Seattle, WA 
Lakewood King County Park Share
Uploaded By: Nic_Farley83 Hole #15 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 388ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great old course to play nearby the airport

1    3/21/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: DeafDiscGolfer
Played: 114  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 18.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good challenging layouts.
- Nice few holes that can be birdied if thrown correctly.
- Nice elevations and water hazard.
- Liked one hole that requires you to bomb far and good but must stay on left side of walkway or be OBed.
- Liked the cement benches at tees.
Cons: - Bit confusing layout for visiting players. Use the locals to help out.
- Some tees are good and some are not.
- Have to avoid baseball field when its in season.
- No clear tee signs to show where the baskets are and how many feet it is.
Other Thoughts: It was nice course to play when visiting Seattle. I was glad to able to play at local Double league hosted by Chainbangerz.

However, it was process of revising few holes. I was not able to have opportunity to play the "original" 18 holes.

I don't mind to play there again (after they are done revising the holes) when I visit Seattle again in the future.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

One of WA's top tier courses

5+    3/6/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: erikktlog
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Constantly Maintained by Chainbangerz club
Pro Shop on site
Plenty of Parking
Concrete Tee Pads
Excellent Mixture of long and birdie-able holes
Multiple Pin Locations based on season
Excellent and creative use of elevation and trees (You'll enjoy watching some of the lines your shots take on this course)
Big open fairways on some holes allow for aggressive drives
Cons: Very few to speak of...
Park gets busy in the afternoon since it borders a school
No tee signs, there should be plenty of locals to navigate you
Other Thoughts: Played just about every course in the greater Seattle area and this is definitely one of the best in my mind. This course always provides an enjoyable and challenging experience each time. Pros will enjoy the variety the course provides, yet less experienced players can achieve success on a few of the holes You'll shoot long, short, uphill, downhill, through hallways of trees, and wide-open inviting fairways. It's the best maintained course I've ever been on, not to mention there's a pro-shop on site. I miss the old water holes but I hear rumors of a new layout coming soon.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Winter relief

1    1/25/2013   1/25/2013
Review By: Monkeypaws
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/28/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: •Nice large concrete tee pads.

•Variety of shots - it got to do it all today. Uphill, downhill, shaped shots left and right, and few chances to wind up and let fly.

•Challenging, without being stupid hard. A competent disc golfer would grab some birdies, mainly pars, and perhaps a bogey or two.

•Accesible by public transportation - hugely important when you are on the road w/o car. 30-40 minutes from downtown.

•Chainbanerz - these guys do a heckuva job working on this course, in spite of King County's lack of interest.

•Pro shop on site - I'm travelling with a spartan bag, and realized half way through my round that an under-stable disc would help. Bingo.
Cons: Through no fault of their own, the course in in a major state of flux. Confusion reigns when holes are removed, changed etc. Zen is key to enjoying the round.
Other Thoughts: What a fun time. Keith was awesome, helping an out of towner find his way. The weather was unexpectedly wonderful, upper forties and partly sunny(later totally sunny). The waterfowl were making a racket on the lake.
And the disc golf was very fun. Again, it was challenging, but the opportunity to make nice shots was there, if only occasionally taken on my part.

This is a fun course, not a frustrating course. I'm hoping to try Seatac before I leave, but I have a feeling I'll get my butt kicked there. Not so here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very Good, All Around Course

5+    9/12/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: bleds
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/20/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well groomed, constantly maintained, and optimum design for the park it's located in.

Good mix of very challenging holes and birdey chances with both very technical holes and wide open ones where you can unleash.

Pro shop on site (at least summers/weekends)
Cons: Not many. Experienced players may not find it a great challenge.

A number of walkers and students from the nearby high school and middle school to dodge on weekday afternoons.

From what I understand (I normally play on weekdays) it's crowded on weekends.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, and where I've been focusing on improving my game. I find it to be a good course for honing your game. Challenging without being so long or technical that it's a exercise in frustration.

The old #9 and 10 water holes across Hick's lake are now gone. New replacement holes under construction.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 All around great park course

5+    8/19/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: Phlick
Played: 53  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 32.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multiple (3+1) practice baskets
-ProConcession shop on premises
-Water holes add challenge (also a con)
-Great variety of holes - wide open, some tight, some accuracy shots involved. None extreme.
-VERY fair par 3 course
-Lots of garbage cans - which are regularly maintained.
-Running water bathrooms on site
-Ample parking
-Serene park setting
-Well maintained by County
-Great tee pads and benches
Cons: -Can get busy/crowded/slow on weekends or after work.
-3 holes over water (2 require 150'+ crossing - one of those between a 10' window 30' off the teepad before you cross the water - adding additional intimidation - could be a pro depending on how you look at it though)
-Shared with a park, so there are NPCs to contend with.
-Lacking in Signage and 'Next Tee' signs
-Not overly challenging for Open level players.
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course since 1992 and have seen it go through a number of transitions. The current managing efforts by Chainbangerz DGC has noticeably contributed to making this the course into what it has become today - which is one of the best courses in the state. While it's great to come out and see a lot of new faces crushing the course, it's not so much fun to have to now wait for them to clear the hole in front of you so you can have a go. Regardless of that fact, this is a very approachable course for players of all skill levels (assuming beginners play the alt tee on 1 and skip the long water holes 8 and 9). While this isn't the most challenging course in Seattle (I'd have to give that nod to Seatac) it is easily the most 'well rounded', fair and playable.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect local course

5+    7/2/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: RomePK
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is laid out awesome. Very well maintained. Requires a variety of shots and use of many of your disc in the bag. This has everything you could want in a local course.
Cons: Can get crowded due to its location and reputation.
Other Thoughts: There is also a disc golf shop in the concession area of the park!!! Can't beat that! CHAINBANGERZ rules!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 a great park for disc golf!

2-4    7/13/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 68  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good hole design and terrain utilization.
- Nice teepads & baskets. I liked the natural stone shaping of the teepads. They were plenty big enough and grippy.
- Good mix of open and wooded/technical holes.
- Solid diversity of left / straight / right / uphill / downhill shaped holes. It has it all.
- Nice pro-shop / vending near restrooms.
- Friendly locals who call you on lost discs and turn them in to the shop.
Cons: - long walk from 18 back to parking lot.
- the walk to hole 9's basket (across water) forces you to cross right in front of hole 10's basket where people might be throwing. Just be careful there. The holes themselves are good and there is no other way to get over there so not much can be done about this.
- While not jaw-dropping perfect, I can't really pick out too many other flaws.. The course had to be re-designed due to construction and development on the back of the property. A local showed me the terrain and fence-line back there and it looks like the course lost some really nice space.. bummer. But I applaud those who did the re-design.. Still an excellent course by all means!
Other Thoughts: I had a blast at this course. The Deaf Disc Golf Championships were going on and we had to wait for them to finish (enjoyed watching them for a little while), but the fact that the Chainbangerz club stepped up and hosted such a tournament is nothing short of awesome!
I also lost a disc, got a call back the next day and Dana from the shop actually opened it up afterhours JUST to give me my disc back since I was on my way to the airport to fly home. Very cool of her! Keep doing what you guys are doing out there! I can't wait to come back again someday.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 proper disc golf for sure

1    6/20/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: northwestblazinfire
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome tee pads with rock benches at seemingly every hole
Beautifully maintained course with roller ready green
Nice challenging anny or sidearm holes for a righty
18 is the typical great huge ender for the round. The epic downhill looong look.
Variety or terrain with different playing surfaces to consider (dirt,bark,grass,gravel,cement,trees lol)
Well placed baskets with OBs being cement paths add a perfect degreee of difficulty
Sweet practice baskets and really cool good viben people I seen a lot of smiles and heard a lot of hearty laughter :D
Very rewarding course with a lot for everyone
Cons: For me the drive that's it
Other Thoughts: My home course has much work to be done but it is inspiring to see what a course can become as I am young in my discgolf experience this is as good as it gets for me. I had a good round at +2 but missed many of bird and ate only two bogies.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

2-4    4/17/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: ferret_1986
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Variety of shots required; terrain, water, sidearm. Not too long of a course but still has some holes that require distance and a handful that are ace-able.
Cons: Has an odd layout due to construction. Seems to be a popular place for the high schoolers to go to after school.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  A city Oasis

1    10/9/2011   10/9/2011
Review By: djlofton
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course has something for everyone. elevation changes were just enough to make your distance judgement a good degree of difficulty.
-Even though some holes have been changed to facilitate the construction, evident by the temporary tee pads on some holes, it didn't disrupt the round and the flow of the course was awesome.
-There are a lot of great turnover shots for a right hander, and for a lefty, it was a blast just to let loose.
-Althought the hours aren't posted, the plastic shop is pretty well maintained, and anyone can see that the chainbangers really love and care for this course and all it's components.
Cons: -a nice technical shot over a baseball field could be trouble-some if a game is being played.
- although the lake is small, it didn't really feel like a threat at all during play.
-no one could tell me when the shop opened.
Other Thoughts: over all, a nice distraction. Close enough to the airport, that I could get in a round after dropping off a person at the airport. The only issue I had was that I am a mediocre player at best, and I was able to shoot a -4 on my first trip around. I am used to heavily wooded area though, so maybe the wide open spaces were really just what the doctor ordered. Thank you Chainbangers for your awesome effort.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.