Hilton Head Island, SC 
Hover Links Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #18
3 / 207ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
#18 Fairway



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Local Review - Not A Disc Golf Course

1    7/7/2014   7/7/2014
Review By: jeffboi
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 0.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2014
Pros: NA
Cons: This is not a disc golf course. At best it is a very nice practice facility. To be more specific - some baskets have been installed in a field behind a church. It is only open to the public a few days a week. If you are coming to Hilton Head, catch The Sarge at 278 and I95. Good course - Lowcountry style. *Note - This is 40 minutes drive from the middle of HHI - I recommend you play day of arrival or day of departure - suggestion for tourists :)
Other Thoughts: NA

A very failed noble effort as a Eagle project.

1    7/18/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: The Uncle
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its the only listed course that I know of on HHI. If played correctly with a map is actually challenging. If you can find the Tee Box signs, they are very will made w/ a lot of info and a hole map.
Cons: Replaced 2010 Tee box signs are either gone or only partials. Over half of the Tee boxes are unmarked. Very dangerous layout with the fairways crossing each other on many holes
Other Thoughts: Stick to making it a long 9 hole course with maybe a putting basket. Also not heavily wooded like it states.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best course on Hilton Head Island

1    9/8/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: Rosswake
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 17.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros- Having an open area that has disc golf baskets on Hilton Head Island is nice. The course was less than a mile from where I stayed (Westin Resort). 

I appreciate that a group took the time to create the course so I had a chance to throw some discs while in the area. 

On every tee box sign I saw, there was a bible verse on it. They didn't all have details about the hole, but i liked reading the inspirational verses while I thought about the throw. 
Cons: Cons- without being too harsh, this isn't what you'd expect from a DG course. The layout can be described as an oval field with some trees covering about 1/3 of it. The tees and baskets are arranged along the outer edge of the field. I'd estimate it to be 2 acres total, which probably isn't even enough for 5-6 holes.

The biggest downside is that just outside of the circular course lies a stagnant looking creek, which isn't visible until you are right on top of it. It looked to be several feet deep, but thankfully I didn't have to test that theory. As I mentioned, the baskets are along the outer edge so this creek is within 5-10 feet of a few baskets. 

I wasn't sure where all of the tee boxes were, so I threw from the ones I thought made for an interesting toss. I assume there were 18, but I saw 10-12. 

I still had fun, but I'd recommend picking a few tee boxes and making up your own little course instead of playing every basket. Gives you a chance to be creative and practice some specific shots. 
Other Thoughts: Overall, not worth playing unless you have an extra 30-40 minutes and want to throw a few discs. Don't plan to keep score because there aren't enough holes to even record a 9 hole course score. I'd rate this a last resort practice course, but like I said earlier, it's a place you can access from HH to throw some discs. 

Solid place to practice approaches and putts.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Don't bother with this course

1    7/24/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: Hawth35
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Being on church property gives you a feeling of safety.
Cons: It's to small and not marked well enough to figure out.
I spent more time trying to find the baskets and tees than i did throwing.
Other Thoughts: A basic map would make this course passable.
But the area is to small for it to ever be better than a 1.5 course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/29/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: SemperFly
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Place to play on vacation, close to parking - navigate hole to hole in short walks and return to car. You can see the whole course from anywhere on the course.
Cons: Signage was obsolete. Having the doubled up holes really requires signage to keep u going to the right t-pads. I'm not reall sure I played it right. I failed to read the reviews befor going but still would have gone just to play another course.
Other Thoughts: I took my 10 year old son and my 61 yr old father(whom only played his 2nd round) We were the only ones out there til another new comer showed as were leaving. All in all, it was fun for us to make up our own safari course since we had no idea what was right. That made it fun.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Needs alot of work

1    8/3/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: Billy K2
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2014
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Um... Baskets.?
Cons: Where do I begin?
No sinage, just made up holes
.Very small park
1 basket equals 2 holes
Creek impossable to retrieve discs from
Playground,pavillion, and ball field in play
Wasps EVERYWHERE
Some tee signs missing or damaged
Muddy when wet
Trees down
Crossing fairways on almost every hole
Terrible design
Lost disc
Other Thoughts: I spent more time looking for tees and baskets than playing. If the course isn't redesigned than the baskets should be put to better use. Sorry boy scouts but this course was a waste of my time

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/14/2012   1/14/2012
Review By: kalpic30
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Majority of course is wide open, so you can let it rib
Cons: -A lot of the signs are either on the ground or missing completely. Seems to be vandalized.

-Tee boxes are difficult to find due to vegetation.

-Only maps are drawn by a dedicated local. He did a good job, but kind of difficult to read. If he wasn't out there playing as well, there would have been NO way that I could've played the correct holes...
Other Thoughts: The course was both created and updated for two scouts' eagle projects. It could be a fun course if kept up.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 It is what it is

1    9/10/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: WaterLogged
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/12/2012
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Its small if you dont want to walk very far.....
Cons: Its very small and when i went none of the holes had maps. With there being so many chains in a small area it was a little confusing.
Other Thoughts: I think it would tremendously help just to have the hole maps.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tiny and unsafe

1    4/16/2011   4/17/2011
Review By: tick
Played: 187  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 15.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Mach 5 baskets. A place to throw at Hilton Head. There have been some recent efforts at renovation. The tee signs are dated as 2010.
Cons: This course uses a flat semi-circular area of only about 3-4 acres. There are 9 Mach 5 baskets and 18 tees marked by timbers in the ground arranged around the edges of the area, except for 1 goal and two tees near the middle. The holes all criss-cross through the central open area which is also used as a ball field, and has a picnic shelter and a playground area which all get played through.
Either the recent work is not complete, or it has been undone, as several tee signs were out of the ground. I could not find a map anywhere - not in the map box, not online, not posted. The #1 tee sign did show some tee and goal numbering for about half the course. The rest of the tee signs showed a tee number, but no distance or hole configuration. Many of those that are in are placed too close to the tee, and present a danger to arm motion. Each basket is used twice, and all but one had two numbers on the goal. So I had to figure out the holes by matching up tee numbers and basket numbers. Since this is such a small area it didn't really take too
long! While there are no mandatories ot OB marked there certainly should be. Playing through playground equipment is never OK.
There are a couple benches near the backstop and playground but no other amenities like
restrooms, drinking water, etc.
Other Thoughts: Don't make a drive to play this course, just play The Sarge at Hardeeville. If I lived nearby, it would be great to have a place with a number of baskets and shots to play with.
If you are the only one there it is fine. But if anyone else is using the park, it could be
extremely unsafe. If you are staying at Hilton Head, why not check it out - it's the only game in town.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Hover Links Update 8/7/2010

5+    8/7/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: mtaylor326
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: FYI - this course was taken down over the past year while the church renovated the property it's located on. The small park at the back of the church has been cleaned up, large areas have been grassed. Joseph Taylor a member of the church and a member of BSA Troop 245 has taken on the project of redesigning the course and reinstalling all the baskets and tee markers for his eagle scout project. New landscape timbers will define the designated tee areas and all new tee signs are being made and installed. The original Mark V baskets are being relocated and renumbered with signs pointing to the next tee box to be added. A new sign featuring the layout of the entire course will be installed near the shelter.
Cons: This is a small tight technical course and consideration of others is needed as it is located in a multi-use area. However as the design before it is a fun and technical course with challenges for all skill levels. With the new design mandatories have been removed, however there are several areas of out-of-bounds and a few very techical putting situations.
Other Thoughts: The baskets are all up now (except for one that was stolen) and the tee boxes are being installed this weekend. The entire project is scheduled to be completed and ready for play by Labor Day Weekend (2010). We hope you will come and enjoy the new course at Hover Links. It's a wonderful place to relax and enjoy with your family and friends. Please remember it is located on the church grounds, so no alcohol is permitted.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.