Ypsilanti, MI 
Rolling Hills County Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 210ft.   3 / 288ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Long Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
This place is a freakin' blast!!

1    3/31/2014   3/31/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- course plays through a portion of a large "metro-type" park. Many other amenities dot the landscape. a bike riding/access trail winds through the course so be on the look out. you do not throw over the trail (IIRC) but it's close to in play.

Teepads-- Excellent. large, level and in phenomenal repair. As has been said in other review, there are huge drop offs after the teepad that could really ruin your follow through.

Routing/nav-- super easy. we never ever felt like we could possibly get lost. plenty of next tee signs made it super easy.

Baskets-- Discraft in excellent repair with orange reflective tape on the necks.

Multiple teepads-- huge plus here. there are so many unique looks here that the multiple teepads help to accentuate.

elevation!!!!-- huge use of elevation here. huge plus in every single manner. It is rediculously refreshing to have this much elevation change on a course in this area.

Course amenities-- plenty of places to sit and rest between holes. it's a bit funny, you can tell which tee people throw from as they are the ones with the seats near them :)
Cons:
Teesigns-- accurate length description and an arrow pointing you where the fairway is but a map of the hole would be most excellent. a lot of scouting is needed on this course to find the pins.

Variety/Challenge-- it seems that a lot of the SE Michigan courses are left hand/forehand friendly with right fades... this is no exception. the holes (even the longs) are not that challenging. I think I ended +1 on my first round through.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course was a blast. Very refreshing. I totally should have played this course by now.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Really Nice

1    8/11/2013   1/21/2014
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Had multiple tee pads
- Pretty easy to navigate
- Had a lot of elevation change
- Lots of technical drives through woods and small fairways
- Need a lot of different shots to be successful
- Not always one clear way to play the hole
Cons: - One or two spots you might get lost
- Some blind shots
- Not always two tee pads
Other Thoughts: You have to pay to get into the park per car. Just ask at the desk where it is in the park. It gets a decent amount of traffic on it. Very nice overall and would play again if in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Challenging But Fun

1    7/20/2012   1/20/2014
Review By: EricAvery
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of up and downs so amazing variety. Some blind throws which drives me crazy and I love it. I have never played a course like this before it was tough!
Cons: Found it tough to navigate. Not from this area so I got lost.
Other Thoughts: Glad of all the courses I had to choose from that you folks have in east Michigan that I chose Rolling Hills. Ha only a short time available to play and I chose this one based on the rating it received and the positive comments. Did not disappoint. I did not mind the gate fee - it was worth it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Got to play here for the first time.

1    9/2/2013   9/10/2013
Review By: Trizzor
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fantastic use of Uphill and Downhill landscapes
Very well maintained
Rough/Brush is very tolerable
You get a good workout from the hiking
Trash / benches / brooms at most holes
Cons: $9 a car for non-resisdents, make sure you car pool!
Wish it had 3 tee pads like Independence.
No dogs here!
No holes to bomb a disc.
Other Thoughts: My first trip to Rolling Hills made me wish I had stopped by sooner, what a great course!

This is the best place to practice uphill and downhill shots, and even then it has great variety.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Rolling Hills

1    3/28/2013   3/28/2013
Review By: Jacobie2125
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Was easy to find each hole and was relatively clean. It has a variety of shots, some up hills, some down hills, some short windows for different lines, some long, and some short holes. The wildlife adds a great amount of character to this wonderful course.
Cons: It was muddy and some of the holes had very steep hills.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely recommend playing this course to anyone in the area.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great course

5+    7/12/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: Redmones12
Played: 67  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Just great course lots of work put in here just awesome the work they did to make this course top notch, great elevations great all around honestly one of my favorites around
Cons: Pricey park entrance fee $9 to get in outside of that favors side arm a bit

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wooded course, but not too tight

1    9/8/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: elrumpo
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - nice concrete tee pads
- well maintained park grounds
- very little trash, lots of cans to put it in
- brooms by the tee pads
- a lot of fun technical holes up and down hills, over rises, around slight bends
- Good mix of short and long wooded holes, but fairways are open enough to "miss" most of the trees
- bathrooms near the start of the course, also picnic grounds
- excellent signs leading the way through the course, there's no possibility of getting lost
- virtually no chance of losing a disc
Cons: - COST - $9 per day per car for a non resident. UGH
- lack of wide open holes (one or two open/long holes would really mix it up, and the sledding hill area provides that space!)
- need more dirt in front of tee pads...there is a good foot drop off a few of them, making for a risky run up
Other Thoughts: This course almost favors the forehand divers I think...a lot of slight turns made easy with a good forehand. I hit a lot of trees...but still got a good score (-10 on 18 my first time there). I think they kind of built in some "tree strokes" for you. :-)

All in all this is a nice park, an excellent course and well worth the visit. Because there are so many good courses nearby, it would be worth taking a weekend trip to the Ann Arbor/Dexter/Brighton area and playing several courses.

There is a waterpark here, lots of picnic areas, good bathrooms and a nice bike trail. I highly recommend this course, one of my personal favorites.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

1    7/29/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: MikelNovack
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Brooms at nearly every tee pad
Posts marked with distance to basket at each tee pad
Pro and Amateur tees
Good baskets
Great elevation changes
Easy to navigate (posts pointing out the way)
Cons: Kind of expensive for non resident compared to other parks.

First tee pad was kind of hard to find. Only found it due to a practice basket sitting out in the open.

No signs in the park directing you to the proper parking lot after the first main sign.
Other Thoughts: Loved the course, reminded me slightly of Hudson Mills Original course just slightly smaller. It's closer to my house than Hudson so that's a + for me.

Couple this course with Lakeshore and it makes a great Sunday afternoon.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tons of Fun

5+    7/13/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: BearClaw
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *concrete tees
*hole # and distance on tee signs
*multiple holes with multiple tees
*brooms on all the tees
*exceptionally well maintained
*trash cans on every hole emptied often during high traffic
*holes with long tees offer significantly more challenge and on a couple more elevation
*SUPERB use of elevation all over course
*very scenic wooded and open holes
*great hole variety
*signs for the next tee pad on any hole where its not obvious
*picnic tables and benches on the course
*indoor bathrooms
*on-site water park
Cons: *thorny in spots
*pay to enter park
*additional fee for water park
*even a crude hole map on the tee sign is better than none and this spectacular course deserves them
Other Thoughts: This course is so much fun I am so glad I've been fortunate enough to live near it since I began discing and had so many chances to play it. If you already have a year parking pass for Independence Lake then you can also play Rolling Hills for free, and seeing as being a pay to play course is just about the only thing besides adding hole maps on the tee signs they would need to change to get a 5 rating from me, you people should play this course ASAP. The day passes are also interchangeable with the ones from Independence lake on that day so if you have some time and just the day pass then playing both is fun and you only pay once.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 they aren't kidding

1    7/5/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: OpposableThumbs
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **The course design uses the natural elevation perfectly. For SE MI, the grades can be pretty 'extreme'.. it may be a bit strenuous for those who have some difficulty getting around in the woods, but to me it was a pleasure to walk and even more so to throw. I believe it was either holes #11-12 or #12-13 where you play up a roughly 50' hill on the first, then right back down the hill on the next hole, very satisfying.

**Upon walking up, a good number of the holes treat the player to that "wow" moment, which is not very common in even the best courses around here.

**Incredibly clean course. Lidded trash cans (most likely to keep animals/rain out) on what seemed like 99% of holes on both tees, Brooms on most tee pads are a nice touch.

**Good mix of distance/precision. Not many tunnel shots, but densely wooded enough to get you thinking one shot ahead of yourself and picking the best lines possible.

**Tall signage indicating next hole location, really hard to stray off track here.

Cons: **For non-county residents, the $9 park admission is too much. I would like to think they set the price so high because Rolling Hills Waterpark is what really brings the non-county folk in, but would prefer to see that cost reflected in the (completely separate from park admission) Waterpark admission fee. They counter the cost of admission by making DG free to play, but unless you have a couple buddies with you, you pay a dollar / 2 holes.

**Course map on the scorecard was initially a bit difficult to navigate, but became virtually unnecessary once on the course, just know that the lonely practice basket on the right side of the parking lot is basically the gateway to Hole #1.

**The only thing missing design wise is a real bomber of a hole, there are opportunities to air it out from the tee pads here and there, but nothing where you have to launch two stupid long drives to make par, could be a personal taste thing, but a con to me nonetheless.



Other Thoughts: **Only 18 holes. I know, I know, ONLY?? 18 holes is plenty, a full course indeed, especially with two tee pads on most holes.. I just feel like with the space available on the park grounds, and the fact that the course has been open for like 26 years, they might have thought about expansion at some point. Not a big deal, but I would like to see 24 holes out here at some point :D

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.