Knoxville, TN 
Tommy Schumpert Park Share
Uploaded By: Bjangsta Hole #13
-- / --   4 / 516ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Blue Tee Sign



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Watch out for that tree!

1    4/15/2016   4/15/2016
Review By: NAWWWLEDGE
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 4/18/2016
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You can tell whoever thought up these holes has an eye for good course design. There's an even variety of forehand and backhand shots or holes that favor left handed throws and holes that favor right handed throws - however you want to look at it. There's an even mix of uphill and downhill holes. Dogleg lefts followed by dogleg rights. You can tell the designer put a great deal of thought into making sure no one would get bored with having to throw the same shot over and over here.

There's essentially a par3 and par4 option on every hole. The front nine has a short pad and long pad, while the back nine has a short pin and long pin, again adding to this demand for players to bring every shot in their bag to the course.

Every hole offers challenge, usually in the form of trees as it's a wooded course, but on the select few open holes there is some tall grass which can play as rough or OB.

Discatcher baskets that are relatively new and in great shape.

Stone teepads are level and economical and do their job well.

Drinking water fountain.

The course has good flow - there's no 5 minute walks from a basket to the next teepad.

There's an open and relatively flat space between the first tee and last basket that makes for a good driving range so you don't have to get in the way of other people playing by unloading your entire bag on a hole.
Cons: Getting punished after a good throw is a regular thing here. On the par 3s the lines are a little more defined and the luck factor isn't as prevalent but the par 4s are another beast. Some of them I argue are simply unplayable. And by that, I mean you could play the hole 10 times and still not see a line that isn't riddled with trees. Essentially, you just have to hope that when you do hit a tree, it stays in the "fairway".

It's a lot of poke and hope, and you'll hear that from a lot of people who play there.

In the winter the water fountain is turned off so make sure to bring your own fluids.

Not so much of a con as a warning and this may be obvious to some but there is wildlife out there so be aware. Check for ticks throughout your rounds and after you're finished. There are copperheads in East Tennessee. They don't go out of their way to harm people and in fact do the opposite so if you avoid running, you'll give them enough time to get away from you before you come in contact with one.
Other Thoughts: From the short pads on the front and to the short pins on the back, with a few exceptions, the course plays smoothly while still being a challenging wooded course. Again, some of the lines are tight but they're there. You can thank the dedicated local volunteers for making the course what it is today with their work on maintaining and improving the fairways. People who've been playing Schumpert from the beginning know it has come a long way.

There seems to be a running theme with the course designer when it comes to wooded courses and it's that he likes for there to be adequate challenge by leaving in trees that most people think should be taken out. That's the nicest way I can put it.

Once again though, locals love this course and see its true potential and these guys are making much appreciated improvements on a regular basis. There's nowhere to go but up for Schumpert.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    2/27/2016   2/28/2016
Review By: kohldad
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Enjoyed the layout and variety of the course. Nice tee pads and baskets. Very clean with very little trash, probably because of a trash can at most tees for the first nine holes. Was easy to figure out the way to the next tee even if I did forget to remember the sign at the tee which did show the way.
Cons: First nine holes seemed to have only one basket, not two as in the description, though the back nine did have two baskets. Only the blue pads were all there but a number of the red pads either weren't there or I'm very blind, did find a couple that were only logs outlining the pad. Since I'm still a beginner, I wanted to play the shorter red so sometimes had to just guestimate. Only other negative is it is right next to the rifle range and some times the noise was pretty intense.
Other Thoughts: Visiting my daughter on the east side of town and was lucky enough to get a long enough break to play one course. This seemed like it was worth a visit and not too far from her house so choose it. Glad I did as I had fun and will be back.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

GREAT DGC!

1    1/16/2016   1/16/2016
Review By: Hippykamp
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Everyone has a type of course that they like. This one is the kind for me! A few holes in the fields but for the most part you are playing in the woods with tight lanes and basket placement on both the left and right of the pad. The first nine have two tee pads with one basket while the back nine have one tee pad with two baskets. Easy to follow course with nice tee pads and signage. Baskets are all good and all the holes are well thought out.
Cons: None really
Other Thoughts: In my opinion this is the best course in Knoxville bar none. I would play here even over the Claytons. Do yourself a favor and play this course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I'll go again

1    10/18/2015   11/28/2015
Review By: johngarcia79
Played: 35  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not many people in the way. The layout gives wooded technical play and wide open big shots. Has some opportunities to gain shots on the field with a few big wood shots. Plenty of room to mess up big or win big.
Cons: Some shots could be more dynamic and there is room to make some alternate pin locations that could make it really good. Also needs some signage. But that is understandable.
Other Thoughts: I look forward to playing this course a few more times. One of my favorites in the area. It's no slouch course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Must play!

5+    11/27/2015   11/27/2015
Review By: Jwolfe1982
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great tee pads, highly variable shots needed, and good mix of open and wooded holes.
Cons: May be tough to navigate if you aren't familiar. Be sure to snap a pic of the course map if you're playing for the first time.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely my favorite course in Knoxville. It has a great variety of shots needed with a good mix of open and wooded holes. Highly technical. Even on the holes that are open bombs, it still requires some placement on your disc. It seems as most of the reviews came from before it was complete. Definitely check this one out!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Up and Coming Course - lots of promise

1    1/31/2015   2/3/2015
Review By: TennDG
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7
Pros: Left-hand/ Right-hand side-arm friendly course

Well-kept front 9 with a challenging array of shots needed

Only wooded, technical course in Knoxville area comparable with Kiwannis in Morristown or The Sinks in Chattanooga.

Off the beaten path - not as much traffic as Victor Ashe. Nice course if you want some solitude to practice.
Cons: VERY hilly/wooded - course layout somewhat confusing if you are new to the course.

As other players have posted, undergrowth makes this course VERY easy to get lost/loose discs - best for Fall/Winter play.

Back 9 still in development and still use tone poles (should be complete with baskets in the next week)
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course that is quite challenging. If you are a Knoxville-area disc-golfer, It provides a nice break from Morningside or Victor Ashe. If you are from out of town and only have time for one or two courses, I would recommend Victor Ashe or Morningside instead, but if you want a challenge and have a little time to go off the beaten path, I would definitely recommend checking out Tommy Schumpert.

 great course

1    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: vizi25
Played: 73  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: amazing tee pads
great baskets
technical course
all veriation of shots
arrows every where for next hole
great tee signs
Cons: back nine not complete yet:(
more people need to play and rate course
best one in Knoxville and underrated
Other Thoughts: this course is actually 18 holes if you play longs second time around and they are all dif shots and way harder on longs. this course will be a top 25 in country when finished my guess 19 or 20 I will play this course again next year and hope it will be finished and I can rate higher.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Masterpiece in Progress

1    1/21/2013   1/22/2013
Review By: Toro71
Played: 67  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As of my round, the front nine has nice new yellow discatchers, tee pads, good tee signs and next tee arrows. The back nine is still temp/dirt tees and tone poles.


Stuff: Kiosk near #1 with detailed course map. Pretty nice concrete pavers tee pads. Great tee signs, good "next tee" arrows in red and blue. Benches on every few holes.
My buddy and I played the front nine from the blue tees twice...baskets all in long positions I believe. Heavy rain/snow previous days, so it was wet, but all the tees were high and dry, and most of the course/transitions seem to drain well, a few spots aside.

Variety: The front nine 2-8 is tight, tight, tight and tree rich...but didn't really feel that repetitive. The use of routing, elevation, and basket location breaks the front side up enough that it's not just straight plinko with all the trees. 1, 9, and at least 10 (we wlaked over to it but didn't play it) are all open bombs. So lookng ahead to the full 18, looks like a lot of shots will be required.

Challenge: This is like a Charlotte course. Long and tight, demanding disciplined lines from hand to ground. Trees left throughout fairways and on some 'common' lines. I should've thrown more putters off the tee. Difficult basket locations. New course-brutal rough. The front nine will be all about making smart choices and locating shots well, rather than simply ripping a driver through a single tight gap. I tried drivers too much off these tees, and paid a HEAVY price.

Caliber: the front nine in the layout we played was par 36. We didn't play the back nine, with natural pads, since the snow had just melted and it was sloppy, but it looks like the idea here is a par 72ish championship level course.
Cons: -The City of Knoxville needs to hurry up and get these guys what they need to finish this course. I wanted the back nine to be done, bad.

-Not beginner/Rec friendly. The 7 wooded holes on the front 9 can be no fun, especially for intermediate and less players. I suspect (hope) that as the course sets in, the designer(s) will consider removing a few more trees from the "fair"ways. I don't mind position golf in the woods, but the current blue layout is too tight to allow much risk/reward, except for truly advanced players, like high 900s advanced. For me, though I tried some heroics, it would've been smarter to throw like 80% putter shots. In some cases a very good shot, hitting the line and avoiding the line-snuffing trees, will still punish you with a landing area full of the trees felled for the design, etc. Again, I feel like a lot of this will be remedied as the course gets 'finished,' and by me facing reality and playing the red tees.

-I don't know that this is a true "con" for me, but the first time through, most of the front nine really needed to be reconned pre-shot, even though the tee signs were pretty well done. If you've never played this one, do yourself the favor and recon your shots, since the lines and basket locations are brutal.

-Really the only other ding from me is that the back 9 isn't done. This course gets a provisional 3.0 from me now, but it has all the makings of a 4.5-5er once it's all finished.
Other Thoughts: I visit the Knoxville area fairly regularly, and like the "bigger" courses, like Groves Park, Victor Ashe, and we like to play Roane County as well. I can get around all three of these in around 5-7 over par. Schumpert is already MUCH more challenging; I shot a 100 playing the front 9 twice long/long, @ par 72, so 28 over par. Schumpert is no joke. It will be the twinkle in Knoxville's DG eye once done and "seasoned," and a true Gold level course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice!

1    9/18/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: Hornberger
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My first time playing the course. Beautiful virgin forest makes for an wonderful scenic round. From earlier feedback, the baskets and signage are new. Dual, marked tee pads are fantastic for intermediate and advanced skill levels. Signage on the pads can guide you through the hole and let you know where the next tee pads are. Elevation changes and tight fairways will make the holes very challenging to the beginner. I'm looking forward to the next nine holes being added. Will be the star course in Knoxville!
Cons: For a first timer, outside of remembering the map at the tee pad, holes 2 - 8 were somewhat tough to follow, especially where to go next. I found myself walking forward to gain an understanding of the line of the next shot or to see what pin placement (A or B) I was working with.
Other Thoughts: Avoid the brush on "9" to the right (long tee pad) and the water on the left as the hole turns. There is a lot of reward for being able to hit a straight, tight line with a driver or beefy mid-range.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Knoxville's only Woods Course & Best Tone Poles Ever

1    6/18/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 260  Reviewed: 250  Exp: 19.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A mostly 9-hole technical woods course with some elevation- a welcome addition to Knoxville's disc golf courses as this city did not have a course in this style up until now.

It starts and ends with open hole, with holes 2-8 in the woods. The open holes are the easiest, but do have some tall grass to contend with, plus the baskets are still tucked in the woods. The wooded holes are what you would expect- clear fairways with trees to avoid and lines to hit. Elevation adds a nice challenge and contributes most of the variety from hole to hole.

Pretty easy to navigate without any signage- good paths already worn in.
There are 2 tees per hole- a long and a short, but the longs are also at more difficult angles. There are also 2 targets per hole- a basket and a tone pole. The baskets are short/normal, where the tone poles are longer for more challenge, and are a great challenge as they almost turn each hole into a par 4 instead of 3, not because of major length added, but because the tone pole is beyond the basket at an odd angle or a curved path that may not be a realistic flight path from the tee.

*I need to commend whoever came up with the tone poles! I prefer a basket, but if I had to have poles, these would be it. They are made from emptied old fire extinguishers turned upside down and slipped over a 4x4. They are a great size, easy to see, and make an unmistakable bell-ringing sound when hit by a disc. These are simple and effective and a terrific idea!)

Also, after reading some older reviews and conditions updates it appears that a lot of work is constantly being done to improve this course.
Cons: Any new woods course is going to need some time to break it in. When I played it was lacking signs- tee signs and next tee signs, but I would assume these will soon be installed if not done so already. (signs had no effect on my rating.) But until then it could be confusing to play without the help of a map or a local, however, it is not impossible either.

The 7 wooded holes are a little repetitive and all blended together in my mind as they all play through what appears to be man-made fairways versus natural paths. They all generally have the same width, and the tree density is all the same.
Other Thoughts: #1 starts beyond the short wood fence past the kiosk- which was actually being built during our round. We headed towards a small sign on the edge of the woods (it actually was a course map), then followed a path in the woods, found a hole, and luckily had some locals playing that told us it was hole 4. Not sure why there is a map by a path that leads to hole 1, but maybe it was a temp thing.

Looks like there is room and plans for 9 more holes- so this has the potential to be a solid 18 hole woods course, and again is a welcome addition to the Knoxville disc golf scene, as the other two 18-hole courses in town are very different in style - Victor Ashe is mostly wide open and Morningside is park style.

I rated this based on hole design and setting, and did not factor in the roughness due the newness and the lack of signage which I am sure is coming. Overall, this is a good course to play, especially if you like the wooded kind. There is nothing super special about it, but it does have the potential to improve, primarily through the addition of 9 more holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.