Prospect, OH
Battle Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: munky Hole #8 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 235ft.   -- / --   3 / 318ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Long Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice Park Good course

1    2/28/2012   2/28/2012
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 138  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.6 Years
Pros: Nice Park Well
Mowed
Well taken care of
More of a challenge then you would think
Tape on the baskets marking the next hole, big plus. The course would have been a little difficult to navigate without it.
Cons: According to the other reviews signs and tee pads are on the way, so I won't put that in as a con (although I kinda just did)

First hole was a little tough to find
Other Thoughts: I had a little trouble trouble finding the first hole. Luckily I came across a friendly dog walker who pointed me in the right direction. The first hole is open but the next 3 are lightly wooded holes that run along side a creek. They not very long and at first glance they may seem easy but there is a very real danger of a ricochet off a tree into the creek. After wards you play a hole that connects you back to into the park and the next 4 run through a fairly busy park. Watch for pedestrians, keep your shots low and avoid some trees in here, it's a little trickier then it looks.

All in all not a bad course. It's by no means a pro caliber course or one that would be worthy of a road trip. Nothing standout here but it's a friendly little community course. Go to G&R's in close by Waldo afterwords a get yourself a World Famous Fried Bologna Sandwich, they're delicious!!

 Technical 9'er

1    1/25/2012   1/26/2012
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 139  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 25.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice multi-recreational park.

Two tee's per hole. The longs average in the mid-300's range. This may not seem very long, but these are challenging holes. Every hole has an element of danger to it. The long tee's are identified by orange flags and the short ones have wood block stops.

Many tight lines are needed to par this course. I was pleasantly surprised with the technical challenge here. Recovery may not be gentle.

Holes 2-4 are wooded and run along side a creek. Hole 5 acts as a segway between the land and style. Once you get to 6, low ceilings become major obstacles. You will need to hit some lazers down here.

New Innova baskets. Sexy.
Cons: Long tee's were not always easy to find.

No signage whatsoever. However, the course flowed quite well. I never had to look much to find the short tee's.
Other Thoughts: I read munky's review stating that concrete tee's and signage is coming soon. That pretty much takes care of the con's above.

My rating is for the course as it was yesterday. I will revise this review later this summer.

This is a nice effort. I look forward to seeing this course evolve.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Course Still Under Construction

5+    9/24/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: munky
Played: 39  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: new course
Cons: its not finished
Other Thoughts: i went through today and used colored tape to mark the baskets. this will help people find the next tees. concrete tees for the shorts and signs will be in as soon as the workers can schedule it. the toe boards for the shorts will then be moved to the long tees positions. as for marker flags, they keep getting mowed over or removed by mischievous people. i will post a hole-by-hole review once it is finished. until then, please enjoy the course and bear with me until it is finished.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 need more DG Prospects in Propect, Ohio

1    9/10/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1121  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 26.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Found (Jeremy, a local player) near the park entrance and he showed me both long and short tees.

9 holes (Innova baskets)

Well maintained park (and town, watch your speed)

restroom is centrally located to the ballfields and the later section of the DGC.



Cons: grass tees, missing long tee flags (was told they may have been mowed over)

no tee signs, nor any next tee signs (i told the local player, Jeremy that colored duct or electrical tape on the spoke in the basket well pointing to the next tee would go a long way for players that aren't familar with this DGC.)
Other Thoughts: holes #2, # 3, and # 4 play adjacent to a shallow creek. # 8 has a mando to prevent novice players from straying near the pool area.

Short tees have footboards, long tee have nothing of a defined teeing area other than a orange flag.

# 1 starts behind the right-center field fence of the Barrnet ball field.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.