Murrieta, CA 
Mountain Pride Park Share
Uploaded By: vondog Hole #14 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 413ft.   3 / 413ft.   3 / 488ft.   3 / 488ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Short Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Home track

5+    1/18/2014   1/18/2014
Review By: Wilson
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of elevations from pads to baskets.
Imaginitive design.
Long/short pads for most holes.
Challenging for all ability levels.
Holes vary from extremely wooded to wide open and just about everything in-between.
Murrieta Rattlers Club embraces the game, takes pride in the course, maintains a positive relationship with the city and hosts regular work days for course improvements.
Cons: Holes 13, 14 and 17 are the only holes with grass landing areas for drives. Not much can be done about that, though, the terrain is what it is. Lots of dirt and debris (mostly broken tree branches) on the arroyo holes.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth the drive to play and I'm grateful to have a great course close to home.
Beginners need to take advantage of the short pads and play from there.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Mountain Pride

1    10/31/2013   11/2/2013
Review By: Spmurphy23
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very fun and challenging course! There are some straight forward baskets and some that are very difficult. Great variety of shots and I did not have to throw it overhand even once. Long and short, left and right. A lot of fun
Cons: There are some blind shots and you may end up in some serious bush. Easy to loose plastic. Use a spotter.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course

2-4    8/1/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: iriekiwi
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great variation of hole locations. Great variety of hyzer an hyzer and straight shots, tees as well, not too overgrown. Great for all skill levels and the course is well maintained. I gotta give it to the rattlers, they are doing a wonderful job with this course. Many improvements since the last time I plated there, especially the additional 9 holes. Love the varied tee boxes makes for a very interesting rounds.
Cons: no signage with distance and hole location. A little more walking but no biggie. Tee boxes are a little rough but I've heard that they will get new ones sometime soon.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    7/5/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: Forego
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Good Amount of Elevation changes which makes for interesting shots
- Long & Short Tees cater to pros and ams
Cons: - No Tee Signs or Hole Lengths
- Somewhat overgrown in areas making Long Tees pretty blind in some cases
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course. The elevation changes made for some really interesting shots. In some cases I did my best to judge the exact distance of trees or bushes in relationship to the pins but ultimately was wrong. This made the course feel a lot more technical than it looks and made for a really fun round.

I especially enjoyed the back nine.

Favorite Hole - Hole 12, Great long Hyzer shot over the valley.

Least Favorite Hole - Hole 4, Good Hole but I really couldn't see a great line without throwing a Hammer.

I will definitely be back.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Exciting addition to the IE

2-4    2/21/2013   3/1/2013
Review By: whiskeybeard
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Many holes offer difficultly shaped shots, the brush really grabs your disc and can lead to less than fortunate lies. The holes are good distances offering a few chances to air it out and pin locations require accurate shots to have a safe birdie attempt. Many blind holes on the first 9. Great use of elevation and land. I have been referring to it as the Brengle Terrace of the IE. Tee pads are carpet with a rubber strip on one side and can be slick.

Shorter tees provide an easier shot or shorter throwers while maintaining the difficulty of the hole. The locals were very friendly and helped guide us along. Very clean park with trashcans and benches in reach of most of the tees.
Cons: Difficult to follow for the first time with no tee signs. Because of the blind shots it would be really difficult to find the basket if it was your first time playing. Tee pads can be slick as the trees keep moisture down low, covering the carpeted tees. Back 9 has many crossing fairways, some that offer large potential of being dangerous.
Other Thoughts: We had a great time there. The club that runs it, Rattlers, have worked really hard to get this in and improve it to where it is now. Support them and the growth of difficult courses throughout the IE.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

100'/. better. unbelievable transformation.

2-4    1/30/2013   1/31/2013
Review By: adamtheviking5
Played: 75  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.2 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I played this park once a few months ago and had no intention of ever returning. then i saw the new review and went down too check it out. This is not the same course. its not even in the same part of the park as it was before. Its one of my new favorites. Challenging and entertaining. Reminds me of Shady oaks in Sacramento where I used to play often. Lots of trees and blind shots. Excellent layout with 2 pads for each hole. And there are 2 new holes so it's a full 18 now. Great locals pointed me in the right direction. Great course!!! And it'd free!!!
Cons: There aren't any signs but the pads are marked with the hole # and an S or an L for short/long positions. Also each basket has one of of the bottom spokes painted orange and it points to the next tee. Very simple and effective method. There is some thick brush and I lost a new Z force in it. Actually I abandoned it cause i was running out of daylight and i wanted to play the whole course. It was worth it.
Other Thoughts: Its amazing how much better the new layout is. I would say its the best course the inland empire has to offer.I played by myself and still had a great time. I'll be back as often as I can get away with.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in Murrieta

5+    6/14/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: natethegreat1976
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New layout is getting better everyday, thanks to the Rattlers DGC. Weekly doubles on Saturdays is great. The course has elevation, tight fairways down in the riverbed, wide open greens up top to air it out. Multiple tee pads at each hole. More baskets to come to complete the 18.
Cons: Its still a really new course so it still needs signs, concrete tee pads, brush clearing, and some benches. All this will come as the club raises funds.
Other Thoughts: Best course in the valley

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Almost there

5+    12/6/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: vondog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2013
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: New course is more natural with many trees and large bushes. Most of the course is now located in the wash channel running beside the park. Much longer and more difficult holes, with some of the shorter ones yield few birdies. Lots of shade. Players are rewarded for hitting fairways as dense vegetation guards or runs beside most of the holes.The city has provided a few new benches and trash cans for the course. The tee pads have been stenciled to indicate number and short/long.
Cons: No signage other than the course map on the info board. Some trash pockets left over from years of neglect. Some park user conflict is possible but usually easily resolved. There are possible fairway conflicts on several of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Signage is on the way as well as some concrete teepads in the improved park area. The new course layout is both fun and challenging. Although there are fairway conflicts most of these are either well protected or are shots that will be in view by players at all times. I have played several worse congestion points around the state and feel MP is on the safer side of this spectrum(ever see Sun Valley on tournament day?).

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.