Knoxville, TN 
Tommy Schumpert Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #8 (Taken 4/2013)
3 / 297ft.   4 / 447ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Red Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 

1    7/6/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: Equigley
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has good potential and there are plans of it getting a full 18 in the future which is awesome. The woods create narrow fairways which really require skilful shots but add to the fun.
Cons: The course is very poorly marked and I got lost trying too look for hole two and ended up at hole 5 instead. It was very confusing figuring out what tee boxes were for which hole.
Other Thoughts: The course has a lot of potential and is still under construction so many of it's flaws are expected for now. I would like to see the course better marked and it would make it much more enjoyable.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great potential

2-4    6/16/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: doctorgrainger
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Playability:
2 tees and 2 possible pin placements
Great use of terrain for the holes 6,7,& 8
I like how hole 1 & 9 have a non-mow zone to make it feel out of bounds.

Hole 9 having the hidden swamp/pond toward The end is a nice challenge.

Upkeep:
New signage and kiosk area.
Course has been kept clean.

Cons: More of a pet peeve. It can be a little confusing where the approiate tees are for hole 2 & 6.
Wish signs showed which placement is used.
Other Thoughts: I personally can not wait till all 18 are done. For the current moment it is my favorite 9 hole course. I recommend this course for a challenging technical course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Good Technical Course

1    4/19/2012   4/19/2012
Review By: somedudeintn
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was a fun wooded course. There is a short and long tee on each hole which was nice. The course was also not crowded at all. Even though it is wooded, the brush, etc. was not too thick. Our group of 4 did not have to spend any time looking for lost discs.
Cons: The course is not clearly marked. It is recommended that a map of the course is printed out prior to playing.

This is a wooded course and is very technical so that can be a con if you are looking to make some power throws. Throws from the Long tees could result in a lost disc.
Other Thoughts: Fun course that is very different from Victor Ashe (Where we usually play) VA is a good open course where distance drives play a good part, but Tommy Schumpert will be another great course for us to play and work on our Mid-Short game.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 How Hard Would You Like It?

2-4    4/6/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 421  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
(Mostly) a technician's dream/nightmare/laboratory.
Cons:
Multitudes of disc re-directing trees, coupled with thick undergrowth, combined with some holes requiring blind turns and/or up-n-over rises, i.e., even on an accurate throw, your disc will often disappear from sight, equate to high chance of disc loss. Even the open holes, 1&9, and thick/high grasses, and number-9 also had a mini-wetlands blind from the tee - do NOT go left too early (R.I.P., Champ Valk). Spotter(s) highly recommended.
Other Thoughts:
The day I played, basket-1 was in the long position, and the remaining baskets were in the short position. For this review, I played from both the short and long tees to the baskets, not the tones, so essentially played short-to-short and long-to-short.

The course plays primarily within the thick woods residing on a gently sloping piece of land. While numbers 1&9 are open in their near entirety (woods left, but straight and right wide open), all other holes play completely within the trees,

Numbers 2-5 are shorter, on average, than 6-8. These latter three holes, especially long-to-long, will quite legitimately be par 4/5s. By contrast, every short-to-short hole was reachable by my typical 275'~300' throw, some not even needing that much distance.

While numbers 2-5 offer some elevation changes, usually one dimensional (i.e. steadily/lightly downslope #3), the changes are more extreme, and varied, on 6-8 - more rollercoaster-like.

Numbers 2-5 are much tighter than 6-8, and could use some trimming. While I was able to discern, and sometimes successfully execute, throws from the short tee on 2-5, from the long tee, it was more like "Huh? Hit that window, hold that line, then hit that secondary window, then hold that secondary line, all on a single throw? While 6-8 are by no means open, the trees are more scattered, so missing the optimum flightpath may still find a secondary one that isn't horrid. Not so on 2-5 - hit the tight line, or pay the price.

This course definitely has a left-turner bias, According to the map, playing to the long positions will add some right-turn balance, but the course will still be left-turn oriented.

Navigation: After entering the park, turn left, and head for the back left parking lot. Dog park will be to the right, away in the distance and slightly right you may notice basket-9, and long tee-1 is in the middle of the open space, somewhat left. Short tee-1 is to the left, in the open but bordering the woods i tne corner. The tone and basket are not very far apart, straight ahead, barely in the woods.

Until/unless teesigns and directional signs are added to the course, the map is an absolute essential for navigating the course. The map is quite accurate, except for one detail - short tee-6 is next to long tee-3. When playing 3L/6S, use the tee to the left.

Whether or not the overall tightness of this course is merely quite challenging, or too extreme, would be an interesting debate for the technical gurus. Once this course has teesigns, some directional signs and performs some trimming, primarily on the early holes, I can imagine this course serving as a multi-level technical training ground - although disc search-and-rescue will probably always be a common occurrence.

While my rating for this course is "average", that is more about the cons balancing the pros - this course is anything but "typical".

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Trees and Heavy Brush

1    4/6/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: maynes35
Played: 25  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Really nice baskets in great shape on each hole. They don't have the second set of baskets in the long positions but it's not a big deal.
-Nice paver concrete tee pads, two sets on each hole. The baskets and pads are really great.
Cons: I'm not a fan of Tommy Shumpert and probably won't be back for a while. I think the course was intended to be "technical" and some holes are, but it's not technical when the fairway is 15 feet wide and littered with random trees. I'd say half the holes are more luck than skill.
- no signage at all
- no indication of where the next tee is
- there was a lot of wet areas and running water, so it was really wet but it wasn't actual creeks, just mush, and hadn't rained that day
- no real idea on how far a tee shot was (I guess that's back to no signage)
- Best of luck if you catch a tree and go off the "fairway" because it is the thickest brush around with lots of briars. I've done a lot of maneuvering on disc golf courses to locate discs and some of this was impassable.
Other Thoughts: I'm a fairly good player, not a pro, but pretty decent. I shoot around par on Victor Ashe, Groves and other surrounding courses so hopefully that gives you an idea of how to take my review.
If you are going out to play it, head toward the dog park and look left. There's an open field. #1 is on the left hand side tree line, best of luck from there. Also another huge note on #9 down around 300 feet along the trees there is a marshy swampy area that you'll want to avoid. Keep that in mind on your tee off because you can't see it from the long tee box. If playing as a group, I'd suggest a spotter on tee shots. That'll save a lot of time. I think my reviews are very fair, and I think this is a fair review. Maybe with a lot more work and some time to get worn in, this course will be more fun and better to play. If you are a beginner please don't play this or your career will probably be short. I'd suggest anyone looking for a course in the area find your way to Victor Ashe, Morningside, out to Groves, or probably even Admiral.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tree Magnets Beware!

5+    3/11/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: curveball4
Played: 34  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *2 very nice paver teepads on every hole
*1 basket & 1 tone pole on every hole (basket in long on #1, tone pole short. Opposite on other 8 holes)
*Holes 1 & 9 are somewhat open but the rest are heavily wooded, very technical
*Birdies are possible on about every hole from the short tees if you can hit a line
*Long tees are hard to duece unless you have a nice arm & can hit tight lines, some holes will probably be true par 4 when all is said & done
*Mostly shaded in the summer
Cons: *No trash cans, be ready to pack out whatever you bring in
*No signs
*The rough in the summer can be bad, very thick & full of briars- machete or Husqvarna recommended
*Bug central in the summer, couple gallons of DEET recommended
Other Thoughts: In time this will be an awesome course, just needs more time to be groomed & the fairways trampled a bit more. I was serious about the bugs, DO NOT forget the bug spray or you may be carried off & never heard from again. Navigation will be tough if you're a first timer & don't have a local with you. They have dug the holes for tees signs but don't know how long before they are in. If you get upset & frustrated becaues you hit alot of trees, stay away, do not enter, don't try it. Save yourself some heartache & go to Victor Ashe.
With that being said, I think it can be a fun course. Especially in a group where you get to make fun of other people's shots along with your own. There are actually decent scoring opportunities but I usually make enough 4s & 5s from the long tees to balance out! There is a nice dog park next door & multiple soccer/football fields. The park itself is usually alway clean, never hardly any trash laying around. If you're in the area I would recommend Schumpert, everybody needs to be humbled every now & again!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Pinball...

2-4    11/19/2011   11/19/2011
Review By: kennedydm
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/18/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two nice paver stone tee boxes per hole.
Some Fun hole layouts. ( # 8 long is a fun shot from and elevated tee box)
Great neighborhood.
The course is new so the baskets are all in excellent condition.
Cons: Not enough hole variation, heavily wooded holes dominate the course. No individual hole signage or direction signs leading to the next hole. No trash cans on the course. The course is still new and needs some TLC on fairway clearings.
Other Thoughts: In my opinion this course has too many trees in the way. (its like trying to throw through a minefield). Some trees in the fairway are good but this course is a little overkill.

Overall this course is good, & when finished it could be great.

I would recommend this course especially when its finished.

Just to help those that havent been yet, hole #1 hugs the field edge to the left. The basket is just barely into the tree line. From the #1 far tee box you can see the #9 basket off to the right at the tree line.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Going to be a good course!

2-4    8/27/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: RichMeade
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome tiled brick teepads
2 pads per hole..
nice variation in shots needed, particularly for a 9 hole (right now) course.
Decent amount of risk/reward
Cons: brand new course, so the shule is deadly...
Lots of "ghost limbs" that will knock a disc down, and the navigation is a little iffy.

There are no signs for the teepads...tho experienced golfers should be able to find their way around the course... multiple tee pads can cause confusion....and the only real number markers on the holes appear to be red canisters marking the future alt basket positions

crazy amount of yellow Jackets, poison oak/ivy/sumac, and a plethora of thorns (some particularly long an pointy)...all in the fairway...

Hole 9 seems just like an afterthought...possibly because it's to be expanded to 18 holes... but as it is... it is a lack luster finish to a nice challenging round.
Other Thoughts: Shumpert was an interesting journey...
walking past the survey map (only course map) leads you to somewhere between holes 3 and 4...
The "map" says hole one is by the kiosk...(which hasn't been built yet)

but once you get on the right track.. Shumpert provided a fun and challenging round...
typical "new course" downsides of thick shule, and un-cleared fairways detracted from the immediate experience, but when it breaks in, and starts getting plenty of traffic (which it will once word gets out)...and they add tee signs...this will be the best course in the area...

Definite play if in the area.
Looking forward to coming back here next year to see how it develops!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center