Hilton Head Island, SC 
Hover Links Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #7
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
#7 Fairway



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great "Beach" Course

5+    6/9/2016   6/9/2016
Review By: ojdash
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 6/21/2016
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pros: Fun!
-Baskets are in good repair.
-As of Summer of 2016 there has been a lot of brush cleared and the course is in better repair than in the past.
-Good mix of long and short holes, especially considering the amount of land.
-decently challenging mix of woods and open with OB near many holes.
-very few people (I have played this course every morning on vacation the last 3 years...I have seen other disc golfers maybe twice and no one using the other facilities (backstop or picnic tables)
Cons: Cons: As others have said, impossible without a course map (although not a con for me, i just used the map here, or you can pick one up in the church).
- almost all signage is missing (so if 2 teepads are next each other, you may not know which is which)
-Have to use approximate teepads in some locations to get proper footing.
- teepads are sand or grass
- some overhanging branches (18 is a pretty low ceiling)
-no elevation change
-I have never had this issue, but this course would not be playable with other people using the baseball field (there are no plates just a backstop) and would be difficult to play other groups playing in the park.
-BRING BUG SPRAY, the skeeters are out in force!
Other Thoughts: There are now 2 courses on the island and the Sarge within 30-40 minutes. The Sarge is a 4.5* course and this course is just a fun rec course. I am an intermediate player and I can get quite a few birdies on this course, though few are easy. There are several holes around 350-400 when you go over the open field. There is a good mix between wooded and open holes. This course is a spider layout, think safari, but it is fun to play. I have to play on *approximate* teepads on a lot of holes to get good footing (usually next to or in front of the existing ones). I don't understand all the terrible reviews. Yeah the teepads aren't great and you need a map but the holes themselves either have a lane to hit, a weird gap or lot's of distance. There are a few easy hyzers, but not enough to make the course boring. My dad and cousin came with me and both shot in the upper 60's...they are beginners but had a great time. This course is fun. There is never anyone using it during the week (I have seen 2 groups in last 3 years playing it daily on week long vacations). It's a great course to go play in the morning for an hour-hour and a half and then hit the beach all day. A map is a must and it may take a bit more time your first day to find the teepads (3 4x4's buries to make a box ). This is a sandy course and has lots of OB (parking lot on one side, creek on the other) making the course a bit more challenging. Compared to the Hilton Head Golf Course which recently opened on the island this one wins for me on *fun factor* but not as well manicured (the new course has better baskets and the tees are much easier to find and an easier layout to follow).

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun little course!

5+    1/1/2015   1/2/2015
Review By: garryj
Played: 39  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -very quite, uncrowded
-good mixture of woods and grassy fairways (plays across a ball field)
-safari style course (the #1 basket is not the #10 basket, etc) makes the 9 baskets play like a true 18 holes
-3 scorecards posted (recreational, amateur, and pro) makes par achievable for all levels of play
Cons: -almost impossible to navigate without the course map, be sure to download and print it before playing
-several baskets are directly in front of a deep murky creek
-tee boxes missing on some holes and in bad repair on others
-if several groups are playing, the overlapping holes would be a problem
-this last time that I played the course I discovered that the numbers on the baskets do not match the numbers on the online course map
Other Thoughts: Most of the reviews on this course have been negative, and the reviewers made some very good points. However, I keep coming back for the simple reason that I like it. For me it's fun! It appears the course has been hit by vandals in recent months, and it definately needs a little tender love and care. I'm not sure of what to make of the discrepancy between the course map and the numbers on the baskets. It appears the map was recently changed, but no one changed the numbers on the baskets. One final thought, the folks at the church are super friendly. You can stop by the church office, thank them for providing the course, and pick up a map. The description on this web site states that the course is only open to the public on limited days, however the members that I talked to were unaware of this limitation. We visit Hilton Head three times a year and Hover Links is the first place I head to!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Hover Links Update 8/7/2010

5+    8/7/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: mtaylor326
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: FYI - this course was taken down over the past year while the church renovated the property it's located on. The small park at the back of the church has been cleaned up, large areas have been grassed. Joseph Taylor a member of the church and a member of BSA Troop 245 has taken on the project of redesigning the course and reinstalling all the baskets and tee markers for his eagle scout project. New landscape timbers will define the designated tee areas and all new tee signs are being made and installed. The original Mark V baskets are being relocated and renumbered with signs pointing to the next tee box to be added. A new sign featuring the layout of the entire course will be installed near the shelter.
Cons: This is a small tight technical course and consideration of others is needed as it is located in a multi-use area. However as the design before it is a fun and technical course with challenges for all skill levels. With the new design mandatories have been removed, however there are several areas of out-of-bounds and a few very techical putting situations.
Other Thoughts: The baskets are all up now (except for one that was stolen) and the tee boxes are being installed this weekend. The entire project is scheduled to be completed and ready for play by Labor Day Weekend (2010). We hope you will come and enjoy the new course at Hover Links. It's a wonderful place to relax and enjoy with your family and friends. Please remember it is located on the church grounds, so no alcohol is permitted.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.