in a disc golf course. This is also the first course in the Ann Arbor / Ypsi area, even older than Hudson Mills. It has aged well.

Intangibles
-Mushroom growth is unique and interesting
-Mountain Bike trail is great

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.