Knoxville, TN 
Tommy Schumpert Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #6 (Taken 4/2013)
4 / 333ft.   5 / 581ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Red Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Watch out for that tree!

1    4/15/2016   4/15/2016
Review By: NAWWWLEDGE
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 4/18/2016
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You can tell whoever thought up these holes has an eye for good course design. There's an even variety of forehand and backhand shots or holes that favor left handed throws and holes that favor right handed throws - however you want to look at it. There's an even mix of uphill and downhill holes. Dogleg lefts followed by dogleg rights. You can tell the designer put a great deal of thought into making sure no one would get bored with having to throw the same shot over and over here.

There's essentially a par3 and par4 option on every hole. The front nine has a short pad and long pad, while the back nine has a short pin and long pin, again adding to this demand for players to bring every shot in their bag to the course.

Every hole offers challenge, usually in the form of trees as it's a wooded course, but on the select few open holes there is some tall grass which can play as rough or OB.

Discatcher baskets that are relatively new and in great shape.

Stone teepads are level and economical and do their job well.

Drinking water fountain.

The course has good flow - there's no 5 minute walks from a basket to the next teepad.

There's an open and relatively flat space between the first tee and last basket that makes for a good driving range so you don't have to get in the way of other people playing by unloading your entire bag on a hole.
Cons: Getting punished after a good throw is a regular thing here. On the par 3s the lines are a little more defined and the luck factor isn't as prevalent but the par 4s are another beast. Some of them I argue are simply unplayable. And by that, I mean you could play the hole 10 times and still not see a line that isn't riddled with trees. Essentially, you just have to hope that when you do hit a tree, it stays in the "fairway".

It's a lot of poke and hope, and you'll hear that from a lot of people who play there.

In the winter the water fountain is turned off so make sure to bring your own fluids.

Not so much of a con as a warning and this may be obvious to some but there is wildlife out there so be aware. Check for ticks throughout your rounds and after you're finished. There are copperheads in East Tennessee. They don't go out of their way to harm people and in fact do the opposite so if you avoid running, you'll give them enough time to get away from you before you come in contact with one.
Other Thoughts: From the short pads on the front and to the short pins on the back, with a few exceptions, the course plays smoothly while still being a challenging wooded course. Again, some of the lines are tight but they're there. You can thank the dedicated local volunteers for making the course what it is today with their work on maintaining and improving the fairways. People who've been playing Schumpert from the beginning know it has come a long way.

There seems to be a running theme with the course designer when it comes to wooded courses and it's that he likes for there to be adequate challenge by leaving in trees that most people think should be taken out. That's the nicest way I can put it.

Once again though, locals love this course and see its true potential and these guys are making much appreciated improvements on a regular basis. There's nowhere to go but up for Schumpert.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    2/27/2016   2/28/2016
Review By: kohldad
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Enjoyed the layout and variety of the course. Nice tee pads and baskets. Very clean with very little trash, probably because of a trash can at most tees for the first nine holes. Was easy to figure out the way to the next tee even if I did forget to remember the sign at the tee which did show the way.
Cons: First nine holes seemed to have only one basket, not two as in the description, though the back nine did have two baskets. Only the blue pads were all there but a number of the red pads either weren't there or I'm very blind, did find a couple that were only logs outlining the pad. Since I'm still a beginner, I wanted to play the shorter red so sometimes had to just guestimate. Only other negative is it is right next to the rifle range and some times the noise was pretty intense.
Other Thoughts: Visiting my daughter on the east side of town and was lucky enough to get a long enough break to play one course. This seemed like it was worth a visit and not too far from her house so choose it. Glad I did as I had fun and will be back.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I'll go again

1    10/18/2015   11/28/2015
Review By: johngarcia79
Played: 35  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not many people in the way. The layout gives wooded technical play and wide open big shots. Has some opportunities to gain shots on the field with a few big wood shots. Plenty of room to mess up big or win big.
Cons: Some shots could be more dynamic and there is room to make some alternate pin locations that could make it really good. Also needs some signage. But that is understandable.
Other Thoughts: I look forward to playing this course a few more times. One of my favorites in the area. It's no slouch course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 great course

1    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: vizi25
Played: 71  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: amazing tee pads
great baskets
technical course
all veriation of shots
arrows every where for next hole
great tee signs
Cons: back nine not complete yet:(
more people need to play and rate course
best one in Knoxville and underrated
Other Thoughts: this course is actually 18 holes if you play longs second time around and they are all dif shots and way harder on longs. this course will be a top 25 in country when finished my guess 19 or 20 I will play this course again next year and hope it will be finished and I can rate higher.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great potential

2-4    6/16/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: doctorgrainger
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Playability:
2 tees and 2 possible pin placements
Great use of terrain for the holes 6,7,& 8
I like how hole 1 & 9 have a non-mow zone to make it feel out of bounds.

Hole 9 having the hidden swamp/pond toward The end is a nice challenge.

Upkeep:
New signage and kiosk area.
Course has been kept clean.

Cons: More of a pet peeve. It can be a little confusing where the approiate tees are for hole 2 & 6.
Wish signs showed which placement is used.
Other Thoughts: I personally can not wait till all 18 are done. For the current moment it is my favorite 9 hole course. I recommend this course for a challenging technical course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.