Disc Golf Center
Seattle, WA
Lakewood King County Park Share
Uploaded By: Nic_Farley83 Hole #3 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 248ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Walk in the Park

1    8/7/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: Highway Bill
Played: 58  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I found Lakewood King here on this site and snuck in a late afternoon round while in Seattle recently. I was pleasantly surprised. The course runs through a moderately hilly city park with scattered walking paths and huge mature trees.
As a par 3 course, it obviously lacks any real multi-shot holes, however the diversity and variety of looks off the tee is quite good. The designer made great use of elevation change from the tee and took advantage of slope on many of the greens.
The tee pads and benches are outstanding here. It was a joy X stepping across these uniquely shaped, oversized concrete tee pads. The course builders also did a great job with the concrete covered high density foam benches, cut to resemble rock walls and arranged behind many of the tees. There were also some concrete stairs leading to a couple of the holes, constructed in the same fashion. These features really elevate both the course and the park that it lives in.
With great parking and amenities nearby, it's well worth a visit.
Cons: -This course is in a city park. Other park users can and will be oblivious to your intentions.
-Lacks any true multi-shot holes.
-Signs?
Other Thoughts: The local crew are a fine bunch. They are friendly, accommodating, and take great care of their course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Good mix of holes in Seattle

2-4    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Jblevins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes, left to right and right to left. Pin positions nestled in trees create interesting approaches after open drives.
Cons: Like many park courses, can be repetitive with open grass lawn fairways. Hard to find much trouble off the tee. First tee 200' over water can be an intimidating start to a round.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great old course to play nearby the airport

1    3/21/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: DeafDiscGolfer
Played: 108  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 18.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good challenging layouts.
- Nice few holes that can be birdied if thrown correctly.
- Nice elevations and water hazard.
- Liked one hole that requires you to bomb far and good but must stay on left side of walkway or be OBed.
- Liked the cement benches at tees.
Cons: - Bit confusing layout for visiting players. Use the locals to help out.
- Some tees are good and some are not.
- Have to avoid baseball field when its in season.
- No clear tee signs to show where the baskets are and how many feet it is.
Other Thoughts: It was nice course to play when visiting Seattle. I was glad to able to play at local Double league hosted by Chainbangerz.

However, it was process of revising few holes. I was not able to have opportunity to play the "original" 18 holes.

I don't mind to play there again (after they are done revising the holes) when I visit Seattle again in the future.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Improvement... On my score at least.

1    6/13/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: b-mart
Played: 42  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 3.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The new tee pads are incredible. They're easy to spot too, due to the new "rock" benches and the border of the same material around the pad. They're plenty long and grippy, and should be perfect for the winter. The baskets are all marked, although some would be difficult to locate if you'd never played the old layout. There's a nice variety in the holes as well, from the extremely narrow fairway on 3, to the water on 1 and 9, to the open "air it out" holes 8 &15. Having three practice baskets is a nice touch too.
Cons: The course doesn't flow like the old layout did, and it ends with a long hike back across multiple fairways (unless you follow the trail which doubles the distance). There isn't any signage either, or even tape on the baskets. Chainbangerz knows disc golf, but they clearly missed on this part. I'm guessing that will be remedied shortly though. The course had been open for three days when I played it. Hole 9 could be a pro or a con. I love the challenge and how it gets in your head, but when I played the wind was whipping from left to right and quickly buried both discs I threw in the lake. It's great if you have a cannon for an arm, but I don't. I can barely clear the water, but Lakewood has been super windy 50% of the times that I've been there, so unless you throw a Wahoo and want to wait for an hour or two for the current to bring it back, you might have to skip this hole. Luckily the 10 teepad is right by the 8 basket though.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course because I had the best front 8 I'd ever thrown. My best front 9 if you count hole 10 instead. That's saying something though. The new holes, with the exception of 9, are short and relatively easy. 3 was super narrow, but very gratifying to get out of without a trip into the rough. As I mentioned before, 9 was very hit or miss. They should consider a bonus hole like Lake Stevens has, so you can play as a 19 hole course if you are tough enough to try 9, but still get your score through 18 if the conditions aren't favorable or you don't have a disc you're willing to lose.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.