Hilton Head Island, SC 
Hover Links Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #4
4 / 315ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
#4 Target



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Course Guide?

1    8/5/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: aggreen
Played: 139  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The baskets are in good condition. Grounds are actually well manicured. Given the amount of space for the course, it is well utilized.
A pro for me: I had my girls with me, so while they played on the playground for about 30 minutes, I was able to shoot 18 and have them in sight the entire time.
Cons: Any guidance would be helpful. There were orange marking flags set up, so I assumed these were the tee pads. I never found the #2 basket, so played a safari hole, which I figured was the same distance.
Be careful when shooting for the baskets along the back of the property - by the thirdbase line of the ball field, which you throw over often. There is a creek in the back and very thick brush - looks like you can easily lose a disc. The aforementioned parking lot can be an issue, since the longer holes parallel this.
Other Thoughts: Given that it is on church property, I give them many kudos for the effort.
The prior review mentioned baskets not being up, but they are up now (as of 8/10).
There are some unique shots - through/around a shelter, around a backstop, putting over a fence, #9/18 is surrounded by power line poles and trees.
Barely any shade and it gets hot, so bring sunblock.
I was talking with a parishioner afterward and he didn't know much, other than there were more planned improvements. Is this going to rival Idlewild? No. It's a small course, that is really a 9-hole course, nestled on private property that the church is graciously allowing the public to use. If you are in town with family and want a quick getaway to get your disc golf fix, then this course fits the bill.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  COURSE CLOSED

1    5/25/2010   6/3/2010
Review By: CHRISFUDGER@MSN.COM
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: DO NOT GO TO THIS COURSE!!!
Cons: DO NOT GO TO THIS COURSE!!! It was probably a decent little course in 2003. Last week (May 2010) I found 3 random baskets upright and 5 baskets piled up on the ground near the first tee.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hover round

1    2/20/2007   5/31/2010
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.3 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Baskets. Nice Mach Vs
*Scorecard. Available online.
Cons: -Navigation! Unbelievably confusing and frustrating to find the tees and which baskets to shoot for. There was no map, and it was impossible to figure it out without a guide! I couldn't even find 3 tees, and gave up in great frustration after wasting lots of time looking for them.
-Safety issues. If other people are there, then there is lots of danger to them since you throw over a volleyball court, a ball field, and a playground.
-Beauty. A few holes tee from a parking lot, and there are power poles, and all of the other recreational facilities all crammed in.
-Length variety is low. Lengths: 2<199/ 13 of 200-299/ 3 of 315-354
-There are different scorecards with different pars for various skill levels, but I don't think this is a good idea. There should only be one par for the intended skill level of the course.
-It's nice of the church to open their course to the public, but the times available to play are limited.
-Totally flat. There is not 1 ft of elevation change on any hole.
Other Thoughts: Course Level = White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 875-925) The course is short.

You be the judge-
~9 baskets with 2 sets of tees.
~This is on the smallest piece of land that I've ever seen for a course. It seems to be about 1 acre including a ball field, a volleyball court, a playground, and a parking lot.
~Please be respectful of the church property.

It's nice to have a disc golf course in the golf mecca of Hilton Head, but I was disappointed and very frustrated by the navigation problems. Don't go out of your way to play this course, and don't even try to play without a guide.

You can also read more of my reviews at the DG Course Reviews Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Future Unknown

1    5/25/2010   5/30/2010
Review By: extrovert
Played: 54  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 25.2 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I love Hilton Head - hit the Black Marlin for happy hour, 4-7 every day.
Cons: The course doesn't exist right now - there are two baskets in place and 7 just laying beside the sign for the first tee.
Other Thoughts: Did I mention the Black Marlin?

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Is it gone?

1    2/4/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: Marc B.
Played: 28  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hey,at least there is a course in the golf mecca that is Hilton Head Island. 2 sets of tees for the 9 holes. Short, technical, plays through a church parking lot and small park. Some tee's are in and around parking lot on center islands.
Cons: Difficult to navigate. Can't tell which baskets represent the 2nd set of 9 from the dual tee's. Too short. Rumor has it that baskets are being pulled out soon.
Other Thoughts: Get another one Hilton Head! I aced a hole here but it turned out to be a black one. When I approached the basket I was aiming for it had the wrong # on the basket. Damn!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short course

1    8/9/2004   12/9/2008
Review By: Jonny_Dread
Played: 68  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It was the only course with in two hours of its location for a while. Now we have two nice 18 hole courses so I haven't played this one in a while. Baskets are solid. Great start for kids getting into the sport. You can go to church on sunday and play a round after in their back yard. Good putting practice.
Cons: Short and cluttered. 9 baskets for 18 holes. Hard to navigate. watch out for cars and kids.
Other Thoughts: I like that places like this are building courses to get the younger people playing but I would not make a trip here if you are passed the intermediate level. Putter and midrange is all you will need

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

7/25/2007   8/3/2008
Review By: volleyballnick
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 19.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's the only place to play within 20 miles.
Cons: Nearly impossible to find some holes, unseen water comes into play on some holes with a slight overthrow, holes cross over each other constantly making it a nightmare if anyone else is playing (highly unlikely).
Other Thoughts: Most of the holes are pretty short and pretty open if you are looking for somewhere to get warmed up before attempting somewhere harder. You're best off just making up your own holes if you can't find the signs quickly

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 This course needs help

7/13/2008   7/15/2008
Review By: cbrunner
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's the only course on Hilton Head.
Cons: Poorly laid out, badly marked, not maintained. Three tee marker signs were down, making a difficult job of finding the next hole impossible. Tractors and trailers were parked on the course. There were eight of us playing at the same time and we were wandering all over the course trying to find the baskets and tees.
Other Thoughts: My 14-year-old son, who loves the sport, turned to me after we finished and said, "I really hated that." It wouldn't take too much work to make this course decent. Put all the signs up. Paint the hole numbers on both sides. Instead of putting "next tee" indicators on the tee signs, put them on the baskets. Keep in mind, this being Hilton Head, a large number of players will be first-timers for the course. As it is, they will be last-timers.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Confusing

5/31/2008   5/31/2008
Review By: sfeather
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course itself is laid out pretty well considering it sits on less than three acres of land.
Cons: The course markers are rather confusing. It can be difficult to determine which target you should be aiming for from the tee.

A used fuel tank was sitting on the fairway of the first hole.

Other Thoughts: An overview of the course would be extremely helpful to first time visitors.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.