Knoxville, TN 
Tommy Schumpert Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #6 (Taken 4/2013)
4 / 333ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Red Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Masterpiece in Progress

1    1/21/2013   1/22/2013
Review By: Toro71
Played: 57  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As of my round, the front nine has nice new yellow discatchers, tee pads, good tee signs and next tee arrows. The back nine is still temp/dirt tees and tone poles.


Stuff: Kiosk near #1 with detailed course map. Pretty nice concrete pavers tee pads. Great tee signs, good "next tee" arrows in red and blue. Benches on every few holes.
My buddy and I played the front nine from the blue tees twice...baskets all in long positions I believe. Heavy rain/snow previous days, so it was wet, but all the tees were high and dry, and most of the course/transitions seem to drain well, a few spots aside.

Variety: The front nine 2-8 is tight, tight, tight and tree rich...but didn't really feel that repetitive. The use of routing, elevation, and basket location breaks the front side up enough that it's not just straight plinko with all the trees. 1, 9, and at least 10 (we wlaked over to it but didn't play it) are all open bombs. So lookng ahead to the full 18, looks like a lot of shots will be required.

Challenge: This is like a Charlotte course. Long and tight, demanding disciplined lines from hand to ground. Trees left throughout fairways and on some 'common' lines. I should've thrown more putters off the tee. Difficult basket locations. New course-brutal rough. The front nine will be all about making smart choices and locating shots well, rather than simply ripping a driver through a single tight gap. I tried drivers too much off these tees, and paid a HEAVY price.

Caliber: the front nine in the layout we played was par 36. We didn't play the back nine, with natural pads, since the snow had just melted and it was sloppy, but it looks like the idea here is a par 72ish championship level course.
Cons: -The City of Knoxville needs to hurry up and get these guys what they need to finish this course. I wanted the back nine to be done, bad.

-Not beginner/Rec friendly. The 7 wooded holes on the front 9 can be no fun, especially for intermediate and less players. I suspect (hope) that as the course sets in, the designer(s) will consider removing a few more trees from the "fair"ways. I don't mind position golf in the woods, but the current blue layout is too tight to allow much risk/reward, except for truly advanced players, like high 900s advanced. For me, though I tried some heroics, it would've been smarter to throw like 80% putter shots. In some cases a very good shot, hitting the line and avoiding the line-snuffing trees, will still punish you with a landing area full of the trees felled for the design, etc. Again, I feel like a lot of this will be remedied as the course gets 'finished,' and by me facing reality and playing the red tees.

-I don't know that this is a true "con" for me, but the first time through, most of the front nine really needed to be reconned pre-shot, even though the tee signs were pretty well done. If you've never played this one, do yourself the favor and recon your shots, since the lines and basket locations are brutal.

-Really the only other ding from me is that the back 9 isn't done. This course gets a provisional 3.0 from me now, but it has all the makings of a 4.5-5er once it's all finished.
Other Thoughts: I visit the Knoxville area fairly regularly, and like the "bigger" courses, like Groves Park, Victor Ashe, and we like to play Roane County as well. I can get around all three of these in around 5-7 over par. Schumpert is already MUCH more challenging; I shot a 100 playing the front 9 twice long/long, @ par 72, so 28 over par. Schumpert is no joke. It will be the twinkle in Knoxville's DG eye once done and "seasoned," and a true Gold level course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice!

1    9/18/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: Hornberger
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My first time playing the course. Beautiful virgin forest makes for an wonderful scenic round. From earlier feedback, the baskets and signage are new. Dual, marked tee pads are fantastic for intermediate and advanced skill levels. Signage on the pads can guide you through the hole and let you know where the next tee pads are. Elevation changes and tight fairways will make the holes very challenging to the beginner. I'm looking forward to the next nine holes being added. Will be the star course in Knoxville!
Cons: For a first timer, outside of remembering the map at the tee pad, holes 2 - 8 were somewhat tough to follow, especially where to go next. I found myself walking forward to gain an understanding of the line of the next shot or to see what pin placement (A or B) I was working with.
Other Thoughts: Avoid the brush on "9" to the right (long tee pad) and the water on the left as the hole turns. There is a lot of reward for being able to hit a straight, tight line with a driver or beefy mid-range.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tree Magnets Beware!

5+    3/11/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: curveball4
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *2 very nice paver teepads on every hole
*1 basket & 1 tone pole on every hole (basket in long on #1, tone pole short. Opposite on other 8 holes)
*Holes 1 & 9 are somewhat open but the rest are heavily wooded, very technical
*Birdies are possible on about every hole from the short tees if you can hit a line
*Long tees are hard to duece unless you have a nice arm & can hit tight lines, some holes will probably be true par 4 when all is said & done
*Mostly shaded in the summer
Cons: *No trash cans, be ready to pack out whatever you bring in
*No signs
*The rough in the summer can be bad, very thick & full of briars- machete or Husqvarna recommended
*Bug central in the summer, couple gallons of DEET recommended
Other Thoughts: In time this will be an awesome course, just needs more time to be groomed & the fairways trampled a bit more. I was serious about the bugs, DO NOT forget the bug spray or you may be carried off & never heard from again. Navigation will be tough if you're a first timer & don't have a local with you. They have dug the holes for tees signs but don't know how long before they are in. If you get upset & frustrated becaues you hit alot of trees, stay away, do not enter, don't try it. Save yourself some heartache & go to Victor Ashe.
With that being said, I think it can be a fun course. Especially in a group where you get to make fun of other people's shots along with your own. There are actually decent scoring opportunities but I usually make enough 4s & 5s from the long tees to balance out! There is a nice dog park next door & multiple soccer/football fields. The park itself is usually alway clean, never hardly any trash laying around. If you're in the area I would recommend Schumpert, everybody needs to be humbled every now & again!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Pinball...

2-4    11/19/2011   11/19/2011
Review By: kennedydm
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/18/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two nice paver stone tee boxes per hole.
Some Fun hole layouts. ( # 8 long is a fun shot from and elevated tee box)
Great neighborhood.
The course is new so the baskets are all in excellent condition.
Cons: Not enough hole variation, heavily wooded holes dominate the course. No individual hole signage or direction signs leading to the next hole. No trash cans on the course. The course is still new and needs some TLC on fairway clearings.
Other Thoughts: In my opinion this course has too many trees in the way. (its like trying to throw through a minefield). Some trees in the fairway are good but this course is a little overkill.

Overall this course is good, & when finished it could be great.

I would recommend this course especially when its finished.

Just to help those that havent been yet, hole #1 hugs the field edge to the left. The basket is just barely into the tree line. From the #1 far tee box you can see the #9 basket off to the right at the tree line.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Going to be a good course!

2-4    8/27/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: RichMeade
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome tiled brick teepads
2 pads per hole..
nice variation in shots needed, particularly for a 9 hole (right now) course.
Decent amount of risk/reward
Cons: brand new course, so the shule is deadly...
Lots of "ghost limbs" that will knock a disc down, and the navigation is a little iffy.

There are no signs for the teepads...tho experienced golfers should be able to find their way around the course... multiple tee pads can cause confusion....and the only real number markers on the holes appear to be red canisters marking the future alt basket positions

crazy amount of yellow Jackets, poison oak/ivy/sumac, and a plethora of thorns (some particularly long an pointy)...all in the fairway...

Hole 9 seems just like an afterthought...possibly because it's to be expanded to 18 holes... but as it is... it is a lack luster finish to a nice challenging round.
Other Thoughts: Shumpert was an interesting journey...
walking past the survey map (only course map) leads you to somewhere between holes 3 and 4...
The "map" says hole one is by the kiosk...(which hasn't been built yet)

but once you get on the right track.. Shumpert provided a fun and challenging round...
typical "new course" downsides of thick shule, and un-cleared fairways detracted from the immediate experience, but when it breaks in, and starts getting plenty of traffic (which it will once word gets out)...and they add tee signs...this will be the best course in the area...

Definite play if in the area.
Looking forward to coming back here next year to see how it develops!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.