Bay City, TX 
LeTulle Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: bushwacker Hole #9
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Love the wildlife

1    5/1/2013   5/1/2013
Review By: KimD
Played: 29  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.5 Years
Pros: * Lots of beautiful trees.
* Tons of wildlife.
* Nice mix of holes, technical and wide open.
* Clearly marked signs showing you your current hole, and where to find the next tee.
* Large spread out course, not cramped like many 18 hole courses.
* there are 2 maps of the course!
Cons: * Targets only have 1 set of chains and we had a couple of bounce outs because of it.
* It could be mowed more often - I had to pick the stickers out of my shoes several times!
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course, it's about 45 minutes from my house - and I'm willing to drive it to play even though there are 3 courses closer to me! It's a beautiful park, TONS of wildlife (ducks, geese, rabbits, bull frogs, turtles, etc.) Several ponds, volleyball court, horse shoes, and lots of picnic tables and trashcans. All Par 3's except for one Par 4, and there is a mix of possible ace's and technical throws through the trees.

 Letulle Park

1    5/27/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: DikkaD
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Only full course in the area. (Lake Texana has a course that plays backwards.)
Good use of park
Lots of shade
Not many other patrons walking through fairways.
Good signs and 2 maps. Entrance and Hole 1
Cons: Leaves little to imagination
3 "Field" Holes
Lots of straight shots
No defined teeboxes
Other Thoughts: This course has potential if tee boxes are added. Some holes leave you wondering where to throw from. It does seem that it was designed by some one who does not play as so many holes are dead straight. Many of these hole would benefit from simply moving the basket to the left or right. Also after hole twelve there are 6 consecutive short holes where only a putter is needed. I will definitely be playing this course again due to the limited availability in the area but will not suggest someone drive from say Houston simply to play it. If you are passing through Matagorda County this is would be a nice stop, however.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun...

1    12/28/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: gsuslikesme
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Tees are very well marked with signs that show the holes, and they were all accurate. There were many different types of holes. Nobody was there when we were there... Good use of the entire park. Relatively short course, you can play it in 40 minutes...
Cons: There is a par 4...I am very much against having par 4's...Especially when the par 4 is only 465 feet AND in an open field. Not necessary... As a matter of fact there were 3 or 4 holes that were completely open, no hazard, no tree, nothing...no imagination needed. I would have also like to see tee boxes of some sort.
Other Thoughts: We drove 40 miles to play this course, I will drive that again to play it when time allows. I am not saying that this is a destination course, but something about it was just fun...Most of the holes if not all are aceable. I actually hit the chains from the tee on 18...(so close). It seemed like all of the holes were 300 feet, and if that is a comfortable distance for you to throw then you are in for a fun day. I can imagine that during the warmer months you would need mosquito spray, so bring it...You do have to throw over water on a few holes and near water on a few more...HAVE FUN!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent 18 Hole Course

1    7/2/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: ChrisMacG
Played: 82  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful park with loads of great trees and a decent amount of elevation changes. Most of the holes aren't too difficult by today's standards. Some of them are pretty short and will offer seasoned disc golfers ample ace opportunities. A great beginners course located in a fantastic park.

The restroom at the ball golf club house is the single best disc golf course restroom I have ever found. The course gets a full star on my review just for the fantastic restrooms.
Cons: The baskets are all DISCatcher Sport baskets; a basket more suited to backyard practice instead of a full fledged 18 hole course. The single row of chains just doesn't catch as well as the full-on DISCatcher.

The tee boxes we could find are very small and not well marked. Most of the holes have a straight shot from the tee with only a handful offering any sort of line you'll have to follow.

The course could make better use of the pond and elevation changes. I get the feeling that there is potential for a much better course in this park.
Other Thoughts: This course is about as hard as Houston's Agness Moffit but in a much nicer park. The course could be improved with more thought put into the tee box locations. There just are not enough challenging holes for today's game of disc golf.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.