Ypsilanti, MI 
Rolling Hills County Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
5 / 323ft.   5 / 323ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Very nice

1    6/20/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: PerfectPair
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained,Very clean very little trash found tossed about..Good signs pointing in direction of baskets and next tees. Unique use of elevation at many tees. Very beautiful park. Easy to make a day full of activities here with the water park, geocaches, letter boxes, trails, playgrounds, etc :)
Cons: Cost of admission for non-washtenaw county residents can be pricey regardless of if you are getting a daily or an annual. Though I think $9 is kinda steep if you go a couple of times, the $45 annual pass seems waaay too high. (just my opinion). some of the steeper elevations can be a bit tricky to manuver especially if there has been recent rain
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice course for both beginners and old pros. Be cautious on some o f the slopes especially if its damp or muddy. Bring mosquito spray because those little buggers are blood thirsty! ;)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/29/2012   4/8/2012
Review By: otherguy14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: well maintained
pro and am tee's
brooms at most tee's
signs to next hole
Cons: pay course
bike trail through a few of the back 9 holes
Other Thoughts: hard to find the first time
may over shoot some holes as fairways can be confusing

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course I've Played

5+    3/17/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: Robocision
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Cement tee pads. Beautiful course. All within a dense woods. Well manicured. Elevation changes. Just a breathtaking course.
Cons: Park entrance fee.
Other Thoughts: This is the best course I've ever played. It is the standard by which I judge every other course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well Maintained

2-4    11/7/2011   11/7/2011
Review By: hooked312
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - The park staff keeps this course in pristine condition. The grass is cut nicely and the paths are taken care of.
- Great use of the elevation and woods. Some very unique holes both up and down some steep hills.
- Nice tee pads. And some holes have both pro and am tees.
- For the most part good signage at each tee.
- Benches at almost every tee pad and also brooms at every tee pad to clean off any debris.
Cons: - While sometimes funny, there is too much graffiti on tee signs and benches.
- Most of the time there are signs pointing you in the right direction, but on a few holes they are missing.

***Cost of admission, but luckily this time of year no one was manning the gate!
Other Thoughts: This course is a beautiful disc course over a nicely maintained park with lots of elevation and fun holes. It also is nicely flowing, so you can usually get a round in about an hour without too much traffic.
If you are in the Ypsilanti/Ann Arbor area this is a must stop on the tour!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rolling Hills 18 hole disc golf course.

5+    6/28/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: esdubya
Played: 95  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 19.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Well maintained, this course is easy on the eyes, especially the first 6 holes
-Never too crowded, gate fee keeps casuals away
-Challenging and diverse course design
-18 holes with long and short pads on most holes, The long tees are much more difficult
-Running water and flush toilets
-Friendly and knowledgeable locals
Cons:
-Teepads can get sandy
-A few pads had a big drop off the front, ie. washed out
-Not many drives where you can air it out
-Expensive for non-residents
Other Thoughts: I would consider Rolling Hills my home course. I really like it and I think it offers everything you would need in a disc golf course. This is also the first course in the Ann Arbor / Ypsi area, even older than Hudson Mills. It has aged well.

Intangibles
-Mushroom growth is unique and interesting
-Mountain Bike trail is great

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty and Wooded

1    6/2/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Rolling Hills is a very aptly named, beautiful and mostly wooded, 18 hole course located in Ypsilanti Michigan. The course shares the park with lots of other amenities such as a water park and playgrounds.

This course plays mostly through some secluded woods with a few holes that open up a little. Even with numerous holes that have trees scattered in the fairway, there are multiple distinct lines available.

The design of this course is very well balanced offering a wide variety of shots (FH, BH OH etc..). To shoot low rounds a golfer will need to be proficient in all types of throws. There is a very nice variety in the hole lengths (although nothing over 400') and the available elevation was used to full advantage. There are some significant uphill and downhill holes with plenty of minor elevation in between. The course has a very natural flow to it that is easy to follow.

The tees, tee signs and baskets were all in good condition. There are two tees on 11 of the holes. There are also next tee signs on wooden posts that make navigating the course pretty easy.

The course was in immaculate shape, with trashcans available. Honestly there were not even stray sticks in the fairway when I played. I was super impressed.

The rough is pretty thick but definitely manageable compared to other courses I have played in Michigan.

There is a building near the parking lot that has water and bathrooms available.

A nice practice basket on the way to Hole #1's Tee.
Cons: This course is really missing an "air it out" hole. Usually even shorter courses have one long hole where you really need to pull a big drive to get it there.

The $9 entry fee for out of county residents is a bit much.

Of the 7 holes with only one tee, instead of combing them as red/blue together they made them white tees. The first one I came across I looked for 10 minutes for the blue tee but couldn't find it. Just adds a little confusion, nothing major.

The mosquitoes on this course were about as bad as I have ever come across (the size of small birds of prey). It has been a rainy spring so they were out in force and my Deep Woods Off did not faze them in the least. Giant, mutant, DEET resistant skeeters…….
Other Thoughts: Really, a very fun course that is well put together and maintained. I prefer wooded courses so this was right up my alley. I will say that if I go back I will make sure I play some other nearby courses on the same day to try and get some more value out of the Washtenaw County cover charge.

I had two favorite holes. The first was #1, which is perfect introduction to the course. 313' on a gentle anny down a very picturesque tree lined fairway. The second was number 15. This hole is a dramatic decline in elevation, 289', turning a little leftwith a fallen tree about halfway down. You can get a putter there but it needs to hold the right line.

This course is a great addition to the great collection of courses in the Ann Arbor/Ypsilanti area.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Pure Michigan!

5+    6/26/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Woodsy and technical with elevation that's used very effectively. Tree lined fairways (many dotted with a few more sprinkled in for good measure) require you to find and execute a line in order to score well. Course is aptly named, with many elevation changes ranging from subtle to very dramatic. Features several picturesque holes and visually impressive drop offs that are very inviting to throw, along with some distance robbing uphill grades. Well balanced mix of lines will have you using every shot in your arsenal, and thinking about your plan of attack. Challenging enough for experienced players without being intimidating to beginners. Wonderful disc play on a well-designed course.
• Flows naturally from basket to next tee, only had trouble in one spot (went to 16 after 9, had to back track to find 10).
• Concrete pads are fine and baskets were a non-issue. Distance only tee markers are simple but in good condition:
11 blues for long
11 reds for short
7 whites on holes with a single tee pad.
• Rough isn't too bad for the most part (but can be thick in spots). Risk of disc loss is relatively low for a course of this caliber.
• Very effectively isolated from other park activities. Park was clean and well maintained and absolutely bustling with other activity when we played, but course was completely secluded… hardly saw anyone during our round.
• Tons of shade makes playing here on hot days a lot easier.
• Update: Dubs league has added brooms to sweep tees at many holes - either they didn't quite have enough for all 18 holes, or someone's already swiped a few of them, but they are present on most holes.
Cons: $9/car for out-of-county residents! At that price, they ought to include lunch or at least someone to sweep tee pads.
• Dual pads on 11 of the 18 hole are pretty much same line give ot take 75-130 ft.
• Fine when I played, but with all the elevation and so many bare patches in the wooded sections, I can totally see how the course would be a mess after a good rain, if not downright treacherous to get good footing on.
• If well wooded, technical courses aren't your idea of good discing, stay away - frustration is simply a matter of time. Just cause your drive looks OK doesn't means you're out of the woods (literally). Most holes offer opportunities to hit trees all along the fairway.
• No real "air it out holes," virtually every tee shot requires control.
Other Thoughts: If I had to select one course that typifies Michigan disc golf, this would be it. Great design, terrain, and setting combine to create the quintessential Michigan discing experience. Course has aged beautifully and is solid in every aspect - no glaring deficiencies.

Bring friends to help out with the entry fee and play Rolling Hills the same day as Independence Lake to stretch your park pass and you've got one helluva nice day of DG.

Tons of quality DG variety make the Ann Arbor/Ypsi area a great destination: Hudson Mills, Rolling Hills, Ponds of Lakeshore, and Red Hawk at Independence Lake each have distinct personalities, and offer unique challenges depending on your personal strengths and weaknesses. Each of them is well designed, clean, a complete joy to play, and completely different from the others. For a shorter technical challenge, try nearby Mary Beth Doyle park - not up to the standards the others set, but not a bad course unto itself.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ypsi's Disc Golf Claim to Fame

5+    11/24/2010   11/24/2010
Review By: AKormendi
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 16.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging. A lot of technical shots. Long tees often have very tight windows to start with, most all have interesting lines on them necessary to avoid trees.
-Scenic. Woods, flowers, nice mowed fairways, and more hills than most of the area.
-Well maintained. Not much trash, and trashcans everywhere. Good seating on course.
-Good signs, tees, and baskets. Distances everywhere, multiple tees on most holes. Most everywhere it's clear where to go. Easy to skip from hole 9 to 16, though.
-Elevation. It's there, and it's well used. Hills to chuck your discs off, and brutal uphill shots, one into a mess of trees.
-Clubhouse on site to fill up water and use bathrooms.
-Good flow. Every hole follows naturally, and course arranged to be playable as shorter rounds if pressed for time.
-Break out every shot in your bag, you'll need it for the million different ways to get in trouble.
-Roughs not too bad, most places lack serious thorns, poison ivy and growth. Not everywhere, though.
-Hole 15. Its just awesome. Off the top of a huge hill needing to go around trees at all kinds of angles.
Cons: -Prone to muddiness after it rains, watch your foot faults or you may skid in mud pits off the front end of teepads.
-Expensive for non-county residents. Well worth my $20 yearly pass, but $9 parking for non-Washtenaw residents. Still worth your money, but may price out some younger enthusiasts.
-Gets a little mosquito infested during that time of the year, but better than a lot of local courses during the troubled times. Bearable without bugspray at twilight, if you like slapping.
-A workout. More effort than you may like for your round, due to the hills and high probablility of hitting trees.
-Closes at sunset, so no night golf.
-No water hazards.
-Easy to skip holes at one point. Pay attention to basket numbers.
-Might be frustrating to newbies, a lot of opportunities to hit 10 trees in a single hole.
Other Thoughts: I am so glad I live near this course.
It was closed for some time this year to put in roundabouts, I guess to better handle the water park traffic. I missed it so much, it was like a girlfriend studying abroad for a semester. And it was only 6 weeks.

Anyway, this course has everything but mercy. Washtenaw County has a lot of good courses to play, but this is definitely in our top tier and not to be missed on a trip to this area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Unique and Technical Course

5+    8/25/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: Aceswild
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 23.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course contains a great mix of shots on a very well maintained course in Ypsilanti. The majority of shots off the tee are straight or lean right which may be a advantage to lefties or right-handed forehands. Hilly terrain is both very welcome and fairly unique in this part of Michigan. The water park nearby is a great place to chill out after a round. (extra cost)
Cons: Most of these cons are par for the course as they say in Michigan's outdoors. Bugs and poison ivy abound. The rough is very rough. Losing and/or finding discs should be expected on a typical round. Errant throws will be punished. There are a couple of dicey navigational moments for new players, but locals are generally helpful...and abundant. This course can be crowded during peak hours or league play. You play for free but admission to the park isn't free, but a yearly is only $20 and gets you into Independence Lakes courses as well. As a general warning, dogs are no longer allowed on the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is a perfect compliment to Ypsilanti's other great course across town at Lakeshore. Play them both in a day and you'll get to throw every disc in your bag.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Park

1    8/6/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: m1morri1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mixture of holes. Very technical at points but some nice open holes as well.
Cons: A little difficult to navigate because there are also nature trails through out the course. No maps just posts telling you distance and which direction to throw.
Other Thoughts: It is now $9/car if you are a non-resident. Wish I would have had more time to enjoy the pool area as well.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.