Seattle, WA 
Lakewood King County Park Share
Uploaded By: Nic_Farley83 Hole #8 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 349ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
All around great park course

5+    6/25/2015   8/28/2012
Review By: Phlick
Played: 65  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 34.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2015
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multiple practice baskets
-Pro / Concession shop on premises
-Great variety of holes - wide open, some tight, some accuracy shots involved. None extreme.
-VERY fair par 3 course
-Lots of garbage cans - which are regularly maintained.
-Running water bathrooms on site
-Ample parking
-Serene park setting
-Well maintained by County
-Great tee pads and benches
-"Next Tee" signs/arrows under baskets help with navigation
-TWENTY!! HOLES!
Cons: -No tee signs!!!! Can be difficult to navigate for first timers - next tee signs under baskets do help with navigation though.
-Can get busy/crowded/slow on weekends or after work.
-Shared with a park, so there are NPCs to contend with.
-Not overly challenging for Open level players.
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course since 1992 and have seen it go through a number of transitions. The current managing efforts by Chainbangerz DGC has noticeably contributed to making this the course into what it has become today - which is one of the best courses in the state. If only they would put in tee signs and numbers on baskets...
This is a very approachable course for players of all skill levels While this isn't the most challenging course in Seattle (I'd have to give that nod to Seatac) it is easily the most 'well rounded', fair and playable.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect local course

5+    7/2/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: RomePK
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is laid out awesome. Very well maintained. Requires a variety of shots and use of many of your disc in the bag. This has everything you could want in a local course.
Cons: Can get crowded due to its location and reputation.
Other Thoughts: There is also a disc golf shop in the concession area of the park!!! Can't beat that! CHAINBANGERZ rules!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 a great park for disc golf!

2-4    7/13/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 91  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good hole design and terrain utilization.
- Nice teepads & baskets. I liked the natural stone shaping of the teepads. They were plenty big enough and grippy.
- Good mix of open and wooded/technical holes.
- Solid diversity of left / straight / right / uphill / downhill shaped holes. It has it all.
- Nice pro-shop / vending near restrooms.
- Friendly locals who call you on lost discs and turn them in to the shop.
Cons: - long walk from 18 back to parking lot.
- the walk to hole 9's basket (across water) forces you to cross right in front of hole 10's basket where people might be throwing. Just be careful there. The holes themselves are good and there is no other way to get over there so not much can be done about this.
- While not jaw-dropping perfect, I can't really pick out too many other flaws.. The course had to be re-designed due to construction and development on the back of the property. A local showed me the terrain and fence-line back there and it looks like the course lost some really nice space.. bummer. But I applaud those who did the re-design.. Still an excellent course by all means!
Other Thoughts: I had a blast at this course. The Deaf Disc Golf Championships were going on and we had to wait for them to finish (enjoyed watching them for a little while), but the fact that the Chainbangerz club stepped up and hosted such a tournament is nothing short of awesome!
I also lost a disc, got a call back the next day and Dana from the shop actually opened it up afterhours JUST to give me my disc back since I was on my way to the airport to fly home. Very cool of her! Keep doing what you guys are doing out there! I can't wait to come back again someday.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 proper disc golf for sure

1    6/20/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: northwestblazinfire
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome tee pads with rock benches at seemingly every hole
Beautifully maintained course with roller ready green
Nice challenging anny or sidearm holes for a righty
18 is the typical great huge ender for the round. The epic downhill looong look.
Variety or terrain with different playing surfaces to consider (dirt,bark,grass,gravel,cement,trees lol)
Well placed baskets with OBs being cement paths add a perfect degreee of difficulty
Sweet practice baskets and really cool good viben people I seen a lot of smiles and heard a lot of hearty laughter :D
Very rewarding course with a lot for everyone
Cons: For me the drive that's it
Other Thoughts: My home course has much work to be done but it is inspiring to see what a course can become as I am young in my discgolf experience this is as good as it gets for me. I had a good round at +2 but missed many of bird and ate only two bogies.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

2-4    4/17/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: ferret_1986
Played: 21  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Variety of shots required; terrain, water, sidearm. Not too long of a course but still has some holes that require distance and a handful that are ace-able.
Cons: Has an odd layout due to construction. Seems to be a popular place for the high schoolers to go to after school.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  A city Oasis

1    10/9/2011   10/9/2011
Review By: djlofton
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course has something for everyone. elevation changes were just enough to make your distance judgement a good degree of difficulty.
-Even though some holes have been changed to facilitate the construction, evident by the temporary tee pads on some holes, it didn't disrupt the round and the flow of the course was awesome.
-There are a lot of great turnover shots for a right hander, and for a lefty, it was a blast just to let loose.
-Althought the hours aren't posted, the plastic shop is pretty well maintained, and anyone can see that the chainbangers really love and care for this course and all it's components.
Cons: -a nice technical shot over a baseball field could be trouble-some if a game is being played.
- although the lake is small, it didn't really feel like a threat at all during play.
-no one could tell me when the shop opened.
Other Thoughts: over all, a nice distraction. Close enough to the airport, that I could get in a round after dropping off a person at the airport. The only issue I had was that I am a mediocre player at best, and I was able to shoot a -4 on my first trip around. I am used to heavily wooded area though, so maybe the wide open spaces were really just what the doctor ordered. Thank you Chainbangers for your awesome effort.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A good time. And friendly folks

2-4    8/25/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: steezejenkins
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Excellent use of the park
-Super cool tee pad benches!
-Both water shots?
-Pro shop and consession!
-Just a great place to enjoy a round
Cons: -Upper parking lot should not be recommended
-Driving through White Center to get to the course, Scary ghetto for an Oregon native
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. For what they had to work with the course was diverse. Once my buddy and I found the lower parking lot we were stoked to get out and play. The chainbanger guys were really cool and even helped out my buddy with some info about a nonprofit that can help with his school disc golf project. Go play this course. Certain you won't be shrugging as if you played seatac!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Easy for Pro's, fun for everyone else

1    8/21/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: s.z.hoyt
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great park, well maintained
-holes have great elevation changes
-Water holes are easy, but mental game
-Great use of the park.
Cons: -Some old pads from previous layout can confuse first timers
-Signage is lacking at each pad, hit and miss
-Goose Poo...eww
-Some holes are tight courters
Other Thoughts: Fun park for beginner to intermediate. Pros will be bored as there is no real long range shots or hard obstacles. Went super early in the morning and no one was there.

Had a good time and will be back

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A True Disc Golf Course

2-4    8/20/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: Clempson13
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is exactly what all courses should strive to be like. The course is located in a well maintained park with several ponds surrounded by rolling hills and some wooded areas. All of the fairways are well maintained and kept clear of debris. Many of the holes have large elevation changes which really make you think about your drive placement in regards to your next throw. Did I mention that there is a pro shop located on the course? Which sells discs, has a disc lost and found, as well as food and drink? Awesome.

Several holes play over water, but none of the throws are difficult to make, unless there is a large headwind on Hole 9.
Cons: There seemed to be a lot of extra space which wasn't being used which could have been added to some of the fairways to make some of the holes a little longer. Also the course starts and ends at completely different areas of the park, so think about that when you park (there is a parking lot both by Hole 1 and Hole 18).
Other Thoughts: This course was amazing and they even had maps of the course at the pro shop for people who are new to the course. It was mentioned that the course was still a work in progress, so I look forward to seeing how it improves in the future and hope to have the opportunity to play it then.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Work in progress

2-4    8/5/2011   8/5/2011
Review By: Robinhood
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Chainbangerz has done some great work out here to update and change up the course. The new Tee Pads and rock-like benches are amazing. super grippy Tee Pads and well thought out benches with enough room for 4 or more. Chainbangerz has plans to improve the course further which will only make this course better. Holes 1 and 9 now offer more challenge with the water hazards and possibilities for discs to go swimming.
Cons: The course no longer flows like the previous layout did. you end on 18 some distance from the 1st hole, I have been parking at the old lot so the return to the car is a little shorter. The Lack of a Path from the end of 1st hole to the 2ns could use some work, or a sign. the "goat" path from the 2nd hole to 3rd needs some work to be more sustainable, as it is now I can see there being issues with mud when it starts raining. On hole 12 the preferred flight path come very close to the basket on 11, I was almost hit putting in on 11 from a player teeing off on 12 and the person on 12 had a good shot. I would like to see some more trash cans at a few of the tee pads, there is a bit of trash left behind at many of the tee pads. The overall lack of signage is an issue if you are unfamiliar with the new layout.
Other Thoughts: clearly Lakewood is a work in progress, with new baskets around the first holes the layout is soon to change for the better. Thanks Chainbangerz for all the hard work and dedication to making this a great course to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.