Murrieta, CA 
Mountain Pride Park Share
Uploaded By: vondog Hole #16 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 234ft.   3 / 234ft.   3 / 290ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Short Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun course that could really use some polish

2-4    10/4/2014   10/5/2014
Review By: orchdork1986
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall I like the variety on this course. Disc golf, to me, is a technical sport. So I appreciate a course that challenges accuracy and provides a wide range of shots, angles and distances. Mountain Pride provides all of this.

The layout on this course is nice. The tee locations are thoughtfully placed so there's not a lot of hiking between holes yet not so close that you feel discs zinging by your head constantly.

The course is in Murrieta. That's the desert, folks! If I go to the Pacific Northwest I would expect tall trees. Desert courses are going to be hot and there's going to be thick brush/low bushes. I liked this terrain aspect but be prepared for some scratches on the legs.
Cons: While the actual play is fun I couldn't help but notice that the whole course could use some polish here and there. It's nothing overly serious that prevents you from having a good time but nice to have all the same.

Some areas that stood out to me:

-The tee pads left a lot to be desired. They alternated between concrete, rubber and carpet(??). Considering the size of this course and the amount it is played, this is a bit shoddy to me.

-Frequently tees (especially the long tees) required climbing up a concrete slab or a steep dirt hill. More than once I caught myself thinking that some stairs would have been nice.

-Only distances were written on the tee, no maps. Not all of the holes needed maps (the tee was easily spotted) but a few definitely did.
Other Thoughts: To me, the pros outweigh the cons for this course. The cons were really just issues that would have been "nice" to have. The actual disc golfing experience more than makes up for this, however.

Some side notes:

-This is not a beginner-friendly course. You should have a reasonable 200+ foot drive with reasonable control if you want to enjoy yourself here. Otherwise, expect a lot of trekking through brush.

-Bring water. Lots of water. And sunscreen. It was over 100 degrees when I was playing there and my understanding was that this is pretty typical for the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pleasantly surprised

1    2/3/2014   2/3/2014
Review By: tu-f-o
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Almost every hole had an interesting look! Several downhill shots, lots of elevation change.
Challenging because the surrounding trees/bushes/etc really come into play and can affect your shot lines.
Some blind drives but not many.
Very nice mix of hyzer and anhyzer shots, not just a simple righty course, although if you don't have a strong forehand (RHBH), you probably would rather anny backhand on most holes. This is due to the distances of most holes, which is another positive. A good distance on most holes to test your golf lines.
Even the short holes are very challenging, some requiring a super straight shot.
Hills and rollaways are a danger in several spots, which adds to the fun.
Some baskets are also on hills/slants.
Some baskets are really tucked in deep woods, requiring precision shots.
We played the long tees, but it's cool that they have short tees.
Also there are multiple basket positions, I believe for each hole.
I went early, so not sure how windy it gets, but there's a hole near a freeway that gets windy.
The designers of this course really thought it out and used the surroundings well.
Every hole is fun and not a walk in the park.
If you don't have a pinpoint drive, look forward to throwing shots from weird angles and in thick surroundings, which adds to the challenge.
Port-a-potties at the entrance.
Nice neighborhood/park.
Very unique looking course.
Cons: The biggest con is the teepads. They are like, half carpet, and half metal. Both of which are SUPER SLIPPERY. It was barely wet too. You can easily hurt yourself here. I'd probably choose the carpet side of the tee, or not use the teepads at all...
Mostly dirt. If this course had grass it would look beautiful with the elevation.
No signs. The hole number seems to be written on only some of the teepads, and the paint on the baskets that supposedly points to the next hole are faded/gone.
Make sure to go with someone who's been here, or ask the locals, because you will not know where the next teepad is on several occasions.
The hills and ramps you have to climb/descend can be dangerous if you don't have the right footing/shoes (especially if your drive lands on a 45 degree ramp lol).
For me, easy to lose your discs in several holes, since I don't have a good eye for keeping track. Lots of thick shrubs, twigs, tall bushes.
There are about 2-3 holes that can intersect, so that can be dangerous or time consuming to wait, but when I went, there was barely anyone there (positive).
Some holes make you walk back and forth, so the flow is not flawless, but definitely not as bad as many other courses.

Other Thoughts: Go play here, you will like it.
It doesn't look great from these online pictures, or when you get to the park.
But once you take your drive on hole 1, the scenery/golf lines will keep getting more and more interesting.
Enjoy!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/18/2013   12/19/2013
Review By: Cathers128
Played: 34  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2014
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -No crowd
-Clean
-Alt tee pads on most hole
-New alt baskets
-Plenty of different kinds of shots
Cons: -Windy alot of the times up top but once down below winds not too bad
Other Thoughts: -Run by a great club with awesome members

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Take me to the river (bed)

5+    11/28/2012   12/12/2011
Review By: roncho222
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 11/29/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: With the recent changes to the course it has become much more of an experienced player course as opposed to a beginners course, however still fun for those just starting out. Challenging holes with both long and short tee pads. Much better set up to avoid use of space conflict with joggers, softball players, etc. Very challenging and much more technical. Overall a great course.
Cons: The current conditions create a probability of losing a disc. There is a ton of brush everywhere on the course and can make you pay for shots off the fairway. Lack of signage makes it difficult to navigate as of today's date. Improvements coming I am sure.
Other Thoughts: Local club donations of time and labor have made this course possible. It is off to a great start but still needs help. There are currently 13 baskets with room for five more easily. There is a multitude of other fun shots that can be attempted in a safari type of setting. You could easily play 36 holes and never play the same shot twice.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.