Knoxville, TN 
Tommy Schumpert Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #3 (Taken 4/2013)
4 / 375ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Red Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
great course

1    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: vizi25
Played: 60  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: amazing tee pads
great baskets
technical course
all veriation of shots
arrows every where for next hole
great tee signs
Cons: back nine not complete yet:(
more people need to play and rate course
best one in Knoxville and underrated
Other Thoughts: this course is actually 18 holes if you play longs second time around and they are all dif shots and way harder on longs. this course will be a top 25 in country when finished my guess 19 or 20 I will play this course again next year and hope it will be finished and I can rate higher.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Masterpiece in Progress

1    1/21/2013   1/22/2013
Review By: Toro71
Played: 57  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As of my round, the front nine has nice new yellow discatchers, tee pads, good tee signs and next tee arrows. The back nine is still temp/dirt tees and tone poles.


Stuff: Kiosk near #1 with detailed course map. Pretty nice concrete pavers tee pads. Great tee signs, good "next tee" arrows in red and blue. Benches on every few holes.
My buddy and I played the front nine from the blue tees twice...baskets all in long positions I believe. Heavy rain/snow previous days, so it was wet, but all the tees were high and dry, and most of the course/transitions seem to drain well, a few spots aside.

Variety: The front nine 2-8 is tight, tight, tight and tree rich...but didn't really feel that repetitive. The use of routing, elevation, and basket location breaks the front side up enough that it's not just straight plinko with all the trees. 1, 9, and at least 10 (we wlaked over to it but didn't play it) are all open bombs. So lookng ahead to the full 18, looks like a lot of shots will be required.

Challenge: This is like a Charlotte course. Long and tight, demanding disciplined lines from hand to ground. Trees left throughout fairways and on some 'common' lines. I should've thrown more putters off the tee. Difficult basket locations. New course-brutal rough. The front nine will be all about making smart choices and locating shots well, rather than simply ripping a driver through a single tight gap. I tried drivers too much off these tees, and paid a HEAVY price.

Caliber: the front nine in the layout we played was par 36. We didn't play the back nine, with natural pads, since the snow had just melted and it was sloppy, but it looks like the idea here is a par 72ish championship level course.
Cons: -The City of Knoxville needs to hurry up and get these guys what they need to finish this course. I wanted the back nine to be done, bad.

-Not beginner/Rec friendly. The 7 wooded holes on the front 9 can be no fun, especially for intermediate and less players. I suspect (hope) that as the course sets in, the designer(s) will consider removing a few more trees from the "fair"ways. I don't mind position golf in the woods, but the current blue layout is too tight to allow much risk/reward, except for truly advanced players, like high 900s advanced. For me, though I tried some heroics, it would've been smarter to throw like 80% putter shots. In some cases a very good shot, hitting the line and avoiding the line-snuffing trees, will still punish you with a landing area full of the trees felled for the design, etc. Again, I feel like a lot of this will be remedied as the course gets 'finished,' and by me facing reality and playing the red tees.

-I don't know that this is a true "con" for me, but the first time through, most of the front nine really needed to be reconned pre-shot, even though the tee signs were pretty well done. If you've never played this one, do yourself the favor and recon your shots, since the lines and basket locations are brutal.

-Really the only other ding from me is that the back 9 isn't done. This course gets a provisional 3.0 from me now, but it has all the makings of a 4.5-5er once it's all finished.
Other Thoughts: I visit the Knoxville area fairly regularly, and like the "bigger" courses, like Groves Park, Victor Ashe, and we like to play Roane County as well. I can get around all three of these in around 5-7 over par. Schumpert is already MUCH more challenging; I shot a 100 playing the front 9 twice long/long, @ par 72, so 28 over par. Schumpert is no joke. It will be the twinkle in Knoxville's DG eye once done and "seasoned," and a true Gold level course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice!

1    9/18/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: Hornberger
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My first time playing the course. Beautiful virgin forest makes for an wonderful scenic round. From earlier feedback, the baskets and signage are new. Dual, marked tee pads are fantastic for intermediate and advanced skill levels. Signage on the pads can guide you through the hole and let you know where the next tee pads are. Elevation changes and tight fairways will make the holes very challenging to the beginner. I'm looking forward to the next nine holes being added. Will be the star course in Knoxville!
Cons: For a first timer, outside of remembering the map at the tee pad, holes 2 - 8 were somewhat tough to follow, especially where to go next. I found myself walking forward to gain an understanding of the line of the next shot or to see what pin placement (A or B) I was working with.
Other Thoughts: Avoid the brush on "9" to the right (long tee pad) and the water on the left as the hole turns. There is a lot of reward for being able to hit a straight, tight line with a driver or beefy mid-range.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Knoxville's only Woods Course & Best Tone Poles Ever

1    6/18/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A mostly 9-hole technical woods course with some elevation- a welcome addition to Knoxville's disc golf courses as this city did not have a course in this style up until now.

It starts and ends with open hole, with holes 2-8 in the woods. The open holes are the easiest, but do have some tall grass to contend with, plus the baskets are still tucked in the woods. The wooded holes are what you would expect- clear fairways with trees to avoid and lines to hit. Elevation adds a nice challenge and contributes most of the variety from hole to hole.

Pretty easy to navigate without any signage- good paths already worn in.
There are 2 tees per hole- a long and a short, but the longs are also at more difficult angles. There are also 2 targets per hole- a basket and a tone pole. The baskets are short/normal, where the tone poles are longer for more challenge, and are a great challenge as they almost turn each hole into a par 4 instead of 3, not because of major length added, but because the tone pole is beyond the basket at an odd angle or a curved path that may not be a realistic flight path from the tee.

*I need to commend whoever came up with the tone poles! I prefer a basket, but if I had to have poles, these would be it. They are made from emptied old fire extinguishers turned upside down and slipped over a 4x4. They are a great size, easy to see, and make an unmistakable bell-ringing sound when hit by a disc. These are simple and effective and a terrific idea!)

Also, after reading some older reviews and conditions updates it appears that a lot of work is constantly being done to improve this course.
Cons: Any new woods course is going to need some time to break it in. When I played it was lacking signs- tee signs and next tee signs, but I would assume these will soon be installed if not done so already. (signs had no effect on my rating.) But until then it could be confusing to play without the help of a map or a local, however, it is not impossible either.

The 7 wooded holes are a little repetitive and all blended together in my mind as they all play through what appears to be man-made fairways versus natural paths. They all generally have the same width, and the tree density is all the same.
Other Thoughts: #1 starts beyond the short wood fence past the kiosk- which was actually being built during our round. We headed towards a small sign on the edge of the woods (it actually was a course map), then followed a path in the woods, found a hole, and luckily had some locals playing that told us it was hole 4. Not sure why there is a map by a path that leads to hole 1, but maybe it was a temp thing.

Looks like there is room and plans for 9 more holes- so this has the potential to be a solid 18 hole woods course, and again is a welcome addition to the Knoxville disc golf scene, as the other two 18-hole courses in town are very different in style - Victor Ashe is mostly wide open and Morningside is park style.

I rated this based on hole design and setting, and did not factor in the roughness due the newness and the lack of signage which I am sure is coming. Overall, this is a good course to play, especially if you like the wooded kind. There is nothing super special about it, but it does have the potential to improve, primarily through the addition of 9 more holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/6/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: Equigley
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has good potential and there are plans of it getting a full 18 in the future which is awesome. The woods create narrow fairways which really require skilful shots but add to the fun.
Cons: The course is very poorly marked and I got lost trying too look for hole two and ended up at hole 5 instead. It was very confusing figuring out what tee boxes were for which hole.
Other Thoughts: The course has a lot of potential and is still under construction so many of it's flaws are expected for now. I would like to see the course better marked and it would make it much more enjoyable.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great potential

2-4    6/16/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: doctorgrainger
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Playability:
2 tees and 2 possible pin placements
Great use of terrain for the holes 6,7,& 8
I like how hole 1 & 9 have a non-mow zone to make it feel out of bounds.

Hole 9 having the hidden swamp/pond toward The end is a nice challenge.

Upkeep:
New signage and kiosk area.
Course has been kept clean.

Cons: More of a pet peeve. It can be a little confusing where the approiate tees are for hole 2 & 6.
Wish signs showed which placement is used.
Other Thoughts: I personally can not wait till all 18 are done. For the current moment it is my favorite 9 hole course. I recommend this course for a challenging technical course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Good Technical Course

1    4/19/2012   4/19/2012
Review By: somedudeintn
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was a fun wooded course. There is a short and long tee on each hole which was nice. The course was also not crowded at all. Even though it is wooded, the brush, etc. was not too thick. Our group of 4 did not have to spend any time looking for lost discs.
Cons: The course is not clearly marked. It is recommended that a map of the course is printed out prior to playing.

This is a wooded course and is very technical so that can be a con if you are looking to make some power throws. Throws from the Long tees could result in a lost disc.
Other Thoughts: Fun course that is very different from Victor Ashe (Where we usually play) VA is a good open course where distance drives play a good part, but Tommy Schumpert will be another great course for us to play and work on our Mid-Short game.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 How Hard Would You Like It?

2-4    4/6/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
(Mostly) a technician's dream/nightmare/laboratory.
Cons:
Multitudes of disc re-directing trees, coupled with thick undergrowth, combined with some holes requiring blind turns and/or up-n-over rises, i.e., even on an accurate throw, your disc will often disappear from sight, equate to high chance of disc loss. Even the open holes, 1&9, and thick/high grasses, and number-9 also had a mini-wetlands blind from the tee - do NOT go left too early (R.I.P., Champ Valk). Spotter(s) highly recommended.
Other Thoughts:
The day I played, basket-1 was in the long position, and the remaining baskets were in the short position. For this review, I played from both the short and long tees to the baskets, not the tones, so essentially played short-to-short and long-to-short.

The course plays primarily within the thick woods residing on a gently sloping piece of land. While numbers 1&9 are open in their near entirety (woods left, but straight and right wide open), all other holes play completely within the trees,

Numbers 2-5 are shorter, on average, than 6-8. These latter three holes, especially long-to-long, will quite legitimately be par 4/5s. By contrast, every short-to-short hole was reachable by my typical 275'~300' throw, some not even needing that much distance.

While numbers 2-5 offer some elevation changes, usually one dimensional (i.e. steadily/lightly downslope #3), the changes are more extreme, and varied, on 6-8 - more rollercoaster-like.

Numbers 2-5 are much tighter than 6-8, and could use some trimming. While I was able to discern, and sometimes successfully execute, throws from the short tee on 2-5, from the long tee, it was more like "Huh? Hit that window, hold that line, then hit that secondary window, then hold that secondary line, all on a single throw? While 6-8 are by no means open, the trees are more scattered, so missing the optimum flightpath may still find a secondary one that isn't horrid. Not so on 2-5 - hit the tight line, or pay the price.

This course definitely has a left-turner bias, According to the map, playing to the long positions will add some right-turn balance, but the course will still be left-turn oriented.

Navigation: After entering the park, turn left, and head for the back left parking lot. Dog park will be to the right, away in the distance and slightly right you may notice basket-9, and long tee-1 is in the middle of the open space, somewhat left. Short tee-1 is to the left, in the open but bordering the woods i tne corner. The tone and basket are not very far apart, straight ahead, barely in the woods.

Until/unless teesigns and directional signs are added to the course, the map is an absolute essential for navigating the course. The map is quite accurate, except for one detail - short tee-6 is next to long tee-3. When playing 3L/6S, use the tee to the left.

Whether or not the overall tightness of this course is merely quite challenging, or too extreme, would be an interesting debate for the technical gurus. Once this course has teesigns, some directional signs and performs some trimming, primarily on the early holes, I can imagine this course serving as a multi-level technical training ground - although disc search-and-rescue will probably always be a common occurrence.

While my rating for this course is "average", that is more about the cons balancing the pros - this course is anything but "typical".

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Trees and Heavy Brush

1    4/6/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: maynes35
Played: 25  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Really nice baskets in great shape on each hole. They don't have the second set of baskets in the long positions but it's not a big deal.
-Nice paver concrete tee pads, two sets on each hole. The baskets and pads are really great.
Cons: I'm not a fan of Tommy Shumpert and probably won't be back for a while. I think the course was intended to be "technical" and some holes are, but it's not technical when the fairway is 15 feet wide and littered with random trees. I'd say half the holes are more luck than skill.
- no signage at all
- no indication of where the next tee is
- there was a lot of wet areas and running water, so it was really wet but it wasn't actual creeks, just mush, and hadn't rained that day
- no real idea on how far a tee shot was (I guess that's back to no signage)
- Best of luck if you catch a tree and go off the "fairway" because it is the thickest brush around with lots of briars. I've done a lot of maneuvering on disc golf courses to locate discs and some of this was impassable.
Other Thoughts: I'm a fairly good player, not a pro, but pretty decent. I shoot around par on Victor Ashe, Groves and other surrounding courses so hopefully that gives you an idea of how to take my review.
If you are going out to play it, head toward the dog park and look left. There's an open field. #1 is on the left hand side tree line, best of luck from there. Also another huge note on #9 down around 300 feet along the trees there is a marshy swampy area that you'll want to avoid. Keep that in mind on your tee off because you can't see it from the long tee box. If playing as a group, I'd suggest a spotter on tee shots. That'll save a lot of time. I think my reviews are very fair, and I think this is a fair review. Maybe with a lot more work and some time to get worn in, this course will be more fun and better to play. If you are a beginner please don't play this or your career will probably be short. I'd suggest anyone looking for a course in the area find your way to Victor Ashe, Morningside, out to Groves, or probably even Admiral.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tree Magnets Beware!

5+    3/11/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: curveball4
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *2 very nice paver teepads on every hole
*1 basket & 1 tone pole on every hole (basket in long on #1, tone pole short. Opposite on other 8 holes)
*Holes 1 & 9 are somewhat open but the rest are heavily wooded, very technical
*Birdies are possible on about every hole from the short tees if you can hit a line
*Long tees are hard to duece unless you have a nice arm & can hit tight lines, some holes will probably be true par 4 when all is said & done
*Mostly shaded in the summer
Cons: *No trash cans, be ready to pack out whatever you bring in
*No signs
*The rough in the summer can be bad, very thick & full of briars- machete or Husqvarna recommended
*Bug central in the summer, couple gallons of DEET recommended
Other Thoughts: In time this will be an awesome course, just needs more time to be groomed & the fairways trampled a bit more. I was serious about the bugs, DO NOT forget the bug spray or you may be carried off & never heard from again. Navigation will be tough if you're a first timer & don't have a local with you. They have dug the holes for tees signs but don't know how long before they are in. If you get upset & frustrated becaues you hit alot of trees, stay away, do not enter, don't try it. Save yourself some heartache & go to Victor Ashe.
With that being said, I think it can be a fun course. Especially in a group where you get to make fun of other people's shots along with your own. There are actually decent scoring opportunities but I usually make enough 4s & 5s from the long tees to balance out! There is a nice dog park next door & multiple soccer/football fields. The park itself is usually alway clean, never hardly any trash laying around. If you're in the area I would recommend Schumpert, everybody needs to be humbled every now & again!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.