Murrieta, CA 
Mountain Pride Park Share
Uploaded By: vondog Hole #11 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 301ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Llllooovvvee this course!

5+    10/17/2015   10/23/2015
Review By: jakramer6
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Very technical course. Get to shoot across valleys. Lots of trees and brushes. I've been playing this course since before it was even 18 holes. Rattlers keep updating, adding/changing holes and new tee pads. Can't say enough how awesome of a job they are doing. Recommended to anybody going through that way. Totally worth the drive, luckily only 15 minutes away from my house. I hit the tees early since I have two youngens under 2 but they play doubles Saturdays and have tourney every 3 sat of month I believe. Finally have bag tags now as well. Benches have been added as well. Go play guys...good time
Cons: Rattlers set up on certain weekends would love a shop nearby to get some new plastic. Possibly a water fountain would be good add. Other than that not a lot of cons except if you haven't played course before lots of bushes so if you aren't experienced might be looking for your discs.
Other Thoughts: More people come play! Great course between all the great san diego courses and Wrightwood


5+    5/22/2015   5/22/2015
Review By: howlingwolfus
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not

- Upon arriving, you are treated with a nice view of the upper portion of the park. I love how the developers utilize the natural beauty of the ravine to work with holes from ONE; 1, 3, 4 to those on the back NINE;10, 12 15, and 16. The lower portion plays well into it's surroundings.

-Hole #1 is a great leeway to the course. I love how you need to either walk down stairs or the path at 1S; it just feels like walking down a very big entrance.

-the park club keeps it well kept and clean, getting rid of safety hazards such as brush and clearing paths.

-there is fabric next to the rubber tees just in case it rains. (smart idea)

-benches are littered throughout the park, serving as spots to rest for those who bode tired.

-NEW TEE on 11 is better than where it was. IMO, it keeps you in the same element of forest/ravine until your disc leaves the path into the field.

-There are a variety of shots and approaches, not limited to a strict lane like certain courses. The fairways are quite open except on holes 4, 7, and 9.

Not to far of a drive from my house, within range.

I am excited to have arrived at this moment in time at the park and am very excited to see the developments that will take place in the future.

The variety and community surrounding it is what makes this park a great addition for Southern California.

Cons: - complete beginners to the sport will have trouble on the course, but will have a great time nonetheless.

I know I might be beating a dead horse, but maybe a water fountain would be a nice addition?


Other Thoughts: maybe you guys should build a course in French Valley/Winchester ;)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond in the rough!

5+    4/9/2015   4/10/2015
Review By: RattlerWife
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The Course is maintained by the Murrieta Rattlers Disc Golf Club and they have done quite a job with it this past year. Multiple tee pads on 13 holes. Multiple pin placements. A great Map displayed off the parking lot. Take a photo with your smartphone or print the one here. Tee Posts at all 32 pads showing distance to pins. Small signs under most baskets to direct to next hole. A mix of concrete, rubber and carpet for tee pads. (a project for all new pads is underway) Excellent use of terrain designed into this layout. Elevation changes, raised pads, a good mix of hyzer and anhyzer shots. Mountain Pride will challenge even the seasoned pro! Convenient stairs down into canyon from 1 long.
Cons: Tee pads are a mix of materials and sometimes slick if wet. No water at the park! Bring plenty of water.
Other Thoughts: There are porta potties in the parking lot. Wear sturdy shoes as you will be hiking up and down dirt trails.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun course that could really use some polish

2-4    10/4/2014   10/5/2014
Review By: orchdork1986
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall I like the variety on this course. Disc golf, to me, is a technical sport. So I appreciate a course that challenges accuracy and provides a wide range of shots, angles and distances. Mountain Pride provides all of this.

The layout on this course is nice. The tee locations are thoughtfully placed so there's not a lot of hiking between holes yet not so close that you feel discs zinging by your head constantly.

The course is in Murrieta. That's the desert, folks! If I go to the Pacific Northwest I would expect tall trees. Desert courses are going to be hot and there's going to be thick brush/low bushes. I liked this terrain aspect but be prepared for some scratches on the legs.
Cons: While the actual play is fun I couldn't help but notice that the whole course could use some polish here and there. It's nothing overly serious that prevents you from having a good time but nice to have all the same.

Some areas that stood out to me:

-The tee pads left a lot to be desired. They alternated between concrete, rubber and carpet(??). Considering the size of this course and the amount it is played, this is a bit shoddy to me.

-Frequently tees (especially the long tees) required climbing up a concrete slab or a steep dirt hill. More than once I caught myself thinking that some stairs would have been nice.

-Only distances were written on the tee, no maps. Not all of the holes needed maps (the tee was easily spotted) but a few definitely did.
Other Thoughts: To me, the pros outweigh the cons for this course. The cons were really just issues that would have been "nice" to have. The actual disc golfing experience more than makes up for this, however.

Some side notes:

-This is not a beginner-friendly course. You should have a reasonable 200+ foot drive with reasonable control if you want to enjoy yourself here. Otherwise, expect a lot of trekking through brush.

-Bring water. Lots of water. And sunscreen. It was over 100 degrees when I was playing there and my understanding was that this is pretty typical for the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Mountain Pride Seems Like A Piece Meal Course!

1    4/2/2014   4/4/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mountain Pride Park is a fairly large park with an upper part mostly containing two softball fields and an open field. Then there is a lower section which is undeveloped and really quite dingy feeling. Much of the course plays through this lower area. The course seems like it was put together in pieces, one brick at a time. The baskets range from a brand new Innova model (#7) to older single chains. Same thing with the tee pads. Most are these half and half pads with carpet and a rubber vinyl on the other half. The rubber vinyl half was very slippery when just a little wet. There is no signage on the course. Once I figured out where to begin, I was able to navigate well enough. Having numbers on the tee pads and some of the baskets was helpful.
I wasn't too excited about the first six holes. Blind throws, the area is run down, dingy, crummy pads and baskets. Then I arrived at # 7 and went WOW! It's like someone won the lottery and built one first class nice hole here. It has a great elevated tee pad! Two routes to the basket, which by the way, is a NEW Innova model.

But then, I starting appreciating the next 7 or 8 holes as the elevation is used well to create some really fun and challenging holes. # 10 was a short , fun little ACE run. I liked # 11 throwing to the basket in giant truck tire. # 12 and 14 teeing off the upper plateau area. # 16 was a interesting throw from both the long and the short tees.
Cons: No signage.
Hard to figure out where to begin.
Riverbed area is just kind of dingy area where you might find a body or two.
Poor tee pads.
Mis-matched baskets.
Holes 17 and 18 were not well designed (could interfere with softball games)
The concrete retaining walls in the riverbed area were treacherous climbing up and down.
Other Thoughts: Mountain Pride was challenging enough. But I happened to play on a early morning following some a shower and the riverbed area was even gloomier and seemed scroungier than usual. I really enjoyed the holes 7-16 which used the elevation.
This is just a nice solid course, warts and all.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Pleasantly surprised

1    2/3/2014   2/3/2014
Review By: tu-f-o
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Almost every hole had an interesting look! Several downhill shots, lots of elevation change.
Challenging because the surrounding trees/bushes/etc really come into play and can affect your shot lines.
Some blind drives but not many.
Very nice mix of hyzer and anhyzer shots, not just a simple righty course, although if you don't have a strong forehand (RHBH), you probably would rather anny backhand on most holes. This is due to the distances of most holes, which is another positive. A good distance on most holes to test your golf lines.
Even the short holes are very challenging, some requiring a super straight shot.
Hills and rollaways are a danger in several spots, which adds to the fun.
Some baskets are also on hills/slants.
Some baskets are really tucked in deep woods, requiring precision shots.
We played the long tees, but it's cool that they have short tees.
Also there are multiple basket positions, I believe for each hole.
I went early, so not sure how windy it gets, but there's a hole near a freeway that gets windy.
The designers of this course really thought it out and used the surroundings well.
Every hole is fun and not a walk in the park.
If you don't have a pinpoint drive, look forward to throwing shots from weird angles and in thick surroundings, which adds to the challenge.
Port-a-potties at the entrance.
Nice neighborhood/park.
Very unique looking course.
Cons: The biggest con is the teepads. They are like, half carpet, and half metal. Both of which are SUPER SLIPPERY. It was barely wet too. You can easily hurt yourself here. I'd probably choose the carpet side of the tee, or not use the teepads at all...
Mostly dirt. If this course had grass it would look beautiful with the elevation.
No signs. The hole number seems to be written on only some of the teepads, and the paint on the baskets that supposedly points to the next hole are faded/gone.
Make sure to go with someone who's been here, or ask the locals, because you will not know where the next teepad is on several occasions.
The hills and ramps you have to climb/descend can be dangerous if you don't have the right footing/shoes (especially if your drive lands on a 45 degree ramp lol).
For me, easy to lose your discs in several holes, since I don't have a good eye for keeping track. Lots of thick shrubs, twigs, tall bushes.
There are about 2-3 holes that can intersect, so that can be dangerous or time consuming to wait, but when I went, there was barely anyone there (positive).
Some holes make you walk back and forth, so the flow is not flawless, but definitely not as bad as many other courses.

Other Thoughts: Go play here, you will like it.
It doesn't look great from these online pictures, or when you get to the park.
But once you take your drive on hole 1, the scenery/golf lines will keep getting more and more interesting.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Home track

5+    1/18/2014   1/18/2014
Review By: Wilson
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of elevations from pads to baskets.
Imaginitive design.
Long/short pads for most holes.
Challenging for all ability levels.
Holes vary from extremely wooded to wide open and just about everything in-between.
Murrieta Rattlers Club embraces the game, takes pride in the course, maintains a positive relationship with the city and hosts regular work days for course improvements.
Cons: Holes 13, 14 and 17 are the only holes with grass landing areas for drives. Not much can be done about that, though, the terrain is what it is. Lots of dirt and debris (mostly broken tree branches) on the arroyo holes.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth the drive to play and I'm grateful to have a great course close to home.
Beginners need to take advantage of the short pads and play from there.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Must play course in SoCal

5+    1/5/2014   1/6/2014
Review By: discnme
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The Murrieta course is not your typical green fairways and wide open shots. The course presents refreshing obstacles between you and your par score.

For advanced players, the course offers multiple levels of difficulty that include blind shots, unpredictable wind conditions, long basket positions, and technical shots. If you have played the courses in socal the course seems to be a mix of Brengle Terrace and Huntington Beach. The local club has added multiple pin positions so if you play the course a few times a month you will play different layouts often.

The course has a few holes where you can let loose and bomb your discs (a couple 400+ft and an almost 500ft). You'll almost certainly find yourself using your technical skill to layup or get out of the rough--which there is a good amount of.

If you live in SoCal and play disc golf you should be able to say you played Mountain Pride. Even better if you finish under par.
Cons: While it's a fun course for both beginners and advanced players - beginners can get caught off guard if they try to play from the long tee pads. Highly suggest starting from the short pads and getting used to the course layout and basket positions.

For those who are older and want something more level, this course could be hard on you. The course provides a hiking-like experience and you will go up and down a few times.
Other Thoughts: There is a map near the baseball field posted on the board for people new to the course. The worst thing you can do is start at the wrong pad and start throwing. You will lose a disc or two. This is the only complaint I've heard about the course and typically it's from people who don't know which pad to throw from. The course is a challenging one and if you don't have the arm to throw then start from the short pads and have fun!

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

rough around the edges

1    1/3/2014   1/3/2014
Review By: adazm
Played: 30  Reviewed: 29
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: obviously the best course in the general "vicinity".
decent distance, excellent elevation change, and a sufficient amount of variety.
having short and long tees is extremely helpful!
speaking of tee pads, they were all in great shape!
Cons: the place is still real rough around the edges. over time the fairways figure to become more clearly defined.
without having a map or a guide it is super challenging to figure out the layout.
the course looks to be in a flood zone. i wouldnt want to be anywhere near there if things were wet.

Other Thoughts: part of the amazing elevation changes involves concrete sidings (a la flood walls) that are INCREDIBLY steep and terribly slippery. my 5 and 7 year old kids have played dozens of courses across the nation, but this was the first time they ever literally had to slide down on their butts to safely get down from a basket.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/18/2013   12/19/2013
Review By: Cathers128
Played: 34  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2014
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -No crowd
-Alt tee pads on most hole
-New alt baskets
-Plenty of different kinds of shots
Cons: -Windy alot of the times up top but once down below winds not too bad
Other Thoughts: -Run by a great club with awesome members

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.