Seattle, WA 
Lakewood King County Park Share
Uploaded By: Nic_Farley83 Hole #1 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 SeaTac vs. Lakewood KC

1    9/14/2013   9/15/2013
Review By: dmarsh27
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: I had one day in the Seattle-Tacoma area and used this website to narrow down two courses to play. I chose SeaTac and Lakewood King County (Lakewood KC) because there wasn't a course nearby that was obviously much better than these two, and they are less than 3 miles apart.

If you're looking for privacy, a wooded experience, or a disc golf challenge, show up with what you need, including the google course map from this website, and get ready to work hard for par at SeaTac.

If you're looking to show up with only a pair of shoes and buy discs, snacks, drinks, a bag, and have a local give you some advice and a paper map, then get ready for a thoughtful course with decent variety in a typical city-park setting at Lakewood KC. This is also a good course to rack up the birdies.

SeaTac was hard to only play once. I wanted to play it again and knock some strokes off my score. Lakewood KC isn't that complicated, and I don't know that I'd do any better by trying again - it's basically all right there to figure out on the first go around.

Both courses are struggling a bit with upkeep. Lakewood KC seems to be struggling to hold onto 18 solid holes as they have other shareholders in the park impose their interests on them. SeaTac is just due for some new and better signage and more course wear.

SeaTac was relatively easy to navigate thanks to my smart phone and the Google course map available through this website (much better than the regular map). Without it, I think I'd still be turning circles in those woods. I still had to basket search some, because it is a forest. The landing jumbo jets keep you oriented though.

If you can't throw as you intend, you'll probably spend too much time at SeaTac in prickly bushes searching for your disc. My stroke difference on the two courses was about a dozen, and I can see from this website that it's not uncommon to need 20 or 30 more throws to play SeaTac compared to Lakewood KC.

Really, though, what I recommend is playing Lakewood KC first, fill up with all the things you need, start your day feeling good about your play, and then take on the SeaTac challenge.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 really nice course

1    8/8/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: Bdemko
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: nice mix of holes, uphill, downhill, park like setting. Some technical but friendly enough for family play. The pro shop on site is well equiped, knowledgeable and proactive for course development.
Cons: somewhat difficult to find the holes and pins. We played the wrong basket a couple of times

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good mix of holes in Seattle

2-4    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Jblevins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes, left to right and right to left. Pin positions nestled in trees create interesting approaches after open drives.
Cons: Like many park courses, can be repetitive with open grass lawn fairways. Hard to find much trouble off the tee. First tee 200' over water can be an intimidating start to a round.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 great fun

2-4    5/18/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: jherber
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Had fun playing the course. played twice with different
people got to learn a lot about the course.
thanks a lot to Greg for telling me about the course.
will play it again some day
Cons: tried to play it by my self and got lost to where the next pad was. i know that they are working on it to make it bigger . a little more signage would work for newbes to this course while under construction
Other Thoughts: thanks Keith for such a fun course

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Mixed Feelings

1    5/3/2013   5/3/2013
Review By: fetchercity
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: - Great scenery
- Well kept
- Nice stone benches
Cons: - Poorly marked
- Difficult to navigate
- No tee signs
Other Thoughts: The course layout is relatively intuitive, but there are no tee signs and most baskets don't have numbers on them. It can be really difficult to navigate for first-timers.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great old course to play nearby the airport

1    3/21/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: DeafDiscGolfer
Played: 114  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 19.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good challenging layouts.
- Nice few holes that can be birdied if thrown correctly.
- Nice elevations and water hazard.
- Liked one hole that requires you to bomb far and good but must stay on left side of walkway or be OBed.
- Liked the cement benches at tees.
Cons: - Bit confusing layout for visiting players. Use the locals to help out.
- Some tees are good and some are not.
- Have to avoid baseball field when its in season.
- No clear tee signs to show where the baskets are and how many feet it is.
Other Thoughts: It was nice course to play when visiting Seattle. I was glad to able to play at local Double league hosted by Chainbangerz.

However, it was process of revising few holes. I was not able to have opportunity to play the "original" 18 holes.

I don't mind to play there again (after they are done revising the holes) when I visit Seattle again in the future.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of WA's top tier courses

5+    3/6/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: erikktlog
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Constantly Maintained by Chainbangerz club
Pro Shop on site
Plenty of Parking
Concrete Tee Pads
Excellent Mixture of long and birdie-able holes
Multiple Pin Locations based on season
Excellent and creative use of elevation and trees (You'll enjoy watching some of the lines your shots take on this course)
Big open fairways on some holes allow for aggressive drives
Cons: Very few to speak of...
Park gets busy in the afternoon since it borders a school
No tee signs, there should be plenty of locals to navigate you
Other Thoughts: Played just about every course in the greater Seattle area and this is definitely one of the best in my mind. This course always provides an enjoyable and challenging experience each time. Pros will enjoy the variety the course provides, yet less experienced players can achieve success on a few of the holes You'll shoot long, short, uphill, downhill, through hallways of trees, and wide-open inviting fairways. It's the best maintained course I've ever been on, not to mention there's a pro-shop on site. I miss the old water holes but I hear rumors of a new layout coming soon.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Winter relief

1    1/25/2013   1/25/2013
Review By: Monkeypaws
Played: 32  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/28/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: •Nice large concrete tee pads.

•Variety of shots - it got to do it all today. Uphill, downhill, shaped shots left and right, and few chances to wind up and let fly.

•Challenging, without being stupid hard. A competent disc golfer would grab some birdies, mainly pars, and perhaps a bogey or two.

•Accesible by public transportation - hugely important when you are on the road w/o car. 30-40 minutes from downtown.

•Chainbanerz - these guys do a heckuva job working on this course, in spite of King County's lack of interest.

•Pro shop on site - I'm travelling with a spartan bag, and realized half way through my round that an under-stable disc would help. Bingo.
Cons: Through no fault of their own, the course in in a major state of flux. Confusion reigns when holes are removed, changed etc. Zen is key to enjoying the round.
Other Thoughts: What a fun time. Keith was awesome, helping an out of towner find his way. The weather was unexpectedly wonderful, upper forties and partly sunny(later totally sunny). The waterfowl were making a racket on the lake.
And the disc golf was very fun. Again, it was challenging, but the opportunity to make nice shots was there, if only occasionally taken on my part.

This is a fun course, not a frustrating course. I'm hoping to try Seatac before I leave, but I have a feeling I'll get my butt kicked there. Not so here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very Good, All Around Course

5+    9/12/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: bleds
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/20/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well groomed, constantly maintained, and optimum design for the park it's located in.

Good mix of very challenging holes and birdey chances with both very technical holes and wide open ones where you can unleash.

Pro shop on site (at least summers/weekends)
Cons: Not many. Experienced players may not find it a great challenge.

A number of walkers and students from the nearby high school and middle school to dodge on weekday afternoons.

From what I understand (I normally play on weekdays) it's crowded on weekends.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, and where I've been focusing on improving my game. I find it to be a good course for honing your game. Challenging without being so long or technical that it's a exercise in frustration.

The old #9 and 10 water holes across Hick's lake are now gone. New replacement holes under construction.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

All around great park course

5+    6/25/2015   8/28/2012
Review By: Phlick
Played: 63  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 33.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2015
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multiple practice baskets
-Pro / Concession shop on premises
-Great variety of holes - wide open, some tight, some accuracy shots involved. None extreme.
-VERY fair par 3 course
-Lots of garbage cans - which are regularly maintained.
-Running water bathrooms on site
-Ample parking
-Serene park setting
-Well maintained by County
-Great tee pads and benches
-"Next Tee" signs/arrows under baskets help with navigation
Cons: -No tee signs!!!! Can be difficult to navigate for first timers - next tee signs under baskets do help with navigation though.
-Can get busy/crowded/slow on weekends or after work.
-Shared with a park, so there are NPCs to contend with.
-Not overly challenging for Open level players.
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course since 1992 and have seen it go through a number of transitions. The current managing efforts by Chainbangerz DGC has noticeably contributed to making this the course into what it has become today - which is one of the best courses in the state. If only they would put in tee signs and numbers on baskets...
This is a very approachable course for players of all skill levels While this isn't the most challenging course in Seattle (I'd have to give that nod to Seatac) it is easily the most 'well rounded', fair and playable.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.