Parma, OH 
Tri C West DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #2 (Taken 5/2012)
-- / --   4 / 591ft.   4 / 591ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The Answer is Always 'Distance'

2-4    9/3/2014   9/6/2014
Review By: ZeroZilla
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.4 Years
Pros: - Wide open fairways with reasonable options on every hole.
- Easily accessible
- Well kept grounds (it's a college, after all)
- Relaxing course design
Cons: - Serious length required on every hole.
- Motor vehicle traffic RIGHT NEXT TO fairway...
- Very straight-forward layout
- Natural dirt tees
- Hand-drawn hole maps on posts...
Other Thoughts: Tri-C West's is not a bad course, by any means, but, frankly, it's not that interesting. Yes, you'll have to rely on the hand-drawn maps. Often, the hole is not in view (or barely in view) from the tee. OTOH, those maps are pretty accurate...

This shouldn't indicate challenging 'leap of faith shots'. Each hole follows the same pattern: Here's the basket. Here is/are the one or two obstacles that prevent you from going straight at it. See what we did there? Rinse and repeat.

I just don't find that kind of obvious hole design compelling. Also, the distance on some of these holes is silly. Especially for the beginner.

3-CPO

1    8/16/2014   8/18/2014
Review By: Derek B
Played: 98  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Length, if you have a big arm
2) Some decent scenery on the back 9
3) No traffic on the course
4) Highlight hole: 16
Cons: 1) Signage is lacking/inadequate.
2) No concrete tees
3) Very few obstacles to get around
4) Length, if you don't have a big arm
5) Navigation
6) Design is boring on the front 9 especially
7) Hole 5
Other Thoughts: I so wanted to give this course a 2/5 when I was on the front 9. First off, I couldn't find the 1st tee even using the course map. When I finally did find it, it turned out that it was the long tee and I couldn't find the short tee. In fact, I didn't see a short tee for any hole; yet, the DGCR description swears that there are short tees here. Second, once I resigned myself to shooting from the long tees, the signs don't have any map or picture or distance on them....just a hole number. Yes, there are permanent marker maps on the sign posts, but come on.... Third, the land is flat, open and boring. Fourth, the hole design is boring (goes hand in hand with the land availability I suppose). Fifth, no concrete tees. Not a big deal on a dry sunny day, but I definitely wouldn't shoot here after a rain. Sixth, whoever thought of the design for hole 5 is out of their mind. I do not recommend shooting this from the long tee if you can find the short tee. I lost my disc on my upshot in a bunch of cabbage on the right and searched for an eternity.

All I can say is thank God for the back 9. What looked like a complete disaster had a little turn around on the second half. A few more trees. Some cool holes up by the building. Hole 16 is sweet. Good design and great view. Also, there were a few holes on the back that you could actually reach to get within birdie range which is nice. I didn't get even 1 birdie, but at least I had a couple of opportunities (albeit long ones) on the back 9.

By the time I got through hole 18 my feelings changed about this course. I would give it a 2.75/5, but there's no quarter points so I'll give it a 2.5 I guess. If they get concrete tees in, better signage, and get the short tees marked, I would give it a 3. I would not recommend traveling just to play this course as I did. If you travel to play it, combine it with another course...maybe Parma DGC. I hear good things about that one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One long throw after the next

1    1/20/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: crazyeyes1052
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Awesome course for just airing it out... if your arm can handle it.
-Well kept course on a college campus
Cons: -Playing during a thaw period and it was difficult to actually make it from hole to hole trekking through the mud
-While fun to air it out, there was not a whole lot of variety
-I think the biggest flaw with this course is that I had no idea where to start and where to go once I eventually found the first hole. I'm sure that this isn't an issue if you've played the course a couple times, but frustrating as someone who travels and only gets to play a course once.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good, Getting Better

5+    5/16/2013   5/17/2013
Review By: erocker
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
Pros: There are benches near many of the holes. Unless you are playing holes 4-10 there are numerous bathrooms located just a throw away in the Tri-C building. One thing which Tri-C just installed on holes 1 and 10 which I think is awesome is boxes with a course map/scorecard in them. While this course is by no means hard to navigate, the map does help in a few spots, especially in the walk from the front nine to the back nine. Another great feature of this course is that it loops all the way around the building and back to where you began. There is a nice practise basket located just behind the first hole by the parking lot. The baskets themselves are in great shape and easy to spot. This is important since several of these holes are 500+ feet in length. The long tees are marked with very nice wooden posts, with blue paint and white numbers at the top of each.
Cons: This course gets rather muddy from February through early May, which does make it a challenge to play without boots. Also depending on what time you are playing you will need to look out for students, as several holes cross over walkways. (#1,2,14,15,16,17,18) Since Tri-C west and this course is very open, you will often have to deal with a lot of wind. Unfortunately most of the time I have noticed it is blowing across holes instead of with them. Hole #4 is precariously near to a school road, which is heavily traveled. Just beware, especially if you are throwing RHBH that your disc stays out of the busy road. Also the short tees positions are not marked, making it very difficult to play these. The new score cards, while they are very nice, do not yet have hole distances or even pars on them as of yet, which is very important. As well I would love if Tri-C installed concrete tee pads, hopefully this is coming in the near future!
Other Thoughts: Since I am a student at this school, I know that parking is now free thanks to the fact that they built in the parking fee to the school fees. As far as I know now this fee covers visitor parking too, which is nice for you disc golfers. Just beware that this is viable to change as well. If you want to double check, visit the parking meter at the front of every parking lot. If it is covered, then parking is free. Otherwise you may need to pay a dollar or so to ensure you don't get a ticket (which is only $10 as well). This course is gradually improving. It is still very open, which is great for all of you strong armed players and for people working on their drives. The pars are all generally tough, and holes #3 and #11, #14 are the only real ace runs. I have played here for the last two years and have personally watched the course get better. Look for it to continue to improve in the future!
Favorite holes are #3 and #15

Good use of Land..

1    9/18/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: AwesomeArtie
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is alot of room to Throw, and practice your Distance Drivers! Alot of parking. Little wooded area/trees.
Cons: Alot of walking/distance between holes, not labelled well, alot of guessing involved.
Other Thoughts: Nice to Air Out your throws, would be alot better if they added better markers, and concrete tee's.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tri-C Full 18

1    9/10/2012   9/12/2012
Review By: jasonorzel
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of trees as obstacles
Some fairly long, open holes, good for the power throwers
Very nice up-keep since its located on a college "campus"
Hole locations well marked with numbered wooden posts
Cons: The pars given on this site, in my opinion, are too difficult. When i play this course with friends we use an altered par rating that i gave it based on distances and difficulty of holes. (which i have provided in my "other thoughts")
Also, the short tees that some holes are said to have are not very well marked
Other Thoughts: Most of the hole posts have been drawn on with a sharpie to diagram where the basket for each hole is located
The pars i have given the course are:
1- 4
2- 5
3- 4
4- 4
5- 5
6- 4
7- 4
8- 5
9- 5
10- 4
11- 3
12- 3
13- 4
14- 4
15- 4
16- 4
17- 4
18- 4

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Deceivingly long 9 holes

2-4    6/12/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 41  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Plenty of parking
- There are other things like soccer and baseball fields but I'm unsure if the college allows people to use them
- Tees are marked by very nice poles labeled with the hole number!
- The course map is very accurate and helpful
- Multiple tees but the short tees where not yet defined
- Natural tees are in good shape
- The course sheds water well and dries quickly
- New baskets in excellent condition
- I've only played this course during a tournament on the weekend and by myself on Sundays and this course is really not busy at all. Great place to go to get in a relaxing few throws and enjoy a mellow Sunday.
- Very clean course with great upkeep. I don't recall seeing trashcans but I know they are there someplace if needed.
- Even though most of this course is open, Holes #3, 4, 5, 6, 8 & 9 will have you going under or around obstacles to get to the basket. You may want to take extra precaution around the light poles at Holes #8 & 9. All of these different obstacles may make you plan your shots differently the first few times you play the course and maybe try riskier throws to get to the basket.
- According to the map as of 08/25/11 the blue tees are over 4200'. That is Amazing for a 9 hole course!
Cons: - Most of the course has a very open and flat landscape
- You may not want to use this course during any peak hours. I only try to play here on the weekends. Don't want to hit a professor with an errant drive ::wink::
- The flow is ... hmm. Hole #1 starts at the Northwest corner near the parking lot and Hole #9 ends about 200' from the parking lot which is nice. Note that you can more easily access this course starting at Hole #7. The tee for #7 is right by the parking lot and Hole #6 ends right next to the parking lot. The overall flow is a by sporadic at times with a few long walks in between holes, especially from Hole #3 to #4 and Hole #5 to #6. But I can see how someone that knows more than I might be able to easily add 9 more holes and really fill in the gaps. I realize that this takes a lot of money but as of now the flow is more of a Con than a Pro. This could easily change in the future.
- Due to the flow, the course would be tricky to navigate without a map for your first time. Could use some more next tee markers
Other Thoughts: - #9 could be a bit dangerous. This hole crosses sidewalks and has a parking lot to the left and a building to the right. I won't list this as a con because the available land was used well. Just use some extra caution here.
- Even though you don't need an arsenal of different shots to play this course there are a few holes that mix it up some. Most notably is Hole #4 which flows through a tight gap, down a small hill and around a corner to a very blind basket. Very fun hole and it is also the most challenging on the course.
- My favorite hole is #3. I like the tee placement on this hole. There is a gap that you can hit between two trees using a comfortable RHBH hyzer. The basket on this hole is just in a fantastic spot and it really adds a bit of difficulty as it is up close, behind and kind of in between two pine trees. Land your drive in front or just inside the pine trees and you may have a stroke added to your score.
- This course by itself is not a course that you would want to travel far to get to, but it is an excellent addition to the area. Especially when you combine it with the heavily wooded Parma DGC @ Veterans' Memorial Park which is close by. I'd like to give a HUGE thanks to everyone that worked so hard to get this course together. I know that there are more plans for this course in the future and I will be sure to get out there and play it and update this review. The course has good potential. With 18 holes and concrete tees this would easily be pushing a 4 out 5 star course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ah, that new course smell!

2-4    6/30/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: Conect11
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Urban disc golfing right on a good looking college campus
Great course for a round during the day while my kids are in school
Surprising variety of obstacles given the wide - open nature of most of the course
Easy to spot tee posts
Bring your arm, some holes are quite lengthy
Huge course footprint with plans to expand to 18 holes coming soon
Plenty of parking and nearby amenities
Brand new baskets
Long and short tees
Campus is well maintained
Course had lots of disc golfers checking it out
Cons: Hard to list cons since this is a course in development, and I anticipate that many of these following issues will be rectified as the course is fleshed out. Still, a review is a review:
No onsite course map. The Google Maps course map available on this site is CRUCIAL
Some tees are pretty far from the previous basket. This is where that Google Map comes in handy, as there is sometimes no apparent next tee. The example that sticks in my head is 3 to the tee for 4.
Some holes throw over walking paths. (hole nine comes to mind) This is on a busy college campus. Be prepared to wait. And wait. And wait.
This isn't really a con, more of an etiquette suggestion: This is a college campus with tons of people who may have never heard of disc golf. (that's good!) Campus police may not quite understand if you're rooting around inside a bush looking for your lost Innova Boss. (Like we were; found it two days later right at the edge of the bush, which tells me there hasn't been a ton of disc golf traffic yet, lol)
While there is some water, none of the holes really play close enough to make it a factor
Other Thoughts: Just got back from playing the new Tri - C West campus course in Parma. Big difference from the VMP course down the road. While VMP is for the most part tight and technical, much of this course challenges you to bring your arm, and invites you to turn it to spaghetti, as four of the nine holes (2, 4, 5, 7) top out over 400 feet, and one (hole 5) is listed as either 999 or 859 feet depending on your source for the long tee. (Google Maps, or the hole info on this site.) Navigating the course can be tricky at times until it's completed. Park in the lot adjacent to the rec center; that's where you'll find hole one. The first three holes follow a fairly easy pattern, but the tee for hole four is a small hike past a hill and toward a sparse wooded area, toward West Pleasant Valley Road. One thing that would have been nice would have been a number on each basket, identifying it, however, as this course will be getting new baskets to bring it up to 18 soon and can see why the designer(s) wouldn't want to tie the holes down yet. The open layout of the course is quite advantageous if you find yourself playing a late game, as we did. Despite the fact that it was 10PM and dark, we were able to finish our round. (thanks also to the campus lighting) Holes 8 and nine run along and over walking paths, so be wary of students / faculty / bystanders walking through the course. The two games we've played so far were in the evening on a Thursday, then on a Saturday afternoon on fourth of July weekend. I cannot imagine how hectic and busy this area would be on a day that classes are in session. Hole 8 is behind the the Health Sciences building, while 9 is behind the recreation center, then it's another hike to the parking lot.
Don't let the 2 I gave this course fool you. This thing has lots of potential, and will be a very fun course when completed. One of the things I thought was unique is that instead of having hills or trees or lakes in much of the scenery, there were campus buildings. Kind of added something cool to the experience, definately a nice urban feel that contrasts well against the deep forest ambiance of VMP. As most of the course is dominated by open fields a lot of wind can whip through with the slightest breeze. My two games this week were night and day due to the amount of wind. FYI: While most of the course is wide open, hole 4 does contain some high grass and bramble to both the left and the right of the fairway. End up in either and you might be searching for a few minutes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Tri C west new course

5+    6/11/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: karriedendler
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: course is spanned pretty open around a college campus with plenty of room and few obstacles/woods/water to get in your way, yet the baskets are postioned in ways where there is some shrubbery to overcome. Has a lot of potential, lots of room to expand, long and short tees (although there are no tee pads yet there are boards that are posted with numbers of the baskets from the long tees and orange flags for the shorts)
Cons: Very long course due to the fact that this was planned to originally and eventually be an 18 basket course hopefully wiith the help of Tri C for funding and Thanks to Jim Humphrey and the PDGC for donating the nine baskets that are in place now. This means there are some long walks between basket and next tee at times.
Other Thoughts: Am excited to have a disc golf course right up the street from where I live and on the campus of the college I attend. Huge Potential and lots of room. Need some more cooperation from the college itself. This course is also very close to Parma Veterans Memorial Park Disc Golf Course off of State Rd and would complement it well considering I think they are like night and day as far as different types of courses. The more disc golf courses the better right. Disc On

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.