Seattle, WA
Lakewood King County Park Share
Uploaded By: Nic_Farley83 Hole #1 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 290ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
SeaTac vs. Lakewood KC

1    9/14/2013   9/15/2013
Review By: dmarsh27
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.9 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: I had one day in the Seattle-Tacoma area and used this website to narrow down two courses to play. I chose SeaTac and Lakewood King County (Lakewood KC) because there wasn't a course nearby that was obviously much better than these two, and they are less than 3 miles apart.

If you're looking for privacy, a wooded experience, or a disc golf challenge, show up with what you need, including the google course map from this website, and get ready to work hard for par at SeaTac.

If you're looking to show up with only a pair of shoes and buy discs, snacks, drinks, a bag, and have a local give you some advice and a paper map, then get ready for a thoughtful course with decent variety in a typical city-park setting at Lakewood KC. This is also a good course to rack up the birdies.

SeaTac was hard to only play once. I wanted to play it again and knock some strokes off my score. Lakewood KC isn't that complicated, and I don't know that I'd do any better by trying again - it's basically all right there to figure out on the first go around.

Both courses are struggling a bit with upkeep. Lakewood KC seems to be struggling to hold onto 18 solid holes as they have other shareholders in the park impose their interests on them. SeaTac is just due for some new and better signage and more course wear.

SeaTac was relatively easy to navigate thanks to my smart phone and the Google course map available through this website (much better than the regular map). Without it, I think I'd still be turning circles in those woods. I still had to basket search some, because it is a forest. The landing jumbo jets keep you oriented though.

If you can't throw as you intend, you'll probably spend too much time at SeaTac in prickly bushes searching for your disc. My stroke difference on the two courses was about a dozen, and I can see from this website that it's not uncommon to need 20 or 30 more throws to play SeaTac compared to Lakewood KC.

Really, though, what I recommend is playing Lakewood KC first, fill up with all the things you need, start your day feeling good about your play, and then take on the SeaTac challenge.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

great fun

2-4    5/18/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: jherber
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Had fun playing the course. played twice with different
people got to learn a lot about the course.
thanks a lot to Greg for telling me about the course.
will play it again some day
Cons: tried to play it by my self and got lost to where the next pad was. i know that they are working on it to make it bigger . a little more signage would work for newbes to this course while under construction
Other Thoughts: thanks Keith for such a fun course

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very Good, All Around Course

5+    9/12/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: bleds
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/20/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well groomed, constantly maintained, and optimum design for the park it's located in.

Good mix of very challenging holes and birdey chances with both very technical holes and wide open ones where you can unleash.

Pro shop on site (at least summers/weekends)
Cons: Not many. Experienced players may not find it a great challenge.

A number of walkers and students from the nearby high school and middle school to dodge on weekday afternoons.

From what I understand (I normally play on weekdays) it's crowded on weekends.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, and where I've been focusing on improving my game. I find it to be a good course for honing your game. Challenging without being so long or technical that it's a exercise in frustration.

The old #9 and 10 water holes across Hick's lake are now gone. New replacement holes under construction.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  A city Oasis

1    10/9/2011   10/9/2011
Review By: djlofton
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course has something for everyone. elevation changes were just enough to make your distance judgement a good degree of difficulty.
-Even though some holes have been changed to facilitate the construction, evident by the temporary tee pads on some holes, it didn't disrupt the round and the flow of the course was awesome.
-There are a lot of great turnover shots for a right hander, and for a lefty, it was a blast just to let loose.
-Althought the hours aren't posted, the plastic shop is pretty well maintained, and anyone can see that the chainbangers really love and care for this course and all it's components.
Cons: -a nice technical shot over a baseball field could be trouble-some if a game is being played.
- although the lake is small, it didn't really feel like a threat at all during play.
-no one could tell me when the shop opened.
Other Thoughts: over all, a nice distraction. Close enough to the airport, that I could get in a round after dropping off a person at the airport. The only issue I had was that I am a mediocre player at best, and I was able to shoot a -4 on my first trip around. I am used to heavily wooded area though, so maybe the wide open spaces were really just what the doctor ordered. Thank you Chainbangers for your awesome effort.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Easy for Pro's, fun for everyone else

1    8/21/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: s.z.hoyt
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great park, well maintained
-holes have great elevation changes
-Water holes are easy, but mental game
-Great use of the park.
Cons: -Some old pads from previous layout can confuse first timers
-Signage is lacking at each pad, hit and miss
-Goose Poo...eww
-Some holes are tight courters
Other Thoughts: Fun park for beginner to intermediate. Pros will be bored as there is no real long range shots or hard obstacles. Went super early in the morning and no one was there.

Had a good time and will be back

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lakewood Remodel-A Little Shorter-No Less Fun!

1    6/21/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Forced to reconfigure the course slightly due to the loss of some of the upper parking lot area, I think Keith Lionetti and the Chainbangerz Disc Golf Club created a fairly seemless transistion here. Granted, there are a couple of longer walkouts here but they're not ridiculous by any means. I feel the course still maintains a pretty good flow pattern. The first thing that springs to my mind here was the parking situation. Instead of parking in the upper lot, you now park in the lower lot near the bathrooms. I was unaware that this lot existed. There is not one but three brand new practice baskets here. I would have thought that one would have been adequate. I would have spent these extra funds on signage. The next item that jumps out at you are the wonderful extra long, grippy teepads and the great sprayed concrete benches at every hole. Nice touches both of these are for sure. The course redesign kept 13 of the orginal 18 including both of my personal favorites, the current # 18, a 400 ft. drive to a basket down in a lovely little valley and # 13, a short, maybe 150 ft. touch ACE run to a basket barely visible over the hill just before the ballfield. They've added two holes with short throws across the goose poo infested pond waters, # 1 and # 8. # 1 is probably less than 200 ft. with a couple of troublesome trees and bushes in the way. # 8 is a little longer, maybe 240 ft. slight hyser throw with a window to throw through. Even if you miss the window, it's fairly simple to just sail your disc into the trees/bushes here and avoid the pond water and it's plethora of hidden parasitic germs and microbes.
Cons: The current (summer 2011) lack of signs and I know that they are coming. Because the course is probably a few hundred feet shorter than before, it seems like more of a rec course to me now. I'm not sure if the advanced and higher player would find the challenge here. Aren't three brand new paractice baskets a touch overkill?

I'm not real keen on # 3. Many beginner/Rec type players are going to hyser their tee offs into the ugly thicket here. Maybe it will eventually get stomped down and won't be quite the problem.
Other Thoughts: Lakewood was one of the first courses I entered into my favorites and I'll leave it there after the new reconfiguration. I reckon that's probably the highest praise I can bestow upon both the design team and the course itself. I think this park is just one of the premier pieces of course land in the state with it's lovely rolling hills, green grass and mature trees. And the course continues to utilize those features to the maximum with it's over the water holes, ACE runs, tight wooded holes and the big air throws. There's something for most disc golfers here. This is one of the most versatile courses in the state and I have always enjoy it's challenges.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Chains for the Better? - Lakewood 2.0

5+    6/18/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 176  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 2/29/2012
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Redesigned in 2011, Lakewood King County Park in Seattle plays through a moderately hilly and lightly wooded park with breathtaking views of the Olympics and Cascades. The installment of Lakewood 2.0 uses several of the preexisting holes with the addition of two new water holes, two tightly wooded holes, and one open hole with a guarded pin. The new layout plays easier than the previous layout due to length primarily, but creativity and thoughtful designing keeps this course interesting.

Pressured to relocate one third of the holes on the course due to the loss of land in the upper parking lot, Keith Lionetti had to completely redo the flow to the old layout in order to keep 18 holes. Starting now in the lower parking lot, Lakewood has also opened up Chainbangerz Pro Shop where they will sell some discs, merchandise, snacks, and drinks during the summer and fall. Three practice baskets were installed near the restrooms and gazebo as well, along with rock/cement benches and tee pads throughout the majority of the course. The flow, with the exception of a few walkouts, seems to work quite well considering the circumstances and the addition of the new holes are creative and at times challenging.

Favorite Hole/s:#9, #10, #14 (long), & #18
Cons:
Walkouts on holes #2 and #18 - Really can't avoid themas the designers did a tremendous job doing the best with what land they had.

Losing a disc in the water on holes #1, #4, #9 and #10 - Fortunately with Chainbangerz now on site, discs will get turned in to the shop for a small credit. Periodically there is a gentleman who goes scuba diving for lost discs and turns them in.

Installing tee signs/kiosk to help with navigation - currently being worked on through fundraising

Worst Hole/s: #13 (short)
Other Thoughts:
Keith, Adam and the Chainbangerz DG Club have worked diligently to install the course in time for The Calm Before the Battle (C Tier Dubs) and the Battle in Seattle (B Tier) that took place June 10-12, 2011. However, there is still some tweaking to do on the back nine and can't be finished until the city finalizes their plans to build around the course. Lakewood 2.0 has come a long way in a very short amount of time and I am blown away with its new appearance. This course is the perfect complement to its big brother course 9 miles south in SeaTac (near the airport).

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The New Lakewood

2-4    6/13/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 187  Reviewed: 182  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The new Lakewood layout is a product of the Chainbangerz Disc Golf Club. With some grant money from King County and a new building going in the middle of the parking lot and a couple of fairways the club got on the ball with a new design, innovative ideas and hard work to continue this park in the right direction.

First thing you will notice are the new tee pads and the awesome benches. The new pads are long and grippy and fit well with the benches. The benches are concrete and resemble rock, they are a unique thing straight from the brilliant mind of Keith Lionetti. They do an excellent job of holding many bags and you can actually sit on some of them in a 360 degree manner. Also they are sprayed with an anti-graffiti product where any tagging can be washed away very easily. Hard to vandalize or tag, good thinking!

The course now starts in the lower parking lot near the bathrooms. You will see the three practice baskets set up near tournament central to provide warming up and something to do for group waiting their turn on busy Summer days.

Hole one is across the short pond to a basket that was the long position for 15, this hole is short but there are some trees at the end of flight that could knock you into the water; good thing this hole is only around 200 feet long. The new two is across the parking lot near 10th ave and has three pin locations and double routes to most of them. Again a shorty but trees make this interesting. Three is an old tournament hole shooting out of the woods towards to the tennis courts and to left. Right now there is a low hanging branch making this hole harder and the brush off the fairway although punishing makes this hole interesting and more challenging. Hole ten is another new favorite being a low ceiling throw up hill to a protected basket. A low drive with a faster disc to get a skip is a good way to play this hole.
Cons: Compared to the old set up these par three holes are easier compared to their par than some of the holes going away. Although it is a little more fun for low power players it makes going way under par on this course possible for even amateur players. Also there is less out of bounds with the new holes besides the water shots and getting more than a three is less likely.

There are some weird transitions between some holes that makes things tough to navigate for first timers. The walks from holes one to two and two to three are longer than the actual holes themselves. I don't mind walks between holes too much and I realize it had to be done, but it is still a little strange to walk twice as long as the last hole you just played. The flow has been sacrificed with the redesigned but given the handcuffing given for land use you can understand. Again walking from the top parking lot all the way back to the lower parking lot after your round is a bit much.

Hole nine, the across the water shot has a strange pin location up on a flat grassy spot but the route to this hole is a poke and prey for sure. I would like to see some of the limbs here trimmed up to make some sort of a route. There is a three foot wide route for lefties and FH throwers now but it is hard to hit that gap at 250+ feet away from the tee pad. The most desirable thing for me would be opening a route on either side and make two ways to get there; doesn't have to be a huge hole but just give us something.
Other Thoughts: So old holes 17, 18 and 4 are being played as the last three holes as the club is still trying to get permission to use some of the land up by old hole number six. Hopefully this will come through in the coming months and we can make geezer( the long 600+ foot hole) hole number 18 like originally planned. Also the Chainbangerz Disc Golf Shop will be opening up in the window next to the bathrooms and the playground to sell limited discs, snacks and drinks. You could and should come on by and talk to Keith while you're here, he's a good guy. You should also stop by Chainbangerz main store in Burien on 153rd St. and Ambaum way. The shop has used and new discs in large supply and can give information on the local courses and any tournaments going on in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.