Seattle, WA
Lakewood King County Park Share
Uploaded By: Nic_Farley83 Hole #2 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 215ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Twenty Holes Now!!

5+    12/6/2013   12/9/2013
Review By: John M. Fretz
Played: 45  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 28.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great pro shop with food, beverages (even espresso) and HUGE range of discs, plus Keith is very helpful
Big course with some long, open holes and tricky technical holes. There's even a small water hazard at hole #1. (maybe a con, for some)
5 NEW HOLES!!! New holes are finished. 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18 are over where the old course use to start. AWESOME, 20 holes in all, not counting practice pins
Map at beginning, by parking lot
Cons: Dogwalkers who don't clean up after their dogs. (watch your step)
2 schools nearby and some students can be annoying, mostly okay though. we caught 2 having sex the other day in 29degree weather!!??! brrrrrrr
Other Thoughts: great course for all levels. They also hold a lot of Tourneys and doubles competitions

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

really nice course

1    8/8/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: Bdemko
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: nice mix of holes, uphill, downhill, park like setting. Some technical but friendly enough for family play. The pro shop on site is well equiped, knowledgeable and proactive for course development.
Cons: somewhat difficult to find the holes and pins. We played the wrong basket a couple of times

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Winter relief

1    1/25/2013   1/25/2013
Review By: Monkeypaws
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/28/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: •Nice large concrete tee pads.

•Variety of shots - it got to do it all today. Uphill, downhill, shaped shots left and right, and few chances to wind up and let fly.

•Challenging, without being stupid hard. A competent disc golfer would grab some birdies, mainly pars, and perhaps a bogey or two.

•Accesible by public transportation - hugely important when you are on the road w/o car. 30-40 minutes from downtown.

•Chainbanerz - these guys do a heckuva job working on this course, in spite of King County's lack of interest.

•Pro shop on site - I'm travelling with a spartan bag, and realized half way through my round that an under-stable disc would help. Bingo.
Cons: Through no fault of their own, the course in in a major state of flux. Confusion reigns when holes are removed, changed etc. Zen is key to enjoying the round.
Other Thoughts: What a fun time. Keith was awesome, helping an out of towner find his way. The weather was unexpectedly wonderful, upper forties and partly sunny(later totally sunny). The waterfowl were making a racket on the lake.
And the disc golf was very fun. Again, it was challenging, but the opportunity to make nice shots was there, if only occasionally taken on my part.

This is a fun course, not a frustrating course. I'm hoping to try Seatac before I leave, but I have a feeling I'll get my butt kicked there. Not so here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

All around great park course

5+    8/19/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: Phlick
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 32.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multiple (3+1) practice baskets
-ProConcession shop on premises
-Water holes add challenge (also a con)
-Great variety of holes - wide open, some tight, some accuracy shots involved. None extreme.
-VERY fair par 3 course
-Lots of garbage cans - which are regularly maintained.
-Running water bathrooms on site
-Ample parking
-Serene park setting
-Well maintained by County
-Great tee pads and benches
Cons: -Can get busy/crowded/slow on weekends or after work.
-3 holes over water (2 require 150'+ crossing - one of those between a 10' window 30' off the teepad before you cross the water - adding additional intimidation - could be a pro depending on how you look at it though)
-Shared with a park, so there are NPCs to contend with.
-Lacking in Signage and 'Next Tee' signs
-Not overly challenging for Open level players.
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course since 1992 and have seen it go through a number of transitions. The current managing efforts by Chainbangerz DGC has noticeably contributed to making this the course into what it has become today - which is one of the best courses in the state. While it's great to come out and see a lot of new faces crushing the course, it's not so much fun to have to now wait for them to clear the hole in front of you so you can have a go. Regardless of that fact, this is a very approachable course for players of all skill levels (assuming beginners play the alt tee on 1 and skip the long water holes 8 and 9). While this isn't the most challenging course in Seattle (I'd have to give that nod to Seatac) it is easily the most 'well rounded', fair and playable.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Perfect local course

5+    7/2/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: RomePK
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is laid out awesome. Very well maintained. Requires a variety of shots and use of many of your disc in the bag. This has everything you could want in a local course.
Cons: Can get crowded due to its location and reputation.
Other Thoughts: There is also a disc golf shop in the concession area of the park!!! Can't beat that! CHAINBANGERZ rules!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

a great park for disc golf!

2-4    7/13/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 58  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good hole design and terrain utilization.
- Nice teepads & baskets. I liked the natural stone shaping of the teepads. They were plenty big enough and grippy.
- Good mix of open and wooded/technical holes.
- Solid diversity of left / straight / right / uphill / downhill shaped holes. It has it all.
- Nice pro-shop / vending near restrooms.
- Friendly locals who call you on lost discs and turn them in to the shop.
Cons: - long walk from 18 back to parking lot.
- the walk to hole 9's basket (across water) forces you to cross right in front of hole 10's basket where people might be throwing. Just be careful there. The holes themselves are good and there is no other way to get over there so not much can be done about this.
- While not jaw-dropping perfect, I can't really pick out too many other flaws.. The course had to be re-designed due to construction and development on the back of the property. A local showed me the terrain and fence-line back there and it looks like the course lost some really nice space.. bummer. But I applaud those who did the re-design.. Still an excellent course by all means!
Other Thoughts: I had a blast at this course. The Deaf Disc Golf Championships were going on and we had to wait for them to finish (enjoyed watching them for a little while), but the fact that the Chainbangerz club stepped up and hosted such a tournament is nothing short of awesome!
I also lost a disc, got a call back the next day and Dana from the shop actually opened it up afterhours JUST to give me my disc back since I was on my way to the airport to fly home. Very cool of her! Keep doing what you guys are doing out there! I can't wait to come back again someday.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

proper disc golf for sure

1    6/20/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: northwestblazinfire
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome tee pads with rock benches at seemingly every hole
Beautifully maintained course with roller ready green
Nice challenging anny or sidearm holes for a righty
18 is the typical great huge ender for the round. The epic downhill looong look.
Variety or terrain with different playing surfaces to consider (dirt,bark,grass,gravel,cement,trees lol)
Well placed baskets with OBs being cement paths add a perfect degreee of difficulty
Sweet practice baskets and really cool good viben people I seen a lot of smiles and heard a lot of hearty laughter :D
Very rewarding course with a lot for everyone
Cons: For me the drive that's it
Other Thoughts: My home course has much work to be done but it is inspiring to see what a course can become as I am young in my discgolf experience this is as good as it gets for me. I had a good round at +2 but missed many of bird and ate only two bogies.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

2-4    4/17/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: ferret_1986
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Variety of shots required; terrain, water, sidearm. Not too long of a course but still has some holes that require distance and a handful that are ace-able.
Cons: Has an odd layout due to construction. Seems to be a popular place for the high schoolers to go to after school.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A good time. And friendly folks

2-4    8/25/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: steezejenkins
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Excellent use of the park
-Super cool tee pad benches!
-Both water shots?
-Pro shop and consession!
-Just a great place to enjoy a round
Cons: -Upper parking lot should not be recommended
-Driving through White Center to get to the course, Scary ghetto for an Oregon native
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. For what they had to work with the course was diverse. Once my buddy and I found the lower parking lot we were stoked to get out and play. The chainbanger guys were really cool and even helped out my buddy with some info about a nonprofit that can help with his school disc golf project. Go play this course. Certain you won't be shrugging as if you played seatac!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Getting Better All The Time!

5+    6/22/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lakewood is a real gem of a course. My home digs are a testament of love, sweat, tears and I hope I don't sound too biased in my review as a result! The land that Lakewood sits on is gorgeous rolling grassy hills and a mix of Madrona and fir that shapes the fairways. The fairways play mostly open but require a mix of power and finesse, as there are many OB perils such as fences, roads, lakes and sidewalks that will penalize a poor shot. Scoring can sway both ways depending on how much game you bring. You can bring your longer drivers here, but also bring your accurate short range game as some pin placements can be testy on sloped ground.

Though many of the new holes are shorter, I find them to be a lot of fun. Holes 1-3 (in short position) are now a string of birdie runs. But don't get distracted - hole #2 was a playoff hole in the recent Battle of Seattle tournment and this hole was won (and lost) by an Open player who failed to sink his 28' birdie putt, slightly around a guarding madrona tree!

The tee pads and benches are unlike anything I've ever seen before. The Chainbangerz disc golf club finally raised the necessary funds to create these marvelous gems during the (ongoing) remodel. The benches look like large worn stones and the teepads are long, grippy, and are bordered by a curved edge that adds a more natural look. The bench on #14 is called the amplitheater as it resembles old Roman stadium seating.

There's now a small pro shop near hole #1 that you can replenish you thirst and lust for plastic - hooray!
Cons: FLOW - the course still is hoping to gain a hole over by the newly constructed apartment complex. When you finish #15, you must walk back along hole #13, and 12, then skirt #18 tee to get to #16. If they can add that fairway, it will improve the flow - and 2 new holes will be created and the old #6 will become the new #17.

As it stands, hole numbers and distances are yet to be carved into the tee pads, so it's your best guess as to which hole you may be playing and how long. I suggest you print a map or obtain one at the disc shop by hole #1 and 6. They do now have "Next Tee" signs on the holes, but I only hope that vandals do not remove them.
Other Thoughts: The course, as others have noted is a notch easier than the original layout, but I think many of the replacement holes (2 that go over the water), are really a lot of fun, and require accuracy more than strength.

By the way - for those who are weary to throw over the pond on Hole #1 - there is a drop zone on the edge of the parking area (it's a concrete pad in the shape of Washington about 40 ft. from the short pin). If you wish, you may take a penalty stroke and tee from this position instead - and it's possible to par the short pin from there!

As many improvements are corrected, my rating will go up. I was fortunate to be part of the re-design crew and feel that we were able to preserve much of the old while bringing in some new flavors.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.